Butler North KOA

231 Peaceful Valley Road

West Sunbury, PA 16061

Reserve: 800-562-2792

Info: 724-894-2421

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The impression from the internet site and being there were completely different..internet site made it sound new and it was not new ..not much gravel on campground road so even a little rain you were in mud.Grass needed mowed and no escort to your site..I've been to other KOA and I guess I expected more. They did have a nice fireworks display and there playground was nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed with our campground. We feel that the website accurately depicts our campsite as all photos were taken within the last two years. Hopefully you will find something more to your liking. Have a good summer.
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay been coming there for 3 years meant awesome friends there which we now meet there a couple times a year we stay at w27 that's our favorite

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to have your group. Hope to see you again soon.
Jul 08, 2013
We have been there before, we like the set up and the trees at every site. Also the nice new playground for the kids was a great improvement. Like to see the grass mowed, but the weather was so bad and wet for so many weeks. i am sure it was hard to get any mowing done. Thanks for a great stay. See you soon again.
Jul 08, 2013
The firewood I bought at the KOA was fresh cut and wouldn't burn. Sad thing is everyone else had the same wood so the camp was filled with smoke at certain points during the day. Someone felt the need to park on my site while we were gone and almost parked me in. But the staff is delightful and very helpful. They have anything you'll need for a great stay and everyone was quiet after 10:00.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your bringing the wood issue to our attention. I will talk to Glen! Enjoy your summer.
Jul 08, 2013
It was so hard to push my sons wheelchair through the new gravel that was just put on before we arrived. We had to leave on the 4th,to go to the ER. I told that I was pulling out on the 5th. I know our site was rented out so you got double paid. I really don't think I will return. I lost $160.00. And hated the site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you had to go to the emergency room. I gave out two rain checks that weekend because of medical issues - I am unsure if you were one of them. We did not rent that site again until the 8th. I am sorry you hated the site. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Jul 01, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 01, 2013
We especially enjoyed the free pizza we received because of our 2 week prior reservation. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.
Jul 01, 2013
Love the campground. The was extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of activities for all ages. We will stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to have you back again soon. Have a great summer.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Very nice facilities. Staff was very accommodating.
Jun 24, 2013
Although the staff is working hard to improve the grounds, it is a little rough around the edges, and is showing its age. I also am someone who likes to be in the trees when I camp, and I was put out in the middle of a hot, treeless field, because that is where they put their weekend campers who want full hook ups. Free Wifi access was very poor, except for the 'for a fee' access.
Jun 24, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay! Great place! Only issue we had was we have no children & were placed right next to the playground which was a bit annoying but mainly because some of our neighbors didn't keep their kids under control & they were at the playground until midnight. However the second night the managers came, kicked the kids out of the playground & we were very appreciative! Overall great!
Jun 17, 2013
Glenn and Ann were wonderful! Glenn was absolutely wonderful in helping me set up my camper, this was the first time I had set my camper up all by myself. He was my night in shining armor, if it wasn't for him my camper probably would've tipped over on it's side or blown up! I will return every chance I get!
Jun 17, 2013
This KOA is a gem. The owner was out an about the place an was so nice. Any issues he was there an solved them with ease. I would recommend this KOA to everyone. We really enjoyed our stay and will defiantly be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. It was a pleasure to have you kamp with us.
Jun 17, 2013
Low standards at this KOA. The clerk kept us waiting without so much as a "Hello, I'll be right there" as she was working in the fridge. We could see her from the desk and she glanced at us a few times. No escort to our site. No trash collection service. No excercise room. No KOA signs to guide the way. Seemed to be many full time residents and some of those sites are not very well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that your stay was less than you expected/deserved. A staff meeting has been held to address the situation of inattention upon your arrival. We do not have trash collection nor an exercise room. We do not advertise that we have one. We hope you find a campground more to your taste.
Jun 17, 2013
First time we stayed here and loved it! Lots of new upgrades done and still in progress. Owner very friendly! We had a site next to the playground and the kids loved it! I love that many things were included in the reservation price! Keep up the good work!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We strive to improve the campground every year. Come back again soon!
Jun 10, 2013
Beautiful grounds and an wonderfully sociable owner. The park will be fabulous once the work is complete.
Jun 05, 2013
This will be our new "local" campground. The amenities were wonderful. Staff and seasonal campers were friendly and welcoming.
Jun 01, 2013
May 31, 2013
Most staff were very nice and helpful except one person at the very end of our stay. Camp ground is nice they are making many improvements i look forward to going back to see the progress. Much Potential

