Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
we went in to find that our cabin was not very clean there was dog hair everywhere from the previous people that were ther, the air conditioner leak water all over the floor I had to put a towel down there was mold in the vent in the bathroom and in the air conditioning units. for as much as we paid a nigh I expected much better! we will not be returning!
Aug 01, 2014
Wonderful! We plan to come back every summer :)
Aug 01, 2014
Deluxe cabins offered so many unexpected extras! It was amazing to sit on our balcony and closely be able to watch our children on the jumping pillow and playground. We had so much fun looking for crabs on the beach with flashlights at night and having a beach fire under the clear starry sky.
Aug 01, 2014
The staff was helpful and on a whole the campground was clean. More attention could have been paid to keeping the restrooms cleaner.
Aug 01, 2014
This site was the best part of our vacation. Absolutely wonderful!
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Reasonably clean but no hot water in men's room. Very expensive and noisy at night because of close proximity.
Aug 01, 2014
Great amenities. Our reservations were made in advance, but still got messed up and we were not able to camp side by side, which we both requested
Aug 01, 2014
The internet wifi not strong enough to reach the sites. There was alot of confusion with the sites lots of people having to change sites as poor management of the empty sites. We now cal this the musical camp site. Need more gravel on the sites for large campers they sink into the grass when parking. Beach was great and the pool excellant .
Aug 01, 2014
As a first time visitor, I came away with a whole new respect for KOA. It's a very comprehensive and well-kept facility with many things (like the beach, restaurants, sailing) within easy walking distance. Clean showers and bathrooms, too!
Aug 01, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
Last year was great! This year we got stuck in the muck, dog feces was everywhere and the dogs next door barked a lot. We enjoyed the pool and the bath house was always clean.
Aug 01, 2014
Staff was great and welcoming. Love our stay. Thanks to all.
Aug 01, 2014
We made a reservation for a 60ft camper and they put us on a 40ft lot. The workers were nice but the admin. was messed up. All the sites are jammed together and overpriced!
Jul 31, 2014
Beau séjour , propreté, personnel courtois
Jul 31, 2014
Folks were great. New pool is fabulous. Cafe has good offerings. Campgrounds still needs to work on drainage!! When it rained, were were in water!
Jul 31, 2014
Only 4 stars because of the crowds. It is a beautiful place with great amenities and very pet friendly. There are just a lot of people because it is so great.
Jul 31, 2014
Lots of fun things to do, but campsites are on top of each other! Our neighbors were noisy all night and golf carts traveling to and from the beach at 2 AM. This was the most over priced and disappointing KOA I ever had ... 161.00 wasted.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Enjoyed the close location to the beach and loved the pool! Staff was friendly, wished that parents with small kids didn't treat the hot tub like a baby pool. :-)
Jul 31, 2014
Should have been informed that the beds had air mattresses. The back pain was excruciating when I woke up. Had I known this, I would not have reserved this cabin. The campground overall was well maintained and the staff was friendly.
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Great place for beach vacation. Very well run activities. Only minor note of concern is golf carts starting to be more frequent and lots of wandering pedestrian traffic in camp roads. It is a place we plan to continue to return to each year..
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
We had a great time!
Jul 30, 2014
love it well be back .thanks
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
I'd like most sites have full hookups (including sewer service)
Jul 30, 2014
Loved it! All the amenities and more. Everything was clean and we had a great time! See ya next year KOA!
Jul 29, 2014
have been coming here since 1990. wouldn't stay anywhere else. very clean. great people. good activities program. wish recycling was back. hope outdoor theater/stage gets replaced. wish other playground was back. you all did a REMARKABLE and speedy job at cleaning up and recovering from Hurricane Arthur!! i have already made my reservation for my 2 week stay for next year. see you then!!
Jul 29, 2014
Great location, but a little crowded.
Jul 29, 2014
Golf cart would not work. Man in charge told us we should have put water in the battery ! Also, girl at front desk would not give me clean towels as she said she had already given them to me. I told her I had returned wet towels and she gave me a disgusted look. She gave me one! Too many new people on staff. Most did not know what they were doing.
Jul 29, 2014
This was our first time staying with you guys. We had a great time here.
Jul 29, 2014
Jim Rogers said on Under Cover Boss the goal of KOA is to create happy campers so they tell their friends. That is EXACTLY what the staff here does.This was our 80th visit to this property and we brought our friends to use their new Rv for the 1st time. Kat (aka Katherine) welcomed them above and beyond our expectations.the Entire staff made them feel like VIPs and they are returning n 3weeks THX
Jul 29, 2014
Tom was AWESOME !!!!!!!!!!
Jul 29, 2014
We love the location and the campground is a million times nicer than any other in the surrounding area. The bathroom facilities are immaculate, the pool is crystal clear, the staff is excellent. We LOVE the OBX KOA!!! We will be staying there quite a bit over the next four years while my husband is stationed in Elizabeth City!
Jul 28, 2014
I would like to compliment the staff for the fast response to the cleanup of the campground Hurricane Arthur. I know it was so discouraging to suffer another damage from this hurricane after getting rebuilt from the previous one. I know everyone appreciated the 1/2 off offer on the campsites. Despite the devastation and the hard work, the entire staff kept a positive attitude and a smile.
Jul 28, 2014
we enjoyed the stay, felt safe and staff was friendly
Jul 28, 2014
Very impressed with cleanliness of entire campground.However,very disappointed during checking in to learn that our deluxe cabin had been double booked and we were bumped to a smaller cabin with less amenities.This was very upsetting and stressful to start off a family vacation.When booking you must say"this cabin is requested/required" to avoid this catastrophe at check in.
Jul 28, 2014
My kids and I loved staying in the deluxe cabin on the beach. Every morning I had my coffee on the deck while watching the surfers. Every night I had the most beautiful view of the stars. I wish the beach side cabins had full kitchens, that would have made our stay a 5 star!
Jul 28, 2014
This was our 4th stay in 8 years and our least favorite trip. I understand that the hurricane made things difficult and caused standing water but my issue was with the maintenance staff that did not do ANYTHING to help us with a terrible MUD situation. They simply said sorry we can't help you.. So much for customer service.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our family stay. We would like to see more organized activities for teenagers.
Jul 28, 2014
The whole family had a fantastic time. There was plenty to keep the kids occupied, the beach was fabulous, and parents could relax. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was friendly and accommodating and we loved all the amenities you had to offer. Big fan of the newer deluxe cabins on stilts, feels like we're in our own mini beach cottage!!
Jul 28, 2014
Cold showers 4 out of 7 days with 4 different excuses. No WI-FI on the campground as promised and paid for. No swings at the playgrounds. Tie dye day was fun. Nice pool and hot tubkids are allowed in hot tub. 3 stars because the beaches are great, even though KOA didn't provide the beach.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.