Black Canyon City KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5314

Info: 623-374-5318

Email

19600 E. Saint Joseph Road

Black Canyon City, AZ 85324

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 773 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Mar 30, 2016
Not the nicest koa fine for one night if your passing thru but wouls not stay longer
Mar 29, 2016
Plant life and surroundings really nice, bathrooms questionable needed some TLC. Desk clerk rambled on politics bordered offensive. Kabin was clean.
Mar 29, 2016
The campground location is great. The pool was green because of plumbing issues. I brought two kids, so that was disappointing. I love bonfires but had to ask for a pit and buy wood. Would have appreciated to be told that i could buy a pit.
Mar 29, 2016
The cabin was very cozy. I just hate having to walk across the parking lot to communal restrooms/showers. You feel like everyone's watching you. The staff were friendly. Wish there had been coffee in the office in the morning. My first ever camping experience. Not sure if id do it again.
Mar 28, 2016
The owner was nice but the facility was old and not well maintained. Too many permanent residents.
Mar 28, 2016
Mar 27, 2016
Awful camping site! Junk laying around, swimming pool was full of green water. I can't believe this site ever won a President award! Wires laying around camp site! U need to revisit this site! I'll never go back!
Mar 27, 2016
The staff were very kind, however the facility from the grounds to the pool looked more like a city landfill than a campground. There were goats, chickens, spaces in disrepair, grounds unkempt--very disappointing. Not sure we'll ever use KOA again.
Mar 24, 2016
Mar 23, 2016
Nice camp ground a little far from Pheonix
Mar 23, 2016
As full time RVers we see a lot of RV parks. This was by far the worst park we've seen. Weeds everywhere, open ditches near pool area where repairs were underway, daily power outages in 90 degree heat, ditches in and around sites, the list goes on. The KOA name is tainted by affiliation with parks like this, and makes us re-think renewal of membership.
Mar 23, 2016
This place was a dump. I can't believe it is a KOA because it is the first one that I have stayed in that was in such disrepair.
Mar 22, 2016
This park is not well kept. It seems the owners are overwhelmed with all the maintenance required. Old trailers (one looked like a tornado victim) at the entrance. Dumpsters were not emptied during our 5-night stay. Couldn't get within 30 feet of them. Will not be back.
Mar 21, 2016
The only issue we had was the pool was closed.
Mar 20, 2016
great
Mar 20, 2016
Staff was helpful and kind. Not enough shade so be prepared. Also was disappointed that we could not have a camp fire.
Mar 19, 2016
Long wait checking in due to a new call for reservations being taken while I waited. Pile of potato chips in front of our cabin until the next morning when the free-ranging goats ate them. Clean bathrooms and cabin, with everything working well. Water not convenient to cabins.
Mar 19, 2016
Low water pressure, temperature of onsite showers lukewarm, bathrooms dirty in spite of being closed from 10am to 1pm everyday for cleaning, pool broke all week, pile of junk/trash next to registration area. This campground has NOT been taken care of and needs maintenance.
Mar 19, 2016
There are a lot of things that need to be cleaned up in this park.
Mar 18, 2016
Worst KOA we've stayed at,and we've stayed at many KOAs. 1 good thing I can say-it was a quiet campground and land surrounding campground was pretty. But campground itself was icky. Demolished trailer at front entrance was odd! Showers & shower curtains were dingy and stained. We heard a KOA employee yelling & cursing a couple different times-just shouting his displeasure to anyone who could hear.
Mar 18, 2016
Nice area, easy pull through spots. Perfect for overnight stay.
Mar 16, 2016
Its ok. Geaat location, very nice owner. Sites are very tight and the campground needs a good cleanup.
Mar 15, 2016
The KOA cabins are a nice alternative to hotels in the area. They are clean, quiet, and comfortable. We recommend bringing a mattress topper because the mattresses tend to be on the thin side.
Mar 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Stayed in the deluxe cabin and everything was clean and in working order. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. They even mailed an item to me that I had left by mistake. Will stay again anytime we are in the area!
Mar 15, 2016
The office staff is not friendly they are confrontational, they turned off our water without any warning at 9:30 in the morning The restrooms are worn and grungy. When we asked for a refund for some of our stay, they told us to just leave
Mar 14, 2016
Very run down condition. Staff not at all inclined to help with simple requests. A lot of old run down RV's in park. Pool area in disrepair.
Mar 14, 2016
I was very surprised that this campground qualified as a KOA. The first thing you see is a collapsed building. Office wasn't open enough. Pool not available and hot tub only till 8:00. Not at all happy with this stay.
Mar 14, 2016
Mar 12, 2016
The campgrounds were very nice. Jack was a great host.
Mar 11, 2016
The location kept us away from the valley traffic and made it easy to get to spring training games on both sides of Phoenix. The site itself was small and quiet which is what we were looking for on this trip. We did not use any of the facilities, so I can't comment on them at all. We will be back for spring training games in future years.
Mar 10, 2016
great place - didnt get a good chance to enjoy. but everything was great
Mar 09, 2016
Nice people Overflowing trash Lots of junk around broken down building
Mar 08, 2016
Everyone was helpful ! Whether spending a few days or just one night, this place is fits the bill.
Mar 08, 2016
Staff was nice, sites are a little too close together compared to other locations we have stayed in.
Mar 07, 2016
It's quiet and eclectic. Owner has a couple of goats that are really cool. Needs a little updating but most KOA's do.
Mar 07, 2016
Mar 06, 2016
What other campground does the owner hand write a personal "Thank You" note and tape it to your trailer door the day of your leaving?? We WILL be back!!
Mar 06, 2016
a very nice campground in beautiful surroundings. it was easy to get to and the staff were all very helpful and nice. i'll definitely stay there again!
Mar 05, 2016
enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very helpfull, especailly Helen at the front deck. The only thing that I/ we had issues with were the bathrooms, no door on stall in mens room and womens showers do not get cleaned on daily basic, as a cleaner myself I found the shower quite gross, same hairs on walls all 3-days I used it.
Mar 05, 2016
Could use a little clean up, the staff was good and helpfull.
Mar 04, 2016
Quiet. looks like they are trying to upgrade landscape and sites.
Mar 03, 2016
aRRIVED ONE DAY EARLY. CHARGED US MORE PER NIGHT, DID GIVE US 2 FREE NIGHTS, BUT THE MATH DIDN'T WORK OUT. SITE WAS NOISY AND POOL WAS CLOSED UNTIL DAY BEFORE WE CHECKED OUT. LOVED THE GOATS AND CONVENIENT LOCATION FOR DAYTRIPPING. WISHED BLACK CANYON CITY HAD MORE AMENITIES, SHOPS, RESTAURANTS, ACTIVITIES,ETC.
Mar 03, 2016
Planned and stayed 1 night only. But were disappointed. It was unkempt. The staff so-so. I don't understand why anyone was there at all.
Mar 02, 2016
Staff is very friendly and helpful. After departing a day early, the refund was booked within a few days.
Mar 01, 2016
Grounds were clean & staff working constantly on upgrading. Staff helpful when needed. Look forward to seeing improvements in the future
Mar 01, 2016
The cabins were clean,the facilities could use a bit of updating , and their web page advertises a breakfast which does not exist. With that said, I would stay there again since it was not horrible and the people there were nice.
Mar 01, 2016
Mar 01, 2016
enjoyed referrals to local establishments. site does need some cleanup which i beleive is underway
Mar 01, 2016
Received warm welcome and was assisted cordially in getting set up for the night.
Feb 29, 2016
Thank you for the very nice thank you note. We like your KOA but the weeds are out of control.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals