Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 08, 2014
Very friendly. Will stay there again.
Jan 05, 2014
Good location. Staff is friendly.
Jan 01, 2014
As a new RVer this is only the forth KOA I have stayed in and so far I have enjoyed every stay and will continue staying in KOA camp grounds Regards
Dec 30, 2013
Campground is not kept up, full of weeds, unfinished projects, small space, hard to get into, sign posts laying on angles, dirty bathrooms. The hosts are great and try very hard to make stay pleasant, but after staying here for 6 years with hope of things getting better and only getting worse will not stay here again.Great people but poor KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Internet order, picked the cheapest site, between Christmas and new years. Never talked to owner never asked for an upgrade and considering it was December and we are in drought there were no weeds. We didn't start having weed problems until late January. M Booth and F Prichard have pictures.
Dec 27, 2013
Dec 26, 2013
This is a great campground. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The cabin and restrooms were clean. My dog also enjoyed her stay with the fenced pet area so she could be off her leash. The goats were cute and came over to say hi when they went on their evening walk.
Dec 18, 2013
Hostess and all employees were very helpful. The site was peaceful, quiet and enjoyable
Dec 08, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Seemed well cared for but older. A little tight for our 40 foot with tow.
Dec 03, 2013
Showers could be cleaner. People in tent camping area were a little sketchy.
Dec 02, 2013
My family and I were very pleased, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Campsites were great!
Nov 30, 2013
I have used this KOA numerous times and always have been satisfied. The owner has often gone out of his way to assist us even after hours. It is clean and convenient.
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 23, 2013
Nice friendly people and campground. Liked the goats.
Nov 12, 2013
Apparently there is a goat-keeper on site. A goat urinated near me while I was taking photographs. Then the goat left feces on the porch before I had moved all my things in. Never again. Employee on duty was cordial but not a true professional in appearance. Men's bath poorly maintained. .1 star
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Should not bea Koa, showers and toilets are very dirty, disgusting. Playground under repair for more than a year. Unacceptable.
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 31, 2013
Jack at the reception desk is Mr. Hospitality, he assists his customers with top notch customer service! Single women traveling will feel very safe at this KOA. Great security.
Oct 25, 2013
Probably worst KOA that we have stayed in. No maint. has been done on weed control and new gravel is needed. Bathrooms are in bad shape as no deep cleaning has been done in a long time. Walls and showers are dirty. Around swimming pool the chairs are dirty and worn and weeds are around pool patio. KOA should be doing an inspection of this property as this is going to give KOA a bad name.
Oct 24, 2013
Great facilities and location with additional plus of beautiful hiking area right next door.
Oct 24, 2013
I arrived after dark and left very early, but the cabin was very clean, management very pleasant, and I wish I had had more time to spend there.
Oct 23, 2013
The owner/manager, Jack, is wonderful and always accommodating. He has been very helpful with questions regarding our hot water heater that we had issues with. We would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Oct 13, 2013
One person running the camp, not too smart
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Just a desert view but the host was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
My stay at the black canyon city Koa was awesome! Jack was helpful and accommodating. Jack went out of his way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. And interesting! Jack has incredibly adorable and friendly pet goats. You can purchase small bags of peanuts in Jacks store and feed the goats! Jack is an animal lover of both domestic and wild . Next visit I will hike black canyon!
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
The cabin was clean but everything else was dirty and filthy.The bathrooms were a disgrace,the showers and sinks were never cleaned the whole weekend we were there.One bathroom was out of toilet paper from the time we arrived til the time we left.There was junk,wood and tools everywhere.The office was a mess with papers and garbage all over the desk as well as the floor.Goat droppings on sidewalks
Sep 16, 2013
The owner, very nice and helpful. The bathrooms a little smelly! Overall good experience. Little pricey, $50 per day.
Sep 15, 2013
Restrooms were very dirty. If they were cleaned I would have been very satisfied with my stay
Sep 14, 2013
Nice campground, need more trash cans available
Sep 05, 2013
We arrived late and left early, but our stay was everything we expected from KOA.
Aug 30, 2013
Checked in very late and left very early. it was easy to locate our site registration information. Clean site and everything worked. Will come again.
Aug 22, 2013
Convenient location outside Phoenix. Needs a little bit more care and attention.
Aug 22, 2013
Loved the kittens that came out at night to play. Hope they stay safe.
Aug 06, 2013
I give Black Canyon City Koa not even 1 star! I have been to several KOA's this year, but this one was very bad! Dirty old restrooms with lots of bugs, unhealthy enviremont, the manager was cleaning the pool while my children where swimming in the water! Never have been to a campground this awfull! Needs serious help with management, cleaning and maintenance !!
Aug 05, 2013
More worried about goats than travelers. Garbage piled up by children's playground. Dirty, dirty, dirty.
Aug 01, 2013
this is a great place to stay,this isn't the first time we stayed here and as always everyone was friendly and helpful, the grounds and restroom's are kept clean and bright and we always enjoy the goat's. My hat's off to management.
Aug 01, 2013
The gentleman running the place is a hard working man. but the place does need a lot of work, also I wished he would have been a little more friendlier or his mind was some where else
Jul 29, 2013
It was not clean and to much mess.
Jul 29, 2013
Stayed in a cabin with my dogs and everything was great. Manager was very friendly, everything was clean and the location was great. It was my second stay there and I'll be back.
Jul 29, 2013
We had a good view. Although the office appeared disorganized with paperwork everywhere, the guy was very friendly and helpful. The KOA was quiet, and that's all we really wanted.
Jul 16, 2013
We arrived KOA around 3 pm, no staff was around, the office and the store were filthy. After about 40 minutes, we checked the after hours box outside and found our envelope. We didn't see a staff member for another 30 minutes, wi fi code did not work and the grounds were no kept up
Jul 16, 2013
Friendly and helpfull.. have stayed here over the years as a place for one night on travels to midwest. However has become increasingly rundown over the years. Lots of junk, weeds, pool with algae, etc.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Staff was nice. So was the pool. Bathrooms were not super clean and didn't care for the ants.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.