Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA

1453 State Highway 102

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-5139

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
This is our vacation destination for 3 summers. It was quiet at night & the new bath house is AMAZING! As much we love it, we had minor problems. Nonsmoking areas outside of the cabins would be great. The cabins are close together & our neighbors frequent smoking made us avoid our outside area w/our young son. Store hours were erratic & bathroom garbage needed to be emptied more often.
Aug 27, 2013
Good location and overall the campground was very nice. We stayed in a camping cabin, which was nice except for the smell. It had a very weird smell, kind of like vomit and baby powder mixed.
Aug 27, 2013
Bob and Kathy were awesome..They made the stay at woodlands make us feel like we were right at home..They deserve a pay raise.please increase their pay.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
We think some of the people taking showers, should clean up after themselves better and the front shower areas smelled a bit like rubber. Over all the park was nice and the cabin was o.k.
Aug 25, 2013
campgrounds were very clean and welcoming. My only complaint would be the beds in the cabins are like sleeping on a rock!! And the front desk girl was so dumb!!! if your going to work some where u should be educated about ur surrounding sight seeing and the place if your employment. more than once i had gone to her to find out info about different things to do she looked at me like i had a 3rd eye
Aug 25, 2013
This KOA is run by very caring folks. It is very clean and when problems arise they are dealt with immediately!!!! Everyone was very eager to give suggestions on where to visit and spent time doing it. We will most surely return here if we visit the area again. Donna and Mike
Aug 25, 2013
Usually I camp in a tent but was alone with my 2 boys and decided to stay in a cabin. The cabin had a bad smell but the owners did everything they could to help out and alleviate the smell. Still, it remained stuffy in there. Good location, great pool. Nice people. Cabin site itself was small and we had to move the picnic table to make room for our camping chairs. Bathrooms icky---showers tiny!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Short stay...spent all of the time at Acadia National Park
Aug 21, 2013
The place and area was beautiful, we enjoyed our stay very much.
Aug 21, 2013
Had a great time at KOA Woodlands last week. Friendly staff and all guests around us were quiet and respectful. Suggestion: make sure the computer system is user friendly for staff... took two employees several tries to apply our gift certificates. Not a huge deal, but just throwing it out there. Would make things run more smoothly/quickly for staff and guests.
Aug 21, 2013
Very easy, flexible about checkin and checkout for alte arrival, early AM departure. Very clean and well kept. Great info on area attractions and maps. Great extra programming that encouraged conversation between campers, extra special caring by general Manager and other staff. Thanks KOA!
Aug 19, 2013
i had a lovely stay at the koa generally. the bathroom was regularly a mess though and the queen size bed was actually a full, meaning my husband and i slept separately..pool was great, amenities at out cabin great...
Aug 19, 2013
This was our second stop at this campsite and we found it OK. There is huge need to improve the cleaning though, particularly of the bathrooms, but also the cabins. The cabins smell and my son's bed smelled like urine. If the cleaning were improved, it would be a really really nice campsite
Aug 18, 2013
Great campground! Super friendly staff and manager, attentive to whatever was needed, quiet and clean!
Aug 17, 2013
We had a great cabin! Perfect for what we needed... Just a bed and a roof! We were close to the bathrooms and had a great stay!
Aug 17, 2013
Good location to explore Acadia National Park. Island Explorer bus stop at this KOA. Excellent handicapped bathroom. Cabins small and very close together.
Aug 17, 2013
We had a great time at this campground. We had a camping cabin, which was small for 4 people, but doable. The facilities were clean and well-maintained. The pool was very nice and warm! Mosquitoes were intense, so I highly recommend you bring a strong bug repellent with DEET (even though I hate the stuff), to make the visit more comfortable. It was a quiet, nice spot.
Aug 17, 2013
We had a great time at our Camping Cabin. The staff here was super friendly and the free bus service into Bar Harbor was a big plus. Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner but I guess it's peak season so harder to keep up.
