Bar Harbor / Woodlands KOA

1453 State Highway 102

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-5139

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2015
The Bathrooms were amazing! Everyone had their own bathroom and shower. I only want to stay at KOA's from now on!
Aug 20, 2015
I had a great time, the park was clean, the staff was excellent. However I found that the price compared to the Others in the area was high.
Aug 20, 2015
The campground, staff, facilities, and campsites are very nice. The new kitchen shelters at tent sites are wonderful. Our only concern was the lack of enforcement of quiet hours. Each night we had people around us setting up camp at midnight, making noise and not respectful.
Aug 20, 2015
In our limited experience with KOA campgrounds we found this one the best, not as crowded with great facilities, quieter than others. People were friendly.
Aug 20, 2015
Overall the stay was great. The staff was very helpful. The reason for the four stars was that it was a long way from our site to get water and there should perhaps be another toilet only facility for the tent sites. We love the place and will definitely return.
Aug 19, 2015
The cabin was perfect for us.
Aug 19, 2015
Our Kabin was wonderful, the kids loved the campground. Very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful!
Aug 19, 2015
Campground was very quiet and peaceful. We tented in 640, 641 both of which were great spots. Showers needed more water pressure.
Aug 19, 2015
cabine propre et beau terrain pour la famille
Aug 18, 2015
Great location!
Aug 18, 2015
Overall it was wonderful. Facilities were clean and my kids loved the activities (finding big foot and candy hunt)the campsite huts built for cooking gear is an excellent idea. Had a little trouble with noise in the middle of the night and a checking out issue. wish there was just a bit more privacy between sites but we had a great stay.
Aug 18, 2015
Liked the shower set up on the far side of the campground
Aug 18, 2015
The site was very small and right next to the road and washrooms. I wish I had been able to see the other options when I booked online. There was also a bad smell of sewage. Aside from that we had an enjoyable stay.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Great place to stay, nice facilities
Aug 17, 2015
Enjoyed our stay at this koa. The manager and his wife were excellent and all your staff. My wife and i would consider coming back. We both like the bus service that takes you from place to place to see the sites or just to get to town.Parking for large vehicle can be tough.One thing i think you could do better is the speed limit.Needs to be enforced. Accident waiting to happen. Thanks again.
Aug 17, 2015
All the facilities were really good. We did not have any problems with the stay except for finding the place initially.
Aug 17, 2015
Had a great time. Bathrooms and campgrounds were super clean. Can't wait to do it again.
Aug 17, 2015
The campground is well setup and has a nice wooded setting. The best part of the Campground is the staff. We had an issue and the went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. Kevin, Margie and Dodi were really nice and took care of us. The cabin was pet friendly equipped with organic dog treats and food and water bowls. I highly recommend this place.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice level site near the bus stop to go sightseeing.
Aug 16, 2015
The cabin we stayed in was nice however the bathrooms by the front entrance were typically dirty and not well maintained
Aug 16, 2015
The bathing facilities near our site were filthy, not maintained & did not have a sufficient # of showers. Facilities at the back of camp were much newer & better. Some staff were not customer focused. Would not stay there again.
Aug 16, 2015
Spacious site, clean bathrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Beau camping, bien entretenu. Les employées étaient sympathiques et souriants. Les terrains boisées et assez grand.
Aug 16, 2015
This was our first stay at a KOA, but it won't be our last. The cabin was spotless, the pool crystal clear, the campgrounds clean and the shower bldg tidy. Enjoyed squash from the community garden! And I cannot say enough about the friendly staff who greeted us at check in and treated us like family. We will be back next year.
Aug 16, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
Excellent Kampground, owners are truly wonderful and the food they make is the best!
Aug 16, 2015
Hello, I stayed 4 nights at Koa Woodlands/Bar Harbor, in August. My first impression was good, but then, when I went to the restrooms and bathroom, I realized that it was not so nice. The cleanliness of this camp and particularly the restrooms and bathrooms is terrible and regrettable. I found out that it was washed only one's a day...and at 9:30am or even later... I won't recommand KOA

