Buena Vista KOA

27700 County Road 303

Buena Vista, CO 81211

Reserve: 800-562-2672

Info: 719-395-8318

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 03, 2013
I really luv that I can get pizza if coming in later and don't want to cook! Also brkfst if I don't want to get up and cook! Plus they r open later to check u in if late! Always friendly willing to go that extra step to please!
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 03, 2013
Though the camp-site was beautiful, there was a miscommunication between the front office in the evening and the morning. At the end of our stay, at 11:07, we were told we had to leave & threatened with the law. They never gave us a chance to think about staying another nite. With such treatment to people of color, why return? We were told, "As soon as you leave, we can "be friends."
Jun 03, 2013
I appreciated that the tent site was neatly raked and clean. Friendly staff. Tents nicely separated from RVs. Only stayed one night, but easy-peasy no hassles, no worries.
Jun 03, 2013
Jun 02, 2013
The people were ALL fantastic. Everyone had a smile on their face and were very helpful and kind...wonderful people make for a wonderful place to stay.
Jun 02, 2013
May 31, 2013
Friendly helpful staff,clean bathroom, spacious site which are sand and gravel and could be a bit more level but ours had room for two more cars for visitors which some campgrounds do not. Great views of the mountains, good place to stay. Horse rides available.
May 30, 2013
Great Stay, Great Staff, Great Entertainment, just Great Everything. Always enjoy camping at BV KOA.
May 30, 2013
The only issue was our neighbor who did not keep their dogs on leashes; it was an adventure each time we took our leashed mastiffs for a walk ( neighbor's dogs were chargers). Will be coming back soon Leslie Platt
May 30, 2013
Very comfortable. Well pleased with stay.
May 29, 2013
The hosts and activities were great, and even with the busy holiday weekend, the environment was peaceful and relaxing.
May 29, 2013
Wonderful hosts. Nice site. Great weather. The campground is very nice, but tends to be dry and dusty. The roads are treated with something that helps to control the dust. The sites are cleaned well. All trash and other litter is kept picked up. You can tell the hosts really care about keeping it nice. Thanks for the nice stay. Keep up the nice work.
May 29, 2013
The staff was so friendly and infomative, it made our stay so much fun.The camp was clean and hopefully we left it that way too. The water in the men's shower was cold both times it was used that was very disapointing.
May 28, 2013
Best campground ever!
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
Grounds very clean. We've been before, but this time we found hosts NOT kid friendly. Kids must be adult supervised everywhere. We were spoken to in a very condescending manner from the get go. Kids weren't allowed to bike around, or we were told they could be killed. We were practically stalked by hosts to make sure every rule was followed the whole weekend. We won't be back.
May 28, 2013
We will not stay again here because its not a pet/family friendly campground. Kids get yelled at by the owners for riding their bikes around the playground and are told they are only allowed to ride in their site? And dogs aren't allowed to be left in a camper at all? How do you go to the shower house? Nice campsite, but its owners are trying to make a KOA into a 55 and older retiree community
May 28, 2013
May 28, 2013
My family and I love this campground- it is close to everything we like to do and it is clean. The staff is very friendly.
May 28, 2013
Very friendly staff and clean campground!
May 28, 2013
The stay was great other than witnessing the camp owner get into a shouting match and darn near physical altercation with the group of people we were camping next to us. From what I witnessed, the owner of the KOA was way out of line. A wrongfully parked car NEVER warrants a person going off on a camper (CUSTOMER) like that.I witnessed him going after one of the campers when his back was turned.
May 27, 2013
May 27, 2013
May 26, 2013
I have no complaints about the facilities or cleanliness. The view of the mountain peaks is spectacular. However, the view of the nearby prison was a cause for anxiety. My friends and I will likely avoid staying in Buena Vista on future trips to Colorado due to its proximity to the prison. I should mention the many family owned restaurants of Buena Vista make the visit there for a meal noteworthy.
May 22, 2013
This is the second time we have stayed at this KOA. The next time we're through the area, we'll make it a point to stay here again. A great experience.
May 20, 2013
Wonderful time. Staff excellent has always. Been coming to this KOA for at least six years. Always a great time!
May 20, 2013
We had a wonderful time. The people were so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back soon.
May 17, 2013
Spectacular scenery after the snow. Warm days. Perfect place to rest and enjoy. Liked the improvements in the shower house.
May 13, 2013
Always a joy to stay with Sarah and Tommy. All camp hosts are great and ready to help.
May 13, 2013
Relaxing and inspiring. We super enjoyed the hospitality, the pizza and ice cream!
May 13, 2013
Fabulous Campground - Great hosts, lots of camp activities and very clean.
May 13, 2013
We had a really great time. The staff was very friendly.
May 13, 2013
great host , very clean .
May 12, 2013
May 12, 2013
This campground built in the 1960's is extremely well maintained and groomed. The views of the Swatch mountain range are spectacular, the opportunities for hiking are many and nearby attractions and activities are too numerous to list here. The staff is excellent and more tn willing to help. The manager wsa delighted when I asked a question and spent much time responding. Very helpful.
May 11, 2013
Absolutely beautiful views. Water pressure was weak as they were working on it. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Need to increase dog pen.
May 08, 2013
Great people run this KOA-stranded during snow storm and they made sure all ok. thanks again to MiMi and HUsband
May 07, 2013
Excellent setup and a great location!
May 07, 2013
Enjoyed our short stay very much. A bit early in the season so the store was not well stocked, but the restrooms were clean, the sites were neat, and the staff and hosts were great.
May 06, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
The owners Tommy and Sarah were fantastic and directed us to several attractions in the area. The camping cabin we stayed in was clean and comfortable, the heater worked perfectly when the over night temps were near freezing. We would probably not tent camp there since the tents sites are stacked on each other giving no privacy and you would over hear conversations from the next site.
Apr 17, 2013
Apr 16, 2013
Heater in cabin was noisy, and barely kept up. Staff was attentive, warm, and welcoming as always.
Apr 16, 2013
Really enjoyed our stay. Never ran out of hot water in the shower. :)
Apr 16, 2013
Owner was great. The location is beautiful.
Apr 15, 2013
Was disappointed the propane filling station was not working so I had to travel into town to get tank filled.
Apr 07, 2013
Great for night stop over!
Mar 12, 2013
I stay here often...Tommy & Sarah are just GREAT!
Nov 25, 2012
The kabins are great. A dedicated place to cook and eat would have been helpful.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.