Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

Open May 6 - October 10

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

Email

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 07, 2016
Excellent stay. The bathrooms could have been cleaner but one of the toilets backed up. But otherwise everything else was awesome.
Aug 07, 2016
Aug 07, 2016
Very easy to check in. Staff was very kind. Facilities were clean. The tent camp sites were not as secluded and pretty as other campgrounds, but they were perfectly fine.
Aug 04, 2016
Nice helpful staff. Showerd and bathrooms get a lot of use, could use TLC throughout the day. Not bad but could be better. Thanks.
Aug 03, 2016
Wonderfully run facility--clean restrooms, friendly and knowledgable staff, and beautiful view on the water.
Aug 03, 2016
great people
Aug 02, 2016
The campground was nice. All the staff was great. The bathrooms and sites were clean. However, the tent sites were TINY! There was no privacy at all. Because of this, we would not be staying here again.
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
We loved our campsite! The views were breathtaking. The staff were extreamly polite and kind. The facilities were clean and easily assessable from our tent site. We will definitely be back!
Jul 31, 2016
First time staying here and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Even camping neighbors were great, would come back anytime!
Jul 31, 2016
Been coming here for years and will continue!
Jul 31, 2016
Great service and a wonderful environment made my stay very enjoyable!
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
I enjoyed my stay and felt very comfortable at the campground. My tent site was excellent and the staff was friendly and courteous.
Jul 27, 2016
We were given a site that was underneath a number of dead trees (so dangerous! Cut them down!) it was littered with garbage right next to the main road (county road). It also had broken split rail fence where we were supposed to park. The people nearby had screaming children at all hours of the morning, to get to the bathroom it was a muddy slippery path over a creek that smelled like sewage.
Jul 25, 2016
We had a seaside tent spot, far from bathroom access (that was close to all the RVs which didn't make sense). But the bathrooms were gross on a few occasions, sometimes leading to lines because only 2 of 5 were usable. Showers had cobwebs/spiders, water flipped from freezing cold to scorching hot, making showers difficult and not possible for small children. Wifi never worked at our tent site.
Jul 25, 2016
Very friendly service as always with KOA and a very happy and professional staff. The property is very clean and well kept. However it is not the greatest place for tent camping. Our site #408 was surrounded by RVs and large campers and we felt out place. Also our "oceanview" for which you charge extra was completely blocked and not worth the money.
Jul 25, 2016
The bathrooms were moderately clean. If you are just going to be wondering around Bar Harbor, going to Acadia, and dont have the option for an ocean side site, the woodlands KOA site would be a better location. My MAJOR complaint is that the bugs were AWFUL! We were continuously applying bug spray all three days we were there and still came home with 30+ bug bites a piece. They need to spray!
Jul 24, 2016
Friendly staff, great environment. A little noisy at the entrance for tent site, but not that big of a deal and it was a great big space for us. Again, wonderful staff.
Jul 23, 2016
Camp Staff was friendly and helpful. The Camping site was plenty big enough and quite. The location was great for accessing Acadia. Thank you
Jul 23, 2016
Tent sites are small and crowded on top of one another. Bathrooms were clean, kids enjoyed the rocky beach. Overall campground was ok, don't think I would come back.
Jul 22, 2016
The staff was great and the location was beautiful. The bathrooms/showers were nice and clean. (cleanest camp showers!) 2 negatives: We had tent site 428. All the tent campers near us would cut through our site to get to the bathroom. Also, on our third night, there was a septic tank sort of smell in our site; we believe it is because of the site being located so close to the bathrooms.
Jul 22, 2016
Great campground! Clean bathrooms. Nice place for kids to play. Friendly help. And the ocean view doesn't hurt either.
Jul 21, 2016
Great place to kick back along the water and relax with the whole family. Pancake breakfast was awesome!!
Jul 21, 2016
I would like to see the beach area reserved for non-motor boats (oil in the water and on rocks) and swimmers. With the chairs there now and so many dogs, it's hard to launch a kayak or paddleboard and the dogs are just too much, leashed or unleashed. People let them go to the bathroom where people are walking and kids are playing and get defensive when you tell them there's a dog walk. It may be t
