Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Negatives:  Internet did not work  No Parking available near the beach for guest with sites or cabins near the front. Positives:  Pool is beautiful  Deluxe Cabin exceeded expectations  Staff was very nice.
Jul 27, 2013
Prices are too high.The description for the site says up to 6 people. We had 4 and were charged extra for 2 people. The cable went out and wi-fi was off and on. But, that's okay if you aren't counting on it. We were in our camper. I was near the beach. I was happy mostly. Husband loved the fishing. (need a garbage can near the pier)
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Lost power and cable a couple of times. No Wi-Fi.
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time at this KOA. The pictures online were a true representation of the campground - the walk to the beach was only 2 minutes from our camper...how much better can a beach vacation location get! The pool was fabulous (and the right temperature!) and the hot tub was actually HOT! Wish we could travel that way more often.
Jul 27, 2013
Been going to this KOA since the late 1990's. Normally camp in an RV but last minute problems forced change to a cabin. Pleasantly surprised how nice cabins are. The improvements to the campground have made this the only place to camp on the Outer Banks.
Jul 27, 2013
So we went for 2 days in a tent and stayed 8...moving sites 3 times and it was worth every effort - see my other reviews. If you think there's a better place at Hatteras, or anywhere on the East Coast to camp with kids I challenge you to show me, I'll pay for both of our families. The staff made this the best vacation we've ever had hands down, unless you've got them you're wasting your time.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
STAFF STAFF STAFF!!! They say new places are great, but it's the staff that makes KOA Hatteras the best vacation you could EVER have!!! Resort? YOU BET!!! This place is brand spanking new and has everything your family needs for a perfect vacation! The staff was so great we wanted to buy them dinner every night but settled for feeding them all pizzas our last night there - BEST STAFF IN THE GAME!!
Jul 26, 2013
We had a fabulous stay in the deluxe cabins on the ocean. The view is amazing and the cabin is perfect for a week of fun. The KOA staff was very friendly and always helpful. We loved the mix of time in the ocean then fun in the pool. The area around the KOA had plenty for us. Austin's Seafood, Top Dog restaurant and the shops were some of our favorites.
Jul 26, 2013
My rating is based on my last visit only. For the 1st time, I saw rude employee's and FILTHY bath houses. PLEASE add towel hooks and a shelf over the sinks. It's very unsanitary without them. The new building is nice, but attention to the rest of the campground was missed. I will be back only because I've stayed there for the last 43 years. I hope next year is different.
Jul 26, 2013
stayed in an airstream -- no remote for tv - door locked us out then in - relative fixed it by leveling trailer that no one else thought about doing - ac went in during night - no one told us where breaker was until next day. people who helped us were very nice and courteous and otherwise it was all very nice. I just don't think I was cut out for living in a camper. thanks
Jul 26, 2013
1st. Office staff checkin not well versed in helping 2 . Church service was located at stage map provided failed to show that. Staff was asked and told " oh over that way" 3 asked about cable tv listing printed copy. Told by staff just look at the tv channel 2 it is there. 4 the TV channel 2 list of current activities was way out of date - 3 weeks behind current date 5. Not a happy camper
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 26, 2013
The manager, Scott, was very helpful and a true professional. We had a situation where the RV in our site had mechanical problems. Scott upgraded us to a dunes back-in site at no additional charge. Extremely fair!
Jul 26, 2013
you have an amazing place. I wish I had more time to stay. I had to go back to work 1500 miles from there
Jul 26, 2013
My family had an awesome time ! The kids really enjoyed the bounce pillow and the pool . I enjoyed being so close to the ocean . As expected the family shower floor can be a little muddy from sand next time i will just bring an old towel to put down . Bathrooms were large and very close to our tent site so that was definately a plus with two kids . Already planning our next trip !
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Fantastic pool/access to beach and great cafe and access to restaurants but small Kabin had weak air conditioning and window leaked when it rained...reported air/window leak when checked out, but nothing written down..
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
It was good. I saw someone there with a portable generator, I hope they would not be allowed to use it. That would have ruined the experience.
Jul 25, 2013
Besides the wind blowing 20-30 our stay was great. We had a wonderful site not too far from the beach and the hospitality was second to none.
Jul 25, 2013
Campground was clean and we enjoyed our stay. You are highly recommended.
Jul 24, 2013
The campground needs to do a better job at informing the campers of the activities each day. Unless we went to the lodge, we were unaware of the activities.
