Butte KOA

1601 Kaw Avenue

Butte, MT 59701

Reserve: 800-562-8089

Info: 406-782-8080

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Tent Reviews

Jul 30, 2015
Campground is adjacent to some really nice walking trails. It makes the perfect place to exercise your pets.
Jul 30, 2015
2.5 stars. Bathrooms need major upgrade. We were rained in tent campers and there were no recreation room to retreat to. The road noise was horrendous. The older staff were very pleasant. The younger red hair staff wasn't.
Jul 29, 2015
Thanks for a nice visit to your campground. We had a nice quiet time @ our site. Both were very tired from all the driving. Stop @ your KOA and had delish "FISH AND CHIPS" and PIE too. What can I say but Thanks to staff and restaurant folks. We enjoyed our stay!!!
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
The bathrooms are nasty. It needs some serious upgrades. The staff was not very friendly. Won't go to that KOA again.
Jul 18, 2015
Great staff. Seems they really go above and beyond to make campers feel welcome. Good job!
Jul 16, 2015
Light outside men's bathroom not working-very dark in the evening. Urinal not in use in men's bathroom. Sinks and urinal (if working) were too high for children. Closure for bathroom stalls were too high for children or not working. Staff were friendly.
Jul 13, 2015
Friendly staff, well-organized, well-kept grounds, right balance of rules and leisurely atmosphere, and clean bathrooms. Only dings were inconvenience of men's urinal being out of service and the confusing shower control knobs (no indicators for "hot" or "cold" adjustment).
Jul 13, 2015
Staff was helpful and friendly. The campground and facilities were very clean. The restaurant was great!
Jul 13, 2015
the hosts were great! very accomodating when we wanted to move tent sights. would stay there again
Jul 12, 2015
The kids loved this KOA. It was the first one we'd ever stayed at with them and KOA's are all they want to stay at now. I would've liked to have a change machine in the laundry room since we wanted to do laundry after office hours and we needed change. We were also interested in recycling several items but no bins were available.
Jul 10, 2015
Tent sites are too close. I heard the guy in the next tent farting and snoring all night.
Jul 05, 2015
People were very friendly. Thanks Rob for the highway 1 information, it was great.
Jul 03, 2015
Nice koa, but noise from highway was loud for me camping van. Clean showers and nice people, next door to butte visitor center, take shuttle tour of historical area
Jun 29, 2015
Nice facilities, clean and well cared for . Friendly staff. Need security fencing especially behind play area but campsites are not secure from public access either.
Jun 29, 2015
The friendliest staff ever!
Jun 20, 2015
Jun 08, 2015
Rob was cool.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 12, 2014
A truly adorable campground! Amazingly friendly and helpful staff, and a beautiful atmosphere! The Chicken Shack is pretty great, too ;)
Sep 11, 2014
Staff was attentive, everything was clean, free phone use in the laundry room (!), and the grassy areas for the tents was soft and even. Now if only we weren't so close to a main road; but when you're tired, you don't hear anything during the night, but it does wake you up early in the morning.
Sep 06, 2014
Very convient, clean and friendly
Aug 23, 2014
Clean, showers were available. Proximity to road resulted in more noise. Tent sites were very close together. No electricity/lights at tents.
Aug 18, 2014
Overall had a good experience.
Aug 15, 2014
The bathrooms were not kept well at all. In the woman's shower there was feces. It was very unclean and made my stay very uncomfortable.
Aug 12, 2014
The grass could use some water -- pretty dry and beat. Otherwise pretty good.
Aug 11, 2014
Wish there was elect in the tent sights
Aug 10, 2014
This camp ground was one of the noisiest I have ever stayed at. The camp sites for tent camping are right where everyone enters the park and you get traffic in and out all night long and the two hwy's right next to it and the trains going by all night made this one of the worst I have ever been at. Other then that the park is pretty much like all other KOA's very clean
Aug 09, 2014
thanks a too much
Aug 09, 2014
i whould not forgot your coorporation to me especialy wonder women thanks
Aug 08, 2014
Thank you so much!! Very good place!!
Aug 06, 2014
LATE NIGHT CHECK IN WAS EASY, THE TENT SITES WITH HOOK UP HAD REALLY HARD GROUND AND WE COULD NOT GET OUR STAKES IN.
Aug 03, 2014
Really noisy with the road next to the campground. Grass in campground was almost all dead. Staff was nice and helpfull. Expected a better campground for such a large town
Jul 30, 2014
Pool was not working,Wi-Fi service is very poor. Bathrooms need an updated facelift. Water turns scalding hot in the showers when the sink faucets are turned on. The grounds were nice and the Staff was wonderful. Just needs a little work. Would consider it again though if nothing else was available.
Jul 28, 2014
This Koa is lacking!! We had a tent spit with no table no fire pit and no garbage can near by. We did get a free cup of coffee. The garbage cans where over full. Not gonna stay here again!!
Jul 21, 2014
close to hiway is a both a plus and a minus. But the noise wasn't intolerable. Really missed the pool being closed. I wish there was more effort in that. Appreciated the free fire pit even when we brought our own wood. Bathrooms old, but usable and clean.
Jul 20, 2014
Staff is friendly and accommodating but bath house is very small and old. Hopefully new owners will be able to modernize the facilities.
Jul 20, 2014
This KAO needs some serious updating, also the pool is not in operation which was a serious problem.
Jul 15, 2014
The price is right and you can't beat the location for exploring downtown Butte. Campground is located next door to the Visitor Information/Chamber of Commerce. There's a bike/hike path right next to the campground. Easy on/off to the interstate. Friendly staff, always present, and eager to assist. For my first time staying in a KOA campground, Butte was an excellent introduction to the KOA family
Jul 14, 2014
Having a shower that I didn't have to pay was fantastic. Nice people. Nice setting. More shade trees would have been nice, but it's also in Butte where trees have a tough time. Freeway is nearby but with earplugs one can get a good nights sleep. Great place for bicyclers on their trips.
Jul 14, 2014
Wonderful management. The facilities are nice. We were not aware that the pool was not operational. The wireless did not cover our are at all. Thanks ~!
Jul 14, 2014
Interstate is too loud.
Jul 14, 2014
What a screw job. I tried to cancel a day early but they wanted 48 hours. They knew it was Festval week and they would have no problem booking the site! $35.00 for a no hookup tent site. They only reason I've stayed there for the last four years is because if it gets too hot at the festival we can use the pool. This year no water in the pool. Wifi sucks picnic table broken and loaded with ants.
Jul 14, 2014
I was very impressed by how clean the campground was - even during the extremely busy Folk Festival weekend. Good job!
Jul 14, 2014
The swimming pool was broken yet no one mentioned that when I made a reservation. I don't think full price should be charged if all amenities are not available. No shade in the tent campsites that were obviously overflow. Other sites were very nice and the campground is close to town. It was a good location to stay for the folk festival.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
May 18, 2014
Paying $34 for a tent space is absolutely ridiculous. The showers are in serious need of maintenance, and the after-hours registration is questionable at best.
Sep 11, 2013
I wouldn't recommend this campground for tents. There is no privacy. I ended up sleeping crumpled up in my MINI Cooper because I didn't feel safe in a tent. The camper at the site directly behind me did not have a tent or a car which lead me to believe he was a transient? He watched me set up and knew I was alone. I wanted to switch to a cabin but the office was closed.
Sep 09, 2013
We usually have a pretty good experience with KOAs, but I cannot recommend the Butte KOA. The location is right off the highway and a busy road with truck traffic. The tent spots are crowded and have no privacy, and there are parking lot lights that stayed on all night. A terrible night's sleep and that was overpriced.
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.