Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 23, 2013
While our stay was only for one night, the staff treated us as if we were staying for a long time. They informed us of every event that would be happening in the 24 hours we would be there. I especially liked the escort to our campsite. We purchased wood for a campfire and the company that packages the wood even included a fire starter in the bundle - what a great addition. The camp was very clean
Aug 22, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Tent campsites a little on the small side. Pool very good.
Aug 22, 2013
The facilities are good and clean, but mosquitoes are a real pain and prevent you from enjoying any activity outside your acr or your tent.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
very welcoming, extremely clean and amazing view
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
We stayed 3 nights. It is our first time in a campground in USA, and I think everything was ok, but our spot was a little bit far from Bathrooms/showers and sink. Good experience.
Aug 20, 2013
Great campsite, everyone was very friendly. Surrounded by beautiful scenery. The only slight negative was the abundance of mosquitos!
Aug 19, 2013
The tent site is located right aside a swamp so be aware of tons of mosquito's. Aside the very high price the facility is clean and OK.
Aug 19, 2013
The water was unpotable, but but we were not told this at the tent area. Tent area absurdly small, and the site flooded completely (a lake, had to wear rubber boots). Tent area smells like the toilets flush straight into the watershed. Firewood was not properly dry, so fire never warm. Worst place I have ever stayed.
Aug 18, 2013
Exceeded my expectations! Great time!
Aug 18, 2013
Lots of mosquitoes. It would have been nice if the bathrooms were cleaned in the afternoon besides just the morning.
Aug 16, 2013
We thought this campground was over priced. We were excited about being oceanside, however you could not access the water from the site. For $70 a night, we felt we could have had a better option. We could also not use the water at the campground due to contamination. We felt that people with reservations should have been made aware of this to be able to plan ahead.
Aug 16, 2013
Your facility blew my mind! It was wonderful and I would go back and stay again in a heartbeat:) Your staff were lovely and friendly and helpful.
Aug 13, 2013
The male bathrooms were gross. It was so noisy on the weekend in the tent area. Sunday was nice when everyone left but the tent sites were really close and exposed. I will not use the campground again.
Aug 13, 2013
Tranquille même si tout près de Bar Harbor et de la principale route d'accès. Bon accueil.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The campground was fine for trailers and had a few nice sites for tents, but it was not exactly on the water like the website claimed. Plus the water went out and we had no water for the entire stay. We did not get a refund or anything but a few bottles of water.
Aug 12, 2013
The site we were given was right next to an area that had been inundated by rain. We were plagued by swarms of mosquitoes and only stayed one night. We ended up leaving and going to a hotel. After this experience it is doubtful I would ever go camping again.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Very nice place, rained for most of stay, but will come back in the sun.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
Staff is very friendly. Loved the pancake breakfast on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Only bad thing - WIFI. Very, very poor. Tengo is crap.
Aug 07, 2013
Lots are way too small for tents. It smelled of septic sewage, particularly strong on our last night. Very costly for tent camping. The only thing in your favor is your staff who work hard to make the facilities clean and Steve was very helpful in trying to find a tent site for us when we declined the first site.
Aug 07, 2013
Office closes at 8pm so quarters and soap were not available for campers who arrive late. The price was too high for a tent site without electricity.
Aug 06, 2013
Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were very clean and showers were hot.
Aug 06, 2013
Good camp ground, great location and good service. The camp ground is clean - You will love the $3 breakfast and on site lobster dinner. Two short comings: firewood should be reasonably sold at $4 (locals sell for $3 per bundle. Be prepared to keep off the mosquitoes - I don't know if other camp site on the island would be the same? Anyway - I highly recommend it!
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Need new bathrooms and showers? Rain did not help the trip. Love you guys.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
I would like to say the staff was great! My issue was the location of our camp site- right next to the main hall, with lights shining onto our site. Many other web sites provide the option to choose a site. The KAO Bar Harbor site does not, and also does not warn campers they have been assigned to a site which will have light shining on it all night. We would have somewhere else had we known.
Aug 01, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Everyone was very friendly and accomodating, site was clean. I was disappointed not to find a "sand-type" beach and firewood was expensive but overall had a great time and we will be back!
Jul 30, 2013
Not enough signage - came in late, couldnt find a tent site even though we reserved one. Had to stay on a different site. Huge river in the middle of the road. Ppl walking THROUGH our campsite all the time.
Jul 28, 2013
Been staying at Bar Harbor Oceanside, probably for 25 years! It's like coming home for a visit! Folks are always friendly, bathroom and showers kept clean, and the breakfasts just get better and better!! Also appreciate the efficient washers and dryers in the laundry room.
Jul 28, 2013
A lot of mosquitoes tap water too salty to drink very friendly staff.
Jul 26, 2013
The staff is great and easily deserves a 5 star rating ... super friendly and very helpful. However I gave this 3 stars because of the camping sites that we chose that did not provide a pleasant experience. Lots, and lots of mosquitos. Miserable!! We rented the sites 401 and 402. Another thing, not all the sites have fire pits with grates in them. We didn't have any on either site.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
There was a decline since my stay 2 years ago. There was less care about the grounds (several tents left pitched right across the partially overgrown bathroom path, a repeatedly broken utility sink...). KOA campgrounds always seem to be run by energetic teams, but there was trouble in paradise. I'll go tenting at KOA elsewhere - I'll guess this one pulled all service to the RV zone.
Jul 22, 2013
It was our second time at the Bar Harbor KOA. We love it!!!
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 14, 2013
An amazing stay ! Staff was great , cleanliness amazing, pancake breakfast with artist highlight of our week ! Thank you !
Jul 14, 2013
Though we appreciate the pancake breakfast, the tent spot we were placed in was horrible. Tent ground was very unlevel (children sliding down all night) and the spot is so close to route 3 that the traffic noise creates very little opportunity to sleep. We tried to grin and bare it the second nigh not wanting to complain but we left a day earlier because of these conditions.
Jul 11, 2013
We had a terrific time. Campground was clean, and the staff was very kind. We showed up planning on only staying one night, July 4th, and ended up staying there 2 extra nights. This was my first time at a KOA, and I will definitely be looking into staying at others around the USA and plan on returning to Bar Harbor. Nice job KOA! Thank you! -Steve & Robin
Jul 11, 2013
This camp is located right on the water in the Acadia National Park region. It's close to Bar Harbor, so you can get away for a quaint day out.
Jul 09, 2013
Disappointed. From what I had read online - we were let down with the tent site. It was right next to rec hall's and other loud spaces and the entire grounds was just off the highway which was not mentioned. It was loud the entire time from car traffic. Bathroom and bfast were nice - if you care about quiet - not the place for you.
Jul 09, 2013
This is a very well-run campground. I was happily surprised at the many family-centered events. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again.
Jul 08, 2013
A great campground with very friendly and helpful staff. I returned again this year, and will again in the future. Thank you!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.