Aug 16, 2013
Great people, great location. Could have used another bath house, never crowded, but a long walk. Bring mosquito repellent.
Aug 16, 2013
We had a nice welcome from the friendly staff. The cabins are all among the trees, so bring bug spray. There is a need for more staff and also to do something with the dumpster, which stinks
Aug 15, 2013
People are extremely nice -- the site is beautiful - i rente a small cabin and i reallllllly enjoyed it ---- nice wooded area
Aug 14, 2013
This site is very busy. I can see 10 neighbors from our porch in front of cabin(not much space between neighbors). We were able to hear everything. Bathroom was pretty dirty due to the moisture and traffic even if there was cleaning crews seemed to work hard. It also seemed a lot of people stayed just a day or two. a lot of mosquitoes. Only good thing was reasonable price.
Aug 13, 2013
straightforward camping. very convenient, great price, amazing bathroom trailer facility-
Aug 12, 2013
Le système d'autobus de Bar Habour facilite de beaucoup le séjour. Très beau coin de pays à voir.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice campground. Cabin 5 was clean and well kept, we had only two improvements to suggest: 1.) Parking is very small on that lot. Very liitle room, and we had a small car. 2.) We could have used way more than 3 pegs to hang clothes -- especially since it was kind of wet weather. Nails or pegs in the beams that support the ceiling would have been perfect.
Aug 12, 2013
Our cabin was cleaner than I had expected and I was very happily surprised that the nice, hot showers were free. The showers also seemed pretty clean, although I still wore my camping shower shoes. The bathrooms needed some attention, but when I mentioned it at the front desk, they sent someone over right away to take care of it. The staff was all very friendly.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
My cabin was clean & cozy, nice porch, fire pit and ample space for parking. Only drawback was the terrible bathroom facilities. They were dirty 2 out of 3 stalls were out of order, no toilet paper etc. other than the bathrooms it was a wonderful expirence!
Aug 10, 2013
le séjour était super ,les petites cabanes de bois rond génial!! la seule chose est que la réception ferme trop tôt le dimanche.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
toilets and bathrooms were not always very clean. there are three toilets for about 10 cabins, toilets were often blocked.
Aug 07, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
This campground did not meet the standard I've come to expect from a KOA campground.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
There were not enough staff on duty. Everyone was very friendly, but the bathrooms lacked trash emptied, and the stall floors had toilet paper over the floor. Office at to close at 5pm first night, but they would have let I pay for wood in the morning if needed. But all and all it was good.
Aug 04, 2013
This was our first time to Maine and our first time at a KOA (we usually stay at state parks). We were really happy with our stay. We would definitely stay at a KAO again and when we come back to Maine we will book a cottage again. Thanks for a great stay!
Aug 03, 2013
Enjoyed our stay in the Kamping Kabin
Aug 02, 2013
Your place was everything one can hope for! :-) except for one thing :-( I don't know if there is anything you can do about the smell of the cabins. We vigorously spraye a can of Glade spray 3 times, and burnt a scented candle continuously, but the slight smell of unbathed human remained. They need cleaning each time. I would just seek another cabin next time, and not come back to cabin 6.
Aug 01, 2013
Staff was great, but they weren't allowed to work all day long, so if we needed something late night, the store was closed. Very understaffed, bathrooms need better attention.
Jul 30, 2013
Had a great time and the hosts were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 30, 2013
Everyone was friendly and helped us with our stay and gave us ideas on what to do. Will be coming back again Thanks so mucch!!!!
Jul 29, 2013
We loved the cabin at KOA Woodlands. There were clean bathrooms readily available and a friendly staff. We plan to use KOA in the future when booking outdoor adventure/trips!
Jul 28, 2013
We love staying in the Kabins!
Jul 26, 2013
I never recommend products or services to friends or family. That said, the Woodlands is a wonderful, well-maintained facility.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.