Black Canyon City KOA

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
3.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 08, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Feb 05, 2014
Very friendly staff and nice conditions except for the women's bathroom. There was a sign "no hair dying in shower" that must explain why the shower floor looked a filthy brown color. Aside from that it was a very enjoyable stay.
Feb 01, 2014
Jan 28, 2014
Been a KOA, I was expecting better for the price I paid. Concerning the up keeping of the ground there were no maintenance of landscaping surrounding each site & they were not level which create problem to level our unit. We travelled with friends who had their motorhome.
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 26, 2014
Our family found this KOA to be a great base camping for multiple day trips. It's not fancy, but it's clean and it's safe. We weren't bothered by the wandering goat - Billy, our kids really enjoyed feeding him. If you don't like animals, just shoo him away. He only sticks around if you have Doritos or peanuts. LOL. We'll stay at this KOA again in the near future.
Jan 26, 2014
This campground has been around a long time. It has that distinguished older look and feel. We enjoyed a quiet night off the highway and the landscape and birds provided a delightful scene and sounds to wake to.
Jan 22, 2014
Overnight. Hosts were excellent and helpful as I had an oversize unit. The whole campground including showers etc was very clean
Jan 13, 2014
My wife and I had had fantastic time. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean. And a great Mexican food stand in town. We'll be back first chance we get!
Jan 12, 2014
Jan 08, 2014
Very friendly. Will stay there again.
Jan 05, 2014
Good location. Staff is friendly.
Jan 01, 2014
As a new RVer this is only the forth KOA I have stayed in and so far I have enjoyed every stay and will continue staying in KOA camp grounds Regards
Dec 30, 2013
Campground is not kept up, full of weeds, unfinished projects, small space, hard to get into, sign posts laying on angles, dirty bathrooms. The hosts are great and try very hard to make stay pleasant, but after staying here for 6 years with hope of things getting better and only getting worse will not stay here again.Great people but poor KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Internet order, picked the cheapest site, between Christmas and new years. Never talked to owner never asked for an upgrade and considering it was December and we are in drought there were no weeds. We didn't start having weed problems until late January. M Booth and F Prichard have pictures.
Dec 27, 2013
Dec 26, 2013
This is a great campground. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The cabin and restrooms were clean. My dog also enjoyed her stay with the fenced pet area so she could be off her leash. The goats were cute and came over to say hi when they went on their evening walk.
Dec 18, 2013
Hostess and all employees were very helpful. The site was peaceful, quiet and enjoyable
Dec 08, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Seemed well cared for but older. A little tight for our 40 foot with tow.
Dec 03, 2013
Showers could be cleaner. People in tent camping area were a little sketchy.
Dec 02, 2013
My family and I were very pleased, The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Campsites were great!
Nov 30, 2013
I have used this KOA numerous times and always have been satisfied. The owner has often gone out of his way to assist us even after hours. It is clean and convenient.
Nov 27, 2013
Nov 23, 2013
Nice friendly people and campground. Liked the goats.
Nov 12, 2013
Apparently there is a goat-keeper on site. A goat urinated near me while I was taking photographs. Then the goat left feces on the porch before I had moved all my things in. Never again. Employee on duty was cordial but not a true professional in appearance. Men's bath poorly maintained. .1 star
Nov 10, 2013
Nov 07, 2013
Nov 03, 2013
Should not bea Koa, showers and toilets are very dirty, disgusting. Playground under repair for more than a year. Unacceptable.
Nov 02, 2013
Oct 31, 2013
Jack at the reception desk is Mr. Hospitality, he assists his customers with top notch customer service! Single women traveling will feel very safe at this KOA. Great security.
Oct 25, 2013
Probably worst KOA that we have stayed in. No maint. has been done on weed control and new gravel is needed. Bathrooms are in bad shape as no deep cleaning has been done in a long time. Walls and showers are dirty. Around swimming pool the chairs are dirty and worn and weeds are around pool patio. KOA should be doing an inspection of this property as this is going to give KOA a bad name.
Oct 24, 2013
Great facilities and location with additional plus of beautiful hiking area right next door.
Oct 24, 2013
I arrived after dark and left very early, but the cabin was very clean, management very pleasant, and I wish I had had more time to spend there.
Oct 23, 2013
The owner/manager, Jack, is wonderful and always accommodating. He has been very helpful with questions regarding our hot water heater that we had issues with. We would highly recommend this KOA to everyone.
Oct 13, 2013
One person running the camp, not too smart
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Just a desert view but the host was very accommodating and helpful.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
My stay at the black canyon city Koa was awesome! Jack was helpful and accommodating. Jack went out of his way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. And interesting! Jack has incredibly adorable and friendly pet goats. You can purchase small bags of peanuts in Jacks store and feed the goats! Jack is an animal lover of both domestic and wild . Next visit I will hike black canyon!
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
The cabin was clean but everything else was dirty and filthy.The bathrooms were a disgrace,the showers and sinks were never cleaned the whole weekend we were there.One bathroom was out of toilet paper from the time we arrived til the time we left.There was junk,wood and tools everywhere.The office was a mess with papers and garbage all over the desk as well as the floor.Goat droppings on sidewalks
Sep 16, 2013
The owner, very nice and helpful. The bathrooms a little smelly! Overall good experience. Little pricey, $50 per day.
Sep 15, 2013
Restrooms were very dirty. If they were cleaned I would have been very satisfied with my stay
Sep 14, 2013
Nice campground, need more trash cans available
Sep 05, 2013
We arrived late and left early, but our stay was everything we expected from KOA.
Aug 30, 2013
Checked in very late and left very early. it was easy to locate our site registration information. Clean site and everything worked. Will come again.
Aug 22, 2013
Convenient location outside Phoenix. Needs a little bit more care and attention.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.