Benbow KOA

7000 Benbow Dr

Garberville, CA 95542

Reserve: 800-562-7518

Info: 707-923-2777

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2014
Overnight stay near our former home in Leggett. Enjoyed the smells of Mendocino/Humboldt Counties.
Jul 25, 2014
Great lication, nice site. Have stayed here several times. Only complaint: slow WiFi.
Jul 25, 2014
One of the KOA's we have stayed in. Staff very friendly and helpful, liked the mix of tents. cabin, and motor coaches. Gave a chance to meet people from everywhere. Very clean and lovely layout.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Sharon and I will be back soon. This KOA is a stop off location on our way home from Oregon. Some times just to get away for four five days.
Jul 23, 2014
No area for big rigs to park while checking in, very tight access to RV sites. Unable to access first site we were given, had to switch to a different site in order to park. Would not recommend or stay here in future.
Jul 22, 2014
Great place for kids. Great staff. Golf manager needs to go! Grounds needs some TLC. Trailer sewers needs updating. Staff drive to fast in golf carts. Can tell they are new owners and trying. Breakfast good.
Jul 22, 2014
Unlike my previous stay several years ago I found the campground to be somewhat run down. Where the grass within the campsites used to be green and well manicured it is now sparse and weedy and in the morning smells like urine. My husband and I also noticed an employee driving a small utility vehicle take some boxes and small items out of the back and put them into the back of a small red pick up
Jul 22, 2014
The campground seemed very overcrowded and cluttered with stuff. Much different than the last time we stayed there.
Jul 21, 2014
Was clean loved our stay if I know anyone going your way will tell them to stay there. Like our friends did. Thank you for being so nice
Jul 21, 2014
I was disappointed that I was not allowed to pick my spot when I made my reservation with Benbow KOA, what made it even worse was I mentioned this when I checked in and was told all spots were already "reserved" the one I wanted stayed empty the entire weekend!!! FRUSTRATED!
Jul 21, 2014
Attitude of the personnel was 5 stars all the way.
Jul 21, 2014
Loud kareoke until 11:30PM could be heard in our rv 100 yds from the hall.No staff was supervising or closing it down.We have stayed at Benbow for years but will not be back. The multiple extra charges make it very expensive plus it is overrun by kids. The pool area is too small, there is not enough seating. Our kids did not want to participate in any of the activities but we had to subsidize them
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Park and grounds were nice. Good activities for kids. Nice splash pad. Constant smell of sewage. Grass was not kept up and was very brown. I had to go back to the office three times when checking in due to errors by staff.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Complete disappointment. We were given a patch of dirt the size of a parking space between giant rvs . The whole place looked like a refugee camp. We refused to even consider staying there and took a room at the inn.
Jul 20, 2014
I stayed here several times before this was a KOA and sad to say, the only thing that seems to have changed is the price. The sites are cramped and shabby and the restrooms/showers need serious updating. The staff however is bright and cheerful and the location is pretty central so it is an easy hop to the Santa Rosa area or to Eureka/Crescent City.
Jul 19, 2014
Arrived late do to traffic problems. Met by office staff and had no problem with my reservation. Nice place to stay
Jul 19, 2014
Totally enjoyed our stay at the Benbow KOA! We came for a small family reunion and loved the place. The activities for the kids were great. The men loved the golfing and we just had a general great time! The staff was very accommodating, responsive and friendly!
Jul 19, 2014
The campground map was very faded and hard to read. No toilet seat covers in the restrooms (thousand trails provides them). water was on the floor of the restroom from an overflowing toilet. The campsite was in good condition, level, had a pull thru and was quiet at night.
Jul 19, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
it was very nice but I understand this has just recently become a KOA. My only problem with our stay was that the sprinklers came on during the night and soaked our outside camping gear and water spots on my truck. Not very happy with this. Hope you can do something about it. A neighbor camper said this went on every night....
Jul 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. My children enjoyed the pool and the activities were great. We had a really good time. Thank you KOA!!
Jul 19, 2014
The sites are not big enough for the current 5th wheel, with 3 slides, especially with the back slide because of the of the placement of the hookups. The street is to narrow, to manuever safely. Great Location, and golf course.
Jul 18, 2014
Have stayed here several time before it was KOA. Everything great and better.
Jul 18, 2014
We are coming back next week :-)
Jul 18, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Benbow Koa. Very easy to find with road side directions, and town is just a skip away for groceries and bargain shopping. Because this is such a large campground, it would be nice to have a bulletin board mid way to see whats going on for the day, we missed several functions because we rarely went up to the office, maybe a newsletter? Will see you again!
Jul 18, 2014
Service was friendly and helpful. Cabin was super clean.
Jul 18, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Very nice but too short to see or use many of the services.
Jul 16, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful. Great golf course. Trees near sites could use trimming and 50 amp service would be helpful.
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
They stated they had free WiFi but we only were able to connect to it for about 4 hours total of our vacation.
Jul 15, 2014
loved everything except the rough cement around the pool. Know the time is short since it has been a KOA but this is something that could be fixed.
Jul 15, 2014
We always recommend Benbow to folks who are going to NorCal area. Stayed there twice on our last trip.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
nice, quiet, and peaceful.
Jul 15, 2014
This campground is in the middle of being upgraded. Right now there are some sites that aren't available due to the upcoming improvements. Nice and shady for the most part. Clean bathrooms. Dog park could use some upgrading.
Jul 14, 2014
Nice and clean, staff were all nice and courteous , grounds well kept
Jul 14, 2014
Very nice, well kept and maintained. Bathroom and showers were spotless. Loved our campsite. Thank you.
Jul 14, 2014
Love this campground. We have stayed several times and find it to be appealing. This time we were a bit disappointed to see that there were dogs off leash in many sites and there was a dog in the pool area at one time. Perhaps the site needs an adult manager who can oversee the place. It is difficult to complain when nothing is done but you risk a neighbor's wrath by telling on them.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We had such a great time at your campground last weekend. The grounds were well kept and attractive to look at. Your staff was AWESOME!! We just spent the 4ht of July weekend at a Koa south of you guys and the staff were cranky and rude, so it was very refreshing to stay with you all. We will most definitely be back for a long stay!!
Jul 14, 2014
The hot tub was broken and they allowed very young children to use it unsupervised. The grass next to the sites was really dry and full of burrs. Other than that I found the campsite to be fine. Lots of activities, quiet and family friendly. Great pool and water park.
Jul 13, 2014
Site shade tree should be replaced #78 adjacent trees need to be lifted to prevent rubbing against RV departing site or traversing roadways. Site needs to have flat and smooth parking pad. Site asphalt is rough and unlevel
Jul 12, 2014
all the grass back where we were was dead, I reserved a specific site over a month in advance, when i checked in i was sent to a terrible site that i would not have reserved, or driven 2 hours to stay in if i had known in advance. after hours on the road, people on their way to join us felt trapped & accepted terrible site
Jul 09, 2014
Facility Seemed to be getting underway to a good start is a nice midpoint to get some place ...spots seemed a tad too close. Over all it was adequate thee is not a whole lot for kids to do Golf isnt for everyone prices are too high as well. However their customer service is very good and attentive.
Jul 07, 2014
We spent one night in a cabin. I realize it is a campground but for the price we paid for the cabin I expected it to be cleaner, like a good motel/hotel. The recliner was disgusting!
Jul 05, 2014
Lovely spot for a family vacation. Our cabin was well equipped. Thanks.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.