Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2014
wonderful. bathhouse shows wear but it is at the end of summer.
Oct 06, 2014
I had some problems with the shower doors. They either would not shut completely or were difficult to open after closing
Oct 06, 2014
The one complaint we have is that we paid $73 per night for a deluxe campsite, and didn't even have wifi, as advertised. There is technology available which will boost the internet signal. Thank you.
Oct 06, 2014
Oct 06, 2014
Very nice, clean campground. Sat on the beach for hours, enjoying every minute. Do wish the deep sand could be kept cleaned off walkway better for us seniors.
Oct 05, 2014
We loved the campground. We had our dog with us and found the campground to be very dog friendly. Also was nice to fall asleep and wake hearing the ocean. Facilities were cleaned daily and showers and bathrooms were very nice. Friendly people and helpful.
Oct 05, 2014
Very nice bathrooms and showers, need WiFi at camp sites to make it heaven.
Oct 05, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
We came down for out last camping trip of the season. Did some fishing and sightseeing. Campground has really improved and has a multitude of sights to please any camper. Great place to stay.
Oct 04, 2014
Dirty bathrooms. Toilets not cleaned 2 days straight, one full of feces and toilet paper,the other feces on the seat. The third stall the door would not close and had to be held shut. Tried the handicap bathroom, toilet clogged there too. Clerk too busy with a personal call to respond to a my wife with a simple question. Waited 5 minutes plus. Worst KOA experience ever.
Oct 03, 2014
The KOA store closed too early for me and was not convenient to buy last minute supplies or need towels, etc. I came to the store almost and at closing time requesting certain items and was turned away. I appreciate your closing hours and your employees commitment to work hours, however I deserve courtesy. What happened to extending a customer's needs? Thanks,
Oct 03, 2014
We come here every year. Always terrific. Staff friendly, helpful. Always new things, things rebuilt better than before after storms. On vacation , why not go first class!
Oct 03, 2014
Everyone was so inviting and made us feel welcome. Each staff member we met was courteous, friendly and always had something pleasant to say. The grounds were kept up beautifully and the cafe food was delicious and prepared with genuine care. Thanks for making our stay so memorable. What a blessing!
Oct 02, 2014
Oct 02, 2014
We liked our site by the dune next to the ocean. The main building was a beautiful facility. The center of the campground had some serious drainage issues and I thought needed a little TLC as well. Wifi was non existent at the back of the park. Beautiful location and beach though
Oct 02, 2014
Enjoyed our stay other than the ants that seem to find us but it had been wet and raining a few days before our stay. It was clean and comfortable with plenty of things to do at the camp ground. Our 1st stay at KOA but will def visit again and others.
Oct 02, 2014
WiFi not working, we had rain so walking or hooking up was standing in water,elevator inoperable. Pool unheated
Oct 01, 2014
Had a great time as always. But was disappointed with WiFi, I don't think you should advertise it until you have it working at EVERY SITE.
Oct 01, 2014
Our delux cabin stay in 1638 was far less rated than our prior experience.By midnight there was no air in the blow up mattress couch. The front door was racked.When I wiped up a floor spill the rag came up black. Dirty hand prints and dried food on the door,light switches,and walls. Heavy dust bunnies under the queen bed.Needs a good overhaul cleaning.Great staff.pool clean.
Sep 30, 2014
It was a good stay the people and staff were very nice messed up our reservation a bit and i thought we should have received a discount for that but i will most likely be back i loved it.
Sep 30, 2014
Great location.Very clean and modern. Great pool and play area. A true "resort". The cafe was very good. Negatives- nany sites were flooded due to a big rain. The internet was out at the sites (worked at office) due to damage during Arthur still not fixed. Had to use air card which was frustrating considering the rate for the site.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Everything was great. Our only complaint was that the wifi was unavailable. In these times wifi is a must, specially for those who rely on it for business or just communications. However will would stay there again. Thank you for everything.
Sep 30, 2014
This campsite was VERY clean and the staff very personable. We loved being so very close to the beach and it seemed as though we were grouped with 'like' campers - everyone around us were our age group and no kids! We are looking forward to our next opportunity to stay here. Thank you!
