Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
The manager, Scott, was very helpful and a true professional. We had a situation where the RV in our site had mechanical problems. Scott upgraded us to a dunes back-in site at no additional charge. Extremely fair!
Jul 26, 2013
you have an amazing place. I wish I had more time to stay. I had to go back to work 1500 miles from there
Jul 26, 2013
My family had an awesome time ! The kids really enjoyed the bounce pillow and the pool . I enjoyed being so close to the ocean . As expected the family shower floor can be a little muddy from sand next time i will just bring an old towel to put down . Bathrooms were large and very close to our tent site so that was definately a plus with two kids . Already planning our next trip !
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Fantastic pool/access to beach and great cafe and access to restaurants but small Kabin had weak air conditioning and window leaked when it rained...reported air/window leak when checked out, but nothing written down..
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
It was good. I saw someone there with a portable generator, I hope they would not be allowed to use it. That would have ruined the experience.
Jul 25, 2013
Besides the wind blowing 20-30 our stay was great. We had a wonderful site not too far from the beach and the hospitality was second to none.
Jul 25, 2013
Campground was clean and we enjoyed our stay. You are highly recommended.
Jul 24, 2013
The campground needs to do a better job at informing the campers of the activities each day. Unless we went to the lodge, we were unaware of the activities.
Jul 24, 2013
The place was clean and new with lots of things to do. Love the new campground did a very nice job rebuilding the area
Jul 24, 2013
Pool was really nice, lots of activities for the kids. When i arrived my campsite i found it to be overgrown with high grass. I called and requested it be mowed and it took them two days and 3 calls later to have it done. Finally when it did get done, the guy threw grass all over my camper and belongings. Had to get a manager down to look at what had been, i feel purposely done. I was mad.....
Jul 24, 2013
As always our visit was great.We really enjoy seeing Renee,Mike,Chris,Sean,Russ,Sarge,etc, We will be back in about 27 days and cant wait for the Chili cook off. Thanks again
Jul 24, 2013
REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY!!! VERY CLEAN, LOVED THE DOG PARK
Jul 24, 2013
We loved the little camping cabin! First time staying in one of those. My son loved the beach, pool, playground and jumping pillow. We will be back next year!
Jul 24, 2013
We had a fabulous 4 night stay - we loved the pool, the jumping pillow, the beach and waves. - if tent or pop-up camping, be prepared for some heavy winds.
Jul 24, 2013
The place is really nice with new grounds and friendly staff. If you've never been to Hatteras you should know it is the wind capital of the east. The beach is hard to relax because it is so windy and sand hitting you in the face. If you plan on camping in a tent be prepared. Very windy. Bathrooms and showers could be better maintained as well.
Jul 24, 2013
Sites are a little small. The cost is a little high. Other than that it was a great place to stay. The pool was great for the kids. The ocean was really close.
Jul 24, 2013
Très belle emplacement. Par la mesure des chose il faut savoir que l'on se retrouve sur une ile alors très venteux en après-midi. Endroit très propre. De St-Jérôme
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice campground. My only complaint is the allowing of children in the hot tub.
Jul 23, 2013
made reservations in March for oceanfront and got worst site. asked to move when open and told no..site sat empty the entire time. missed opportunity to make wife bday even better. staff rushed and seemed bothered. I a day early.
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice fixed facilities (pool, laundry, store, snack bar). Great location. Sites were small, rocky and not well maintained compared to other campsite "deluxe" spots. Wifi was unusable. Cable was snowy. Most dumpster locations were empty and it was difficult to find places to trow trash away. Overall well below average for the many KOAs we've stayed at across the country.
Jul 23, 2013
To be fair, the sites are close together, and there is (you are at the beach) nothing in the way of shade... but if you expect that (which we did), I can honestly say it is one of the better KOA experiences I have had. The staff is friendly, helpful, the facility (thanks to hurricane Irene) is brand new... the only issue I had was wifi.
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Great location, large lot and friendly staff Cons: high grass on lot 1/2 of stay, intermitent hot water at shower house and strong dog urine smell from cabin lot next to us
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
The best vacation ever!! Not only because of the fantastic campsites, but also because at sunset, 8:17pm on our first night there, July 18, 2013 my soulmate proposed to me on the beach!! A night I will never forget & it all happened at KOA!! :-) Christa Reavis
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
This was my second trip this year to your campground. You advertise free Wi-Fi. I never got it once. It cost me an extra $80.00 each trip to add megabyte's on my Verizon phones. Mike the manager never made any move to make this right. A lot of other campers are also dissatisfied. I feel KOA owes me $ 160.00. Don't advertise something you don't have. I felt like I got swindled.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
we have been coming cape hattrras koa for 21 years and it get nicer all the time.the new improvments are great. the next step should be the electric,so we have power all the time. thank you
Jul 22, 2013
We arrived on the fourth of july and the power was out in our site 329 and surrounding sites the electrical utilities are in bad need of replacement and also the site areas need to be more level, we heard a rumor that they were going to upgrade to concrete pads this does not need to be done only level areas with more gravel would be okay, Also the employees are very overworked cleaning of resrooms
Jul 22, 2013
bath houses not kept clean; park maintenance, for example grass cutting poorly kept; WIFI only works intermittend;cable tv out on regular basis;office staff overwhelmed, and at times not very pleasant;this KOA has declined in my opinion, as we have seen this over the last 10 years of coming to that park.
Jul 22, 2013
We've been here for 15 years. We really love the place. I think it is not necessary to have a fire ring on the site. You should put on your rules, no bikes after 9pm. I will be here for the next two weeks. Like every years we use to make our reservation for the next year. Nobody really understand the reason why. I hope you will take in consideration our long stay and your regular campers.
Jul 22, 2013
Great location and a great facility. If the Cape Hatteras KOA isn't already the flagship KOA resorts, it will be! Thanks for a great vacation!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The usual!! An affordable, wonderful, relaxing family vacation and I can include the dogs. Love the new pool and all the upgrades. Just a few of the reasons we have been back every summer for the last 10 yrs!!
Jul 22, 2013
The campground is on the beach that is very great, but the staff is not helpfull and some of them are rude. I ask a lady at the desk about the landry et ahe told me that she never go on the landry at the campground and can't help me. The laundry was at the same bulding that the shower but nothing was write on the door to say that is the laundry.
Jul 22, 2013
As usual, a very plesant place to stay! Lots of improvements made since last year! My only negative comment is that I do not think you should charge to empty holding tanks since all of your sites are not full hook-up and we are paying a decent price for the site to begin with. Would definitely stay here again though!!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
We really enjoyed our visit.
Jul 22, 2013
Loved all the upgrades this year!
Jul 22, 2013
We stay at the Hatteras KOA every July and LOVE it! It's a great family atmosphere with so many things to do with the kids. Would love to see you again in the off-season.
Jul 22, 2013
As my 6 year old stated as we walked from the pool back to our campsite (after spending time at the beach first), "My wish for the best camping trip ever came true!" We had an amazing stay. It was perfect for our family. The facilities were wonderful and our 4 kids(ages 2-9) were busy the whole time, which meant very little fighting and all night sleepers! We will definitely be returning!
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Some of the staff re very friendly others not so mucho the younger staff was very professional
Jul 22, 2013
Wonderful weekend. Great accommodations. Loved the entertainment at the pool.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.