Jul 24, 2013
The place was clean and new with lots of things to do. Love the new campground did a very nice job rebuilding the area
Jul 24, 2013
Pool was really nice, lots of activities for the kids. When i arrived my campsite i found it to be overgrown with high grass. I called and requested it be mowed and it took them two days and 3 calls later to have it done. Finally when it did get done, the guy threw grass all over my camper and belongings. Had to get a manager down to look at what had been, i feel purposely done. I was mad.....
Jul 24, 2013
As always our visit was great.We really enjoy seeing Renee,Mike,Chris,Sean,Russ,Sarge,etc, We will be back in about 27 days and cant wait for the Chili cook off. Thanks again
Jul 24, 2013
REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY!!! VERY CLEAN, LOVED THE DOG PARK
Jul 24, 2013
We loved the little camping cabin! First time staying in one of those. My son loved the beach, pool, playground and jumping pillow. We will be back next year!
Jul 24, 2013
We had a fabulous 4 night stay - we loved the pool, the jumping pillow, the beach and waves. - if tent or pop-up camping, be prepared for some heavy winds.
Jul 24, 2013
The place is really nice with new grounds and friendly staff. If you've never been to Hatteras you should know it is the wind capital of the east. The beach is hard to relax because it is so windy and sand hitting you in the face. If you plan on camping in a tent be prepared. Very windy. Bathrooms and showers could be better maintained as well.
Jul 24, 2013
Sites are a little small. The cost is a little high. Other than that it was a great place to stay. The pool was great for the kids. The ocean was really close.
Jul 24, 2013
Très belle emplacement. Par la mesure des chose il faut savoir que l'on se retrouve sur une ile alors très venteux en après-midi. Endroit très propre. De St-Jérôme
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice campground. My only complaint is the allowing of children in the hot tub.
Jul 23, 2013
made reservations in March for oceanfront and got worst site. asked to move when open and told no..site sat empty the entire time. missed opportunity to make wife bday even better. staff rushed and seemed bothered. I a day early.
Jul 23, 2013
Very nice fixed facilities (pool, laundry, store, snack bar). Great location. Sites were small, rocky and not well maintained compared to other campsite "deluxe" spots. Wifi was unusable. Cable was snowy. Most dumpster locations were empty and it was difficult to find places to trow trash away. Overall well below average for the many KOAs we've stayed at across the country.
Jul 23, 2013
To be fair, the sites are close together, and there is (you are at the beach) nothing in the way of shade... but if you expect that (which we did), I can honestly say it is one of the better KOA experiences I have had. The staff is friendly, helpful, the facility (thanks to hurricane Irene) is brand new... the only issue I had was wifi.
Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Great location, large lot and friendly staff Cons: high grass on lot 1/2 of stay, intermitent hot water at shower house and strong dog urine smell from cabin lot next to us
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
The best vacation ever!! Not only because of the fantastic campsites, but also because at sunset, 8:17pm on our first night there, July 18, 2013 my soulmate proposed to me on the beach!! A night I will never forget & it all happened at KOA!! :-) Christa Reavis
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 23, 2013
This was my second trip this year to your campground. You advertise free Wi-Fi. I never got it once. It cost me an extra $80.00 each trip to add megabyte's on my Verizon phones. Mike the manager never made any move to make this right. A lot of other campers are also dissatisfied. I feel KOA owes me $ 160.00. Don't advertise something you don't have. I felt like I got swindled.
Jul 23, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
we have been coming cape hattrras koa for 21 years and it get nicer all the time.the new improvments are great. the next step should be the electric,so we have power all the time. thank you
Jul 22, 2013
We arrived on the fourth of july and the power was out in our site 329 and surrounding sites the electrical utilities are in bad need of replacement and also the site areas need to be more level, we heard a rumor that they were going to upgrade to concrete pads this does not need to be done only level areas with more gravel would be okay, Also the employees are very overworked cleaning of resrooms
Jul 22, 2013
bath houses not kept clean; park maintenance, for example grass cutting poorly kept; WIFI only works intermittend;cable tv out on regular basis;office staff overwhelmed, and at times not very pleasant;this KOA has declined in my opinion, as we have seen this over the last 10 years of coming to that park.
Jul 22, 2013
We've been here for 15 years. We really love the place. I think it is not necessary to have a fire ring on the site. You should put on your rules, no bikes after 9pm. I will be here for the next two weeks. Like every years we use to make our reservation for the next year. Nobody really understand the reason why. I hope you will take in consideration our long stay and your regular campers.
Jul 22, 2013
Great location and a great facility. If the Cape Hatteras KOA isn't already the flagship KOA resorts, it will be! Thanks for a great vacation!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.