Cape Hatteras KOA

25094 NC Hwy 12

Rodanthe, NC 27968

Reserve: 800-562-5268

Info: 252-987-2307

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2015
Our family of 6 had a great stay in one of your deluxe cabins. The beach was great and only a short walk away, the pool area was very welcome and our kids aged 9-14 didn't want to leave.
Jul 01, 2015
Super friendly staff, clean as always, and wonderful weather. Keep it up and we'll continue coming back year after year.
Jul 01, 2015
Enjoyed the people we met, the beach, nearby museums & historic sights! Great place,
Jul 01, 2015
This was my fifth time at your campground. I love it! The facilities are clean, very friendly staff and excellent location. We did not need to go anywhere while there, all our needs were met on site, including our morning coffee.
Jul 01, 2015
Very Nice , Bathrooms could be kept cleaner. Water got shut off one night with no warning for those in shower ! Sign was put on outside door without notifying shower users.
Jul 01, 2015
Koa très propre et agréable. Plage magnifique. Cabines confortables. Tout est bien pensé. Je veux y revenir l'an prochain et pour plus longtemps. Je m'ennuie déjà de Rodanthe.
Jul 01, 2015
IN a word "Awesome." The best past of this KOA is the staff. Super friendly and helpful. The Summershine Team is wonderful. Bath houses were always clean. No litter problems throughout the Campground. Beach and sound are both easily accessible. No doubt the best KOA in America!!!
Jul 01, 2015
very crowded, but pretty. good location. hated the shark bite incident that happened while we were there. made us leave a day early because my boys were very upset about it. They had been swimming in the exact same area just moments before it happened. Truly terrifying. We probably wouldn't come back.
Jul 01, 2015
This was a wonderful first visit for our family of five. Campgrounds and all amenities were clean and well kept. Beach area was absolutely beautiful, plenty activities, tasty cafe and convenient camp store. We look forward to returning.
Jun 30, 2015
Our family reunion was a success there! We loved it!
Jun 30, 2015
Campsite was great! Bathhouses were kept clean and very nice. Pool was very clean and fun for all ages. Cafe had a good assortment of food. Storenhad the best variety of everything food, camp store, and souvenir related. Summershiners were great especially Elizabeth and Lynette. Wish we could book two years out for our next trip (I would have put my payment downyesterday if I could).
Jun 30, 2015
We enjoyed the stay there and my kids always like it there, I just wasn't happy with the cabin we stayed in cause we had ants all over the place when we got there someone came and sprayed inside and outside but we were still seeing some here and there we kept it swept out but they were still there, I have never had that problem before
Jun 30, 2015
Fabulous week at Cape Hatteras KOA!
Jun 30, 2015
Activities for the kids were great and time appropriately throughout the day. Very Clean and staff was extremely friendly
Jun 30, 2015
Our family enjoyed our stay at the Cape Hatteras KOA. The recreational staff planned activities that my children enjoyed. We loved the fact that we could bring our dog and he had a k9 kamp to play and pet wash for after playing on the beach! The bath houses and cabins were always clean and the pools were so much fun to play in!
Jun 30, 2015
Clean bathrooms and great employees. One room cabin was much better than a tent. A little leak in the ceiling when it poured and the A/C was loud but that beats being soaked and no A/C when you want to rest out of the heat.
Jun 30, 2015
great place but a little pricey
Jun 30, 2015
Wonderful pool/hot tub. Easy access to the beach. Very clean bathrooms. Great play area for dogs. Safe environment with great activities for kids! Staff and fellow campers were friendly and courteous.
Jun 30, 2015
In one word, "AWESOME!"
Jun 30, 2015
Good job on the new manager!! We had a great time. I would love to see the cafe & store opened later. The whole staff was super. We will be back this month coming up.
Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
Very enjoyable stay, will be coming again!
Jun 30, 2015
Begs for feedback upon completion of sale. No opt out link. This is not an authorized use of my email address.
Jun 30, 2015
Over all nice facilities. Where KOA really lacks was a wifi that actual worked. I was aware that a storm came through but even after it was fixed it stilled worked poorly. Karaoke is always a great and inexpensive entertainment but when you have very few selection of songs, one book for 50 people to look at and are using a homeowners model it to lacks. To be corporate owned I expected more.
Jun 30, 2015
THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY, CAMP SITES WERE CLEAN, SHOWER HOUSES WERE IMMACULATE. HAD A GREAT TIME, GREAT OCEAN BREEZE . WILL BE BACK AGAIN.....
Jun 30, 2015