Sep 30, 2014
The Outer Banks speak for themselves, so obviously no matter how the camping looked, or what it offered, its backdrop is one of the best ones on the East Coast. I would recommend longer opening hours for the store, and stronger rule enforcement about dogs - dogs not on a leash, barking uncontrollably, with owners that let them bark forever and at all hours of the day, and night - very unpleasant!
Sep 29, 2014
We had a great week. Our group goes to this KOA in september every year. This was our 15th year. The addition of the pet wash and outdoor showers was wonderful. I would like to especially thank Chris and Renee. They were extremely helpful and always pleasant to deal with.
Sep 29, 2014
Our site was great, right at the sand dunes. The facilities are all extremely nice. However the weather was awful too cold and rainy for much beach time or swimming , but guess they have not control of that.
Sep 29, 2014
The cabin leaked, although there was a lot of rain. The biggest problem was the bathrooms did not get cleaned. The trash was overflowing and the stalls were out of toilet paper. Otherwise, the new buildings were beautiful.
Sep 29, 2014
So much fun watching the kids be kids! They built sand castles, played in waves, went swimming, loves the water slide, got dirty, played in puddles, threw rocks, jumped on the jumping pad that was wet and dirty from the rain, had campfires, smores and more. It was the perfect relaxing weekend!
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Beautiful campground, well maintained. Only complaint would be a non-functioning WiFi during our stay.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Although wet - ok really wet! We had a fabulous time! The staff were amazing, especially Kristy? In the cafe! Her service was above expectations and everyone made our stay fantastic!
Sep 29, 2014
Arrived late.. our packet was ready (left in bin outside). Night time attendant was very helpful.
Sep 29, 2014
This KOA gas been through so much with hurricanes and they bounce back every time. Our cub scouts always have a fantastic time.
Sep 29, 2014
It was awesome!!! Love the place:-)
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
Cable tv and WiFi was week. Otherwise good stay
Sep 28, 2014
KOA can't control the weather but our campsite and almost all the campsites had low spots exactly where the front doors of all campers are which held the rain water in huge puddles that never drained out during our entire stay. Campsites need to be graded at least level so that rain will not hold in front of campers. We had to wade through water the entire week to enter our camper.
Sep 28, 2014
The facilities are new & beautiful. Staff was nice. Very kid & dog friendly. With the amount of staff on hand, the bathrooms and showers could be cleaner. Maintenance should be a priority to keep the campground as nice as it is now. Shower drains were plugged and the problem was remedied by disconnecting drain pipes so the water drained on the ground (not sure if this was a temp. fix)
Sep 28, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Sep 27, 2014
Great resort. Did not like our original location, so we paid more for a deluxe site. They mentioned a Fire Department chili contest which initially sounded like fun - until hundreds of people walked thru our site to get to the event. If they had been a little more descriptive of the event, I would have chosen an alternate site - so, two great days at this resort, two annoying days.....
Sep 27, 2014
as long as the sun was out it was ok but when it rained the camp ground became flooded with 4 to 6inches of water twice .very poor drainedge
Sep 27, 2014
We enjoyed being close to the beach, however we felt that the campsites were way to close together (#104). Also the beach has eroded quite a bit from the photo on the website with quite a lot of seaweed. I think you need to paint a more realistic picture of what the beach is now. Campground was extremely clean and everyone was very nice. Very well maintained campgrounds!
Sep 27, 2014
Flooded out! Campground still repairing from July 4 storm. NO ONE came to check on campers as water reached 4 inches, nor did they answer the phone in the office. Used to be a favorite spot, WE WILL NOT BE GOING BACK!
Sep 26, 2014
We got there in a rainy day and they out us in a campsite that was clearly flooded from the rain. We just parked and went on and set up. Well it rained the next day and our site was once again flooded and so was most of the area. They were pumping water off a road no one was staying at instead of pumping where guests were staying. We checked out other places and they were no where near as flooded.
Sep 26, 2014
Weather forced us to stay longer than planned. Staff was very accommodating to our needs. Thank you for a great stay even with the cruddy weather. We'll be back next year.
Sep 26, 2014
Too much rain!!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.