Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 06, 2015
One of the least developed KOA's we have stayed at. Happened to be there when it rained. Quite muddy in places. Needs more gravel. Internet was very poor. Could not connect to the service many times.
Mar 05, 2015
The park was fine. Nothing special, but the people were friendly, site was level, and had what we needed. The WiFi didn't work very well and we were right near the office. All said, we'd stay there again if we were in the area.
Mar 04, 2015
Nice staff. Really large desert area next to park for dog walking.
Mar 03, 2015
we had planned to stay 3 or 4 nights, but when we saw the camp ground, we changed it to 1 night. very unkept. no room for awning to be out all the way. sites very close.
Mar 02, 2015
We liked staying there, It was quiet and not a noises place, Friendly, We will plan on staying there again some time,
Mar 01, 2015
Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful but the site itself was terrible. Rocky and uneven. Had to have another camper move their pickup truck that they parked in the road so I could get my Class A out only to get a tirade of abuse for bothering them at 11am even though they were up and about outside their camper. Never again.
Feb 26, 2015
People were very accommodating Site need to be worked on to get more level for 33' plus motorhomes
Feb 26, 2015
The only negative is our site was advertised as a "pull through" site. We did in fact pull through, but there was another rig in front of ours so we couldn't unhook our truck and we had to back out our fifth-wheel to leave.
Feb 25, 2015
I made reservations 3 months in advance for a pull thru when I got there they claimed they had an emergency and put me in a pull in back out when they had several pull thru available. None of the sites were level, ground keeping ddn't seem to exist, staff couldn't operate the computer, etc. after this experience I feel like I will rethink renewing membership
Feb 24, 2015
All staff were very helpful and attentive. We enjoyed our stay.
Feb 24, 2015
It was a nice stay everything was clean and people were friendly including the staff. It was our first time staying at a KOA we would definitely use their facilities in the future.
Feb 23, 2015
location good. bathrooms ok but not cleaned daily,showers cleaned once in a week
Feb 20, 2015
Reported electrical service not operational.An apology was uttered and informed that some one would check the system. No one showed up , yes I performed test of electrical supply box with my electrician tester. We spent a cold night.
Feb 19, 2015
Needs a major renovation. Pool not working, pool and spa area rundown, area between pool and office building junky/messy. Not typical of KOA standard. We choose KOA because of its reputation for quality.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Some of the spaces - we stayed in 14 - need to have the bushes, trees etc trimmed back because my slide out was up against a cactus that I poked my hand on a couple of times while setting up elect, water etc. Also there were several big holes left from stabilizers of bigger units who did not put down wood blocks for the stabilizers, thereby causing big holes in the ground. Spaces need to be raked.
Feb 17, 2015
Only downfall to this KOA is that without an off road vehicle there's not much to do nearby. We planned on staying on the grounds so it was great!
Feb 17, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Feb 16, 2015
Disappointed as the pool was closed and the hot tub was too filthy to go in.
Feb 13, 2015
loved the quiet and the birds singing. Were disappointed pool was not open as advertised. Frustrated trying to phone to confirm but could not get through so booked on line.
Feb 12, 2015
I used to stay at a lot of KOA's when the kids were little and I had a pop-up. This is the first time I've stayed at a KOA in years because the other place here was pretty bad. The cost of KOA has gotten too high. We never use the pool, rest rooms, game room, etc. Other campgrounds have a place for us at a lower cost.
Feb 10, 2015
we understood the pool was open year round and were disappointed it was closed. People were helpful, loved the birds singing and the quiet.
Feb 10, 2015
Glade we only stayed 1 night, poorly kept facility. Needs upgrading badly.
Feb 09, 2015
Very accomodating and we loved the animals!
Feb 06, 2015
Sites were a bit tight and could use some freshening walk needs attention too. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Location is very nice.
Feb 04, 2015
Had no ability to hookup waste water. Restroom needs updating and personal touch
Feb 01, 2015
Campground was clean. Hosts were very friendly. Typical desert setting. Beautiful sunsets. Wind blew all day everyday. Don't know if it always blows.
