Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
This was our first time back since it had been remodeled. It was awesome!!!! No complaints at all. The perfect family getaway!
Aug 12, 2014
showers need more water pressure and cleaned more often. i loved everything else
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
everything perfect except firewood.
Aug 12, 2014
Great Place to stay. Will definitely return.
Aug 12, 2014
The only reason I rented a vacation suite as opposed to a house was for the elevator for my husband. I understand the elevator not working due to storm, but you should offer then to help people with their luggage etc. Was extremely difficult on him to make thoses trips. Found the floor to be dirty upon arrival but everything else was clean. With that said, we loved our stay, the campground, etc.
Aug 12, 2014
Some of the activities posted were postponed but was never alerted to when they would take place, also a lot of things advertised for this koa never happened. Very tight spaces for the price.
Aug 12, 2014
Great facilities-very nice pool area and bathhouses. However, the grass was tall when we got there, guy came out to weed eat at that time (not great, but better), and never mowed during week so it got worse. Kids activities (or lack thereof) were disappointing. Summer Shiners not very interactive/engaging. In the end, felt that we had certainly overpaid for this trip.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Can't beat the access to the beach. The pool and facilities are great.
Aug 12, 2014
It was overall great! We had a few issues with water main break! Just really bad timing. Once bathing kid covered in soap, other time as we were packing up and emptying black water:-( we had to pay to flush out at another campground.
Aug 12, 2014
It would be nice if the website disclosed all fees. We received 2 bundles of wood, which were wet and had cold Showers.
Aug 11, 2014
Very enjoyable 8 night stay in the vacation suites. This KOA has it all (including a beach)! The only negative issue was that the elevator was out of service for the entire week. Normally this would not be an issue however my son had broken his leg and was not going to make the trip but being that there was an elevator he decided to come with us only to discover it was not operational.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Cape Hatteras KOA is our favorite place to go....awesome place.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
My stay was very pleasent. We were in the suites. Our room was very clean and comfortable, however the elevator was broken and we carried our luggage up three flights of stairs . The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly.
Aug 11, 2014
Spent first couple of days looking at an overflowing dumpster. Grass needed to be cut in many areas. Bath houses never seemed to be clean. Even right after people were there cleaning them. Need a location to park golf carts and bikes at both points of beach access. Otherwise the sites were good.
Aug 11, 2014
The experience we had at Cape Hatteras KOA was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. We appreciated the garbage pick-up at the site and site delivery of firewood. My only negative is the speeding on golf carts by the staff. With kids and people walking all over the area there is no place for negligent use of the KOA golf carts.
Aug 11, 2014
Great facility, Great Staff. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the campground and the friendliness of the staff. Look forward to coming back soon.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
We love the Hatteras KOA! The staff is friendly, helpful and quick to respond to issues or problems.
Aug 11, 2014
Great place for family time. The bounce pillow and pool are the best in the area. Great place to enjoy a beach vacation.
Aug 11, 2014
I visited last year to tent camp... very nice but the bath houses were not very clean... same dirty band aid for 3 days.... obviously not cleaned. we rented a cabin this year... too too close together! we walked out our front door and right into the neighbors truck. they had a campfire next to our cabin that lit up the inside of our cabin. our fire pit and charcoal grill were behind our cabi
Aug 11, 2014
Staff was young and it showed in a lot of ways guys(staff) picking up Girls(campers) and carrying around. Lack of supervision at the pool should be addressed. Many times thru the week there were 1 or 2 adults at the pool with 50 Kids. Whole camp seemed very laid back NOT what I expected from a President award winning camp. Site could use some maintenance to make them less muddy during time of rain
Aug 11, 2014
The vacation suite was great!!
Aug 11, 2014
Disappointed with the honey wagon service!!!!!!!
Aug 11, 2014
We had an amazing trip. The KOA site was awesome. We would definitely go back!
Aug 11, 2014
Greate enjoyed to many barking dogs Put all people with dogs in one area
Aug 11, 2014
Great place, exceptional pool and facility. Some of the full hook-up sites are a little tight and rough with a larger fifth wheel but a great safe place for the kids.
Aug 11, 2014
The park is great and has lots of amenities. The only thing that I would like to see is more accuracy for the online reservation. There was limited availability online when in actuality there were better sites available.
Aug 11, 2014
LOVE CAPE HATTERAS KOA!!
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly staff. Making improvements that make the campground look much better. Need to widen the main roadway back to the campsites or put in a walkway. Too narrow to share with pedestrians, bikes, RVs, cars.
Aug 10, 2014
GREAT LOCATION! We stayed a week on an ocean front lot which was beautiful! No WIFI at the site and our electric did not stay on when the AC and any "heat" appliance (toaster, electric frying pan, hair dryer, etc.) was on. Shower rooms were very nice (only once saw it dirty). Staff was helpful.
Aug 10, 2014
Lousy cleaning of bathroom and shower. Site was messy can basically unusable. Mgmt unresponsive.
Aug 10, 2014
The cabin was clean. The food was yummy and priced average. Pool and hot tub were very nice. Cabin doesn't have enough warm water and needs a larger hot water heater. The other showers/ bath houses were dirty majority of the time with hair and sand and dirt. They had a shortage of toilet paper in the cabins even after asking for more. Located close to the ocean and everyone was friendly! Thanks:)
Aug 10, 2014
bathrooms were very sandy and trash was on campsites that staff did not pick up. Need more shelters over the tables.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
We stayed in one of the vacation suites on the third floor.The room was great except for the ac unit.You could only set the ac down to 68 degrees and the compressor was on a timer.Every morning around 4:00a.m.we would wake up hot.And I wish it would've had a sitting area at the t.v.For the price it would've been nicer if you had control of ac and a sitting area.
Aug 10, 2014
Friendly & patient staff. Excellent customer service. Fun in the sun!
Aug 10, 2014
Everything was wonderful
Aug 10, 2014
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. All of the staff members are friendly and hard working. The amenities are impressive and well maintained. We will return in the future and would recommend Cape Hatteras KOA to anyone looking for a nice place to stay during their beach vacation.
Aug 10, 2014
We used to rent the big beach houses in the area but find that our stay here is more relaxing most of the time we never leave the campground, by far the best koa
Aug 10, 2014
Beautiful bathrooms and shower house. It's sad they aren't cleaner. This is a busy camp ground and from what I could tell pretty full with campers most nights. I expected the bathrooms to be better tended to. We have a pop up and I rate camp grounds by the facilities and I wasn't very impressed with the cleanliness of either the really nice bathroom or shower house.
Aug 09, 2014
good overall. Great pool. The cabin bathroom sink leaked and I reported it twice to the staff. A man came out both times but each one stated they did not have the skill to repair the leak and would get someone else over to look at it which never happened. Sink still leaked when I left.
Aug 09, 2014
This is our third stay at this KOA. We are looking forward to #4!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.