Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Jun 28, 2015
Restrooms and shower rooms are really clean and pleasant than I expected but campsite was not flat at all and there were so many mosquitos than any other campsites... It was kind of disappointing.....
Jun 27, 2015
The campsite itself was very clean and it had a beautiful view. The KOA campground in general seemed a little less like a campground and more like an open park. I understand that the focus of the ground is for campers, but it did feel like more trees in the main campground would make it feel a little more welcoming and less like a parking lot.
Jun 23, 2015
The Staff at BH KOA are amazing. My family arrived very late for checkin the staff left us a nice note giving us the "rec room" which was a life line for us.. It was late, cold and very dark!
Jun 23, 2015
I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, the availability of a cafe, and the great Oceanside tenting. Our stay was a bit of a letdown -- it poured. So we didn't have the greatest time -- we will have to claim a rain check.
Jun 22, 2015
had a great time, campground was clean, staff was friendly, view was gorgeous, most likely will stay again.
Jun 15, 2015
"deluxe" tent site had no electricity; campers sink full of debris from overhead trees
Jun 08, 2015
The campsites are great except that the adjacent campsites are too close to each other. It does not give a feeling of living in the woods.
May 26, 2015
Very clean facilities, and extremely friendly employees
May 26, 2015
Our pitch was a little close to next door one (406). Otherwise you would have got 5 stars
May 19, 2015
The tent sites were a bit small, but the bathrooms were always exceptionally clean, which is really important to me! The staff was very friendly and when we go back were definitely going to splurge for the ocean view sites!
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you very much for a wonderful stay. We had the best site there, I believe, everything was great!
Oct 14, 2014
By far the best KOA anywhere, the views along make this place magic. We come every year, now sharing with it with our kids and will hope to keep the tradition for many more.
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 05, 2014
Stayed at tent site 405 on the waterfront, it was gorgeous. Staff was friendly.
Sep 29, 2014
Sep 25, 2014
This is our favorite place to camp when we come to ME! We LOVE the waterfront tent sites. Being lulled to sleep by the waves is so relaxing!
Sep 24, 2014
Loved our tent site #402! We will definitely be back someday :-)
Sep 22, 2014
Enjoyed the property and interacting with the groundskeeping crew. Thanks, everyone! Keep up the good work!
Sep 15, 2014
Very helpful service and clean facility. Nice overall stay.
Sep 04, 2014
Incredibly friendly staff. Ultra convenient location. Super affordable. Online booking! I liked it all.
Sep 03, 2014
If I had one complaint it would be that the campsites are a bit close together. Other than that, the location is beautiful, the facilities are kept up very well, and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. Also the available on-site lobster dinner is awesome!
Sep 02, 2014
Not quite three stars, but not quite two. The staff were awesome - very friendly, and available to help. Our stay was a little less enjoyable than it should have been due to incorrect pictures being used for the campsite we reserved. It showed a wooded site, but when we showed up, we were right on a corner of the main road in between all of the RVs. All and all still a decent trip.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
The people were great and were very nice and welcoming. It's the perfect location to go out and do everything. Buses take you to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor for Whale watching, lunch, nightlife, etc. A perfect crescent moon over the ocean and a night filled with stars - an incredible stay. Pack a tent that can withstand wind if ocean side camping in the fall.
Sep 01, 2014
need better wi-fi
Sep 01, 2014
Hi Everything would be perfect except for there are so many mosquitoes in the area. This is the 4th time in this year that my family go camping. In all the places we went, this is the only camp site where my family and I got a lot of mosquito bites. I even saw a small creek with stagnant water which is (for sure) perfect breeding place of the mosquitoes.Hopefully not any one of us will get dengue

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Bar Harbor KOA is a family oriented campground. We do not have a single mosquito... they are all married with children.
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 30, 2014
My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Koa campground. The personnel was very friendly and came to our assistance when we had a question concerning the use of the campground. The place wasn't crowded and the people around us were respectful of the rules and regulations of the site. It was a very enjoyable stay and I do believe we will be repeat customers in the future.
Aug 29, 2014
Nice spot with ocean views and friendly staff
Aug 28, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Not much privacy, our neighbor's tent was only about 4feet away from our tent! Would not recommend that tent site!
Aug 26, 2014
Excellent bathrooms, wonderful sunset beach, great staff..we had a great stay here.
Aug 26, 2014
The staff was very friendly on arrival. A staff member escorted us to our campsite. Our stay was in a our tent right next to the ocean. It was beautiful! The bathrooms were clean. My kids could easily ride their bikes around the grounds. We didn't use the WiFi or cable, because for us, camping is camping. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
We got the reservation at the last minute about 4 days prior to our arrival. Unfortunately, our tent site was on the main access road with lots of traffic, shuttle buses til late, so it wasn't peaceful. Looking around the campground, we thought it was too cramped, sites too close together, even the waterfront sites, no privacy. Paid $60/night for a tent site, far from restrooms. Staff was nice.
Aug 24, 2014
Great stay, clean rest rooms and showers, wonderful service!
Aug 23, 2014
I wish we had been given a site near the ocean. Those sites would be ideal for the children. We had 5 small kids in our party and we were put near a swamp. The mosquitos made a meal out of us. Other than that the people were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly go back as long as we were not put in the swamp.
Aug 22, 2014
Tiny tiny tiny showers. Campsite was very nice. Firewood wouldn't burn.
Aug 22, 2014
Aug 22, 2014
Love the natural coast line- please don't pave the sites
Aug 20, 2014
Clean campsites,friendly service
Aug 20, 2014
Very nice place . We tent camped . Very hard working staff
Aug 20, 2014
Our site was in the open, cabins in front of us roads all around us. This was noisey.Not much for kids, not much of a beach, Might of been better at Woodlands for Us. When we arrived it was RAINING !!!so hard. They said there was 1 cabin open for only 1 nite I wanted it, that night because of the rain ,they wouldn't rent it for just one nite.told us we could to sit in the reck hall, Thanks,
Aug 19, 2014
The staff were excellent all around. The facilities were clean and the hot water never ran out. Our site (409) was fine, as expected, tho somewhat pricey for what it is. The only "cons" that come to mind were the occasional smells of sewerage or something that would be present in certain areas, and a couple somewhat loud neighbors after 10:00.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Site 429 (and from what I saw at the sites around us and people's reactions) was extremely buggy. The bathrooms, while clean, regularly smelled bad and hot showers were hard to come by unless you took your shower at night.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.