Barstow / Calico KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-0059

Info: 760-904-3069

Email

35250 Outer Highway 15 North

Yermo, CA 92398

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 21, 2017
some staff more than just helpful others not so much. employees some are just there for the paycheck.
Apr 20, 2017
Loved the secluded location and vista across the mojave desert. Well stocked office store and friendly staff, good laundry facility.
Apr 20, 2017
We were so impressed with the person who helped us when we got in late, around 9:30 or 10. He took us to our spot - jogging ahead of us to show us exactly where it was. Then helped my husband attached the electrical. Then brought us the ice that we needed. He was such a friendly, helpful great guy - really made the experince great. Wish I knew his name but hopefully the manager wi
Apr 20, 2017
Apr 20, 2017
Brand new cabin with bath, mtchen, and usb charger outlets. Friendly staff. Back yard is prarie to horizon.
Apr 20, 2017
Nice people
Apr 18, 2017
The staff were friendly and nice, lots of fun for the kids but no shade at basketball court, playground and cabin areas. Cabins were new and still need some TLC, a coffe pot and basic kitchen supplies like soap/paper towels can opener would be nice. Most KOA cabins I've stayed in had that. Need to work on smell from cabins, not enjoyable to sit outside. Cabins only have one BBQ for all 4 of them.
Apr 18, 2017
All of our stays there have been just overnight, but it is always clean and friendly.
Apr 17, 2017
Apr 17, 2017
convenient, clean & has a friendly, helpful staff.
Apr 17, 2017
Facilities and staff were very good. We stayed in one of the brand new kabins. Altho very nice there are a couple of areas of improvement:steps are offer at best. Hot water supply in bathroom appears to be mixed up with the cold water in the shower. Out in the desert, escapon the sun is paramount which is why the porches to the new kabins are all but useless in the afternoon.
Apr 17, 2017
We stayed for 3 nights. Nice place , spaces were comfortable. We would go back. They have large spaces can handle big rigs
Apr 17, 2017
Very friendly and helpful personal
Apr 16, 2017
Convenient to Calico Ghost Town. Thanks for having the pool open. The jump pad would have been nice as we had two 7 yr olds. I would recommend odds and ends of trash be picked up. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Apr 16, 2017
Good stop over KOA...some shady sites but not all have trees. Easy to find..right off the interstate. Some traffic noise near the front sites. Near several restaurants and gas stations. Kids play area with pool and playground. View of the desert mountains to the north. We have stayed here several times to break up the drive between San Diego and Las Vegas.
Apr 16, 2017
I think they are trying hard to upgrade things at this park, but our site had garbage, bottle caps, cigarette butts on it , so for that money we were not that happy
Apr 16, 2017
Internet didn't work very well. No signal at our camp site.
Apr 15, 2017
Staff very nice and extremely helpful. Clean site, lots of activities available.
Apr 15, 2017
Good overnight stop. Also good place to camp when offroading in the area of Calico. I noticed that the owners are making improvements to the sites.
Apr 15, 2017
Level sites, trees for shade. Lots of sand but thats just part if being in the desert. Clean and pleasant staff.
Apr 15, 2017
The hosts were courteous and professional. Everything worked as expected. I enjoyed my stay and would bring my motorhome to the Barstow KOA again.
Apr 15, 2017
Staff was pleasant. No cable, no wifi, no sewer at our site which was at very end of park. Could not use satellite due to big trees. Wonder what the $44 was for.
Apr 15, 2017
Out of order toilets, no TP in operating one. In general needs a lot of TLC.
Apr 15, 2017
Nice quiet park. Second time that we have stayed here.
Apr 14, 2017
Apr 12, 2017
We've stayed here several times on our way to/from Arizona. Washrooms undergoing renovations, which is great. Staff are nice.
Apr 12, 2017
Very friendly officer at the desk, making you feel at home.
Apr 11, 2017
Friendly and accommodating employees
Apr 11, 2017
Friendly and accommodating employees
Apr 11, 2017
The owners and employees of the Barstow/Calico KOA were amazing. They were friendly and always willing to help. We stayed in one of the new deluxe cabins. The view of the mountains was beautiful. The cabin was clean and inviting. The owners went the extra mile to make sure we had a BBQ grill, a fire ring,a picnic table,and dish soap. Great place to stay!
Apr 11, 2017
Nice little cabin. Just the 2 of us but could have slept way more. No stove but good size mini fridge and small counter with a 1 cup kurieg. The wind blew very strong at night but we were very cozy in the cabin and the sound just seemed to rock us to sleep. Good stop if you want to g of to ghost town, 4 wheeling or just go out to the dessert to shoot. Bring your own linen.
Apr 10, 2017
This is a pretty bleak place - right next to I-40 and the railroad. The wind blew in 40MPH gusts the whole time we were there. It's probably ok if you are driving an RV and find yourself needing to sleep in Barstow, but I would not recommend it for tents. If Frodo and Samwise had stayed in a KOA campground on their way to Mordor, it would have looked like this.
Apr 10, 2017
The campground was ok. The spaces are gravel and the entrances to the bathrooms were dumpy-looking but the bathrooms and showers were nice.
Apr 10, 2017
Lovely campsites and very nice personnel. We would stop here again. Highway was quite noisy but convenient.
Apr 10, 2017
Apr 09, 2017
The play structure with wooden stairs, is a hazard. Every one of the stairs is wobbly and needs repair. My daughter lost her balance on the stairs and fell down the stairs, injuring her back. It needs to be repaired or removed. Second, in the pull through rows starting with number 28, the dump pipe it about 20 feet in front of the other hook ups. YOu can't dump w/o moving the RV/trailer.
Apr 09, 2017
Apr 09, 2017
Easy in & out, great access to interstate, clean facilities, nice site.
Apr 08, 2017
Love the park and location, very friendly staff. A big negative is that the checkout time was changed from 12 noon to 11am.
Apr 08, 2017
Great place to break up the drive across the desert. Very nice park, with clean restrooms and well kept grounds. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
Apr 07, 2017
satisfactory.
Apr 07, 2017
Campground itself was great. Love the pull in spaces. But cable didn't work. In fact, it was hard to find the cable. We were told it was by utility box. They should say cable wire is in the ground. But after we found it, we disconnected as reception was lousy. Switched back to OTA channels. Internet was very sporadic. With a campground that size, signal should be stronger.
Apr 06, 2017
Apr 06, 2017
Great stop over site. We stay at least once a year when headed to Southern CA in the spring. Call a day or two ahead for reservations if you need full hook ups. Nice large sites, most are shaded. Facilities are clean, staff is very helpful and friendly. Large fenced dog run. Can get windy and dusty but then it is the desert...
Apr 06, 2017
Nice people and trees in the desert!
Apr 04, 2017
Clean park. Remodeled bathrooms looked great.
Apr 03, 2017
Booked well in advance. Phoned ahead due to late arrival. When we arrived, our lot and all others with power were full. Nobody there either in the evening or next morning to sort it out. Giving 3 stars rather than 1 due to very friendly lady who took our call earlier in the evening.
Apr 03, 2017
Nice sites
Apr 03, 2017
So dirty and no staff to be found. It appears abandoned and neglected. I am writing from another KOA, where, like all the others, staff is always trying to clean and maintain the property
Apr 03, 2017
Staff is friendly, but the pool was under construction.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals