Buckeye Lake / Columbus East KOA

4460 Walnut Road, SE

Buckeye Lake, OH 43008

Reserve: 800-562-0792

Info: 740-928-0706

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Staff was kind and courteous - answered questions without hesitation. Many activities going on but we did not attend as just a one night stay while traveling. The only issue was pulling into site with 33 TT caused by a tree to close to sight. Not sure why we were put on a buddy site but awkward when other site was occupied  picnic tables side by side
Jul 26, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at Buckeye Lake KOA very much.The staff were all so friendly & very informative whenever asking questions. Our site was great situated right across from the rest rooms/showers & the pool area was lovely and relaxing. The only negative was the mosquito population which they are very aware of..bring a screen house along. We extended our stay since they gave us 1 free nite :)
Jul 26, 2014
Had a good time. Everyone was very helpful. Mosquitos were bad. Need to spray. I think your rates are high and it makes it hard to stay longer.
Jul 26, 2014
Everything was great except for there was a ton of Mosquitos even in the daylight hours. They did spray one night but a little late. I do know that it has been an extremely wet summer. Other than that, perfect!
Jul 26, 2014
Great amenities, family friendly and really helpful staff. A wonderful place to bring the family. Sorry we couldn't stay longer
Jul 25, 2014
Cost to high for retired persons only spending the night. Will go on to another KOA next time.
Jul 25, 2014
Staff was friendly & helpful. Grounds are well kept & bathrooms are clean. Only downside was tiny campsite we were given. Our picnic table was literally up against our neighbor's rig. Having a campfire meant wedging our chairs in a small spot between the trailer and picnic table. Plenty of nice sites; just luck of the draw we got a small one.
Jul 25, 2014
Had a Great Stay Thanks to all of you
Jul 25, 2014
You need to install PurpleMartin houses, the mosquitos were terrible.
Jul 25, 2014
Nice looking campground but a couple of major issues. The creek was a mosquito infested swamp, the extra money to not be in a buddy site was worthless, the sites were the same, and the showers were gross. They did have two fenced in pet areas which was nice, we just couldn't be outside because of the mosquitos. About 20 bites by the time we left.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
We arrived by motorcycles looking for a place to pitch a tent just after the rain had subsided. I was extremely disappointed to find that a tent site with no electricity or water was $49 and change. It was so late and we were wet and tired, they offered me a 10% discount and we agreed. On the way to a very late dinner, I passed two different hotel chains that had $39.95 rooms with free breakfast.
Jul 23, 2014
the place was really clean and well organized BUT, the retired security patrolling non stop was uncomfortable. they patrolled the park with carts and I felt like something was wrong and they were looking for reasons to scold people, the random pool police checks was odd, but maybe they get a lot of rowdy campers there. I'm sure they meant well. I guess id go back again.
Jul 23, 2014
What I liked - the bathrooms had recently been renovated and were really nice (little surprised that they were locked with a code but maybe because a local bar was right outside the site?). What disappointed me? cabins VERY close together, and no fire pits.
Jul 23, 2014
Had a great stay. We loved the campground. Only issue we had was our first spot. After the placed us we found that we had a 40 foot run for sewage hook and in another direction our water hook up was 45 foot away. Had to ask to move spot which they did. Hook ups should be in one spot.
Jul 23, 2014
my grandchildren had a blast, the fire engine ride is all my grandson talks about, to see his big smile during the r-priceless
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Campground was very Pleasant, except for the standing water all around causing a vey irritating mosquito problem
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
it was wonderful, very friendly and helpful staff.The only problem for us were the mosquito population.
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
It is a lovely place. I enjoyed staying there. Very nice people.
Jul 22, 2014
Nice campground, very clean. We stayed in a one room cabin. Mattresses are plastic and a little hard, we brought foam toppers which helped. We were planning to boat and fish on Buckeye Lake. The lake is terrible full of algae. We ended up driving to Alum creek everyday.
Jul 22, 2014
We enjoy staying at Buckeye Lake, but find it very expensive in comparison to other campgrounds. They have lots of activities available, but all for additional money.
Jul 21, 2014
Great facility. The restrooms, cabin / cottages options and grounds are top notch. I don't think I've ever seen a hair dryer or a flat screen streaming news in the restroom. The only minus is the one row of alternate parking when your looking at your neighbors entrance door and your picnic table and fire ring are side-by-side.
Jul 21, 2014
Nice KOA. Our first stop when heading west from South Jersey. Easy in and out.
Jul 21, 2014
only negative comment was that the mosquitos were terrible.
Jul 21, 2014
Nice campground.Amenities rather pricey. Mixup w/site..Supposed to be next to family in cabins (family reunion) but that didn't occur.Also,disagree with "no outside firewood" policy supposedly due to "quarantine". Quarantine has been resolved for several yrs.in OH. Entire state is infested so there is no ban on moving firewood within state.Just a way for KOA to make more $$ by selling their own
Jul 21, 2014
This is a beautiful campground. The facilities were spotless and the staff friendly and helpful. Our only issue was with the mosquitoes. They were numerous! However, using insect repellent was very helpful. This didn't affect our opinion of the campground at all.
Jul 21, 2014
Buckeye lake is close to us so it is perfect when we just have a weekend. But I think for what they charge they could fix up their sites. Some more gravel in the sites would help with the mud problem on rainy weekends. And our fire pit and the neighbors sewer hook up were a little too close together
Jul 21, 2014
This was our first time at a KOA in many years. We had some initial issues with our rental RV but the management was very helpful in rectifying the issues and the remainder of the trip was a success. Kids loved the pool area and jump pillow. Bathrooms were very clean!
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We where very impressed with everything. We loved the people ,the food and the cabin to name a few. We highly recommend and stay there anytime.
Jul 21, 2014
The campground was great but the mosquitos were awful! I know you get bugs in the summer but these were bad!
Jul 21, 2014
I would not recommend this campgrounds to black families. We were put right in the middle of a reunion with a big dog.
Jul 21, 2014
We really enjoy this KOA. There is lots to do and it is very clean. However, we feel like we are nickel and dimed for every little thing and it is very off-putting.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
was a nice place, we were told we would get a Veteran discount when we made our reservation, but never got it. they already ran the charge and no discount so that was that???
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
All family members really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 20, 2014
A little too pricy for a primitive tent site ($60.) Other than that, it had clean facilities.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
We have loved this campground and once stayed several months while working in Columbus. However, WIFI for one device with 5 family members is not workable. Also kangaroo bounce was not inflated...disappointed kids.
Jul 20, 2014
We have stayed at a lot of KOA's across the country and this one is an excellent example of how a KOA should be managed and look like! We came in for one night, stayed two and wish we could have stayed longer!
Jul 20, 2014
We had a great time. There were a lot of free activities for the kids and the field was perfect for soccer and baseball. The only bad thing about our stay was the mosquitoes!! THEY WERE AWFUL! We returned home with about 20+ bites which drive us crazy. I am NOT exaggerating! The stagnate creek is a mosquito nursery. Something more has to be done then just spraying on Thursdays.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Grand kids had a blast playing min golf in the rain! Very nice camp.
Jul 19, 2014
the people where great. Very friendly. and the park and bathrooms were clean,clean,clean
Jul 19, 2014
Very unlevel sites for the price you have to pay.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.