Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA

1453 State Highway 102

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-5139

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

Tent Reviews

Aug 30, 2015
Our stay was overall pretty good. The only issue was the red ants. They were all over our site, and they bit us. Their bites hurt, itch, and burn.
Aug 30, 2015
It was a fantastic stay
Aug 26, 2015
Everything was great. The dog park is a bit too small for a large dog, though, and more private bathrooms could be built...
Aug 26, 2015
loved the clean bathrooms close to the camp site. Staff were pleasant and helpful especially the ponytailed gentleman (Sorry I don't know his name). He help use find the best campsite for our first time camping. we will surly comeback again.
Aug 26, 2015
not a great experience staff was unfriendly, had to change sites due to someone else spreading out over our site, desk staff told me all sites were occupied that I wanted however asking a different staff member they said none of the sites I wanted were taken...just addisappointment from other years I've stayed there. I'll be looking for a new camp ground next summer.
Aug 25, 2015
Nous avons apprécié notre séjour à votre camping. Si nous retournons à Bar Harbor il serait possible que nous réservions encore chez vous. Merci.
Aug 25, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Staff through grounds were very nice, bathrooms very clean. Only drawback was recycling removal was Sunday morning at 7am. ouch
Aug 25, 2015
The camp hosts/hostesses were all very friendly and informative. The bathrooms were very clean and accessible. I saw employees drive by on golf carts often, which can made me feel safe. The camp site was cozy and had a clean grill and fire pit. This was my first time staying at a KOA, and it was more like an outdoor hotel than a campsite. I will be using KOA's from now on in my travels!
Aug 25, 2015
Campground was good, a bit close to others, but fine. Picnic table and fire pit. Showers and bathrooms were good and close by. The people working the campground were nice, and helpful. Check-in and check-out process was a breeze. Would recommend.
Aug 24, 2015
We tent camped this past weekend. Had the site with water and electricity. Had a great experience even with the off and on rain. This was our second time camping here. Staff is very friendly, sites are well maintained and the bathrooms very clean and roomy. I never had to wait for the shower or restroom.
Aug 24, 2015
Great new features since we last stayed 5 -6 years ago. Wish we could have chosen our own tent site on-line
Aug 24, 2015
The children and I had a wonderful time from the pool to the hidden rocks for free popsicle. Bathrooms very clean and the staff helpful at every turn. Evenstayed an extra night on the island to finish a great week.
Aug 24, 2015
We rented a deluxe tent site for 6 people. The site we were given wasn't even big enough for 1 tent, let alone 6 people. We had to purchase another site and move to different location. Sites are right on top of each other, no privacy. The staff was friendly and the bathrooms and grounds were clean.
Aug 24, 2015
Very clean and the campground had everything that you might need while camping.
Aug 24, 2015
I loved camping out here! The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and it was great to be able to get a hot cup of coffee in the morning! Thank you!
Aug 23, 2015
We camped for 6 days. The campground in clean, quiet and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Aug 23, 2015
Very well-run. Super clean. Friendly staff. They thought of everything. Having staff enforce the 10pm quiet time would be welcomed. Some partiers were going at it past 11 and I lost some sleep. Other than that, the stay was stellar. Thank you!
Aug 22, 2015
Very accomodatating, friendly, and reasonable! Only a brief stay but would definately return!!
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
Facilities, Hospitality and local knowledge exceeded any camping experience I've had. Great job Donna & Kevin!
Aug 21, 2015
Clean, comfortable, great tent sites
Aug 21, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
The Bathrooms were amazing! Everyone had their own bathroom and shower. I only want to stay at KOA's from now on!
Aug 20, 2015
The campground, staff, facilities, and campsites are very nice. The new kitchen shelters at tent sites are wonderful. Our only concern was the lack of enforcement of quiet hours. Each night we had people around us setting up camp at midnight, making noise and not respectful.
Aug 20, 2015
In our limited experience with KOA campgrounds we found this one the best, not as crowded with great facilities, quieter than others. People were friendly.
Aug 20, 2015
Overall the stay was great. The staff was very helpful. The reason for the four stars was that it was a long way from our site to get water and there should perhaps be another toilet only facility for the tent sites. We love the place and will definitely return.
Aug 19, 2015
