Butler North KOA

231 Peaceful Valley Road

West Sunbury, PA 16061

Reserve: 800-562-2792

Info: 724-894-2421

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 08, 2013
we really enjoyed our stay been coming there for 3 years meant awesome friends there which we now meet there a couple times a year we stay at w27 that's our favorite

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to have your group. Hope to see you again soon.
Jul 08, 2013
We have been there before, we like the set up and the trees at every site. Also the nice new playground for the kids was a great improvement. Like to see the grass mowed, but the weather was so bad and wet for so many weeks. i am sure it was hard to get any mowing done. Thanks for a great stay. See you soon again.
Jul 08, 2013
The firewood I bought at the KOA was fresh cut and wouldn't burn. Sad thing is everyone else had the same wood so the camp was filled with smoke at certain points during the day. Someone felt the need to park on my site while we were gone and almost parked me in. But the staff is delightful and very helpful. They have anything you'll need for a great stay and everyone was quiet after 10:00.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your bringing the wood issue to our attention. I will talk to Glen! Enjoy your summer.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
It was so hard to push my sons wheelchair through the new gravel that was just put on before we arrived. We had to leave on the 4th,to go to the ER. I told that I was pulling out on the 5th. I know our site was rented out so you got double paid. I really don't think I will return. I lost $160.00. And hated the site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you had to go to the emergency room. I gave out two rain checks that weekend because of medical issues - I am unsure if you were one of them. We did not rent that site again until the 8th. I am sorry you hated the site. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Jul 07, 2013
It was a good time, bathroom was clean. Only point, for late arrival you should put the information in a box somewhere.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are in the process of doing that at this time. We have mounted the map and placed a "box" for deposits. The rest will be available within the week - sorry for your inconvenience.
Jul 03, 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Very nice campground and very friendly people

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return to camp with us in the future.
Jul 01, 2013
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 01, 2013
We especially enjoyed the free pizza we received because of our 2 week prior reservation. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.
Jul 01, 2013
Love the campground. The was extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of activities for all ages. We will stay there again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to have you back again soon. Have a great summer.
Jun 26, 2013
We feel that we got a good cabin for the price we paid. The pool was nice and we loved the big bouncer. We also enjoyed the the horse back riding. Page was very friendly and helpful every time we spoke. We have already recommended this campsite to our friends. Thank you we had a great time. We are looking forward to other trips.
Jun 26, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
Very nice facilities. Staff was very accommodating.
Jun 24, 2013
Although the staff is working hard to improve the grounds, it is a little rough around the edges, and is showing its age. I also am someone who likes to be in the trees when I camp, and I was put out in the middle of a hot, treeless field, because that is where they put their weekend campers who want full hook ups. Free Wifi access was very poor, except for the 'for a fee' access.
Jun 24, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay! Great place! Only issue we had was we have no children & were placed right next to the playground which was a bit annoying but mainly because some of our neighbors didn't keep their kids under control & they were at the playground until midnight. However the second night the managers came, kicked the kids out of the playground & we were very appreciative! Overall great!
Jun 17, 2013
Glenn and Ann were wonderful! Glenn was absolutely wonderful in helping me set up my camper, this was the first time I had set my camper up all by myself. He was my night in shining armor, if it wasn't for him my camper probably would've tipped over on it's side or blown up! I will return every chance I get!
Jun 17, 2013
This KOA is a gem. The owner was out an about the place an was so nice. Any issues he was there an solved them with ease. I would recommend this KOA to everyone. We really enjoyed our stay and will defiantly be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. It was a pleasure to have you kamp with us.
Jun 17, 2013
Low standards at this KOA. The clerk kept us waiting without so much as a "Hello, I'll be right there" as she was working in the fridge. We could see her from the desk and she glanced at us a few times. No escort to our site. No trash collection service. No excercise room. No KOA signs to guide the way. Seemed to be many full time residents and some of those sites are not very well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry that your stay was less than you expected/deserved. A staff meeting has been held to address the situation of inattention upon your arrival. We do not have trash collection nor an exercise room. We do not advertise that we have one. We hope you find a campground more to your taste.
Jun 17, 2013
First time we stayed here and loved it! Lots of new upgrades done and still in progress. Owner very friendly! We had a site next to the playground and the kids loved it! I love that many things were included in the reservation price! Keep up the good work!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We strive to improve the campground every year. Come back again soon!
Jun 10, 2013
Beautiful grounds and an wonderfully sociable owner. The park will be fabulous once the work is complete.
Jun 10, 2013
Pros... Nice playground, bouncy thing, better than avg restrooms / showers, and very nice staff. Cons... Disappointed that the heated pool that was advertised was freezing. My daughter lasted 15 minutes in the pool before turning blue.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately, when the temperature dips into the 30's and 40's at night, it is impossible to get the pool up to 80-84 degrees during the day. We look forward to seeing you again.
Jun 05, 2013
This will be our new "local" campground. The amenities were wonderful. Staff and seasonal campers were friendly and welcoming.
Jun 01, 2013
May 31, 2013
Most staff were very nice and helpful except one person at the very end of our stay. Camp ground is nice they are making many improvements i look forward to going back to see the progress. Much Potential

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. That is how we improve! I apologize for any problems you encountered. Enjoy your summer!
May 29, 2013
We had a wonderful time. All the employees were great. Robin went out of her way to make us feel at home. So glad we decided to go there

