Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
We have enjoyed coming to Cape Hatteras KOA for years! We have enjoyed seeing upgrades being made each year. Since the removal of the dumpsters we have noticed a lot more trash in the campground. One suggestion is that maybe more than one trash pick up per day be made. Also wondered if any stone will be put in the 200 & 300 sites to help with flooding when it rains?
Aug 18, 2014
We love the KOA Hatteras, we have stayed 2 years in a row in the coral cabin, 1442, and it is awesome! The camp ground itself is very clean,family friendly and the staff is always courteous. Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
Aug 18, 2014
Loved being on the beach! Clean restrooms but the shower curtains loaded with mold/mildew. Kabin area flooded requires improvement.
Aug 18, 2014
weather was perfect your help is over the top very nice pool nice large spots for class a plus we had a cabin on the ocean what a gem one concern I do not understand a campground of your size that does not have a way to assist someone with a dead battery,considering everything in your park has a BATTERY
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
rude general manager.....yelling at my party when she went to office to get another site due to flooding of her tent due to the rain storm on the 11th....he was sarcastic and extremely rude to her situation....lucky another one of our party had a small trailer and took in her family....Ive stayed at KOA's for over 30 yrs. and this has been the worst one ever.loud parting going on 2-3 in the mornin
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay -- esp. their attentive, kind and helpful staff members.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
We absolutely love the cape hatteras KOA one of the best we have stayed at and we made new friends that we'll probably keep for life!!!!
Aug 18, 2014
The cabin was everything we expected & the staff was wonderful ,will come back for sure !!!! Thanks
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
We had a great time. The only issue we ran into was cleanliness of the restrooms & showers. When we first arrived we used the restroom by the registration desk, 2 stalls were missing toilet paper & one stall was extremely nasty. There should be an hourly checksheet being used. Showers were also dirty. The family shower house didn't have good ventilation & was hot.
Aug 18, 2014
5 star camping at it's best.
Aug 18, 2014
This Kampground has everything you need & I felt safe staying there.
Aug 17, 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay at the KOA. We used to come to Cape Hatteras inthe1990's and it was about 17 years since we were there. Those many years ago we're enjoyed so much by our daughter that she wanted to bring her own children there (our grandchildren). They had such a good time at the pool- and playground-- especially the jumpy pillow. This time we stayed in a delux cabin and was enjoyable
Aug 17, 2014
The ocean front site was excellent, loved listening to the waves hitting the beach. Bathrooms were clean and well kept in the afternoon (little dirty first thing in the morning). Our only issue was the lacked of Wi-Fi at our site.
Aug 17, 2014
Love the new cabins! Thanks!
Aug 17, 2014
Our stay was very pleasant. We stayed in a Deluxe cabin that was dog friendly and enjoyed meeting other campers with pets. The beach was within walking distance with easy access.
Aug 17, 2014
The family loved the water slides and the bounce mat the midnight strolls on the beach was my favorite
Aug 17, 2014
Great place, friendly people nice environment
Aug 17, 2014
Facility was clean, staff was very professional and friendly. There was plenty of staff to assist with questions. Couple of suggestions, as important as it is to not dive in into your pool, it is just as important to not have glass, as pointed out by your staff. There should be as many signs about glass. There should be additional signs indicating the walking areas and to protect the dunes. Thanks
Aug 17, 2014
WE HAVE STAYED HERE MANY TIMES BUT JUST DID NOT HAVE THE SAME FILL AS IN THE PAST.WE WILL BE BACK.
Aug 17, 2014
We really like how helpful the operations manager and her husband were with info, kids activities, play time etc.. but this year it seems like a lot of the new people, we have never seen before had no idea what was going on.. overall we love the campgrounds and what it has to offer..
Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful vacation spot!
Aug 17, 2014
We were extremely disappointed w/our stay at Cape Hatteras! The whole place was flooded and they wanted to put our class A 2000 lb motorhome on the grass with 6 inches of grass! We had reservations for several days & after much complaining, we got a "Pad" to park on,however,my husband had to walk through water to plug everything in + to top it off they told us in order to staywe hadtomove everyday
Aug 17, 2014
Terrain vraiment trop étroit, pour cette raison nous ne reviendront jamais a votre camping, et jamais le recommander a qui que ce soit. Ont a visiter d'autre dans le coin et qui sont moins coincer ...
Aug 17, 2014
Our cabin had windows that were so warped that they wouldn't lock properly and so there wwere gaps that let in the smoke from night time fires and the heat. The front window had large rips in the screen letting in bugs. Our door was also warped. There were large gaps all around it. Creating a nice opening for flies and MORE heat. The grounds are not properly drained..lots of standing rainwater
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 17, 2014
Super endroit dans les dunes de sable. Le personnel est très gentil et courtois.
Aug 17, 2014
Very nice campground with like-new facilities.
Aug 16, 2014
The site and cabin we had was fantastic! The beach, was AMAZING. However the cleanliness of the women's bathroom left a lot to be desired. Toilets would go days without being scrubed, and the floor always needed a good sweeping and mopping. There was no soap for days. The inside stalls need to be kept up with the amount of guests, and campers you rotate through the KOA cape hatteras.
Aug 16, 2014
Great staff!
Aug 16, 2014
Stayed a week. Nice. Need to mow sites. The weeds were 18" tall. Our row of sites were empty for two days, but no mowing was done.
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
Campground in great location but much to expensive- $130 per nite. The mini golf course is overgrown, very old, tiny course and to charge a fee is horrible. Activities are limited and also have fee attached. Bathrooms are new however were not clean. Mold growing on ceiling and in vents. Need price adjustment, more activities, no fees, cleaner bathrooms and it would be a gem.
Aug 15, 2014
Everything was great. Appreciate the lap pool and friendly staff. Would be nice after all these years, if the internet problem could be fixed.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
As my daughter said, "This was the best mid-week, weekend ever!" And only four hours from Chapel Hill, we will be back soon!
Aug 15, 2014
The facility is very nice with new conveniences that are still in decent shape even with the recent flooding. Staff was a mix of very nice to not very nice. I wasn't aware that kids were extra and so that was a shock. Site was not clear. Dog park is nice but I got charged for dogs while my neighbor didn't. Upsetting. Wifi is horrid by the way. They did admit that though.
Aug 15, 2014
Great access to the beach. Pool was nice and refreshing. the only reason I did not give it 5 stars the bathrooms were not cleaned properly but after notifying the front desk they were cleaned. Happy wife happy life. Had an excellent time there and will return next year.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Poor housekeeping at campsites had to clean site ourselves!! The worst KOA ever. Lazy staff but friendly!!
Aug 15, 2014
I have stayed at this KOA for the passed 17 years now. It is a great family camp ground.
Aug 15, 2014
Dirty campground very dirty! Staff was courteous
Aug 14, 2014
This was our second summer spending a week here. We loved it, though our spot seemed extremely prone to flooding. We would have loved some gravel or mulch or something to cover the mud in the center. Friendly staff, beautiful location...we'll be back for sure!
Aug 14, 2014
The cabine are too close from each other, the original alignement in a row was much better. Also the lack of wifi in 2014 is getting to be problematic.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.