Butler North KOA

231 Peaceful Valley Road

West Sunbury, PA 16061

Reserve: 800-562-2792

Info: 724-894-2421

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2014
We had a fantastic time this Memorial Day weekend! The campground is very well kept and the staff is super friendly. We would defiantly camp here again and possibly consider a permanent site here.
May 27, 2014
Most friendly staff we have dealt with in a long time.. And we camp a lot! Several activities to do... Very kid friendly!! Very clean campground!! Store could be a little more stocked... But great, 5 start experience
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
our stay was ok...road was poorly marked, so was hard to locate..lots to do for the children...
May 27, 2014
The folks here are about the nicest that we have ever encountered. Very pleasant and helpful. Loved the little restaurant!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return. Have a good summer.
May 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay it was the first time their and our first time camping and with the trailer we bought . We are going back to the campground . I like the way we were treated by the people that own it .

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We loved having you and hope to see you again soon.
May 13, 2014
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
We can see that this campground is a work in progress with what looks like exciting changes! Definitely need more and bigger signs to show where campground is located. We had a good time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to add a comment. Some of the new signs went up this week. Still trying to deal with regulations to add bigger ones along the roads - but we are trying. Hope to see you again soon.
May 12, 2014
It was great!! Loved the craft show & bingo I won !!! Thanks 4 the free Mothers Day free night. See U next time !!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
The only reason I rated you this low is because when we pulled in Friday night there was three campers ahead of us and we stood 30-45 minutes until we got checked in and it took me about 5 minutes myself,so I don't know what the problem was but we did not appreciate it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am not sure why the wait was so long, but I assure you this will be discussed with staff and hopefully it will not happen again. Happy camping in 2014!
Oct 08, 2013
Should let travelers know that this KOA is not really suited for big rigs!! Tree branches too low! Site assigned was filled and no cell service attendant had to drive out to site to clear us for another site - she was not really friendly.
Oct 07, 2013
The driveways could use some gravel, it was very muddy after the rain. Also a lot of run down permanent campers. Otherwise it was a nice campground with various activities throughout the day. Good place for children.
Oct 01, 2013
To many permanents.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
We had an amazing stay. We will come back soon!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Please come see us again.
Sep 03, 2013
As we were leaving my 8 year said, "I really want to come back to this campground again!" I asked why and he gave me a lengthy list including, horse back riding, jumping pillow, swimming pool, playground and lots of new friends! Happy Kids = Happy Mom! Thanks for a wonderful weekend!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again.
Sep 03, 2013
we had a great time!! the only thing they need to do is add more shower houses! but i will return! staff is very pollite!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. A new bath house is in the budget - we are waiting for approval from DEP for the septic. Hope to see you again.
Sep 02, 2013
The portable bathrooms were not maintained very well and there is a public road near the lake that has speeding drunk drivers at night

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were unhappy with the site you chose. Unfortunately we cannot control who goes up and down the public road (I wish we could!). The condition of the portajohn will be addressed at the next staff meeting. We are sorry for any inconvenience we caused you.
Aug 27, 2013
The stay was quite comfortable and the owners, Glen & Ann Kleinfelter were wonderfull hosts. We look forward to our next stay there. The Wetmores