Great people, great location, great amenities.
Jun 30, 2015
Stayed in camping cabin. Everything was fine but need to know that flies get in through gap at top of door and the hard rain we had ran in all over the floor.
Jun 30, 2015
It was a bit crowded and we had rowdy neighbors that kept us up until around 2:30 am but only for the initial night. Overall I enjoyed the campground as it was very clean.
Jun 29, 2015
We stayed in a two room campig cabin. We justified the extra expense bacuse we could have A/C. The first 2.5 days we were there the brakers kept tripping and we would be with out A/C. They finally corrected the issue. The Air conditioners are very small and had to run on full all of the time just to keep the room cool. I think part of the issue is that the doors and windows did not shut well.
Jun 29, 2015
My family and I enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and willing to assist. Great cafe setup and good service. Highly recommend Cape Hatteras KOA.
Jun 29, 2015
Great location and staff. Their pool is amazing. Only negative was the locations where the placed their sewage hookups. Their all placed in raised areas to keep ground water out but are not
Jun 29, 2015
Awesome experience! Kids loved the pool. Kids want to go back next year.
Jun 29, 2015
We stayed in a cabin with wraparound porch. Took my family and they place was clean and right on the beach. We enjoyed it very much.
Jun 29, 2015
We really liked our stay at the KOA, Cape Hatters. There was an issue with the location at the onset of the trip. I spoke with someone months prior, asking for suggestions on the best location for our cabin and they put us next to the road with 5 kids. I was not pleased with the exact site given to us; however, the rest of our stay was really nice. The amenities were very clean with fun activities
Jun 29, 2015
Great staff. Would like to have some sort of shade/shelter and water at Kamp K9 for the dogs and humans
Jun 29, 2015
Overall, it was a very good stay. We loved the location of the deluxe cabin as it gave us terrific views of the beach. Two problems: the air conditioner leaked on the floor and the toilet tank was very slow in refilling.
Jun 29, 2015
Clean park, modern amenities, family oriented activities, a great experience
Jun 29, 2015
This KOA has been ravaged over the years by bad storms, so I take that into consideration. I think that the sites nearer to the dunes (the first 4-5 rows) need some major work. They are prone to flooding. The sewer inlets are too high (which means the parking sites have compressed too much and need to be built back up). Great location, just needs work.
Jun 29, 2015
Best location and amenities in outerbanks.
Jun 29, 2015
Facility is wonderful. No hot water at men's bath house sinks. We were also "invaded" by black ants inside our camper. Faculty was fast to spray bit the week was filled with constantly killing ants inside our camper.
Jun 29, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, only complaint was the shower curtain liners were all torn up. The condition of the showers has not been very good on our last several trips and I reviewed as such and also told campground staff.
Jun 29, 2015
Great location. Campsite was very clean and well taken care of. Second visit to this KOA.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
We can a great time. Beautiful facilities and clean.
Jun 28, 2015
Only one thing that was negative for me and 2 guests was the air condition did not work too well. Either too old - too small- or the old crooked door and windows did not hold the air.? Other than that the stay was wonderful people very nice and helpful ( they did come by right away but could only wash the airs filter). The pool and new building are terrific!!! Cafe food very good and reasonable!
Jun 28, 2015
Had a wonderful time. We loved our camp site. Very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Plan to come back. Just wish the Sharks would have stayed away. The ocean is there territory not are's. Thank you Lana
Jun 28, 2015
I really liked the cabin that we stayed in, it was clean and I love the fact that it had linens...I wish I would have been notified that it wasn't a full kitchen, but we made do....the only complaint I have was the ants...we were infested with them and I brought a few home with me...but I thought the campground was great and the people were very friendly that worked there.
Jun 28, 2015
Awesome staff and campground!
Jun 28, 2015
We were escorted to our sight and were put next to our other relatives there. We enjoyed the beach, the pool and hot tub, the staff, etc. riding our bikes along the street and close to many restaurants etc.
Jun 28, 2015
I enjoy my stay every time . I wish you could provide coffee in the camp store for campers before the cafe opens. We had to go offsite to get coffee in mornings.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.