Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jul 30, 2013
nice club house, Pool, Laundry facilities,and friendly staff. But that's where it ends. They might as well remove the free Wi-Fi from the menu it only works inside the club house also some sites lost power and water at times, the sites had very little gravel if any at all, not a tree anywhere no sod weeds except for the entrance, not all sites had the cover shelters @ $100 day you expect the best
Jul 30, 2013
Great family fun all around.. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Bath houses are clean and individual and air conditioned. Pool is amazing. Only issue I had was internet connection. It's good at the club house but terrible to non functioning on the campground. Too bad, I like to do some work on my laptop while camping at the KOA. I urge management to figure out a way to improve the wifi.
Jul 30, 2013
Other than the dump station being on the downside of a slope that would not allow me to drain out easily, this location is great.
Jul 29, 2013
The facilities were very good. We stayed in a cabin on the beach and it was beautiful.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cape Hatteras,NC. We will be coming back.
Jul 29, 2013
Very nice campground. Sites are a little close together. Overall we had an enjoyable time.
Jul 29, 2013
FILTHY!Dumpsters over flowing to the point you couldn't put your trash in them. Mildewed shower curtains, with 2 inches of water on the floor at all times, wifi didn't work, pool had oily film, hair and other debris floating on top and horrible service when renting bikes, nasty rude staff, when there were staff on duty. Very few kids activities while we were there. Not KOA caliber at all.
Jul 29, 2013
The place was clean. But what we reserved is not what we received.
Jul 29, 2013
Loved it SO much that we stayed an extra day. LOVED!
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Second stay. Had another great time. Will go back before summer is over. See ya'll then.
Jul 29, 2013
Great place, very convenient, wonderful swimming pool and other facilities. Loved own campground access to the beach and beautiful field across the road (sound side)- sunset was beautiful! Would recommend as a nice campground. Camping cabin had AC which was a lifesaver in July. Beach and ocean was great for teenageres and dog. The only downside - too close for cabins and RVs and lack of trees
Jul 29, 2013
great place, we'll be back!
Jul 29, 2013
staff is always friendly and helpful. love the remodel it was definitely a shocker since it had been a few stays since last stay! keep up the good work!!
Jul 29, 2013
We had the best family weekend at Cape Hatteras KOA! Facilities were clean and well maintained. We will definitely be back!
Jul 29, 2013
Loved everything about Cape Hatteras KOA. From the clean facilities to the friendly KOA team!!! KOA Cape Hatteras was our last stop on our 2 week camping journey and I wish we had known before making our plans, what a beautiful place it was we would have stayed more than 2 nights!! Can't wait to go back!!!
Jul 29, 2013
This was our first KOA experience. The new vacation suites were beautiful and very comfortable.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
This was a great time. My site was clean and the staff was helpful. Bathrooms were clean. I will def stay here again very soon.
Jul 29, 2013
Great location. Nice bathrooms. Nice service. No issues.
Jul 29, 2013
As usual we had a wonderful time. We've been coming here at least once a year in the last 6 years. We just love hanging out here at least once a year. There were a few minor things that's not too satisfactory to me but the worst one is the Wifi Internet connection which for the duration of my stay, i wasn't able to connect at all just like in the past. Need to keep up with the modern technolog
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
The place is very clean and offered a lot of activities. My only complaint is the doors to the shower rooms did not lock or work correctly for some.
Jul 28, 2013
I have never been treated as rudely as I have been on this stay. Had to move 18" because I was at that wrong angle. Heard multiple complaints on my stay. If you would like more details please call 724-872-9226. I would be happy to explain in detail.
Jul 28, 2013
Café was closed on Wednesday, it should be open 7 days a week. Most of the people working at the desk didn't know things we asked them about rentals. dryers not working. Bedding not put in the deluxe cabin and grill not cleaned.
