Black Canyon City KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

Email

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 756 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 19, 2016
Low water pressure, temperature of onsite showers lukewarm, bathrooms dirty in spite of being closed from 10am to 1pm everyday for cleaning, pool broke all week, pile of junk/trash next to registration area. This campground has NOT been taken care of and needs maintenance.
Mar 19, 2016
There are a lot of things that need to be cleaned up in this park.
Mar 18, 2016
Worst KOA we've stayed at,and we've stayed at many KOAs. 1 good thing I can say-it was a quiet campground and land surrounding campground was pretty. But campground itself was icky. Demolished trailer at front entrance was odd! Showers & shower curtains were dingy and stained. We heard a KOA employee yelling & cursing a couple different times-just shouting his displeasure to anyone who could hear.
Mar 18, 2016
Nice area, easy pull through spots. Perfect for overnight stay.
Mar 16, 2016
Its ok. Geaat location, very nice owner. Sites are very tight and the campground needs a good cleanup.
Mar 15, 2016
The KOA cabins are a nice alternative to hotels in the area. They are clean, quiet, and comfortable. We recommend bringing a mattress topper because the mattresses tend to be on the thin side.
Mar 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Stayed in the deluxe cabin and everything was clean and in working order. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. They even mailed an item to me that I had left by mistake. Will stay again anytime we are in the area!
Mar 15, 2016
The office staff is not friendly they are confrontational, they turned off our water without any warning at 9:30 in the morning The restrooms are worn and grungy. When we asked for a refund for some of our stay, they told us to just leave
Mar 14, 2016
Very run down condition. Staff not at all inclined to help with simple requests. A lot of old run down RV's in park. Pool area in disrepair.
Mar 14, 2016
I was very surprised that this campground qualified as a KOA. The first thing you see is a collapsed building. Office wasn't open enough. Pool not available and hot tub only till 8:00. Not at all happy with this stay.
Mar 14, 2016
Mar 12, 2016
The campgrounds were very nice. Jack was a great host.
Mar 11, 2016
The location kept us away from the valley traffic and made it easy to get to spring training games on both sides of Phoenix. The site itself was small and quiet which is what we were looking for on this trip. We did not use any of the facilities, so I can't comment on them at all. We will be back for spring training games in future years.
Mar 10, 2016
great place - didnt get a good chance to enjoy. but everything was great
Mar 09, 2016
Nice people Overflowing trash Lots of junk around broken down building
Mar 08, 2016
Everyone was helpful ! Whether spending a few days or just one night, this place is fits the bill.
Mar 08, 2016
Staff was nice, sites are a little too close together compared to other locations we have stayed in.
Mar 07, 2016
It's quiet and eclectic. Owner has a couple of goats that are really cool. Needs a little updating but most KOA's do.
Mar 07, 2016
Mar 06, 2016
What other campground does the owner hand write a personal "Thank You" note and tape it to your trailer door the day of your leaving?? We WILL be back!!
Mar 06, 2016
a very nice campground in beautiful surroundings. it was easy to get to and the staff were all very helpful and nice. i'll definitely stay there again!
Mar 05, 2016
enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very helpfull, especailly Helen at the front deck. The only thing that I/ we had issues with were the bathrooms, no door on stall in mens room and womens showers do not get cleaned on daily basic, as a cleaner myself I found the shower quite gross, same hairs on walls all 3-days I used it.
Mar 05, 2016
Could use a little clean up, the staff was good and helpfull.
Mar 04, 2016
Quiet. looks like they are trying to upgrade landscape and sites.
Mar 03, 2016
aRRIVED ONE DAY EARLY. CHARGED US MORE PER NIGHT, DID GIVE US 2 FREE NIGHTS, BUT THE MATH DIDN'T WORK OUT. SITE WAS NOISY AND POOL WAS CLOSED UNTIL DAY BEFORE WE CHECKED OUT. LOVED THE GOATS AND CONVENIENT LOCATION FOR DAYTRIPPING. WISHED BLACK CANYON CITY HAD MORE AMENITIES, SHOPS, RESTAURANTS, ACTIVITIES,ETC.
Mar 03, 2016
Planned and stayed 1 night only. But were disappointed. It was unkempt. The staff so-so. I don't understand why anyone was there at all.
Mar 02, 2016
Staff is very friendly and helpful. After departing a day early, the refund was booked within a few days.
Mar 01, 2016
Grounds were clean & staff working constantly on upgrading. Staff helpful when needed. Look forward to seeing improvements in the future
Mar 01, 2016
The cabins were clean,the facilities could use a bit of updating , and their web page advertises a breakfast which does not exist. With that said, I would stay there again since it was not horrible and the people there were nice.
Mar 01, 2016
Mar 01, 2016
enjoyed referrals to local establishments. site does need some cleanup which i beleive is underway
Mar 01, 2016
Received warm welcome and was assisted cordially in getting set up for the night.
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you for the very nice thank you note. We like your KOA but the weeds are out of control.
Feb 29, 2016
All of the staff were very pleasant!!
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you- we had a wonderful time. We will be staying again!
Feb 28, 2016
it was okay very quiet place for a small community and campground
Feb 28, 2016
Reserved a premium pull thru site.Another rig was placed in front of me and I was blocked in.I had to wake those people and ask them to move their car and rig so I could depart. Worst koa experience ever!
Feb 26, 2016
It's apparent that this park had become rundown and obsolete, but they have started to put in a lot of time and money to bring it back. I expect that in a few months it will be quite nice.
Feb 23, 2016
We were very disappointed with the campground. Our campsite was not clean. There were numerous cigarette butts in the grill on our site. The KOA catalogue stated that the pool was open all year round. It was not. The Jacuzzi was barely even warm. We will not be back.
Feb 22, 2016
A work in progress!
Feb 20, 2016
Feb 17, 2016
Great place centerally located to everything good area for pets and pet friendly will be back Rog and Bev Brink
Feb 16, 2016
This is one of the worst maintained sloppy KOAs we have stayed at. The view was the only redeeming feature and that is because they were surrounded with state land. The sites were level with desert landscaping and the utilities were fine. The bathhouse was cramped and dated. Behind the store it looked like a junkyard and the pool area was really creepy at night.
Feb 16, 2016
The staff at this KOA were extremely nice and made our vacation a great experience.
Feb 16, 2016
We loved the rugged terrain and beautiful landscapes. If you are looking for a serene environment with friendly hosts and neighbours in an out of the way location this is it. Excellant eatery/saloon/bakery & Cafe 5 min. Away.
Feb 16, 2016
Jack was very friendly and the stay was great. Thanks
Feb 15, 2016
The staff was super. The only complaint was the sewer connection at our site was an uphill drain and we had to purchase additional parts to remedy this problem.
Feb 14, 2016
I absolutely enjoyed my stay here! I was in town for a 100k race nearby and found this little gem. I stayed in one of the cabins which was well furnished. The staff running the place were very friendly and restrooms were nice. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Feb 13, 2016
My wife and I have visited this KOA camp in the past. We enjoy the location, it is quite and tucked away in the mountains. However there is easy access to the freeway and not too far from Phoenix and Glendale, as well as other tourist attractions. The restrooms are clean and other services are provided.
Feb 11, 2016
Great location, close to Phoenix to the South and Flagstaff and Sedona to the North. Some of the sites are a little tight if you have slides. Owner was very helpful in getting us sited. Had electrical problems after a bad storm and quickly moved us to another site. Will stay here again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals