Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 11, 2013
perfect stay , helpful and friendly staff
Jul 11, 2013
A welcome sight after a long day of traveling. Friendly and agreeable greeters. Level site.
Jul 09, 2013
The ladies rest room was really dirty - inside of the door looked like its never been cleaned. Showers didn't seem to have been hosed down at all - gobs of hair -- overall gross!
Jul 06, 2013
The main women's bathroom door doesn't close, and a dead great big bug was sitting right there the whole time, so I have to think the bathroom was never cleaned. Also, all the long dark hair in the shower drain is evidence of that also. The main office was terribly messy.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Clean, quiet and great management.
Jul 01, 2013
We arrived late in the day after the office closed. Staff was on site and helped us park in our spot. Very quiet and well landscaped. Not easy to find in GPS by address
Jun 26, 2013
Tent sites had little or no shade at all. This is a very hot location.
Jun 21, 2013
Manque un peut d'entretien mais le propriétaire est très sympatique
Jun 19, 2013
Friendly people!
Jun 19, 2013
A truly out of the way place on the way from Phoenix to Flagstaff, AZ. The area ok for adults. Playground unsafe, not for kids.
Jun 19, 2013
Nice little KOA site. They are in the process of remodeling the bathrooms / showers. They were very accommodating as I called from the road to request my stay.
Jun 16, 2013
pool was fabulous; site was accommodating; dog walk area was clean. Only bad thing was the extremely hot weather conditions which made us cut our stay short.
Jun 07, 2013
Its our second time there, I'm sure we will return next year or sooner.
Jun 01, 2013
It was quiet and a beautiful view.
May 29, 2013
Very friendly and very well ran
May 28, 2013
When you think of KOA you think it would be very generic, NOT SO HERE!. This campground is one of our favorites now. We were so pleased with our site. right on the river. And Cynthia was a gem. Awesome!!
May 20, 2013
The sites themselves were fairly decent. The management seemed to be in disarray. The Laundry room was dirty and a disgrace to KOA. The pool area was disgusting, overgrown with weeds and the canopy over the spa was half on the ground. Not a pleasant experience.
May 20, 2013
Quaint. love the goats! This was our 2nd time there, we will go back again!
May 15, 2013
The camp grounds appeared to be full of weeds and maintenace was not a high priority. The office was unorganized, full of ladders and paint buckets. The gift shop area was dirty and not lighted. The food in the grocery area was not well stocked and appeared old. The playground was totally trashed and broken parts were dangerous. The bathrooms were dirty and moldy.
May 15, 2013
May 14, 2013
love the friendly staff...the scenery...the facilities were clean...cabin was clean...after a long hard day of drivin...it was well worth it.
May 14, 2013
This is a very peaceful place to camp and is in a very beautiful area.
May 11, 2013
We cannot recommend this facility because the restrooms were substandard, and the women's especially smelled like a urinal, to the point where using the shower was out of the question. Very dated facilities and not up to typical KOA standards. A major facelift is definitely needed here.
May 09, 2013
The people at this campground could be teaching customer service anywhere. Thanks for a great stay.
May 08, 2013
the facility is showing obvious signs of lack of maintenance and upgrades compared to most other KOAs which we like to stay at.
May 07, 2013
We had a very good stay at Black Rock. The hosts were exceptionally helpful during a problem with a DC circuit in our trailer. They were friendly and outgoing. All-in-all, it was a great place to stay and see Phoenix, Flagstaff and Sedona.
May 07, 2013
The stay was great, staff was helpful and educational, weather was fine. My kids enjoyed the stay, especially being able to actually see the stars and play with the pet King Snake.
May 06, 2013
May 05, 2013
Friendly site, good location, in process of refurb to bathrooms.
May 04, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Apr 28, 2013
Worst KOA ever. What a dump
Apr 26, 2013
Apr 24, 2013
Perfect for being completely out of Phoenix, but not too far to drive.
Apr 23, 2013
Not enjoyable........It seems to me KOA is going down the one were at now isn't very good either.....they need lessons in customer relations
Apr 22, 2013
Excellent facility. Hosts were the best and the free continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise
Apr 22, 2013
campground needs major maintenance and upkeep
Apr 22, 2013
Although the scenery is beautiful in the area, and the sites were interesting as far as the vegetation, the camground itself is run down. The washrooms were dirty, old, tiles missing and some just concrete. The pool was open but not clean. It is located at the back of the main building. You must walk by the 'junk yard' at the back of paint cans, old wood, parts etc. Also lots of junk on sites.
Apr 19, 2013
Toilette trés sale, moto trés bruillante, personne a l'acceuil a l'heure indiquer sur la porte, c'est le pire KOA depuis mon départ de Quebec Canada.
Apr 17, 2013
Apr 14, 2013
THis is my favorite to far. Beautiful location in the center of the state. Will return again. Pool & spa were excellent. The Campground was very clean.
Apr 11, 2013
Apr 09, 2013
Apr 09, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
Apr 07, 2013
Very shabby and poorly maintained. Pool area needed weeding and lots of junk to be cleaned up.
Apr 05, 2013
This place sucks
Apr 04, 2013
Wonderful park
Apr 02, 2013
Rundown campground. Playground broken, canopy over spa broken, etc. Went with intentions to prospect for gold with kids as advertised on Website, but this business closed over 5 months ago. Called about horseback riding, but never got a call back. Nothing to do at campground at all except hike. Won't ever return.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.