Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Nov 30, 2013
I have used this KOA numerous times and always have been satisfied. The owner has often gone out of his way to assist us even after hours. It is clean and convenient.
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 23, 2013
Nice friendly people and campground. Liked the goats.
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Should not bea Koa, showers and toilets are very dirty, disgusting. Playground under repair for more than a year. Unacceptable.
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 25, 2013
Probably worst KOA that we have stayed in. No maint. has been done on weed control and new gravel is needed. Bathrooms are in bad shape as no deep cleaning has been done in a long time. Walls and showers are dirty. Around swimming pool the chairs are dirty and worn and weeds are around pool patio. KOA should be doing an inspection of this property as this is going to give KOA a bad name.
Oct 24, 2013
Great facilities and location with additional plus of beautiful hiking area right next door.
Oct 23, 2013
The owner/manager, Jack, is wonderful and always accommodating. He has been very helpful with questions regarding our hot water heater that we had issues with. We would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Oct 13, 2013
One person running the camp, not too smart
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Just a desert view but the host was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The owner, very nice and helpful. The bathrooms a little smelly! Overall good experience. Little pricey, $50 per day.
Aug 30, 2013
Checked in very late and left very early. it was easy to locate our site registration information. Clean site and everything worked. Will come again.
Aug 22, 2013
Convenient location outside Phoenix. Needs a little bit more care and attention.
Aug 06, 2013
I give Black Canyon City Koa not even 1 star! I have been to several KOA's this year, but this one was very bad! Dirty old restrooms with lots of bugs, unhealthy enviremont, the manager was cleaning the pool while my children where swimming in the water! Never have been to a campground this awfull! Needs serious help with management, cleaning and maintenance !!
Aug 05, 2013
More worried about goats than travelers. Garbage piled up by children's playground. Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Aug 01, 2013
this is a great place to stay,this isn't the first time we stayed here and as always everyone was friendly and helpful, the grounds and restroom's are kept clean and bright and we always enjoy the goat's. My hat's off to management.
Aug 01, 2013
The gentleman running the place is a hard working man. but the place does need a lot of work, also I wished he would have been a little more friendlier or his mind was some where else
Jul 29, 2013
We had a good view. Although the office appeared disorganized with paperwork everywhere, the guy was very friendly and helpful. The KOA was quiet, and that's all we really wanted.
Jul 16, 2013
Friendly and helpfull.. have stayed here over the years as a place for one night on travels to midwest. However has become increasingly rundown over the years. Lots of junk, weeds, pool with algae, etc.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Staff was nice. So was the pool. Bathrooms were not super clean and didn't care for the ants.
Jul 11, 2013
A welcome sight after a long day of traveling. Friendly and agreeable greeters. Level site.
Jul 09, 2013
The ladies rest room was really dirty - inside of the door looked like its never been cleaned. Showers didn't seem to have been hosed down at all - gobs of hair -- overall gross!
Jul 06, 2013
The main women's bathroom door doesn't close, and a dead great big bug was sitting right there the whole time, so I have to think the bathroom was never cleaned. Also, all the long dark hair in the shower drain is evidence of that also. The main office was terribly messy.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Clean, quiet and great management.
Jul 01, 2013
We arrived late in the day after the office closed. Staff was on site and helped us park in our spot. Very quiet and well landscaped. Not easy to find in GPS by address
Jun 21, 2013
Manque un peut d'entretien mais le propri├ętaire est tr├Ęs sympatique
Jun 19, 2013
Friendly people!
Jun 19, 2013
A truly out of the way place on the way from Phoenix to Flagstaff, AZ. The area ok for adults. Playground unsafe, not for kids.
Jun 19, 2013
Nice little KOA site. They are in the process of remodeling the bathrooms / showers. They were very accommodating as I called from the road to request my stay.
Jun 16, 2013
pool was fabulous; site was accommodating; dog walk area was clean. Only bad thing was the extremely hot weather conditions which made us cut our stay short.
Jun 07, 2013
Its our second time there, I'm sure we will return next year or sooner.
Jun 01, 2013
It was quiet and a beautiful view.
May 29, 2013
Very friendly and very well ran
May 28, 2013
When you think of KOA you think it would be very generic, NOT SO HERE!. This campground is one of our favorites now. We were so pleased with our site. right on the river. And Cynthia was a gem. Awesome!!
May 20, 2013
The sites themselves were fairly decent. The management seemed to be in disarray. The Laundry room was dirty and a disgrace to KOA. The pool area was disgusting, overgrown with weeds and the canopy over the spa was half on the ground. Not a pleasant experience.
May 20, 2013
Quaint. love the goats! This was our 2nd time there, we will go back again!
May 15, 2013
The camp grounds appeared to be full of weeds and maintenace was not a high priority. The office was unorganized, full of ladders and paint buckets. The gift shop area was dirty and not lighted. The food in the grocery area was not well stocked and appeared old. The playground was totally trashed and broken parts were dangerous. The bathrooms were dirty and moldy.
May 15, 2013
May 11, 2013
We cannot recommend this facility because the restrooms were substandard, and the women's especially smelled like a urinal, to the point where using the shower was out of the question. Very dated facilities and not up to typical KOA standards. A major facelift is definitely needed here.
May 08, 2013
the facility is showing obvious signs of lack of maintenance and upgrades compared to most other KOAs which we like to stay at.
May 07, 2013
We had a very good stay at Black Rock. The hosts were exceptionally helpful during a problem with a DC circuit in our trailer. They were friendly and outgoing. All-in-all, it was a great place to stay and see Phoenix, Flagstaff and Sedona.
May 06, 2013
May 05, 2013
Friendly site, good location, in process of refurb to bathrooms.
May 04, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.