Jul 28, 2013
Had a wonderful time just wish Mother Nature would of collaborated better. The campground was nice and baths were clean. Only problem I had was with the WiFi as it kept kicking me off internet. However we were warned the local provider was having problems at check in. Ocean was chilly for July however the pool was very comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpful with any questions.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Overall a pleasant experience. My wife and I both commented that there was not anything negative to say. Staff was friendly but always professional.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
One of the better KOA I have stayed at. Frank was very helpful however the shower room cleanliness was less then desirable.
Jul 28, 2013
Great place for families. Would be nice if the huge pirate ship playground had benches for the parents watching kids
Jul 28, 2013
We had a wonderful stay at the Cape Hatteras KOA. Everything was so new and clean. We will be back again.
Jul 28, 2013
Beautiful beach just steps away. Only downfall was no wifi connection at back of park.
Jul 28, 2013
We had a wonderful trip. Camp ground was beautiful and clean. The staff there was helpful and very polite! The pool was perfect after a morni g on the beach!!!!
Jul 28, 2013
Facilities were nice, but we had a toddler with us and the campground was too loud at night. Dogs barking, people walking by and big RVs/trucks driving by our campsite at midnight. The sites were too close to each other. Next time we will use the state camp ground for more space and more quiet.
Jul 28, 2013
Great as always. Only suggestion is the parking with the cabins, paint the unit number on the "curb" for the cabin. Makes it easier to find and helps guest w parking in the right spots. I had a small issue with that. Other than that great.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Negatives:  Internet did not work  No Parking available near the beach for guest with sites or cabins near the front. Positives:  Pool is beautiful  Deluxe Cabin exceeded expectations  Staff was very nice.
Jul 27, 2013
Prices are too high.The description for the site says up to 6 people. We had 4 and were charged extra for 2 people. The cable went out and wi-fi was off and on. But, that's okay if you aren't counting on it. We were in our camper. I was near the beach. I was happy mostly. Husband loved the fishing. (need a garbage can near the pier)
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Lost power and cable a couple of times. No Wi-Fi.
Jul 27, 2013
We had a great time at this KOA. The pictures online were a true representation of the campground - the walk to the beach was only 2 minutes from our camper...how much better can a beach vacation location get! The pool was fabulous (and the right temperature!) and the hot tub was actually HOT! Wish we could travel that way more often.
Jul 27, 2013
Been going to this KOA since the late 1990's. Normally camp in an RV but last minute problems forced change to a cabin. Pleasantly surprised how nice cabins are. The improvements to the campground have made this the only place to camp on the Outer Banks.
Jul 27, 2013
So we went for 2 days in a tent and stayed 8...moving sites 3 times and it was worth every effort - see my other reviews. If you think there's a better place at Hatteras, or anywhere on the East Coast to camp with kids I challenge you to show me, I'll pay for both of our families. The staff made this the best vacation we've ever had hands down, unless you've got them you're wasting your time.
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
STAFF STAFF STAFF!!! They say new places are great, but it's the staff that makes KOA Hatteras the best vacation you could EVER have!!! Resort? YOU BET!!! This place is brand spanking new and has everything your family needs for a perfect vacation! The staff was so great we wanted to buy them dinner every night but settled for feeding them all pizzas our last night there - BEST STAFF IN THE GAME!!
Jul 26, 2013
We had a fabulous stay in the deluxe cabins on the ocean. The view is amazing and the cabin is perfect for a week of fun. The KOA staff was very friendly and always helpful. We loved the mix of time in the ocean then fun in the pool. The area around the KOA had plenty for us. Austin's Seafood, Top Dog restaurant and the shops were some of our favorites.
Jul 26, 2013
My rating is based on my last visit only. For the 1st time, I saw rude employee's and FILTHY bath houses. PLEASE add towel hooks and a shelf over the sinks. It's very unsanitary without them. The new building is nice, but attention to the rest of the campground was missed. I will be back only because I've stayed there for the last 43 years. I hope next year is different.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.