Jan 30, 2015
The staff and members were very friendly and helpful. We have stayed in a number of KOA's and I know all are different themed, etc. Black Canyon is an older campground and in my opinion needs a lot of TLC. Nothing was bad, just not what we expected.
Jan 30, 2015
Jan 29, 2015
Nice park- I like the desert landscaping! Well maintained (altho the shower temp could be turned up a bit)- nice hot tub- store was well stocked. A little close to the hiway so it can be a bit noisy, but I suspect the campground was built when it was just a little 2 lane. We take off to see the sights anyway, so it really wasn't an issue for us. Thanks for a nice stay!
Jan 24, 2015
Great location. Reserved a pull thru but was direct to a site that had a rig in front of me. I said I asked for a pull thru as I was towing a car and could not back up. The lady said "well it is a pull thru if no one is in front of you..." There turned out to be one pull thru left that was just barely big enough for me to fit in so it all worked out in the end.
Jan 23, 2015
The showers were dirty both men's and women's. The restroom should be updated. The hand towel dispenser was just a couple of inches above counter. The paper towel got wet before you could use it. Apparently the men's restroom had a broken urinal which means there was one toilet for all the men in a packed camp.
Jan 22, 2015
Open sewage at dump site for many days. Sites had ruts from prior rain. Definitely not up to the standard we have seen as a member of KOA at other campgrounds. Rate it a c-.
Jan 16, 2015
They had a pull thru that worked for us in a quick overnight
Jan 11, 2015
we loved this place as it is quiet, small, friendly.the work campers were all outstanding and helpful. Jack was an excellent host who is friendly, honest and helpful. we planned to stay 10 or 14 days, it turned out to be 2 months. Jack treated us like family during Thanksgiving and Christmas day by cooking turkeys for us and we all had a pot luck, we love this place.
Jan 06, 2015
This RV park location is perfect... near Phoenix area, Prescott and Sedona. Great for setting up a base and taking road trips. Also the management there are very helpful. We had problems with our RV door and they looked up Mobile RV repair people for us to call. The gentleman working at the park went out of his way to assist us and actually helped to unjam our door. We Highly Recommend!!!!!
Jan 05, 2015
Staff were very friendly and helpful in making sure we were able to park for our maiden voyage in our 5th wheel. They went over and above the call of duty when we were loading up and had problems with our landing gear. It quit before we were able to hook-up. They, as well as our campsite neighbors, helped to get us loaded and on our way.
Jan 05, 2015
Very accommodating and helpful. Nice location. A bit difficult maneuvering for a big rig. We'll be back.
Jan 04, 2015
Dec 27, 2014
The wife & I grew up camping, she had a camper when we got married 6 years ago. I have family in Az., 130 mi south of us. This camp ground has what we are looking for in a place to stay, Number 1 it's quiet. Friendly we like meeting people, we met some nice people here, no pet noise. We also like to get away for a couple days, shopping only a few miles south, lots and lots of stores. Thank you.
Dec 13, 2014
Although we found this place to be very clean and quiet, our rig of 36 ft and towing a car just barely fit. That is the only drawback.
Dec 10, 2014
I try not to be negative about anything so... There was a very nice lady at check-in.
Dec 09, 2014
Dec 06, 2014
Big sites. A nice place to stay
Dec 05, 2014
Dec 02, 2014
Dec 01, 2014
Not enough activities.Need larger sites especially for monthly or longer stays. Grills and firepits would be nice, too.
Dec 01, 2014
Extremely friendly and accommodating staff, campground was clean. Would definitely stay again.
Nov 29, 2014
We just loved this park. Wonderful pitch-in Thanksgiving dinner. Very friendly staff.
Nov 23, 2014
very friendly nice people..but the bathrooms are in need of attention. the camping sink was filthy..very bad. yes i would stay again. just a little attention would go along way,help.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.