Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2013
I have been going to this KOA for over 7 years now and gets better every year. The staff is helpful and nice. My Family looks forward to each trip and are always sad to leave.
Aug 07, 2013
Worst stay yet. The tent campers next to us paid for 1 slot but occupied 3 and partied all day and you did nothing. I deserve a 66% refund.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
the campground itself was fine, its the BATHHOUSE is a mess from the afternoon till next cleaning! you need some draining mats out of the shower for the water and sand. Its horrible to stand in somebodies shower water even when not takeing a shower! And our "neighbors" came in 2 cars and left with 7 cars full of people. They also took up 2 camping spots for all the parking and people.
Aug 07, 2013
the campground was nice and very close to the beach, we walked every time. we didn't use the bathhouse to shower but we looked at them and they were in nice condition, they have family bathrooms with a shower in them as well which would be more private for helping your child. you have to drive quite a ways to get anywhere its not the campgrounds fault just the area they have fun things to do there
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Staff is not as friendly as other koa's that we've visited. This could be due to the fact that this campground is corporate owned and not privately owned. TV service is awful. The location is awesome , that's what they have going for them.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
We loved your KOA and we'll definitely return! Great activities and clean facilities all week. We wished we had gotten a site with a permanent picnic shelter...that wind was a beast for our canopy!
Aug 06, 2013
Everything was wonderful. Clean, many amenities. We have 2 boys 8 &5, they had a blast. This was our 3rd year in a row. The only complaint I have is the friendliness of the staff. One of the workers gave our neighbor (mom with twin girls) a really hard time with the placement of their tent 3 days after being there, he was very rude and yelled at her, very unprofessional! She was in tears!!
Aug 06, 2013
New store/cafe and pool are really nice. Not enough showers, especially with large groups that were there. Showers small, broken handles, doors not locking, dirty, low water pressure, either too hot or too cold during each shower.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Everything was wonderful. Beautiful landscape. Enjoyable family mini vacation. My only reservation-- the front desk person - Bren. She was rude and condescending. Because of her I did not re-enter the front office. Please send her away from the public eye. Poor representation of your establishment .
Aug 06, 2013
Loved every minute of our stay. Clean facilities and great customer service! Will definitely be back next year!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Grandkids said "Awesome swimming pool,waterslide,and bouncy pillow".Kampground was full-yet never seemed crowded.Very pet friendly-yet no doggy noise at night. Lovely beach-again, wasn't crowded.Walk across road for delicious food at Atlantic Coast Cafe-recommend the Cape Hatteras tuna-steak wrap if you don't feel like cooking. Corporate owned,no franchise owner to talk to-bathrooms wet and sandy.
Aug 06, 2013
We had a great tjme here.They had everything we needed.And the location beach just steps away and bay just a few extra steps to watch the sunset and kite surfer's.
Aug 06, 2013
We loved the location and all the activities the campground offered. We plan to go next summer.
Aug 06, 2013
Great pool/ hot tub and play area. Good, reasonably priced food, friendly staff and easy access to the dog friendly beach.
Aug 06, 2013
GREAT!
Aug 06, 2013
Very nice, clean facility. I was very impressed with the main buildings and the pool. The sights were spacious.
Aug 06, 2013
Having the rv"s and tents next to each other is terrible. I left a day early due to this. Noisy and heavy smokers.
Aug 05, 2013
Have been staying here for four or five years now, only disappointing things are the staff is not as friendly, and the kids train does not run, which was a highlight for my small kids. Everything else about the campground was great.
Aug 05, 2013
We pulled in at 9:05 pm. Was directed to go ahead and pull in to camp site and all was clear. Ran over a fire ring, damaging camper. KOA insurance has yet to call.
Aug 05, 2013
We camp in the outer banks every year, but this was our first year at KOA. We loved it!! We are already planning our next visit! We will never stay anywhere else again
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Everything was nice, great pool and excellent beach access.
Aug 05, 2013
great beach, great site, clean and well managed. Well be back!
Aug 05, 2013
Best KOA ever! Many upgrades since last year and we'll be back!
Aug 05, 2013
This KOA would get 5 star rating if only it would keep there bathhouse/room on a cleaning schedule that would keep them clean. We had to complain so that they would clean them. This was the only down fall that we found. Other than that we loved it there and would definitely come back
Aug 05, 2013
We had a great time staying in the new Suites. They were very clean and spacious. The only thing it was missing was a couch to watch tv in the evening. The pool was very nice as well.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
It was great! The only issue was the bathrooms were dirty but other than that good.
Aug 05, 2013
It was great as always. Will be going back next year. Staff was great and professional as always. Have never had any problems. Any problems with site were fixed immediately
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. They managed a large number of campers quite well. Store is well stocked. Very easy access to the beach
Aug 05, 2013
A bit expensive. Campsites too close together.
Aug 05, 2013
Great camping experience. Wi-fi is weak but really, who cares. We wanted to get away. Site was level and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Need to regulate the parking spots for golf carts, make cars park in their designated spots. Newer bathrooms with showers, don't seem to be as convenient as those with separate shower room. Still my favorite campground though-many nice upgrades!!!
Aug 05, 2013
Great Campground, but it has grown, and lost the personal feel. It now feels very corporate. Staff was still very friendly. Disappointed that they have gone back to enforcing pool hours. It would be nice to keep the pool open late so adults can enjoy without children. 11th yr. in a row, and they would not allow a late checkout, even though they had no reservations for my space.
Aug 05, 2013
Our stay at Cape Hatteras KOA was overall a great time. This campground has a beautiful beach front location. However I have to deduct at least two stars for the conditions of the bathrooms and showers. In our 7 night stay I never saw the bathrooms completely clean. This facility never washed down anything. Mostly just surface cleaned. Please hire more professional cleaners.
Aug 05, 2013
we love staying at the koa on hatteras we have been going there every year for a long time we enjoy the fact that it is right on the ocean and the sound is across the street! we will definitely be back next year!
Aug 05, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It had plenty of room. Great place to stay we have 3 teenagers and they loved being able to roam around and still stay within the campground. Everything was very clean and staff was extremely helpful. However there were some small broken things in our cabin that could have been fixed like cabinet doors missing and a hole in the bathroom door.
Aug 05, 2013
Overall the campground was very nice. Cabins are clean. Beach access is awesome! Nice new office too. Only complaint is the shower house in the middle of the park was extremely dirty and not well-kept. The shower stalls were nasty, from dirty floors to even an open tampon and cloths behind the door in one unit. The curtains were very moldy and needed replaced. Also they rarely had hot water.
Aug 05, 2013
great campground
Aug 05, 2013
The beach and pool were fun, but the public showers and bathrooms were dirty and nasty. At beach campgrounds, the bathrooms and showers REALLY need to be cleaned more than once a day.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Great campground. Had dispute with fellow camper because fire rings and picnic tables are scattered around or removed from area. Made my stay unpleasant. Please inspect tent campsites and arrange tables and fire rings after campers leave. Explain how it works at check in.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.