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your nice comments. Robin is a gem! Hope to see you again soon.
May 29, 2013
I understand that this is a work in progress for this campground. They are doing a lot of work here to improve the campground. I do think that they need to rethink the 8 minute time on the water in the shower though. I had to restart the time a second time and it wasn't very handicapped friendly. He would have had to come out of the shower to reset the timer. he couldn't get a shower.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments - I am sorry for your inconvenience. Most timers are set for 5 minutes and we advanced it to 8 minutes - it is usually sufficient to meet most peoples needs. The handicapped bathroom is in progress and there will be no timer on it. Thank you again.
May 28, 2013
cabin was great, a bit hard to get to. activities were good, thx.
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
There were only two showers working for all campers. They advertise free wifi yet it can only be accessed by the camp store.
May 28, 2013
overall very nice campground but does need to find more stuff to do for kids other than teens not much to do for 12 and under they are not into bingo so this needs to be looked at and first night we stayed did not enforce the 10 pm quiet time rule kids were playing basketball until 11:00 pm this was annoying do to us being right by it ....the pond needs cleaned up as well

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We plan activities for both adults and children. There is always the jump pillow and playground for 12 and under. Enjoy your summer
May 28, 2013
When we arrived we were told our cabin key wouldn't always worked. Worked for first day second day it didnt. When we went to get a new key we got attitude from owner. The cabin sink leaked like crazy. The futon in the cabin had stains all over it. Online description isn't exactly accurate to how the cabin is. We will go camping again but NOT here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. The stained couch has been addressed. The sink has been fixed - thank you for letting us know. The pictures on the website accurately depict the cabins. Enjoy your summer
May 27, 2013
Enjoyable stay at a very nice campground. Only two negatives: 1. On my online registration (six weeks in advance) we booked a full hook up pull thru - we got a back in. We were told none were left. 2. Need more stone on driveway in front of office- too much mud. Other than that we would book this campground again.
May 20, 2013
we had a great time at this campground. My kids loved the new playground and the bounce pillow. The only thing I wish was better was that the wifi at our site was out of range. We had to be near the office to get internet access. The restrooms were clean and the staff was friendly. We also liked the free pizza the first night. We would definately return in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Wifi is free around the store, pool, pavilion. We are currently investigating new ways to get more of campground covered by wifi.
May 06, 2013
The campground itself was still a work in progress. There were many unfinished projects. The workers were helpful and pleasant, however, the owners were not very friendly!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. Glen had heart surgery earlier this year and delayed our completion of projects. We are working hard to complete all projects.
May 06, 2013
the campground has made great improvements since last stay which were very nice. most all the staff is friendly and helpful but 1 or 2. would definitely stay again in the future

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We have weekly meetings with staff to address any concerns. Hopefully this will not happen in the future.
May 06, 2013
We had a nice, peaceful stay and everyone obeyed the noise ordinance. We wanted a pull through full hook up but they didn't have sewer available for us and called us ahead of time to let us know. That was nice! They pumped us out within 20 minutes of us asking for it. Awesome and clean campground!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Oct 01, 2012
We had a great time this past weekend. We spent sometime talking to the owner and he was very happy to spend a few minutes explaining alot about this campground. This was our first time here but not our last.
Sep 24, 2012
this was the first time camping as a family and we had a great time.(even tho it rained) Everyone was super friendly. Our children had so much fun just playing at the playground and game room and roasting marshmallows over the fire. We will be back in the summer for sure!
Sep 22, 2012
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
The sites were advertised as full hook up, which is what we paid for, but were not (a honey wagon is not sewer!) No one told us we would have no sewer when we checked in. Only 1 bath house for entire campground. Shower door almost fell on our nephew and never received one apology but in stead "ok we'll close that shower." Will never stay there again or recommend to anyone!
Sep 04, 2012
I must admit this was the worst Camp Grounds I have ever stayed at!!! They messed up or reservation, then we Paid for Water, Elect, and Sewer Yet they did not have Sewer had to pump us out all 3 days. No Toilets Had Porta Pottys, Never again will I go to that camp ground.
Sep 04, 2012
I must admit this was the worst Camp Grounds I have ever stayed at!!! They messed up or reservation, then we Paid for Water, Elect, and Sewer Yet they did not have Sewer had to pump us out all 3 days. No Toilets Had Porta Pottys, Never again will I go to that camp ground.
Aug 29, 2012
Not enough water to take shower or do dishes. Had to use shower house when I paid for a cabin with a full bathroom. No window coverings on front door or bedroom window. No light in bedroom. Futon cover really needs to be cleaned
Aug 28, 2012
We enjoyed our stay but rules seemed a bit strict. Maybe kids would use the neat splash pad more if specific footwear weren't required. Our son doesn't own crocs or watershoes. Bouncer was great but why not allow use once it's inflated? Later check-out time would be nice.
Aug 27, 2012
Very nice campground set up for families with kids. Kids really enjoyed the pool, big bouncer, and the small stream that ran thru the camp site. Only issue we had was that the pool, bouncer and water park did not get opened till well after noon on Friday. Kids were getting grumping waiting.
Aug 25, 2012
Terrific, I will stay again.
Aug 23, 2012
Aug 20, 2012
The owner was very friendly at all times. The campground itself was nice, grandkids loved the pool and the bounce cushion, although the inhanced cabin was not what we expected and disappointed: the toilet was like something out of a small camper. And the futon cushion was filty and not comfortable to sit on for older people like us. Nails and screws in our parking area, we picked up most of them.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.