Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jan 26, 2014
This campground has been around a long time. It has that distinguished older look and feel. We enjoyed a quiet night off the highway and the landscape and birds provided a delightful scene and sounds to wake to.
Jan 22, 2014
Overnight. Hosts were excellent and helpful as I had an oversize unit. The whole campground including showers etc was very clean
Jan 12, 2014
Jan 08, 2014
Very friendly. Will stay there again.
Jan 05, 2014
Good location. Staff is friendly.
Jan 01, 2014
As a new RVer this is only the forth KOA I have stayed in and so far I have enjoyed every stay and will continue staying in KOA camp grounds Regards
Dec 30, 2013
Campground is not kept up, full of weeds, unfinished projects, small space, hard to get into, sign posts laying on angles, dirty bathrooms. The hosts are great and try very hard to make stay pleasant, but after staying here for 6 years with hope of things getting better and only getting worse will not stay here again.Great people but poor KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Internet order, picked the cheapest site, between Christmas and new years. Never talked to owner never asked for an upgrade and considering it was December and we are in drought there were no weeds. We didn't start having weed problems until late January. M Booth and F Prichard have pictures.
Dec 27, 2013
Dec 18, 2013
Hostess and all employees were very helpful. The site was peaceful, quiet and enjoyable
Dec 08, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Seemed well cared for but older. A little tight for our 40 foot with tow.
Dec 03, 2013
Showers could be cleaner. People in tent camping area were a little sketchy.
Dec 02, 2013
My family and I were very pleased, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Campsites were great!
Nov 30, 2013
I have used this KOA numerous times and always have been satisfied. The owner has often gone out of his way to assist us even after hours. It is clean and convenient.
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 23, 2013
Nice friendly people and campground. Liked the goats.
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Should not bea Koa, showers and toilets are very dirty, disgusting. Playground under repair for more than a year. Unacceptable.
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 25, 2013
Probably worst KOA that we have stayed in. No maint. has been done on weed control and new gravel is needed. Bathrooms are in bad shape as no deep cleaning has been done in a long time. Walls and showers are dirty. Around swimming pool the chairs are dirty and worn and weeds are around pool patio. KOA should be doing an inspection of this property as this is going to give KOA a bad name.
Oct 24, 2013
Great facilities and location with additional plus of beautiful hiking area right next door.
Oct 23, 2013
The owner/manager, Jack, is wonderful and always accommodating. He has been very helpful with questions regarding our hot water heater that we had issues with. We would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Oct 13, 2013
One person running the camp, not too smart
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Just a desert view but the host was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The owner, very nice and helpful. The bathrooms a little smelly! Overall good experience. Little pricey, $50 per day.
Aug 30, 2013
Checked in very late and left very early. it was easy to locate our site registration information. Clean site and everything worked. Will come again.
Aug 22, 2013
Convenient location outside Phoenix. Needs a little bit more care and attention.
Aug 06, 2013
I give Black Canyon City Koa not even 1 star! I have been to several KOA's this year, but this one was very bad! Dirty old restrooms with lots of bugs, unhealthy enviremont, the manager was cleaning the pool while my children where swimming in the water! Never have been to a campground this awfull! Needs serious help with management, cleaning and maintenance !!
Aug 05, 2013
More worried about goats than travelers. Garbage piled up by children's playground. Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Aug 01, 2013
this is a great place to stay,this isn't the first time we stayed here and as always everyone was friendly and helpful, the grounds and restroom's are kept clean and bright and we always enjoy the goat's. My hat's off to management.
Aug 01, 2013
The gentleman running the place is a hard working man. but the place does need a lot of work, also I wished he would have been a little more friendlier or his mind was some where else
Jul 29, 2013
We had a good view. Although the office appeared disorganized with paperwork everywhere, the guy was very friendly and helpful. The KOA was quiet, and that's all we really wanted.
Jul 16, 2013
Friendly and helpfull.. have stayed here over the years as a place for one night on travels to midwest. However has become increasingly rundown over the years. Lots of junk, weeds, pool with algae, etc.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Staff was nice. So was the pool. Bathrooms were not super clean and didn't care for the ants.
Jul 11, 2013
A welcome sight after a long day of traveling. Friendly and agreeable greeters. Level site.
Jul 09, 2013
The ladies rest room was really dirty - inside of the door looked like its never been cleaned. Showers didn't seem to have been hosed down at all - gobs of hair -- overall gross!
Jul 06, 2013
The main women's bathroom door doesn't close, and a dead great big bug was sitting right there the whole time, so I have to think the bathroom was never cleaned. Also, all the long dark hair in the shower drain is evidence of that also. The main office was terribly messy.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Clean, quiet and great management.
Jul 01, 2013
We arrived late in the day after the office closed. Staff was on site and helped us park in our spot. Very quiet and well landscaped. Not easy to find in GPS by address
Jun 21, 2013
Manque un peut d'entretien mais le propriétaire est très sympatique
Jun 19, 2013
Friendly people!
Jun 19, 2013
A truly out of the way place on the way from Phoenix to Flagstaff, AZ. The area ok for adults. Playground unsafe, not for kids.
Jun 19, 2013
Nice little KOA site. They are in the process of remodeling the bathrooms / showers. They were very accommodating as I called from the road to request my stay.
Jun 16, 2013
pool was fabulous; site was accommodating; dog walk area was clean. Only bad thing was the extremely hot weather conditions which made us cut our stay short.
Jun 07, 2013
Its our second time there, I'm sure we will return next year or sooner.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.