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. That is how we improve! I apologize for any problems you encountered. Enjoy your summer!
May 29, 2013
We had a wonderful time. All the employees were great. Robin went out of her way to make us feel at home. So glad we decided to go there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. Robin is a gem! Hope to see you again soon.
May 29, 2013
I understand that this is a work in progress for this campground. They are doing a lot of work here to improve the campground. I do think that they need to rethink the 8 minute time on the water in the shower though. I had to restart the time a second time and it wasn't very handicapped friendly. He would have had to come out of the shower to reset the timer. he couldn't get a shower.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments - I am sorry for your inconvenience. Most timers are set for 5 minutes and we advanced it to 8 minutes - it is usually sufficient to meet most peoples needs. The handicapped bathroom is in progress and there will be no timer on it. Thank you again.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
There were only two showers working for all campers. They advertise free wifi yet it can only be accessed by the camp store.
May 28, 2013
overall very nice campground but does need to find more stuff to do for kids other than teens not much to do for 12 and under they are not into bingo so this needs to be looked at and first night we stayed did not enforce the 10 pm quiet time rule kids were playing basketball until 11:00 pm this was annoying do to us being right by it ....the pond needs cleaned up as well

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We plan activities for both adults and children. There is always the jump pillow and playground for 12 and under. Enjoy your summer
May 27, 2013
Enjoyable stay at a very nice campground. Only two negatives: 1. On my online registration (six weeks in advance) we booked a full hook up pull thru - we got a back in. We were told none were left. 2. Need more stone on driveway in front of office- too much mud. Other than that we would book this campground again.
May 20, 2013
we had a great time at this campground. My kids loved the new playground and the bounce pillow. The only thing I wish was better was that the wifi at our site was out of range. We had to be near the office to get internet access. The restrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We also liked the free pizza the first night. We would definately return in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Wifi is free around the store, pool, pavilion. We are currently investigating new ways to get more of campground covered by wifi.
May 06, 2013
The campground itself was still a work in progress. There were many unfinished projects. The workers were helpful and pleasant, however, the owners were not very friendly!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. Glen had heart surgery earlier this year and delayed our completion of projects. We are working hard to complete all projects.
May 06, 2013
the campground has made great improvements since last stay which were very nice. most all the staff is friendly and helpful but 1 or 2. would definitely stay again in the future

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We have weekly meetings with staff to address any concerns. Hopefully this will not happen in the future.
May 06, 2013
We had a nice, peaceful stay and everyone obeyed the noise ordinance. We wanted a pull through full hook up but they didn't have sewer available for us and called us ahead of time to let us know. That was nice! They pumped us out within 20 minutes of us asking for it. Awesome and clean campground!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Oct 01, 2012
We had a great time this past weekend. We spent sometime talking to the owner and he was very happy to spend a few minutes explaining alot about this campground. This was our first time here but not our last.
Sep 24, 2012
this was the first time camping as a family and we had a great time.(even tho it rained) Everyone was super friendly. Our children had so much fun just playing at the playground and game room and roasting marshmallows over the fire. We will be back in the summer for sure!
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
The sites were advertised as full hook up, which is what we paid for, but were not (a honey wagon is not sewer!) No one told us we would have no sewer when we checked in. Only 1 bath house for entire campground. Shower door almost fell on our nephew and never received one apology but in stead "ok we'll close that shower." Will never stay there again or recommend to anyone!
Sep 04, 2012
I must admit this was the worst Camp Grounds I have ever stayed at!!! They messed up or reservation, then we Paid for Water, Elect, and Sewer Yet they did not have Sewer had to pump us out all 3 days. No Toilets Had Porta Pottys, Never again will I go to that camp ground.
Sep 04, 2012
I must admit this was the worst Camp Grounds I have ever stayed at!!! They messed up or reservation, then we Paid for Water, Elect, and Sewer Yet they did not have Sewer had to pump us out all 3 days. No Toilets Had Porta Pottys, Never again will I go to that camp ground.
Aug 28, 2012
We enjoyed our stay but rules seemed a bit strict. Maybe kids would use the neat splash pad more if specific footwear weren't required. Our son doesn't own crocs or watershoes. Bouncer was great but why not allow use once it's inflated? Later check-out time would be nice.
Aug 27, 2012
Very nice campground set up for families with kids. Kids really enjoyed the pool, big bouncer, and the small stream that ran thru the camp site. Only issue we had was that the pool, bouncer and water park did not get opened till well after noon on Friday. Kids were getting grumping waiting.
Aug 25, 2012
Terrific, I will stay again.
Aug 19, 2012
It was okay not sure if I would go back,asked for a shaded spot and was put in direct sun totally.pool was nice,no internet reception or cell phone as was told either
Aug 16, 2012
Aug 11, 2012
Aug 06, 2012
Campground looks like they are doing a lot to improve but I found it very unorganized compared to the other KOA's I have stayed at.
Jul 23, 2012
We were tent campers for may years and got away from camping. We are new travel trailer campers and found this campground very friendly and enjoyable.
Jul 18, 2012
The owner is very rude. Wasnt ever told about check out time. We were approx. 1hour late and she came to the site very snooty and said "check out is 2pm and you should have been gone. We have people coming in. Sorry but there wasnt anybody coming in the entrance. Also the water sprinklers was never on. The pool wasnt cleaned lots of bugs. I probably wont be back. Not unless she changes attitude
Jul 16, 2012
Enjoyed it very much, people are friendly and the campsites are level, surroundings are great, much to do; kid friendly; thank you for a great time. the only improvement I would like to see is to have the playground redone, our grandson was hurt because the swing broke while he was on it. No problem! kids get hurt, we will be back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.