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response. Your input has helped us remedy the bathroom situation.
Aug 15, 2015
campground was nice bathrooms and showers clean but the staff at times was rude and tent sites too small and sites are too close together. The quiet hour was not really enforce3d as some campers were noisy and loud up to 3 am without campground officals enforcing quiet time.
Aug 14, 2015
We were in the group campsite for a week. Everything was always clean and neat. Pool was excellent. Employees and campers all friendly. We will be back.
Aug 13, 2015
Aug 13, 2015
On this trip my friend and I stayed at 3 other campsites and this was by far the nicest. The site was well-kept and the washrooms were clean and private. Having the island explorer shuttle was just an added bonus. A good experience all around!
Aug 13, 2015
Clean; friendly; lots of fun!
Aug 12, 2015
Great bathrooms. Smallest campsite there I think (627). Had noisy neighbors with kids up till 11-12 with two tents and screens each which made it feel even smaller. Thought management would do more to enforce tent rules, noise rules etc..Would stay elsewhere next time.
Aug 12, 2015
Have not received the receipt for our stay. However, have received numerous ads.
Aug 12, 2015
Clean tent sites& restrooms . Camp kitchen at site very useful. staff friendly & laundry facility large.
Aug 12, 2015
Conveniently located to get on/off the island. Grounds were largely clean. Sites in our loop were packed tight but there were more spacious offerings available if you book early enough. Only other minor mark against would be that it's located on the opposite side of the island from Bar Harbor/most of Acadia. Still a great campground, highly recommend!
Aug 12, 2015
Our site was nice and private and set back from the road. The private bathrooms were Great. The only suggestion would be to have a sign at the bathroom to form a line in a certain spot when waiting for the showersin the morning. a porta potty in the primitive tent area would be nice for night bathroom trips.
Aug 12, 2015
I rented an RV to surprise my 14 year old son Sam for his birthday, he always wanted to take a family trip in one. It was also our first time camping in a camp ground out side of boy scout one. We stayed at the KOA woodlands in bar harbor for 3 nights in Aug. We couldn't be happier we chose this place. Great space , clean environment and very helpful and friendly staff. Shuttle service was great!!
Aug 12, 2015
Les douches ont besoins de rénovation. Elles sont trop petites et les pommeaux de douche ne coulent pas uniformément.
Aug 12, 2015
Liked that the grounds were wooded. Management and office people seemed to be stressed out, tired and one person very grouchy. Bathrooms could be updated and cleaner. Shower head very poor. Rented 3 small wooden huts, one of daughters hut smelled of wet dog, she had to keep spraying it. My other daughters hut site was right on top of the bathroom and the light fans were noisy and the site tiny.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response. Your input has helped us remedy the bathroom situation.
Aug 11, 2015
Staff was excellent but we weren't told about the rec center being open to us until almost our last day. Would have liked to use the microwave much earlier. It would be nice to have an activity daily. Maybe relay races, a movie or something simple in the evenings when the rec staff is off. Staff was great and sweet to our daughter.
Aug 11, 2015
1st time staying in KOA after years of family camping. Very impressed with cleanliness, sites are a bit small...snoring neighbors kept me up most nights...ear plugs should be sold in store. Overall...a job very well done by all. Entire staff very friendly and accommodating. We'll be back.
Aug 11, 2015
This was a great place and would definitely stay again. We were in one of the small cabins and I loved it. I was a little disappointed in the cleanliness of the bathrooms. I think that a once a day check of the bathrooms/wipe down would help during busy times.
Aug 11, 2015
The bathrooms are disgusting. Spiderwebs, cobweb and mold in the shower. Too gross to use, even went to the car to brush my teeth. The staff is less than friendly. Give KOA a really bad name. I have stayed at over 20 KOAs and this is only the time I have seen anything this filthy.
Aug 11, 2015
I liked my stay with KOA but realized that it is not my kind of camping. Being sandwiched so close between other campers doesn't feel like camping it feels like a city. I did find it to be a bit expensive for what it is and the ladies bathrooms while they say they were cleaned daily were not (there was fecal matter on one of the walls my entire stay).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response. Your input has helped us remedy the bathroom situation.
Aug 10, 2015
The staff was friendly and the service in the store was awesome. I think our cabin smelled a little like dogs and the driveway at our cabin was really tiny. Other than those two things, it was all great!
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground!
Aug 10, 2015
The staff was very accommodating. They were more than willing to move us to a different site when the kids and I felt uncomfortable being near a cemetery. We needed a fire pit and they brought it right over. Clean bathrooms!
Aug 10, 2015
Cannot say enough good things about our experience here... From the beer sampling to the big foot walk, there were a lot of fun activities for all ages in the family. Thanks so much for a great stay!!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.