Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
The campground was clean and maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kids loved the pool/playgrounds and beach access/and amenities were great. the shower curtains were moldy, and they could just get rid of them since the showers have doors that lock. Dare county mosquito sprayers came by (didn't help), and they didn't warn you or tell what was being sprayed. Overall great stay.
Aug 14, 2013
Even though it was only a one night stay, I always feel at home in a KOA Kampground!
Aug 14, 2013
We had the best time!! Very nice place!! Definitely will visit again!! Only 1 suggestion to the property owner: it would be nice to have a bench in the bathhouse to have a place to put things and to sit to put shoes on!
Aug 13, 2013
Beautiful, newly renovated campground!
Aug 13, 2013
Le site est très bien. Nous avons aimé la proximité de la mer et la tranquillité des lieux. Nous soulignons aussi la taille du camping, pas trop grand ni trop petit. Les infrastructures sont impeccables. Natalie et Alain, août 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Les salles de bains pourraient être lavées plus souvent.
Aug 13, 2013
We liked this campground for the proximity to the beach, the great swimming pool and the friendly staff. Complaints - power outages, horrible wifi (but its the beach so who cares; no shade (but again, it's the beach!).
Aug 13, 2013
We enjoyed ourselves however a refrigerator in the one room cabin would be a great plus!! We have stayed at the Wilmington KOA and find it fits our vacation style better. we did however enjoy our Hatteras stay as the island is beautiful!
Aug 13, 2013
The location is great, unfortunately can not say the staff was overly helpful. No one working their reception desk was familiar with RVs space they need etc. on first day we arrived there were 2 picnic tables at our very cramped site we requested table to moved to both front desk and grounds crew that was on Friday when we left on Monday table was still there. Lot of money for little service.
Aug 13, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Clean and safe family atmosphere. And the facility was beautiful. Camp sights are way to close to each other. I could barely walk around my 16' Rv because there was a tent on every side. That would be my only complaint for this koa. The others have more space between sites.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Bathrooms could be cleaner.
Aug 12, 2013
Being an annual visitor since the early 80's, I have seen many changes in this campground. My one complaint is the old, tempermental power lines for the trailers. If KOA can spend millions on a new office and upgraded cottages/apartments, why didn't they upgrade the power lines to all camp sites. Our power went out numerous times during our stay, sometimes for several hours. #1 priority????
Aug 12, 2013
Enjoyed our stay. Great location. Helpful staff.
Aug 12, 2013
New hotel rooms are great
Aug 12, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the KOA Cape Hatteras camp ground. My two boys 8 and 11 enjoyed the jumping pillow, swimming pool, and game room. We will definitely come and camp again.
Aug 12, 2013
toilette malpropre, beaucoup trop d'eau sur le site. L'accueil ferme trop tôt.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
You have the wrong email address. I a, not the person who stayed at your campground. Stop sending me email
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Camp ground has poor layout, and lots of people milling about on roadway. Not pedestrian friendly. Continue improvements, yes understand, work in progress. Staff, friendly, desk not well organized.
Aug 12, 2013
The spaces were a bit tight for big rigs and the site (#420) had more sand than grass like most other sites.
Aug 12, 2013
Great Kampground in a great location. The facilities were great for the most part. We had a great time at the beach, pool, and playgrounds. The staff was super friendly as well. The only problem was that there was some waiting for a shower. The shower curtains also could have been cleaned a little better.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The location of this KOA is hard to fault. The beach makes quite a statement. The camp itself is too big. The night we arrived was such mass confusion that we almost left. The configuration of the cabins gives no privacy, and the internet never worked.
Aug 12, 2013
I thought the campsite was good! The bathrooms were a little dirty though. When we checked in, we got a site right next to the entrance. While this is what we reserved, after seeing the site, asked to move and they helped without an issue. Some of the staff seemed very overwhelmed and grumpy though. That was a little off putting.
Aug 12, 2013
The staff was awesome with the kids activities, the bath houses were clean and in great condition, and the grounds were well taken care of. We will for sure be back again!!
Aug 12, 2013
The shower curtains & liners were extremely moldy. One liner, a quarter of the liner was black. The shower stalls were clean it was just the liners & curtains that were in bad shape. I let them now the first morning about this. Other than that, we were extremely pleased with the improvements made to this campground since the hurricane. We have stayed here for years & this is our first issue.
Aug 12, 2013
Very friendly staff. Clean store, grounds and bath facilities.
Aug 11, 2013
Hot tub was broken :(
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
New amenities were very nice. Kampung Lodges could have been cleaned better - tons of ants and the cleaning crew left crushed Oreos in the cabinets, hence the ants. Beach was great and KOA workers were very friendly, pools were very nice too. Overall a great time for the 9 of us. Also more daily crafts would have been great for the little ones like many of the othe KOAs do.
Aug 11, 2013
This is my 5th time at this KOA. It continues to give us lasting family vacation memories.-Cannon Family
Aug 11, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time here,everything was wonderful. The pool was awesome as well as all the amenities, there's something for everyone! Even our little dog loved the doggie park. I like that I could let my 9 year old Grandaughter ride her bike without a worry. This is my new favorite "home away from home"....thanks KOA!
Aug 11, 2013
Beautiful campsite, had a blast with the family.
Aug 11, 2013
Great KOA with an Awesome Staff and amenities. We loved the pool area and how convenient everything is. Just can not beat being so close to the ocean.
Aug 11, 2013
This was our first time staying at a KOA campground, and we loved it! We have a 3yr old and 6 yr old and stayed in the Coral Cabin, it was excellent! The whole experience from the cleanliness, to the location, the amenities, to the kids activities, the pool, jumping balloon, playground,camp fires, and overall atmosphere made our trip a total success. We will be back next year, Thankyou!
Aug 11, 2013
Second year in a row. LOVE this Campground. Access to the beach, outstanding. Cafe food is the best. Note to first timers, tie down those awnings and put them down at night. The windiest place in America. Beach campfires rule!!!
Aug 11, 2013
The campground was nice as usual. However, our cabin was less than satisfactory. There was a gap around the door big enough for the maintenance guy to stick his hand through it. He did not fix it. Also the ac stopped working halfway through our stay. Not good with that big gap. The cabin was not clean (big hunks of sand on floor and cigarette butts all over the ground)
Aug 11, 2013
We have stayed at several different KOA's and this is by far the best one! The pool was awesome, the cabins great and the service was the best of all. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the summershinners were excellent!
Aug 11, 2013
Aug 11, 2013
Vastly improved
Aug 11, 2013
The one problem area we observed were in the bathrooms located in the south central section. The shower curtains were moldy/stained and the hot water for the showers was too limited. You get hot water for less time than it takes to get wet, let alone soap up rinse and wash your hair.
Aug 11, 2013
Excellent location and facilities!!! Super kid friendly and great sunsets on the sound.
Aug 10, 2013
We loved our stay! We stayed in a deluxe cabin. We could see the ocean and the sound from the deck. The only thing they can improve on is the cleaning. The cabin was dirty when we arrived. We will definitely return! The pool was great and the walk to the ocean wasn't bad at all. Next time we will bring bikes! We loved everything about this campground and have told everyone how much fun we had.
Aug 10, 2013
Very disapointed by this KOA. The bathrooms were very dirty. Not at all a KOA standard! It was also very expensive, the most expensive I've been. The garbage bins near the beach were not empty often enough so there was garbage on the ground !
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.