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again!
Aug 24, 2013
what a super nice,clean and friendly campground. We had a great time, and hope to make it back in the near future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you return to camp with us in the future.
Aug 23, 2013
The employees & the owner Glen were all very friendly. All our needs were met. We enjoyed horseback riding, the pool, and the campground itself. The restrooms & showers were kept very clean. The only thing I wish was better would be the lake. We really enjoy fishing. I will be making more reservations in the future. Very nice place to spend a few days or weeks. Thank you Glen & staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you, we enjoyed having you here. We are in the process of having the lake dredged - this involves permits from the state - so it may be awhile!
Aug 20, 2013
Friendly staff, great campground
Aug 20, 2013
Everything was great except wiring not properly grounded or something. .our dog hooked to lead line was shocked bad.needs looked into..
Aug 19, 2013
Our stay of this KOA was absolutely wonderful!!! It was quiet and clean (which is a big plus for me)not to mention the professionalism of the staff was superior. Would not hesitate to come back and stay again. We loved it!
Aug 19, 2013
To much golfcars travels the wole day, looks like a hyway
Aug 17, 2013
Was bare bones... Nothing like website showed photo wise and the shower facilities left much to desire.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am not sure I understand "bare bones" as we boast a splash pad, bounce pillow, swimming pool, game room, store with restaurant and activities every weekend that are FREE, a free 16 inch pizza to those who book at least 14 days in advance... I am sorry it did not meet your expectations.
Aug 13, 2013
We rented a cottage for the weekend it was terrific not one complaint with anything .It was better than we expected KOA staff was wonderful
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
We loved our stay. Had a great time with plenty to do right at the campground. I gave it 4 stars and not 5 because it not located near any attractions. But you don't need to leave there's so much right on site. Great place, we will got back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you camp with us in the future.
Aug 12, 2013
Grandkids loved it ! Already talking about coming again next year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look foward to your return.
Aug 12, 2013
Good stay. Availability of horseback riding was why we tried out this KOA. Live entertainment and saltwater pool were big bonuses for us. Could easily see that improvements are being made. Need to turn on pool heater and keep after bees in cabins. Overall, a very good stay!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. As you know, bees are an ongoing problem every summer. I will make sure that our cleaning staff check when they clean, and let maintenance know so they can be exterminated. The large amounts of rain this season have made keeping the pool water in the 80's difficult.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
First visit to this KOA and we will be back. This KOA has more activities going than any we have been. They don't even charge money for the week end Sat. night meal and entertainment--FREE. They even have real horseback riding

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you return and camp with us in the future.
Aug 11, 2013
Nice place, but store opened at werid hours, not very organized

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Our store hours are posted on the door. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Happy camping.
Aug 07, 2013
Loved it! So nice and a great staff!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you camp with us again.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Friendly and helpful staff. Many improvements from our last visit. Lots of fun activities. Grandkids enjoyed the jumper and the playground. Pool water was a little too cold, but we swam anyway.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. The large amounts of rain we have had this camping season bring the water temperature down every day/night. It makes it difficult to keep the water temperature in the 80's - but we keep trying! Have a great summer.
Jul 29, 2013
Nice campground and campsites. Wish there was more trees and shade near pull thru sites. Pretty good value for the bucket of wood and received a free pizza for booking on line.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. Landscaping is in our plans and is budgeted for this fall. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Jul 24, 2013
Campground under improvement, so there was some inconvenience. People are friendly and honest. We'll be back next year.
Jul 22, 2013
We thought the camp ground was beautiful, the country setting was awesome, and when we had trouble with elec in our camper, Glen the owner was right there to fix it. Super guy!
Jul 18, 2013
Campground had many seasonal sites that looked junky. Washing machines were all out of order. Had difficulty finding the campground due to poor signage coming from the north. Somewhat isolated and had to drive a good distance for services in the area.
Jul 15, 2013
First have to say that my visit to this KOA was not under the best of circumstances. On the day of our arrival the area received what had to be a record rainfall and everything, including the KOA entrance and exit was flooded. With that thought they went out of their way to get us into a temporary campsite that we stayed in until the water receded. They could use better signage into the camp as

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. The rain that day was the worst in memory for even our old-time campers. We are currently working with the state to get the signage updated. Enjoy your summer.
Jul 13, 2013
WE love Butler North KOA and will return soon. The Fire Works Display was wonderful. The staff is great and very friendly. The sites are level and the prices are reasonable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you return to camp with us.
Jul 11, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
The impression from the internet site and being there were completely different..internet site made it sound new and it was not new ..not much gravel on campground road so even a little rain you were in mud.Grass needed mowed and no escort to your site..I've been to other KOA and I guess I expected more. They did have a nice fireworks display and there playground was nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed with our campground. We feel that the website accurately depicts our campsite as all photos were taken within the last two years. Hopefully you will find something more to your liking. Have a good summer.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.