Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Feb 22, 2014
This is the worst KOA. We stayed at Lordsberg, NM to give KOA one more chance and decided not to renew KOA card. Goats here leaving goat poop, a barking big dog tied to front door post. Grill dirty, toilet with water ring from not being cleaned and floor dirty. Not room to go on and on. Sorry KOA. Albuquerque was great. Since then all bad.
Feb 17, 2014
We had a great time and the office staff are very friendly.
Feb 15, 2014
Campground very clean. Scenery in mountains spectacular. Staff friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend.
Feb 14, 2014
Very dirty, owner has many issues. Worst month of my life. I can say after this experience, I will never stay at a KOA again. I thought you had higher standards to allow such a dump to be listed as a KOA. It's apparent no one from KOA has checked that place out in a long time.I have pictures I would love to share with you.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Admitted at check in "did not like to travel". Had problems with this since day of reservation. Required site with no one around them. Put them on end of row facing BLM open space, upgraded their site. Stayed by themselves no interaction until super bowl party. I believe this was a maiden voyage.
Feb 10, 2014
This is a remarkable RV park that offers beautiful individual sites of rock formations. It is spacious, quiet and located next to a nature preserve. The hookups are 30 amps and all surfaces are graveled roads. I haven't found anything this unique, was very pleased and it is a short drive to Prescott. Some RV's need 50 amp service and wider roads for big rigs so I did not rate it higher for all .
Feb 09, 2014
Nice place to stay
Feb 08, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Very friendly staff and nice conditions except for the women's bathroom. There was a sign "no hair dying in shower" that must explain why the shower floor looked a filthy brown color. Aside from that it was a very enjoyable stay.
Feb 01, 2014
Jan 28, 2014
Been a KOA, I was expecting better for the price I paid. Concerning the up keeping of the ground there were no maintenance of landscaping surrounding each site & they were not level which create problem to level our unit. We travelled with friends who had their motorhome.
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 26, 2014
This campground has been around a long time. It has that distinguished older look and feel. We enjoyed a quiet night off the highway and the landscape and birds provided a delightful scene and sounds to wake to.
Jan 22, 2014
Overnight. Hosts were excellent and helpful as I had an oversize unit. The whole campground including showers etc was very clean
Jan 12, 2014
Jan 08, 2014
Very friendly. Will stay there again.
Jan 05, 2014
Good location. Staff is friendly.
Jan 01, 2014
As a new RVer this is only the forth KOA I have stayed in and so far I have enjoyed every stay and will continue staying in KOA camp grounds Regards
Dec 30, 2013
Campground is not kept up, full of weeds, unfinished projects, small space, hard to get into, sign posts laying on angles, dirty bathrooms. The hosts are great and try very hard to make stay pleasant, but after staying here for 6 years with hope of things getting better and only getting worse will not stay here again.Great people but poor KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Internet order, picked the cheapest site, between Christmas and new years. Never talked to owner never asked for an upgrade and considering it was December and we are in drought there were no weeds. We didn't start having weed problems until late January. M Booth and F Prichard have pictures.
Dec 27, 2013
Dec 18, 2013
Hostess and all employees were very helpful. The site was peaceful, quiet and enjoyable
Dec 08, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Seemed well cared for but older. A little tight for our 40 foot with tow.
Dec 03, 2013
Showers could be cleaner. People in tent camping area were a little sketchy.
Dec 02, 2013
My family and I were very pleased, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Campsites were great!
Nov 30, 2013
I have used this KOA numerous times and always have been satisfied. The owner has often gone out of his way to assist us even after hours. It is clean and convenient.
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 23, 2013
Nice friendly people and campground. Liked the goats.
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Should not bea Koa, showers and toilets are very dirty, disgusting. Playground under repair for more than a year. Unacceptable.
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 25, 2013
Probably worst KOA that we have stayed in. No maint. has been done on weed control and new gravel is needed. Bathrooms are in bad shape as no deep cleaning has been done in a long time. Walls and showers are dirty. Around swimming pool the chairs are dirty and worn and weeds are around pool patio. KOA should be doing an inspection of this property as this is going to give KOA a bad name.
Oct 24, 2013
Great facilities and location with additional plus of beautiful hiking area right next door.
Oct 23, 2013
The owner/manager, Jack, is wonderful and always accommodating. He has been very helpful with questions regarding our hot water heater that we had issues with. We would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Oct 13, 2013
One person running the camp, not too smart
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Just a desert view but the host was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The owner, very nice and helpful. The bathrooms a little smelly! Overall good experience. Little pricey, $50 per day.
Aug 30, 2013
Checked in very late and left very early. it was easy to locate our site registration information. Clean site and everything worked. Will come again.
Aug 22, 2013
Convenient location outside Phoenix. Needs a little bit more care and attention.
Aug 06, 2013
I give Black Canyon City Koa not even 1 star! I have been to several KOA's this year, but this one was very bad! Dirty old restrooms with lots of bugs, unhealthy enviremont, the manager was cleaning the pool while my children where swimming in the water! Never have been to a campground this awfull! Needs serious help with management, cleaning and maintenance !!
Aug 05, 2013
More worried about goats than travelers. Garbage piled up by children's playground. Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Aug 01, 2013
this is a great place to stay,this isn't the first time we stayed here and as always everyone was friendly and helpful, the grounds and restroom's are kept clean and bright and we always enjoy the goat's. My hat's off to management.
Aug 01, 2013
The gentleman running the place is a hard working man. but the place does need a lot of work, also I wished he would have been a little more friendlier or his mind was some where else
Jul 29, 2013
We had a good view. Although the office appeared disorganized with paperwork everywhere, the guy was very friendly and helpful. The KOA was quiet, and that's all we really wanted.
Jul 16, 2013
Friendly and helpfull.. have stayed here over the years as a place for one night on travels to midwest. However has become increasingly rundown over the years. Lots of junk, weeds, pool with algae, etc.
Jul 13, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.