Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Tent Reviews

Aug 19, 2014
The staff were excellent all around. The facilities were clean and the hot water never ran out. Our site (409) was fine, as expected, tho somewhat pricey for what it is. The only "cons" that come to mind were the occasional smells of sewerage or something that would be present in certain areas, and a couple somewhat loud neighbors after 10:00.
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 19, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
Site 429 (and from what I saw at the sites around us and people's reactions) was extremely buggy. The bathrooms, while clean, regularly smelled bad and hot showers were hard to come by unless you took your shower at night.
Aug 18, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Désolé mais les terrains sont très petits; on est trop proche des autres campeurs; les stationnements sont aussi très serrés. Vous n'offrez pas une qualité que l'on retrouve habituellement dans les campings américains surtout que vous chargez 42$ par jour. C'est vraiment trop cher pour ce que vous offrez. Désolé! J'aimerais être remboursé svp! Maurice Carrier
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms not very clean, they put us next to a main highway and a railroad track that when a train went by sounded its horn every few seconds at 3:00am!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry for the noise... but there must be some confusion on campgrounds. There is no train on the island or anywhere near this KOA.
Aug 14, 2014
too expensive for too small space!
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great place close to everything. Crammed parking in tent area. Not much space per site. Too many sites in one small place. But all together, a great place. Very friendly staff and grounds are clean.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
The staff were friendly and so helpful, they made our experince pleasant with information about the area.
Aug 12, 2014
Stayed in a deluxe tent site with ocean view. Map misleading making you believe beach in front of site, actually marsh that you couldn't walk on. No real view with lots of trees in the way. Only water at site no electric! Deluxe at all sites I've stayed included electric, especially for the high price! Not told site has a tent box which tent did not fit in and no other area at site to place tent!
Aug 12, 2014
Making our reservation was a breeze. Pam was super helpful with all of my questions when I called (being 8 months pregnant I had a lot!) she found us a tent space to suit our needs just a stones throw away from the ocean! When we arrived, the staff was super friendly and they show you right where your campsite is, vs handing you a map and letting you figure it out!
Aug 12, 2014
The campsite we were in was a little close to the one next to us, but we loved the location on the ocean and it's proximity to Acadia and bar harbor! The staff was wonderful! The bathrooms being closed from 8-10 am was an inconvient time we would suggest somewhere during mid afternoon!
Aug 12, 2014
love the natural setting - if you want paved roads go somewhere else cuz we like it the way it is! lumps, rocks, and smelly sea air
Aug 11, 2014
I Liked : Personnel was great and very helpful. My tent site was great, all evened up, with running water. I disliked : The dry wood was really wet, to the point that it was impossible to make a decent fire. Some days there was a stench from the dumpsters. The one right beside the bus stop should really be relocated. The garbage could be collected more often at times.
Aug 11, 2014
Pretty clean bathrooms and very helpful staff. We got a great tent spot on the ocean but not all spots are as scenic. It would be nice to reserve spots given the commute we had, but we got lucky! Thanks for a great stay, we will be back. Chris
Aug 10, 2014
Great location. We were tenting in the stand of pines. Sites very, very close and very far from bathrooms. People were very respectful/quiet though so for our short stay it was ok
Aug 10, 2014
Really no complaints about our stay other than getting the impression on the phone the our site was a little more private than it actually was. The other tents were very close to us and the price seemed a little high for that site.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Guaranteed electricity when registered over phone. No electricity when we arrived. Dirty. Lots of weeds. Grass needed to be mowed. Site was small. Advertised park activities not frequent. Pool in a different park 1 mile away. Beach full of seaweed. Next to noisy road. Incredibly expensive for what we got.
Aug 07, 2014
We booked an ocean view tent spot. The view was mostly blocked by trees, so I am not sure it is worth the extra price. WIFI did not work at campsite or in the Recreation Hall. Showers, bathrooms, and laundry were 500 feet away from our site - very convenient. The location is fine. However, you are still 20-30 minutes away from Acadia.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 06, 2014
A nice clean campground with very friendly staff. For the site we had, we paid almost double what other campgrounds are charging in that area and it was he worst of the 3 places we stayed as far as the actual site itself. We left wondering why we paid so much and had the conversation that we def would not go back or recommend it simply because there are nicer places in the area at cheaper prices
Aug 06, 2014
section tentes, pas assez d'espace entre les sites; bruit provenant de la route et des avions; session de yoga le matin avec vue sur la mer et les îles, génial! Nettoyer et réviser plus souvent les toilettes. La prochaine fois, j'aimerais le #405.
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 04, 2014
Aug 02, 2014
We had a great stay at the KOA in Bar Harbor. Friendly at check-in. Our site was clean and we loved the view of the ocean. The only downside was how close the sites were to each other but when you're on the ocean, even that doesn't matter as much!
Aug 02, 2014
Your staff are great! Best customer service all vacation
Aug 02, 2014
Family had such fun and a great campground
Jul 31, 2014
Great stay. Superior hospitality. Helpful and friendly. Sites a bit small but functional. Respectful quiet times.
Jul 31, 2014
Mr Honey wagon was great!
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 30, 2014
Excellent service du personnel, salles de bain très propres, bonne eau chaude pour les douches qui sont non payantes. Malgré la proximité des tentes, les gens sont plutôt calmes. Bref, mis à part l'intimité car parfois les terrains de tentes sont très près les uns des autres, c'était numéro 1 !!!
Jul 27, 2014
We stayed in tent only sites that were waterfront. These sites seemed like an after-thought. The vehicles had to be parked almost on top of the site to allow room for the other cars at other sites to park and exit. Water lines that were run to the sites were exposed and made for trip hazards. Not worth the high price we paid.
Jul 27, 2014
big thanks to the crew
Jul 26, 2014
Jul 25, 2014
We enjoyed our stay! The employees were very friendly and welcoming. The site we had was clean as were the restrooms. We were surprised of the lack of dedicated entrance to the campground, it was right off the main road onto the island.
Jul 24, 2014
We had the most amazing stay. The site was incredible, absolute gorgeous view of the ocean. The staff was wonderful, it was a first rate experience. We had gone to the KOA Woodlands to use the pool, so convenient to use the shuttle bus between the two locations. Thank you all for an excellent stay!
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Great KOA. Spectacular tent sites and the staff are amazing. My only disappointments (and they are small) were that hot water ran out quick in the showers and they used to do a daily breakfast, which I'd like to see them bring back.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Clean,convenient. The only downside is that the camp sites are to close to each other.
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Jul 23, 2014
Love the natural setting
Jul 22, 2014
Great activities and super friendly staff, beautiful views and clean campground.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.