Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
When we arrived all seemed fine. The cabin was cute and there were just a few bugs. However, once night fell, the bugs absolutely INVADED! They were everywhere! We couldn't stay but packed up as quickly as we could and left. I am not exxagerating when I saw there were tens of thousands of small flying bugs that invaded the cabin after dark!
Jul 10, 2015
Campgrounds are in disarray and unkept. Washrooms are not clean and full of bugs to the point of being unusable. Very disappointed.
Jun 27, 2015
Nice but hot
Jun 10, 2015
We stayed 5 nights in a Kamping Kabin at Black Canyon City, and enjoyed our stay. The cabin was decorated with nice paintings, etc., an unusual touch. It seemed the owner was the only worker there, and was a little short-handed. We hope he can get some good help if he needs it!
Jun 06, 2015
The host was so welcoming. Our cabin was clean. The pool area was not very inviting. There were abandoned looking motor homes on the rim of the property. A very beat up looking mobile home was within 50 ft of our cabin with a old washer or dryer turned on its side in front.
May 30, 2015
The manger had no help,was doing every thing by his self. Said his employee went back to Canada.
May 27, 2015
Really enjoyed our stay! The cabins were perfect for what we needed and the restrooms were very clean! And most importantly HOT showers! Thank you! We will be staying at other locations for sure
May 06, 2015
overall, would return. however, a/c in cabin was not working properly and restrooms needed cleaning.
May 04, 2015
I stayed in a cabin and discovered I hate having to get dressed to go to the bathroom.
May 03, 2015
The cabin and grounds were very nice. The one suggestion I would have is to fix the toilets.
Apr 26, 2015
The campground had a nice open layout with impressive cactus landscaping. It was well lit so that using the restrooms at night was easy and secure. The cabin had pillows and linens on all the beds as well as a tv, coffee maker and coffee and a wall mounted reading light. It was air conditioned and had a heater. The camp host was helpful and friendly. There were games, DVDs, books and puzzles
Apr 13, 2015
we only stayed one night, but thought the cabins were very clean and maintained properly. Not a whole lot for kids to do.
Apr 09, 2015
Mar 25, 2015
Place was beautiful. Pool nice. Cabin needed a fridge. Hours of the office could have been earlier and later.
Mar 24, 2015
2nd year there. Staff was great; the rest rooms were clean by very small. Would highly recommend for anybody.
Mar 22, 2015
it is always fun to come there at Black Canyon city. We are always treated very well by the camp caretakers, Spaces are always clean and well groomed. And the amenities are fantastic. Thanks for doing such a good job.
Mar 19, 2015
pool not heated, area around pool never swept, sandy and with pebbles. So you have dirty feet before entering pool or hottub. workers very friendly.
Mar 19, 2015
Mar 17, 2015
It was wonderful as usual. We enjoy this stay at this time of the year, every year! Thank you for everything that you and your staff do to make our stay with you a pleasure! See you in November!
Mar 12, 2015
Mar 12, 2015
very quiet and peaceful. Much needed tranquility. Thank you to the great hosts.Keep up the great job!See you next time!!
Mar 12, 2015
Very relaxing kinds staff beautiful views can't wait to visit again :) thank you
Mar 09, 2015
Feb 06, 2015
We enjoyed our weekend there met some cool people. Staff was very friendly n helpful. 2nd time their and we will be back there again soon!
Feb 05, 2015
Check in was short and sweet. We were met by the staff, including the owner, who explained everything we asked. They were nice, professional and enjoyed their jobs. The campground was clean, quiet and had everything we needed..
Feb 03, 2015
The cabin was very clean, linens provided were really good. Kind of small but overall ok for a short weekend. Office hours were short.
Jan 31, 2015
Jan 28, 2015
Nice people! But fire the guy that cleans the men's room, because he doesn't....
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 16, 2015
Had a wonderful 3 months. Thanks Jack and the Staff
Dec 31, 2014
It was very nice and quiet, the cabin was clean, the restrooms were clean. But could be a little bit closer to the cabin..
Dec 27, 2014
Dec 12, 2014
Great people. Great place.
Dec 05, 2014
smelly bathrooms/mold sewage/water treatment plant is really smelly had a propane leak for two days that caused major Headaches, . .
Sep 17, 2014
Cabins were clean and nice, bathrooms, pool and hot tub needed a lot of cleaning and repairs
Sep 04, 2014
We only stayed 1 night as we relocated across country with pets. It worked well for us.
Aug 11, 2014
Stayed in a kabin for the first time and we were very pleased. Restrooms were clean and well stocked, grounds were maintained with lots to do. There is plenty to do in the immediate area so get out and explore. Loved meeting Coco and Billy, the resident goats that followed the staff as they did chores. We will be back.....just no in the heat of the AZ summer.
Aug 11, 2014
We stayed in Cabin #1 and the A/C did not cool the cabin down. I do realize that we went in the heat of summer but the A/C should have worked in that small of space. The restrooms and shower where not the cleanest and was filled with flying bugs. The kids did have fun in the pool and the playground. The little one did enjoy the goats. No, I would not stay there again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

It was a hot weekend, 104 degrees, but it defeats the purpose when the cabin door is constantly opening and closing. Air "Conditioning" under the best circumstances will only drop the ambient temperature 12 to 15 degrees provided there is enough humidity in the air to not make the unit overwork.
Jul 20, 2014
The staff was very helpful and friendly. The accommodations were great. I will return to this location and already recommended it.
Jun 30, 2014
Convenient home base for our travels in the area. Well maintained and safe. Especially appreciated the well-appointed, enclosed pet walk. The resident goats are charming! A suggestion for more efficient heating and cooling: Install a drape that can be arranged over the door to prevent air escaping through the gaps around the frame.
Jun 17, 2014
The place is very close to the freeway so we could hear all the traffic. The place is clean and nice, cabins are clean so are the bathrooms. Plenty of shower stalls. All of the visitors except us were RVs at the time we went in June for Father's Day. It's as hot as Phoenix.
May 27, 2014
My daughter's family and I had a wonderful stay. My 3yr old granddaughter had a blast. She made a camp-friend, they played at the play ground. We got to do panning for gold and gems. Our cabins were clean and the residences were nice and helpful. We will come back (also for the Rock Springs Pies, Yummy).
May 26, 2014
My husband and I stayed in a cabin which was great! Loved the swing. The wildlife and the animals at the campsite were great(goats, chickens). Can't wait to go back!
May 23, 2014
Perfect stay in a Kabin! The cabin was clean, comfortible, and we loved the porch swing! This KOA is outstanding when it comes to an inexpensive comfortable way to camp. A grill and picnic table is provided at each site, the campgrounds are clean and quiet. Showers, restrooms, and camp store are located near the sites. Hiking is just feet away. Beautiful place to get away.
May 21, 2014
We had a wonderful time. Clean cabin and restrooms and a great dog park for our 4 'kids'. The playground was also a big hit with our 3 year old granddaughter. Very friendly staff,
May 11, 2014
May 07, 2014
May 02, 2014
400 characters are unnecessary. one word only, awesome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Ty Brother!
Apr 28, 2014
Tall cactus, cute cabins, and delicious pie at a nearby restaurant!
Apr 24, 2014
Stayed for the winter months excellent staff and the owner is GREAT.Glad to see Oreo came home. Will be back in the fall
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.