Jul 19, 2016
Staff was friendly and very helpful. Clean facilities and camp sites.
Jul 18, 2016
Great staff and facilities - thanks for having us!
Jul 18, 2016
I tented and had a great time. The people at the front desk were more than accommodating and even answered the door after hours (while they were cleaning) to make sure we found our campsite. I was hoping they had some tenting near the water but that wasn't available to tenters.
Jul 15, 2016
Great location, employees warm-full. But not enough showers (2 x 3) and closing at 10PM. We were in a section where a group of 50 teenagers were camping, that would have been nice if they would have been placed in a dedicated section: we had noise from 4AM to 11PM...
Jul 11, 2016
Jul 10, 2016
Amazing stay in Bar Harbor / Oceanside ME. Our family loved every minute. Great atmosphere for kids and adults. Everything was clean and the service was impeccable .
Jul 10, 2016
Bathrooms were generally clean, however, men's room seemed to be out of order due to clogged toilets. Would recommend having a staff member check them more frequently.
Jul 09, 2016
Tent Sites are too small. I honestly could hear my neighbor snore as if I was in his tent. Due to resources being limited showers opened at 8am. Staff was wonderful and made even the issues above tolerable.
Jul 08, 2016
Had a good time, the campground is very clean & a good location. My only 2 negatives are that the sites are a little too close to each other & kind of expensive.
Jul 08, 2016
The staff was very nice and helpful. The camping sites were to close together. The camp grounds and facilities were well maintained.
Jul 08, 2016
The tent sites were too close together and the neighbors were very loud late at night and into the morning. They were too far from the bathrooms, and the showers had limited hours.
Jul 07, 2016
We stayed two nights over 4th of July weekend and had the best time. The staff was very friendly and the camp ground was quiet. The sunset on the water was so beautiful. I can't wait to come back!
Jul 06, 2016
The staff were very friendly and helpful
Jul 06, 2016
Lots of amenities. Closer neighbors though and some were quite loud 2 nights in a row until 2am. Not sure anything was done about it. Nice kids activities and super friendly staff! :) We did enjoy ourselves, thank you.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Great campgrounds a lot of improvement it's very nice to see
Jul 02, 2016
Kids liked the playground but the tent area was separate from the bathrooms by a wood path with no lights. Not very comfortable for a family tent experience.
Jun 27, 2016
Great campground. Great service. I wish the website said how big the tent platforms were, my tent was alittle bigger.
Jun 26, 2016
I chose the wooded tent site. It was right by a loud road and far from the bathroom. The sites were really close together and there was constant loud conversation. I didn't spend much time there but I have nothing positive to recommend it on. I'll stay elsewhere next time.
Jun 21, 2016
Very clean campground, friendly staff. The tent site was all gravel, making it difficult to put tent stakes in the ground and the gravel was uncomfortable for sleeping on, even with air mattresses. Would've appreciated knowing before I reserved my campsite that the campground was under a "boil water order" that advised us not to use the water unless we boiled it for at least a minute.
Jun 19, 2016
Best and cleanest KOA site! Tent site 405, no hook ups but worth every minute! $1,000,000 panoramic views with seals swimming by to boot.
Jun 14, 2016
All the staff were incredibly friendly and kept the area well maintained . Dan was particularly great at helping us get settled and even loaning us some camping gear ! Highly impressed and will recommended to others !
Jun 05, 2016
Staff very helpful and nice. Facilities clean and functional at all times. Great stay all around very helpful with all needs
Jun 01, 2016
A fantastic spot! If you are able to get one of the sites on the waterfront, it is a perfect sight to wake up to in the morning. All the necessary amenities are available to make the stay pleasant. And with so much to do around, it is definitely a highly recommended destination, as far as I'm concerned.
Jun 01, 2016
Dan, Brook, Karen and rest of crew were fantastic. Activities great, but the tent sites are much too close together; want to hear nature, not a neighbor's soft snore. Had to walk a quarter mile, through multiple other campers' sites to get to the restroom. Really?!? We booked two nights and stayed 1. Won't return.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were inconvenienced during the remodel of the closer bath house. We have refunded the unused night and hope that perhaps the Woodlands KOA would be more to your liking another time.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award