Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2015
Bathrooms need a little work.
Aug 31, 2015
One morning there was no hot water to shower.
Aug 31, 2015
Love this property. My issue is they dollar you to death. 2 memebers in your party is considered a family. They charge you for your children. They charge you for a visitor for 2 hours, they charge you for your dog. Then they sent me an email for 49.99 a night and would not honor that rate when I questioned it. I could have stayed cheaper by booking at the last minute.
Aug 31, 2015
I liked the place.. Clean and new.. The Outer Banks are beautiful.. The camp ground lacked in activities for the kids.. No art's and crafts or anything constructive for the kids to do.. They also only ran the little train once while we were there and gave us the bums rush on it to boot...
Aug 31, 2015
Enjoyed our stay and will be back.
Aug 31, 2015
We come back every year because we love it!!!
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Friendly staff; great sites! Wonderful amenities and weather. Always happy with our stay when we visit!
Aug 31, 2015
Very nice campground with good facilities. Leave the pool/hot tub open later.
Aug 31, 2015
New pool and office were great! The kids loved the jumping pads and activities offered such as tye dyeing. Bathrooms and laundry areas very clean. Loved Sheila's Cafe - food was great!
Aug 31, 2015
We have been to this KOA twice now and will definitely return again. The amenities and location are great. This time some of the activities seemed a little disorganized. My son waited 35 mins for the train with several other kids. Very important to stick to the schedules they set. Also, place really needs some trees. There are none! Shade would be great
Aug 31, 2015
Recently stayed in an oceanfront cabin. Overall, cabin was clean. the front deck is a great place to sit with an amazing view. The campground itself lacks in amenities or scenery. Just looks like a big parking lot situated between two beautiful bodies of water.
Aug 31, 2015
We stayed 6 nights, enjoyed every minute of the stay. Campground was very clean, all staff was friendly and eager to help. This continues to be our favorite place to camp after 20 years. Special note, the manager did not get his name was very helpful, filled a hole on our site as soon as we asked, stopped by to check to see how things were later the next day.
Aug 31, 2015
We had such a good time here we extended our stay for two extra days!
Aug 31, 2015
Excellent! Love it will be back!
Aug 30, 2015
A great place to stay the grandson really enjoyed the pool along with being so close to the beach
Aug 30, 2015
Everything about this campground was very good. Grounds, facilities, beach access, pool. dog walk area. Not all showers worked 100% in bathhouses. Able to watch sunrise and set from one side of campground to the other.
Aug 30, 2015
I cannot say enough about Cape Hatteras KOA. It was an amazing place to visit. From the beautiful beach, spectacular pool suitable to all, the kids activities and the accommodation. Our family already anonymously voted to return next year! Highly recommended to all!
Aug 30, 2015
This was our 2nd time staying there. Everyone is so kind and helpful. Had a wonderful vacation. You'll see us again next year and hopefully every year after that.
Aug 30, 2015
Combination of friendly staff, cleanliness, great beach and ocean, great pool and playground makes it my families favorite campground.
Aug 29, 2015
Aug 29, 2015
My nieces and I had a wonderful time. Plenty of fun and safe activates for them and a relaxing stay for me.
Aug 29, 2015
This was our first time to the OBX and we definitely would return.All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.From our site,401 you could see the walkway to the ocean.Showers as soon as you left beach to rinse off.Showers/bath very close and clean.We went the 3rd week in August.Not busy at all.I loved the location.Not busy like up north.Pool and activities were great&cafe,store a huge plus!
Aug 29, 2015
This is a nice facility but it was clearly understaffed. Several times I heard the staff complaining about this issue. The pool was dirty and the shower areas from the beach were not draining and filled with algae.
Aug 29, 2015
The pool area and beach are stunning. However wished that there was a few more kids activities planned during the week.
Aug 29, 2015
Over priced! Office, pool and store was nice. Campsites not so much.when you park your camper there was dips in the ground where you step out of your camper. When it rains you have a pool of water you step into when you come out of your camper. Cable box was plastic tied to the post. Told the office the first day I was there.maintenance person did not fix it until Thursday.
Aug 28, 2015
This was our best vacation yet! Can't recommend this KOA highly enough!!!!!
Aug 28, 2015
enjoyable, but wish the grass had been cut on our site before we arrived, it sort of killed the appeal in my pics.
Aug 28, 2015
We loved Cabin 1201 & only thought it could be improved by a tiny galley with perhaps a 2 burner stove top & small sink. But otherwise, clean, well-equipped with a great view & great beach accessibility. The entire complex was very nice!
Aug 28, 2015
Great staff and beautiful campground. The food at Sheilas was good. I rate the cleanliness a 10. Will be coming back.
Aug 27, 2015
Great location and campground!! We will definitely return next summer.
Aug 27, 2015
Wonderful time at a great facility. My family and I love this KOA.
Aug 27, 2015
Awesome campground!
Aug 27, 2015
Clean and beautiful. Nice new amenities. Great job recovering from the hurricane. The staff was friendly and the store well stocked.
Aug 26, 2015
Another great stay, we will be back again as soon as we can.
Aug 26, 2015
This is a great campsite, staff is friendly and helpful, sites are a good size, only complaint was some sites had nice grass and ours were dirt and gravel but they had no issue moving us. The pool is wonderful if you have small kids who don't know how to swim yet. Access to the beach is also great. Thanks for a great stay.
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 26, 2015
This was my husband's & I first stay at a KOA since we were both kids! It was wonderful! We're KOA hooked now. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and it was nice staying at a place my dogs had a place to play! Thanks Hatteras KOA!
Aug 25, 2015
It would be nice to have better WiFi in the park.
Aug 25, 2015
If I could rate it higher I would! We loved it. Went for a lil get away with friends and all 4 of us thought it was great!!! Also really enjoyed Sheilas Carolina Kitchen!!! Food was great and so was the service!!! Very pleased!!!
Aug 25, 2015
great staff and many 'things to do' options. Being able to walk to the beach was a big plus for us.
Aug 25, 2015
We stayed at the KOA the 3rd week of Aug. and absolutely loved it. The campground is clean with very friendly staff. The sunsets on the sound are perfect and sun rises on the ocean are great. I ended up getting engaged at sunset with a perfect back drop. Thanks for a perfect weekend.
Aug 25, 2015
I have visited KOA several times in the past and absolutely love it. I did encounter one problem this trip. I called several times to see if spots were available closer to my friends, and was told no on three occassions (including check-in). However, over our three day stay several sites around the group remained open. I know that vacations get canceled, but several sites?????
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
First trip to Rodanthe and we will be returning to this KOA. Friendly staff, clean campground with many upgrades.
Aug 25, 2015
We all had a great stay and ready to come back.
Aug 24, 2015
Thanks for a great vacation! Great facilities in the perfect location. Can't wait to come back.
Aug 24, 2015
Couldn't imagine a better place to stay on the outer banks. Grand kids loved the pool and playground.
Aug 24, 2015
A little pricey.
Aug 24, 2015
We did not use the bath,laundry, pool, or children's play areas. The check-in did not take more than 5 minutes, and the staff was very friendly. The roads need some repairs...very bumpy and most not paved. Although our site was very level, it would have been nice to have concrete under the very old and splintery picnic table. Also, the flies were awful!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.