Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 16, 2013
Everything is great about your camping and the people at Koa are absplutely nice. We are coming back next year. The only negative remark I have to make is about the shower curtains in the bathrooms located in the center of the campgrounds. They need to be changed !
Aug 16, 2013
First time in the vacation suite, although we have been camping there since the late '70's. You have made some great improvements. Would suggest a sign with rules at other entrance to jumping pillow. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
We loved the campground. Will definitely make the trip down there again.
Aug 16, 2013
We had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the pool and beach. The bathrooms could have been kept up a little better but they were single room showers and bathroom
Aug 16, 2013
Great new facility, nice pool, store and decent food in the cafe. You don't ever have to leave as its on the beach and you can find everything in the camp store you'll ever need. It is rather windy in the summer and humid hot. No shade so be prepared. Nice cabins and cottages for rent with AC too. Overall a super place. Just wish they would clean the bathrooms more.
Aug 16, 2013
Facilities were clean and modern. The pool and bouncy pillow were lots of fun for the kids. We had a great campsite just steps from the beach. Pet-friendly place. The only negative was that my daughter got a fish hook stuck in her toe while in the surf. Why are people allowed to fish right where everyone swims? Otherwise, a great stay and we will be back!
Aug 16, 2013
The amenities at KOA are great and so are the cabins. However, the staff was not properly cleaning the bathrooms and did not follow the posted cleaning schedule. I understand this may be a hard task to keep up with but I know the bathrooms were neglected because the same trash would be on the floor for days.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 15, 2013
Bonjour, Nous avons passé un sejour agreable avec vos belles installations, cependant, nous avons été deçu de la faible entretien des belles salles de toilettes (douches), les rideaux de douches étaient très sales et ne sont pas changés assez souvent. Vous devriez avoir toujours une personne en service pour l'entretien continuelle de vos installations de salles de bain. Merci,
Aug 15, 2013
Nice size sites although fire rings were too close to campers; excellent beach access; beautiful pool area and cafe; bathrooms needed some maintenance; staff was not friendly or helpful; would return again just for the location.
Aug 15, 2013
Everything was clean and new. We stayed in the vacation suite in the main building - which was great! The staff was very friendly, relaxed and accommodating. The kids loved all the options - beach, rentals, pillow bounce, awesome pool, game room...It was an awesome stay!
Aug 15, 2013
I've been staying with you in the summer for many years now and will continue to do so...but...I found many that the campground lacked attention this year. The bathrooms were never clean, the garbage and recycling containers are always overflowing to name just a few. Seems like you need better staff coordination because the people are friendly and the infrastructure is amazing.
Aug 15, 2013
We loved the redesigned pool and bathhouses. The only bad part of our stay was when I fell on the beach walkway, coming back at night. It needs a light at the end to signal there is a step up. Even with a flashlight I missed and took a dive. Other than that, very happy with our stay.
Aug 15, 2013
Great staff, super friendly & helpful. Top dog restaurant one minute away fish tacos were superb. The bathrooms should be cleaned ever hour! Love Hatteras!
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
We had such a wonderful time! Despite the mega rain we had and the amazing thunderstorms and powerful winds that started to wear on our tent! The place and the people are outstanding!!! What stupendous place to set up camp. THANK YOU!!!
Aug 14, 2013
Cape Hatteras KOA is a great beach campground. There are plenty of activities for families, and the facilities are clean. I wish they would add more showers coming off the beach though.
Aug 14, 2013
Other than my son breaking his arm on the bouncy pillow at the beginning of the vacation we had a great time and didn't want to leave.
Aug 14, 2013
We really liked that we were camping at the halfway point of the Outer Banks, made it easy to see the sights up and down the Banks. Loved the short walk to the beach and that we could bring the dog. The only thing that would be better are full cement pads to reduce the sand.