Campground was very quiet and peaceful. We tented in 640, 641 both of which were great spots. Showers needed more water pressure.
Aug 18, 2015
Great location!
Aug 18, 2015
Overall it was wonderful. Facilities were clean and my kids loved the activities (finding big foot and candy hunt)the campsite huts built for cooking gear is an excellent idea. Had a little trouble with noise in the middle of the night and a checking out issue. wish there was just a bit more privacy between sites but we had a great stay.
Aug 18, 2015
Liked the shower set up on the far side of the campground
Aug 18, 2015
The site was very small and right next to the road and washrooms. I wish I had been able to see the other options when I booked online. There was also a bad smell of sewage. Aside from that we had an enjoyable stay.
Aug 17, 2015
All the facilities were really good. We did not have any problems with the stay except for finding the place initially.
Aug 17, 2015
Had a great time. Bathrooms and campgrounds were super clean. Can't wait to do it again.
Aug 17, 2015
The campground is well setup and has a nice wooded setting. The best part of the Campground is the staff. We had an issue and the went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. Kevin, Margie and Dodi were really nice and took care of us. The cabin was pet friendly equipped with organic dog treats and food and water bowls. I highly recommend this place.
Aug 16, 2015
Beau camping, bien entretenu. Les employées étaient sympathiques et souriants. Les terrains boisées et assez grand.
Aug 15, 2015
campground was nice bathrooms and showers clean but the staff at times was rude and tent sites too small and sites are too close together. The quiet hour was not really enforce3d as some campers were noisy and loud up to 3 am without campground officals enforcing quiet time.
Aug 14, 2015
We were in the group campsite for a week. Everything was always clean and neat. Pool was excellent. Employees and campers all friendly. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2015
On this trip my friend and I stayed at 3 other campsites and this was by far the nicest. The site was well-kept and the washrooms were clean and private. Having the island explorer shuttle was just an added bonus. A good experience all around!
Aug 13, 2015
Clean; friendly; lots of fun!
Aug 12, 2015
Great bathrooms. Smallest campsite there I think (627). Had noisy neighbors with kids up till 11-12 with two tents and screens each which made it feel even smaller. Thought management would do more to enforce tent rules, noise rules etc..Would stay elsewhere next time.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean tent sites& restrooms . Camp kitchen at site very useful. staff friendly & laundry facility large.
Aug 12, 2015
Conveniently located to get on/off the island. Grounds were largely clean. Sites in our loop were packed tight but there were more spacious offerings available if you book early enough. Only other minor mark against would be that it's located on the opposite side of the island from Bar Harbor/most of Acadia. Still a great campground, highly recommend!
Aug 12, 2015
Our site was nice and private and set back from the road. The private bathrooms were Great. The only suggestion would be to have a sign at the bathroom to form a line in a certain spot when waiting for the showersin the morning. a porta potty in the primitive tent area would be nice for night bathroom trips.
Aug 11, 2015
1st time staying in KOA after years of family camping. Very impressed with cleanliness, sites are a bit small...snoring neighbors kept me up most nights...ear plugs should be sold in store. Overall...a job very well done by all. Entire staff very friendly and accommodating. We'll be back.
Aug 11, 2015
The bathrooms are disgusting. Spiderwebs, cobweb and mold in the shower. Too gross to use, even went to the car to brush my teeth. The staff is less than friendly. Give KOA a really bad name. I have stayed at over 20 KOAs and this is only the time I have seen anything this filthy.
Aug 11, 2015
I liked my stay with KOA but realized that it is not my kind of camping. Being sandwiched so close between other campers doesn't feel like camping it feels like a city. I did find it to be a bit expensive for what it is and the ladies bathrooms while they say they were cleaned daily were not (there was fecal matter on one of the walls my entire stay).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response. Your input has helped us remedy the bathroom situation.
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground!
Aug 10, 2015
The staff was very accommodating. They were more than willing to move us to a different site when the kids and I felt uncomfortable being near a cemetery. We needed a fire pit and they brought it right over. Clean bathrooms!
Aug 10, 2015
Cannot say enough good things about our experience here... From the beer sampling to the big foot walk, there were a lot of fun activities for all ages in the family. Thanks so much for a great stay!!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.