Bastrop / SE Austin / Colorado River KOA

98 Highway 71 West

Bastrop, TX 78602

Reserve: 800-562-1620

Info: 512-321-7500

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 07, 2013
We really liked it here, a really nice place to stay, big sights, very clean and the owners were very nice. Would love to stay there again sometime.
Feb 07, 2013
First time to stay at this campground. Check in was super. Campground immaculate as were the restrooms and showers. Will return.
Feb 06, 2013
Beautiful location. Very clean with nice amenities. Friendly folks.
Feb 06, 2013
Jan 23, 2013
The people at the office were very friendly and awesome. The problem is with the campground. They should not call it Tent Camping area when it is right next to a bridge and highway. Add to that a very bright outdoor light that turns on and off every 3 minutes all night long was very unpleasant.
Jan 22, 2013
Park was in good shape, showed to have a working hot tub, but we tried to get the hot tub to work and it never would. Other than that the park was great
Jan 21, 2013
Jerry and his wife were extremely helpful and very friendly. This was my first RV experience. I asked Jerry to help me setup and take down my travel trailer. he was very understanding. The facility was excellent. I had the best lot on the property overlooking the Colorado river.
Jan 21, 2013
Excellent! Thank you.
Jan 16, 2013
Appreciated the gated campground..nice staff..close to traffic but not overbearing..would come again.
Jan 15, 2013
Jan 11, 2013
Jan 05, 2013
Great park. Jerry and his wife Austin were gracious hosts.
Dec 31, 2012
Clean, tidy and very nice area.
Dec 31, 2012
All was perfect. Thank you.
Dec 31, 2012
The site was quiet and the folks around us seemed to be friendly. It was colder weather so we didn't do much outside the trailer. First time setup for the new trailer. Good site for that and close to home.
Dec 31, 2012
My family loved the campground! It was our first time winter camping and we were not sure what to expect. The site was perfect. It was exactly what we had requested. We loved that the site could park 2 cars. We took 4 kids and they all had a great time. We can't wait to come back Memorial Day Weekend. We are hoping for a playground by then.
Dec 27, 2012
Dec 27, 2012
Traffic noise. Too pricey!
Dec 24, 2012
Dec 12, 2012
$240/ night really
Dec 06, 2012
good people, clean restrooms, nice park area. Will stay again next year if I go back for the races
Nov 28, 2012
Nov 27, 2012
Nov 26, 2012
The new owners have really done a good job of cleaning up this park.
Nov 26, 2012
Had a great stay! Jerry was terrific as a host. Very accommodating and helpful. The place was clean and the spaces all paved and level. Jerry popped around with a complementary fire pit and we had a nice Thanksgiving evening sitting by it. We WILL come back for another visit. Next time....we stay longer! Paul and Martha
Nov 24, 2012
The host's Jerry and Austin were very friendly and welcoming. The grounds were very clean and very well kept. However, the rates were extremely exaggerated due to special event in the area. We hope increased competition in the area will solve this problem next year. Overall very nice.
Nov 24, 2012
It was very orginized, clean and comfortable.
Nov 23, 2012
Very helpful managers. They made our weekend even more enjoyable.
Nov 22, 2012
I understand supply and demand economics but $175/night seemed a bit steep. I can't believe that all my fellow campers paid so much.
Nov 21, 2012
Nov 20, 2012
Excellent location, free rides to town and a friendly helpful staff. A pleasure staying there.
Nov 20, 2012
Very clean and well kept grounds. All amenities worked. Concrete pad was easy to park in and was reasonably level. Well lit at night and felt secure. Highway traffice a little noisy, but dies down around 11 pm. Formula 1 race weekend was pricey, but not out of line. We plan to stay again.
Nov 20, 2012
The Kampground was very well run and maintained, with very welcoming staff. The problem for us was the extremely prickly little burs in the grass. Our Portuguese Waterdog couldn't go out without picking them up between her pads and limping painfully. Internet was very patchy, and there is a lot of highway and train noise.
Nov 20, 2012
My family enjoyed our stay. The only thing keeping me from awarding 5 stars is out of their control, and that is the freeway noise. The owners are wonderful and the improvements they're making are great!
Nov 13, 2012
The owners are very pleasant and the park is well maintained. The pull through sites are very large and level. There's a nice walk which leads to the Colorado River. There is some noise from the highway but it isn't very noticeable when you're in your RV. The park is in a town environment but still maintains a pleasant atmosphere. This was our second stay and we have been pleased both times.
Nov 13, 2012
On site owners were excellant. Park was clean and in well repair. But then again, it cost $52 per night. Pretty expensive. Can get a hotel for that price.
Oct 26, 2012
This is a very clean and well maintained park. The owners are pleasant. The sites are level, restrooms clean, and laundry is well maintained. There is a nice walkway to the river with an area to sit and enjoy the river. We enjoyed our stay and we are planning to stay there again in a couple of weeks on our return trip home. There is some noise from nearby traffic but it isnt objectionable.
Oct 26, 2012
Very nice place.Very Clean, nature friendly, lots of deer.The place is ideal to go for a walk and jogging. =)
Oct 22, 2012
This was a very nice park, very clean and quite, I loved the dog walk
Oct 15, 2012
The owner/operator had a large pile of rotten grass and brush smoldering continuously for more than 36 hours of our stay. The smell was disgusting. Why they would be burning this debris all day Friday and well into Saturday is beyond me. This ruined our stay in an otherwise well maintained and quite attractive KOA property.
Oct 11, 2012
Stayed at the Bastrop KOA for the Tough Mudder event in Paige. Park is super nice, well maintained and staff is very friendly...Tough Mudder Approved!
Oct 10, 2012
Oct 08, 2012
Enjoyed the park. The river was neat, will have to do it again and maybe canoe on the colorado. Location was good. The only suggestion is all the construction going on the highway.
Oct 08, 2012
Sep 29, 2012
Nice, friendly courteous staff. A small campground good for overnight. The directions in the directory should have indicated using the u-turn under the freeway. Easy to take a left turn and end up on a dead end street.
Sep 25, 2012
Clean campground, restrooms clean, owners very nice. Don't like hearing the highway noise; takes away from the whole camping experience. Didn't like the neighbors (site #28) who let their dog run free (even going back into the camper because they couldn't catch their chihuahua (mix?), so that dog comes over and harasses our dogs. Wish we had access to the river, too!
Sep 25, 2012
loved the site we were in, the deer came out in the field and they are beautiful creatures, very friendly hosts and neighbors
Sep 22, 2012
Great sites and location.
Sep 21, 2012
Very Friendly Staff. Loved the Large, Level Pull Through Spaces. Park Area Down By the River Makes for a Very Picturesque, Relaxing Atmosphere.
Sep 18, 2012
This has been one of the best campgrounds weve stayed in. The attention to detail, cleanliness, landscaping, utility positioning and overall appearance was superb. The owner took great pride in his work and the facility, even remembering guests by name. Cute little sitting area by the river and proximity to downtown Bastrop and Austin will bring us back. Would recommend to everyone.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.