Butte KOA

Open April 15 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-8089

Info: 406-782-8080

Email

1601 Kaw Avenue

Butte, MT 59701

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Sep 23, 2016
Too much stone and too little grass!
Sep 22, 2016
Camping near a highway is never ideal, but my site was a fine place to set up a tent at an ok price. The woman at the front desk was fantastic.
Sep 06, 2016
Very welcoming staff and great fried chicken on site. Needs to have some outlets brought in to tent sites. Even tenter's have electronics to charge overnight.
Sep 05, 2016
Sep 01, 2016
The two side streets next to the campground were noisy from truck traffic all night long.
Aug 30, 2016
Nice, clean campground. Pool was a nice distraction for the kids after a long travel day. Lots of noise from around the area at night though.
Aug 30, 2016
Nice facility with friendly staff. On-site Chicken Shack is a nice break from the usual campfire food.
Aug 28, 2016
We are new to the KOA campgrounds. We stopped here on our way home from Yellowstone. It was a clean campground and the grass pad was extra comfy for us in our tent.
Aug 23, 2016
Good
Aug 22, 2016
The nearby freeway was noisy, but not too bad. Campground was quiet, and relatively well maintained. Staff was very frindly and helpful.
Aug 22, 2016
Clean bathrooms
Aug 22, 2016
didn't get a lot of sleep, due to the storm that came through and sitting in almost 3 inches of water and the traffic noise of the interstate
Aug 18, 2016
Clean and quite tent sites. We booked online for the wrong night and they were awesome and switched the day no problem.
Aug 07, 2016
Stay if even just to have the chicken--it was so good. The only reason for not giving five stars was the noise. I was in a tent space very close to the campground exit and the road and it was noisy.
Aug 03, 2016
The facilities at this KOA are clean and well cared for, however its location is not ideal for a quiet night's sleep since, though easy to find, is situated right off the highway. Also, the price for tent space is ridiculous: nearly $40 a night for a patch of grass, a picnic table, and a code for poor-working internet. RVs might find the price more equitable for what they get, but not tents.
Aug 01, 2016
It's hard to really make an accurate recommendation, as we booked our tent site at the last minute during Evil Week, so our site was closest to the busy road and nearby campers were somewhat loud during quiet hours. Otherwise, I've yet to land at a bad KOA.
Aug 01, 2016
Enjoyed our stay at the Butte KOA. Very friendly and nice clean campground.
Jul 30, 2016
Great for overnight stays
Jul 26, 2016
nice staff. tenters directly behind my friend's cabin were allowed to set up campfire under his window so he had to close it despite heat. pool should be skimmed of debris more frequently. low hanging chains around cabins serve to trip up guests at night.
Jul 25, 2016
Well kept campground, nice staff. There was simply too much road traffic all night.
Jul 21, 2016
Very noisy! ! Car traffic all night long!
Jul 20, 2016
Right next to the interstate so very loud. Large pile of brush and other yard waste not to far from our camp spot. Not as well cared for or maintained as the other KOAs we visited.
Jul 18, 2016
Tent sites to close to main road and entrance. Very noise and not very safe.
Jul 18, 2016
We actually did not stay!! We didn't get the site I am sure I reserved(t-40), instead we were placed in 41. My friend switched to 42 before I was even done signing the receipt!! This site should not be rented as it has little to no grass!! An argument ensued and both parties headed home.
Jul 12, 2016
We have stayed at this KOA for several years while attending the MT Folk Festival. In that time, there has been very little upgrade to the bathrooms. The mens bathroom especially is small. My husband complains about it every year. He would like to see more stalls and bigger ones. Also, for tent campers, there is considerable interstate traffic noise.
Jul 11, 2016
need more water sources. no code to bathroom had to bring light and glasses to access door!
Jul 11, 2016
Store opened up too late. Tent sites are too expensive!
Jul 06, 2016
The KOA was very much in need of some TLC
Jul 06, 2016
This KOA is not a tent friendly KOA. The tents are up front by the registration area, which makes them in the noisiest part of the campground. It is easily accessible and is probably great for the majority of RV campers.
Jul 02, 2016
People were nice, but the pool was very small and not too much to do. There were a lot of mosquitos. Sites are tight together.
Jun 28, 2016
Excellent place to stay! The pool was clean, deep, and heated. We were able to go for a morning swim before we left because the pool was 79 degrees. The campsite was clean. The showers were fine and pretty clean. The host was excellent and showed us to our site even though we checked in late! THE CHICKEN SHACK WAS AMAZING. A very nice woman helped us and chatted with us, chicken was great!
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 21, 2016
Jun 18, 2016
It was ok. Worn down and less nice than other koas that are the same price.
Jun 15, 2016
Birders will like this KOA which is located by a series of ponds and a creek with a walking/biking trail. Catbirds, warblers, teals, herons, wrens, etc.
Jun 13, 2016
Facility is clean and well maintained. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The tent sites are right along the freeway, so it is noisy - not for a light sleeper
Jun 11, 2016
The campsites are much too crowded. And they were very small.
Jun 06, 2016
It was not quiet. People pulled in at 3 am to set up tent....tent sites need to be away from the road entrance
May 31, 2016
Very friendly people, especially Tom! This place was super clean and presentable. They must clean while we sleep, because it was freshly done in the morning as well! Our family WILL be returning to stay again. Thank you SO much!
Sep 25, 2015
Sep 11, 2015
OK but too close to freeway.
Sep 08, 2015
Great people are working there! It is clean and not overcrowded. Noisy traffic overnight, but that's not a problem for me.
Sep 02, 2015
The pool was fun for the kids, the campsite we had was small but cute. i enjoyed our stay here. It was also close to walmart for getting groceries
Aug 28, 2015
was in the middle of construction so some things were being improved. Really only decent campground in Butte.
Aug 18, 2015
clean and friendly. staff very helpful
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
I stay at this campground every year. I'm comfortable here and the site is ok.
Aug 12, 2015
This is a terrible setting. There is noise from the road until 11PM. Also no water at tent sites.
Aug 12, 2015
The facility itself is nice but the ten sites are on top of each other and are super noisy. & the quiet hours sadly weren't all that quiet. After driving 400 miles to get there I would've liked a better nights sleep.
Aug 10, 2015
The location was terrible. I felt like I was in the worst part of Butte and didn't feel at all comfortable staying here. They're doing upgrades on the campground itself which is a great idea, but the location was terrible.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy