Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 28, 2014
Very impressed with cleanliness of entire campground.However,very disappointed during checking in to learn that our deluxe cabin had been double booked and we were bumped to a smaller cabin with less amenities.This was very upsetting and stressful to start off a family vacation.When booking you must say"this cabin is requested/required" to avoid this catastrophe at check in.
Jul 28, 2014
My kids and I loved staying in the deluxe cabin on the beach. Every morning I had my coffee on the deck while watching the surfers. Every night I had the most beautiful view of the stars. I wish the beach side cabins had full kitchens, that would have made our stay a 5 star!
Jul 28, 2014
This was our 4th stay in 8 years and our least favorite trip. I understand that the hurricane made things difficult and caused standing water but my issue was with the maintenance staff that did not do ANYTHING to help us with a terrible MUD situation. They simply said sorry we can't help you.. So much for customer service.
Jul 28, 2014
We enjoyed our family stay. We would like to see more organized activities for teenagers.
Jul 28, 2014
The whole family had a fantastic time. There was plenty to keep the kids occupied, the beach was fabulous, and parents could relax. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Staff was friendly and accommodating and we loved all the amenities you had to offer. Big fan of the newer deluxe cabins on stilts, feels like we're in our own mini beach cottage!!
Jul 28, 2014
Cold showers 4 out of 7 days with 4 different excuses. No WI-FI on the campground as promised and paid for. No swings at the playgrounds. Tie dye day was fun. Nice pool and hot tubkids are allowed in hot tub. 3 stars because the beaches are great, even though KOA didn't provide the beach.
Jul 28, 2014
Great campground, in a good location on the OBX. Pool area is great. Back-in sites are a tad small and the bathhouse was clean but only had 8 for both men and women.
Jul 28, 2014
Great site at the foot of the dunes. Loved the pool and beach access. Had a great stay and will definitely return.
Jul 28, 2014
Bon séjour, mais système de réservations archaïque! Ils nous font changer de sites sans arrêt! Belle piscine!
Jul 28, 2014
The best spot is a beach back in. Makes you think you are alone.
Jul 28, 2014
You guys are absolutely AMAZING!!!!!!!! I would recommend and have recommended the Cape Hatteras Koa to everyone I come in contact with. I have never had a bad experience. Keep up the excellent work! Christy
Jul 28, 2014
We have been coming to KOA for 25 years and love it more each time. The cabins are great and the pool and beach access is always wonderful!
Jul 28, 2014
First time in 10 years that I reserved 2 water/electric sites and haven't received 2 sites next to each other even though requested when reservations were made and called beforehand to confirm. Bathrooms located in middle of campground had cold showers all 3 days
Jul 28, 2014
I honestly feel that this KOA was over-advertised! The sites were too wet and muddy to walk around, there was no HOT water in the bathrooms- very difficult for my husband to shave with no HOT water. There was NO WIFI connection as advertised. The staff was very nice, but the accommodations were clearly misrepresented. Sorry, we will not be back!
Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful campground. This was our first camping experience with our new RV. We rolled in after closing and the security gaurs helped us set out camper and was extremely helpful. We loved it so much we extended it a day. Even moving out site for the last night was worth it because it was so beautiful! Def coming back and recommending to everyone. - Jersey
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Clean, friendly and fun. felt very safe. Only negative was no hot water for the showers. Overall would definatley recomend staying again.
Jul 28, 2014
Our first site was muddy-but we able to move the next day. We have been here before and love the park.
Jul 28, 2014
awesome location, great beach and facilities
Jul 28, 2014
The KOA website was helpful in deciding when to stay. For the most part, the cabin and grounds were impressive. We stayed a couple of weeks after Hurricane Arthur. With this in mind, they still need to clean up the mold on our cabin air conditioner and on the shower curtains. Also, it would be more convenient if they answered the office phone when we called.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 28, 2014
Nice park. Lots of fun! enjoyed the Cabin!
Jul 28, 2014
We have rent for 12 days a suite at the third floor. The elevator was out of order all this time and nobody has worked on it all this time. I have a cardiac problem and nobody help me to bring the luggage at my room. Anybody had the facility to access our floor without a key; it's not really secure. TYhere is no gate at the entry of the campground so anybody can enter on the site.
Jul 28, 2014
We've stayed at a lot nicer koa's. Our cabin was very disappointing. The lock on our door was broken, we had no frig or TV. When we got back to our cabin aunts had invaded all of our food. The cabins were right on top of each other, so you had no privacy. They were also right off the main rd that ran through the campsite so you had everyone passing by nonstop. The whole camp site was very crowded.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
There was a lot of garbage on the beach all week long the same piles were there. Beer cans , wine bottles . Etc we told several staff members but they barely understood English. The campground itself was dirtier than normal we have been going there for several years and were disappointed this year.
Jul 27, 2014
A family we traveled with from PA were bumped from their cabin after reserving it a year in advance. They we're put in a very small unit (bunk beds were not even usable for their kids) ended up 3 to a futon. Seriously bad call, our 3 families would have left immediately if we had been closer to home. Cool place, don't play favorites or double book, there are too many other camping options.
Jul 27, 2014
The employees could not be any more helpful and informative during our stay. Enough activities to keep the children busy.
Jul 27, 2014
We had a great stay at the camp ground. It was like visiting a resort.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Very nice if you want to be on the beach. Would have preferred a longer, paved sit along the dunes.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
The bath houses were filthy on every single day. Also, the bath houses had cold water only, for 6 out of our 7 days there. This campground is far too overpriced for cold showers in dirty facilities. We brought these issues to the staff's attention on several occasions, but nothing was resolved.
Jul 27, 2014
Great KOA. Well located with friendly staff. Rest room areas were very nice. Will camp there again.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
I'm not sure where to begin....there were no golf carts available for rent after I was told I could not reserve one ahead of time, but not to worry, I would have no problem getting one when we arrived, but there weren't any. The staff is rude especially the grumpy guy who rides around on his golf cart all day and can't even acknowledge you. The wifi was horrible. I think you get the idea!!
Jul 27, 2014
even though cable and wifi were out do to Arthur
Jul 27, 2014
Thank you for a great camp site, we loved every minute of our stay
Jul 27, 2014
Very friendly staff, clean campground. Loved our time there!!
Jul 27, 2014
While we understand that the OBX were coming back up from the hurricane and that we had 2 nts at half price, the internet did not work in the campground. Every day I had to walk back to the office to do my work emails wich was an inconvienient for me. Plus the power did not work and there was digging on my site for 3 days. I must say that most staff were very welcoming.
Jul 27, 2014
511 the flies and mud are to much I will get a different spot next time , was nice
Jul 27, 2014
The stay was as pleasant as possible. The site wasn't cleaned of shells left on the pad. When asked about it, was cleaned up in a short time.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Nice cabin. GREAT location with beach access. Pool wonderful and kids loved jumping pillow. Flooded walkways and sites after rain, but understandable after all the rain this summer.
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 26, 2014
Always a great time!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.