Buena Vista KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2672

Info: 719-395-8318

Email

27700 County Road 303

Buena Vista, CO 81211

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 16, 2015
This is a beautiful campground - with friendly, helpful and fun staff. The views are magnificent - and it is close to the chalk cliffs of Mt Princeton, St Elmo, Salida's art district and much more. A great place to stay.
Oct 15, 2015
Great location, hiking trails close by, The sites seemed spacious and fairly private.
Oct 15, 2015
Everything about our stay was perfect!
Oct 14, 2015
Great time! The facilities are maintained in an excellent way!
Oct 14, 2015
Our hosts were awesome. This is without a doubt the nicest KOA we have stayed at. And the hug that Helen gave us both as we were leaving made it that much more like family. Thanks for the hospitality.
Oct 14, 2015
Dom and Helen, the owners, are great. Very friendly and fun and they make sure all goes well during your stay. Good breakfast at the "Cook Shack" too !!!!
Oct 12, 2015
Dom & Helen make this a wonderful place to stay - clean & inviting campground, fun social times, and only minutes from the beauty of Buena Vista and the Collegiate Pesks.
Oct 12, 2015
We stayed only one night but wished we could stay longer. The host where very helpful and so accommodating.
Oct 12, 2015
We enjoyed the cleanliness of the facilities and convenient location near Buena Vista and Mt Princeton Hot Springs.
Oct 12, 2015
Oct 12, 2015
Good location, awesome views, decent price and good availability.
Oct 12, 2015
This is a beautiful location just a few miles out of town. Quiet and clean. Great star watching!
Oct 09, 2015
The staff was very nice and concerned for our needs. They knew who we were and accommodated for a possible late arrival.
Oct 09, 2015
The management was extremely helpful. We are new to RVing and he provided valuable assistance and information.
Oct 06, 2015
Very nice campground!
Oct 06, 2015
Water pressure was low at times and goat heads (stickers) are bad but that is just nature.We had a very peaceful and enjoyable time.
Oct 05, 2015
The new owners were amazing! Very friendly and helpful. I almost hate to give such a great rating because I'd like to keep this gem hidden! Recommend a summer visit for all the great activities they host!
Oct 05, 2015
Now that there is new ownership, there is once again a beautiful KOA to enjoy Buena Vista
Oct 05, 2015
Very happy with our stay!
Oct 05, 2015
We love it. We try to visit at least once a year... twice if we can! The owners are so friendly, the views are stunning, and the property boasts great hiking trails that are very doable with small kids. Love the proximity to Buena Vista, the Mt. Princeton hot springs, St. Elmo, and Salida too.
Oct 05, 2015
Oct 05, 2015
Beautiful camp site and place. the staff was Awesome and friendly!!
Oct 05, 2015
We had a great time. Hosts were wonderful.
Oct 04, 2015
Very pleasant staff and scenic location.
Oct 03, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
In town for jeeping. Great views, quiet place. Would recommend to anyone.
Oct 02, 2015
We really got tired of all the sand around our campsite. It would be so much better if the campsites were gravel. I kept having to sweep out the camper. We love the area and location and clear bathrooms. Very friendly staff also.
Oct 01, 2015
Was very quiet being off season
Sep 30, 2015
Had a great time traveling around the area! KOA peeps were extremely nice and if I ever visit the area again I will certainly stay at this KOA!
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 28, 2015
Great camp ground quite, great location and views but we were charged more than we expected
Sep 28, 2015
Friendly staff, nice amenities and accomodations.
Sep 28, 2015
Highly recommend! The cabins were clean and cozy. The owner Helen was a delight and made our stay wonderful. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Sep 28, 2015
Helen, the camp host, was awesome. This award-winning KOA was clean, spacious, and friendly. Enjoyed he ice cream social with other campers. And we especially enjoyed picking piñon from the many piñon trees throughout the campground. Thank you Helen and Dom. We will definitely be back.
Sep 28, 2015
This is a great spot with a great view. They built it on a hillside which wasn't the easiest to build a campground but it made a Jewell out of it. Great staff , good internet, full services. We enjoyed this the most of all the campgrounds. Best of all low road noise.
Sep 28, 2015
My husband and I had a great time this past weekend at the BV KOA! Helen and her husband recommended the perfect spot for us when we reserved over the phone and they took great care of us upon arrival. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this campground. Hopefully see you both soon and thank you for the Military discount!
Sep 28, 2015
Had a great stay , staff was friendly and helpful . Campground was clean and quite,no issues whatsoever will return in the future.
Sep 28, 2015
The camp site was beautiful and they had all the amenities we needed to make our camping trip pleasurable. We tent camped in late September. Our site had a fire pit (we requested a grate and it was delivered to our campsite for free) and a picnic table. The employees were all very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed the ice cream social and hiking trails. Would love to return!
Sep 28, 2015
This is the sexond time we've stayed at this campground. We like the full hookups and the dog walk. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. I didn't rate a 5 star because of the gravel and sand that gets tracked into the motor home.
Sep 28, 2015
I was very disappointed in our stay. We only saw our hosts when we arrived and other than that- they were no where to be seen especially in the evening...both nights in a row other campers were loud, drunk and obnoxious. Curfew isnt enforced and spending two nights not sleeping untill 2:00 am....we couldnt wait to leave early Sunday morning. I am at fault, becaue I expected too much from KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you were disturbed. If you had called the office number (which rings at our house) we would have dealt with the unruly guests, or stopped by the office during the day- we were there from 9am to close- but if no one lets us know another guest is being loud there isn't much we can do.
Sep 27, 2015
The campground has a beautiful view of the collegiate peaks and is only an hour or two from many of the mountain areas there -- St. Elmo, Tincup, and the Beaver Creek Wilderness area. The staff was vey friendly and helpful.
Sep 27, 2015
Great location and scenery. Tent site dry and flat but very hard for stakes. Good staff.
Sep 27, 2015
Amazing views, and a great staff! Campsites are so very nicely kept up.
Sep 27, 2015
This was our second time staying here and it was as great as the first! If you choose to stay in a cabin, try to request cabin 1- the location is great and the sunset from the hill is worth being a little farther from the bathhouse. Speaking of the bathhouse- that place is always clean and smells great. We love it here and will be back!
Sep 27, 2015
If you are camping, I would recommend this. We stayed in the camp cabins and the beds were thin mattresses and non of us slept. We tried to cancel our reservations for a night two nights later and could not. Had to pay full price. We opted for a motel and just loose our money.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The cabin has 5" foam matresses, which are standard for the cabins. We follow KOA's national cancellation policy to the letter.
Sep 24, 2015
We have been staying at this KOA for many years,and this year the campground was the cleanest and friendliest in a long time. Looking forward to next year.
Sep 23, 2015
Beatiful campground, only stayed ovrnight, clean restrooms, friendly staff
Sep 22, 2015
Friendly and beautiful!
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Great views. Friendly staff. Bathrooms/ showers were always clean. They have most things you need if for camping if you forgot them at home, if not it is about a 5min drive into town. We stayed in a cabin and it was clean and comfortable (2 adults w 4kids aged 2-9) very pleasant stay. Kids playground is a bit dated but they still enjoyed it.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals