Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA

1453 State Highway 102

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-5139

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 26, 2014
Jun 23, 2014
Had a great stay in our kamping kabin at Bar Harbor Woodlands. As the name indicates, sites are very wooded. Everyone was friendly and accomodating and as we've come to expect from a KOA. The bathhouse near the cabins was dated but clean and well maintained. We would have liked to see a fenced off-leash area for our dogs, and also pet friendly cabins that include a mini fridge.
Jun 23, 2014
What a wonderful place to bring a family. Quiet and peaceful
Jun 16, 2014
Beautiful campground! The best KOA we've ever stayed at. Outstanding hospitality. Very accomodating. We were in tents and rain had started. Expecting over 1 inch of rain that night. We went to upgrade to a cabin for the night and the office staff had already decided to move us to a dry cabin, complimentary, before we even inquired. Ice cream social a nice activity.
Jun 16, 2014
Accommodations were spartan but that was sort of expected. The cabin we stayed in was poorly lit, a better fixture or at least higher wattage lamps would help. It rained all weekend and with the cold and damp it would have been nice to have some heat in the cabin. The worst part though was that we chose this campsite for the free wifi because we were anticipating the rain and not being able of th.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Staff was friendly and helpful. The restrooms were clean.
Sep 24, 2013
We always enjoy staying at the Woodlands Bar Harbor. It's quieter and roomier. With all the extras right down the road.
Sep 21, 2013
It was quiet, not crowded because its the last week they are open (just the way I like it). Everything was perfect. Could use larger shower room so when I bend over my forehead and bottom aren't touching the walls. Yes I'm tall but not that tall 5'8". But it was clean I'm was able to be clean, so I was very happy with my stay. And the staff is very friendly.
Sep 18, 2013
Sep 17, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Sep 15, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
It was OK. I don't think there's a need for cable at a camp ground but whatever :). When I reserved online I got the "upgraded" cabin which was $21 more than a regular cabin. This was not apparent on the site  I thought they were all $65. Both men's toilets were inoperable during my visit so I wasn't able to well... be comfortable.
Sep 14, 2013
I know you are continuing to make improvements. I would suggest to prioritize first to resolve the water pressure & temp issues with the new shower rooms up the hill as that is a real issue when the campground is full. It was not too bad this trip but was more of an issue when my wife and I were there 5 weeks earlier. It would be nice if the office were open a little later.
Sep 12, 2013
We stayed in a kamping kabin which was a great value. Hosts were very friendly and helpful giving us a heater to help dry us out from our motorcycle ride through rain. The setting of the park was also very beautiful, definitely recommend this spot.
Sep 09, 2013
Very good breakfast.
Sep 09, 2013
What a wonderful location! We stayed in a cabin for 3 nights and it was exceptional. The managers of the site helped us tremendously and we were able to rent bed linens and borrow a heater for an unexpectedly cold night. The restrooms and showers were very clean, and the campsite was quiet, and the heated pool was a great touch. I would definitely stay here again.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 06, 2013
J'ai apprécié mon séjour dans un petit chalet,incluant une grand lit et 2 simples,et électricité,pour $ 45 par nuit.C'était propre à mon arrivée,autant le chalet que le terrain.
Sep 06, 2013
The BEST! Amazing!
Sep 05, 2013
Kabin was super clean and inviting after being in the car all day. Staff was helpful and very friendly. Great value for such a nice location. Considering more Kabin stays in the future.
Sep 04, 2013
HOw nice and easy they made it for us when we arrived late. The Kabin was sooo clean that we will come back again. The friendly helpful host was great. Thanks
Sep 03, 2013
The bathrooms need to be better up kept. Also, the quiet hours need to be enforced. Being kept awake by drunk karaoke and car alarms until 2:30 am is a bit much with children. Maybe having more staff would help. On a better note, our cabin was awesome, the pool was great, and the staff we did see were very friendly and helpful! The pancake breakfast was awesome as well, but way under advertised
Sep 03, 2013
Very friendly staff. Pool and the newer bathrooms were very clean. We stayed in a campers cabin that was dog friendly. Really could've used a ceiling fan or AC like so many of the others we've stayed in.
Sep 03, 2013
Stayed in a cabin, it was nice and cozy.
Sep 03, 2013
Friendly staff, they even refunded me 1 night charges when we had to leave a day early due to my daughters college schedule. 1 group of loud obnoxious campers playing loud music late into the night, but overall a great experience!
Sep 02, 2013
Stayed in cabin for 5 nights. Place was clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly. Bed was uncomfortable -- would recommend thicker mattress pads as the one we slept on was very uneven and sloped towards the middle.
Sep 02, 2013
Absolutely loved it. Will stay there again on our next trip to Maine
Sep 02, 2013
The stay was as excellent as always. My only issue was that there were a ton of fire ants that began to pester us. Many of us left with several bites. We have seen them in the past but this time around they were much worse. Other than that we had an excellent time and will be back for our bi-annual camping trip next summer! Thank you for your hospitality!
Sep 02, 2013
Better than we expected! Cozy, clean and rustic, but still had everything we needed. Will definitely come back!
Aug 31, 2013
This was my 4th time at the KOA BarHarbor/Woodlands. The office staff were especially helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
This is our vacation destination for 3 summers. It was quiet at night & the new bath house is AMAZING! As much we love it, we had minor problems. Nonsmoking areas outside of the cabins would be great. The cabins are close together & our neighbors frequent smoking made us avoid our outside area w/our young son. Store hours were erratic & bathroom garbage needed to be emptied more often.
Aug 27, 2013
Good location and overall the campground was very nice. We stayed in a camping cabin, which was nice except for the smell. It had a very weird smell, kind of like vomit and baby powder mixed.
Aug 27, 2013
Bob and Kathy were awesome..They made the stay at woodlands make us feel like we were right at home..They deserve a pay raise.please increase their pay.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
We think some of the people taking showers, should clean up after themselves better and the front shower areas smelled a bit like rubber. Over all the park was nice and the cabin was o.k.
Aug 25, 2013
campgrounds were very clean and welcoming. My only complaint would be the beds in the cabins are like sleeping on a rock!! And the front desk girl was so dumb!!! if your going to work some where u should be educated about ur surrounding sight seeing and the place if your employment. more than once i had gone to her to find out info about different things to do she looked at me like i had a 3rd eye
Aug 25, 2013
This KOA is run by very caring folks. It is very clean and when problems arise they are dealt with immediately!!!! Everyone was very eager to give suggestions on where to visit and spent time doing it. We will most surely return here if we visit the area again. Donna and Mike
Aug 25, 2013
Usually I camp in a tent but was alone with my 2 boys and decided to stay in a cabin. The cabin had a bad smell but the owners did everything they could to help out and alleviate the smell. Still, it remained stuffy in there. Good location, great pool. Nice people. Cabin site itself was small and we had to move the picnic table to make room for our camping chairs. Bathrooms icky---showers tiny!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Short stay...spent all of the time at Acadia National Park
Aug 21, 2013
The place and area was beautiful, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 21, 2013
Had a great time at KOA Woodlands last week. Friendly staff and all guests around us were quiet and respectful. Suggestion: make sure the computer system is user friendly for staff... took two employees several tries to apply our gift certificates. Not a huge deal, but just throwing it out there. Would make things run more smoothly/quickly for staff and guests.
Aug 21, 2013
Very easy, flexible about checkin and checkout for alte arrival, early AM departure. Very clean and well kept. Great info on area attractions and maps. Great extra programming that encouraged conversation between campers, extra special caring by general Manager and other staff. Thanks KOA!
Aug 19, 2013
i had a lovely stay at the koa generally. the bathroom was regularly a mess though and the queen size bed was actually a full, meaning my husband and i slept separately..pool was great, amenities at out cabin great...
Aug 19, 2013
This was our second stop at this campsite and we found it OK. There is huge need to improve the cleaning though, particularly of the bathrooms, but also the cabins. The cabins smell and my son's bed smelled like urine. If the cleaning were improved, it would be a really really nice campsite
Aug 18, 2013
Great campground! Super friendly staff and manager, attentive to whatever was needed, quiet and clean!
Aug 17, 2013
We had a great cabin! Perfect for what we needed... Just a bed and a roof! We were close to the bathrooms and had a great stay!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.