Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 19, 2015
Great place plenty of room to roam beautiful Sonora desert. Would stay here again
Mar 19, 2015
The sites are not level and in poor shape. The electrical outlets are not switched. The cable box is good. The office people do not help much. The customers seem to be running the place. Too much gossip. Not a friendly place
Mar 18, 2015
We had a great stay. Real nice people. Loved the goats. !!
Mar 17, 2015
Extremely run down. A pile of dog poo right by our water faucet. Landscaping was unkept. On a positive note, laundry area clean.
Mar 13, 2015
Everything was nice. Host and hostess were very friendly and helpful.
Mar 12, 2015
Friendly people,very accommodating.Suprized to see Donna whom we knew from Barrie KOA .Very Nice.Lovely views.
Mar 11, 2015
Friendly,convenient for day trips and dated but clean well maintained facilities.
Mar 11, 2015
Beautiful place, everything as advertised.
Mar 11, 2015
Nice friendly koa.Site's are mostly level and big. only used the cable and Wi-Fi,both of them are poor. we stayed in a motorhome in 3/15.
Mar 11, 2015
Very friendly and helpful
Mar 11, 2015
Charming KOA with lovely views. Easy access and very helpful hosts!
Mar 09, 2015
Mar 07, 2015
Helpful staff and owner. Friendly and accommodating. Will return.
Mar 07, 2015
Not a very nice KOA. Not kid friendly. Spots are tiny.
Mar 06, 2015
Helped us with our every need.....made reservations to return!! Thanks!
Mar 06, 2015
One of the least developed KOA's we have stayed at. Happened to be there when it rained. Quite muddy in places. Needs more gravel. Internet was very poor. Could not connect to the service many times.
Mar 05, 2015
The park was fine. Nothing special, but the people were friendly, site was level, and had what we needed. The WiFi didn't work very well and we were right near the office. All said, we'd stay there again if we were in the area.
Mar 04, 2015
Nice staff. Really large desert area next to park for dog walking.
Mar 03, 2015
we had planned to stay 3 or 4 nights, but when we saw the camp ground, we changed it to 1 night. very unkept. no room for awning to be out all the way. sites very close.
Mar 02, 2015
We liked staying there, It was quiet and not a noises place, Friendly, We will plan on staying there again some time,
Mar 01, 2015
Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful but the site itself was terrible. Rocky and uneven. Had to have another camper move their pickup truck that they parked in the road so I could get my Class A out only to get a tirade of abuse for bothering them at 11am even though they were up and about outside their camper. Never again.
Feb 26, 2015
People were very accommodating Site need to be worked on to get more level for 33' plus motorhomes
Feb 26, 2015
The only negative is our site was advertised as a "pull through" site. We did in fact pull through, but there was another rig in front of ours so we couldn't unhook our truck and we had to back out our fifth-wheel to leave.
Feb 25, 2015
I made reservations 3 months in advance for a pull thru when I got there they claimed they had an emergency and put me in a pull in back out when they had several pull thru available. None of the sites were level, ground keeping ddn't seem to exist, staff couldn't operate the computer, etc. after this experience I feel like I will rethink renewing membership
Feb 24, 2015
All staff were very helpful and attentive. We enjoyed our stay.
Feb 24, 2015
It was a nice stay everything was clean and people were friendly including the staff. It was our first time staying at a KOA we would definitely use their facilities in the future.
Feb 23, 2015
location good. bathrooms ok but not cleaned daily,showers cleaned once in a week
Feb 20, 2015
Reported electrical service not operational.An apology was uttered and informed that some one would check the system. No one showed up , yes I performed test of electrical supply box with my electrician tester. We spent a cold night.
Feb 19, 2015
Needs a major renovation. Pool not working, pool and spa area rundown, area between pool and office building junky/messy. Not typical of KOA standard. We choose KOA because of its reputation for quality.
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
Some of the spaces - we stayed in 14 - need to have the bushes, trees etc trimmed back because my slide out was up against a cactus that I poked my hand on a couple of times while setting up elect, water etc. Also there were several big holes left from stabilizers of bigger units who did not put down wood blocks for the stabilizers, thereby causing big holes in the ground. Spaces need to be raked.
Feb 17, 2015
Only downfall to this KOA is that without an off road vehicle there's not much to do nearby. We planned on staying on the grounds so it was great!
Feb 17, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Feb 16, 2015
Disappointed as the pool was closed and the hot tub was too filthy to go in.
Feb 13, 2015
loved the quiet and the birds singing. Were disappointed pool was not open as advertised. Frustrated trying to phone to confirm but could not get through so booked on line.
Feb 12, 2015
I used to stay at a lot of KOA's when the kids were little and I had a pop-up. This is the first time I've stayed at a KOA in years because the other place here was pretty bad. The cost of KOA has gotten too high. We never use the pool, rest rooms, game room, etc. Other campgrounds have a place for us at a lower cost.
Feb 10, 2015
we understood the pool was open year round and were disappointed it was closed. People were helpful, loved the birds singing and the quiet.
Feb 10, 2015
Glade we only stayed 1 night, poorly kept facility. Needs upgrading badly.
Feb 09, 2015
Very accomodating and we loved the animals!
Feb 06, 2015
Sites were a bit tight and could use some freshening up.dog walk needs attention too. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Location is very nice.
Feb 04, 2015
Had no ability to hookup waste water. Restroom needs updating and personal touch
Feb 01, 2015
Campground was clean. Hosts were very friendly. Typical desert setting. Beautiful sunsets. Wind blew all day everyday. Don't know if it always blows.
Jan 30, 2015
The staff and members were very friendly and helpful. We have stayed in a number of KOA's and I know all are different themed, etc. Black Canyon is an older campground and in my opinion needs a lot of TLC. Nothing was bad, just not what we expected.
Jan 30, 2015
Jan 29, 2015
Nice park- I like the desert landscaping! Well maintained (altho the shower temp could be turned up a bit)- nice hot tub- store was well stocked. A little close to the hiway so it can be a bit noisy, but I suspect the campground was built when it was just a little 2 lane. We take off to see the sights anyway, so it really wasn't an issue for us. Thanks for a nice stay!
Jan 24, 2015
Great location. Reserved a pull thru but was direct to a site that had a rig in front of me. I said I asked for a pull thru as I was towing a car and could not back up. The lady said "well it is a pull thru if no one is in front of you..." There turned out to be one pull thru left that was just barely big enough for me to fit in so it all worked out in the end.
Jan 23, 2015
The showers were dirty both men's and women's. The restroom should be updated. The hand towel dispenser was just a couple of inches above counter. The paper towel got wet before you could use it. Apparently the men's restroom had a broken urinal which means there was one toilet for all the men in a packed camp.
Jan 22, 2015
Open sewage at dump site for many days. Sites had ruts from prior rain. Definitely not up to the standard we have seen as a member of KOA at other campgrounds. Rate it a c-.
Jan 16, 2015
They had a pull thru that worked for us in a quick overnight
Jan 11, 2015
we loved this place as it is quiet, small, friendly.the work campers were all outstanding and helpful. Jack was an excellent host who is friendly, honest and helpful. we planned to stay 10 or 14 days, it turned out to be 2 months. Jack treated us like family during Thanksgiving and Christmas day by cooking turkeys for us and we all had a pot luck, we love this place.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.