Aug 14, 2013
We had a great time and we will visit again .We are thinking about taking vacation next year there for the hole week everybody was very nice .KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB.Linda Parker
Aug 14, 2013
WOW! This is a great KOA with wonderful staff and excellent amenities. The photos on their web page really show the truth in what you'll find at this KOA. The only suggestion I can make is to add more lounge chairs around the INCREDIBLE pool because it's INCREDIBLE!! We'll be back....again and again and again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
The campground was clean and maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool/playgrounds and beach access/and amenities were great. the shower curtains were moldy, and they could just get rid of them since the showers have doors that lock. Dare county mosquito sprayers came by (didn't help), and they didn't warn you or tell what was being sprayed. Overall great stay.
Aug 14, 2013
Even though it was only a one night stay, I always feel at home in a KOA Kampground!
Aug 14, 2013
We had the best time!! Very nice place!! Definitely will visit again!! Only 1 suggestion to the property owner: it would be nice to have a bench in the bathhouse to have a place to put things and to sit to put shoes on!
Aug 13, 2013
Beautiful, newly renovated campground!
Aug 13, 2013
Le site est très bien. Nous avons aimé la proximité de la mer et la tranquillité des lieux. Nous soulignons aussi la taille du camping, pas trop grand ni trop petit. Les infrastructures sont impeccables. Natalie et Alain, août 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Les salles de bains pourraient être lavées plus souvent.
Aug 13, 2013
We liked this campground for the proximity to the beach, the great swimming pool and the friendly staff. Complaints - power outages, horrible wifi (but its the beach so who cares; no shade (but again, it's the beach!).
Aug 13, 2013
We enjoyed ourselves however a refrigerator in the one room cabin would be a great plus!! We have stayed at the Wilmington KOA and find it fits our vacation style better. we did however enjoy our Hatteras stay as the island is beautiful!
Aug 13, 2013
The location is great, unfortunately can not say the staff was overly helpful. No one working their reception desk was familiar with RVs space they need etc. on first day we arrived there were 2 picnic tables at our very cramped site we requested table to moved to both front desk and grounds crew that was on Friday when we left on Monday table was still there. Lot of money for little service.
Aug 13, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Clean and safe family atmosphere. And the facility was beautiful. Camp sights are way to close to each other. I could barely walk around my 16' Rv because there was a tent on every side. That would be my only complaint for this koa. The others have more space between sites.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Bathrooms could be cleaner.
Aug 12, 2013
Being an annual visitor since the early 80's, I have seen many changes in this campground. My one complaint is the old, tempermental power lines for the trailers. If KOA can spend millions on a new office and upgraded cottages/apartments, why didn't they upgrade the power lines to all camp sites. Our power went out numerous times during our stay, sometimes for several hours. #1 priority????
Aug 12, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Great location. Helpful staff.
Aug 12, 2013
New hotel rooms are great
Aug 12, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cape Hatteras camp ground. My two boys 8 and 11 enjoyed the jumping pillow, swimming pool, and game room. We will definitely come and camp again.
Aug 12, 2013
toilette malpropre, beaucoup trop d'eau sur le site. L'accueil ferme trop tôt.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
You have the wrong email address. I a, not the person who stayed at your campground. Stop sending me email
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Camp ground has poor layout, and lots of people milling about on roadway. Not pedestrian friendly. Continue improvements, yes understand, work in progress. Staff, friendly, desk not well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
The spaces were a bit tight for big rigs and the site (#420) had more sand than grass like most other sites.
Aug 12, 2013
Great Kampground in a great location. The facilities were great for the most part. We had a great time at the beach, pool, and playgrounds. The staff was super friendly as well. The only problem was that there was some waiting for a shower. The shower curtains also could have been cleaned a little better.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The location of this KOA is hard to fault. The beach makes quite a statement. The camp itself is too big. The night we arrived was such mass confusion that we almost left. The configuration of the cabins gives no privacy, and the internet never worked.
Aug 12, 2013
I thought the campsite was good! The bathrooms were a little dirty though. When we checked in, we got a site right next to the entrance. While this is what we reserved, after seeing the site, asked to move and they helped without an issue. Some of the staff seemed very overwhelmed and grumpy though. That was a little off putting.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.