Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2015
Very accommodating. Great staff. Hope we make it back sometime!
Aug 01, 2015
Absolutely loved the cabin and the service was excellent.
Aug 01, 2015
Sites are in poor shape...staff not very friendly.
Aug 01, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very friendly and helpful staff. We will be returning every year. Thank you for a great experience.
Aug 01, 2015
Camp was very clean. The camp hosts were very helpful.
Aug 01, 2015
excellent location but weak wifi.
Aug 01, 2015
Very expensive for quality of site. Have stayed on KOA's across the country and this was the most costly at $85/night and the poorest overall quality. Cold shower on the last morning - controls need changing.
Aug 01, 2015
Loved being here. It was wonderful to have food right on site! The grounds were lovely, the front desk very helpful. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 31, 2015
Very pricey for the location. They charge about 50% more than KOA campgrounds around Yellowstone which is worth staying for about 2 weeks. Acadia is a 2-day visit.
Jul 31, 2015
The site we had was very nice water front
Jul 31, 2015
What a fabulous stay. Really nice location on the bay. Kids had fun checking out the water at low tide. The campground staff was really friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and organized. Nice to have the cafe right on the property as there weren't restaurants nearby. The free shuttle stopped by every 1/2 hour to go around the island, this was fabulous. Excellent stay, highly recommended.
Jul 31, 2015
Always a pleasure to stay here. Lobster boil on site always makes for a great first night. Plan for several nights. Two nights is not enough to enjoy back trails at the park. Don't worry about transportation, free busses courtesy sponsored by L L Bean service most areas of the park and Bar Harbor community.
Jul 30, 2015
Friendly Staff for a busy KOA
Jul 30, 2015
Great, would stay again.
Jul 30, 2015
I found the staff to be friendly and helpful with regard suggestions about local attractions. We had full confidence that we were in good hands with the staff. The staff was always visible and it was evident that campground maintenance was a high priority and we loved our cabin. Thanks!
Jul 30, 2015
Very friendly staff! "Lobster man" right in the campground was so very cool! And not to mention, delicious! We were in the back part of the campground & had a beautiful ocean view!! Bath-house was very clean & well kept! Hated to leave but ABSOLUTELY loved our stay & would recommend 100%!!
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Too cozy for tent camping, not enough privacy, heard a guy snoring all night and couldn't sleep. Internet didn't work yet staff claimed it should. Camp sites laid out all wrong for convenience. All else was great.
Jul 30, 2015
This KOA was very nice. Great amenities and kept very clean. We had a great stay, our dog did too!
Jul 30, 2015
Nice place to visit.
Jul 30, 2015
We made reservations well in advance and were traveling with another couple. When we made the reservations, we were assured that we could camp next to each other. When we reached Bar Harbor KOA, we were put in sites on opposite sides of the campground. The site that our companions had was muddy and terribly unlevel. I would not recommend this KOA to anyone.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry for the misunderstanding; the notes from the reservation center on both reservations indicated that you were aware that you were not camping together. Again our sincere apologies.
Jul 29, 2015
Sites were a little close for my liking. Staff were wonderful, friendly, and very helpful. Would of liked to have cable for the price of the site. Already booked here for next year. Heres hoping they have cable by then.
Jul 29, 2015
It's a beautiful place. Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the blueberry pancake breakfast. We stayed in a deluxe studio cabin. It was very clean. I appreciated that linens were provided. The only drawback was not having any cutlery in the cabin, and a couple of cups and plates would've been appreciated.
Jul 29, 2015
It was nearly impossible to have an adequately warm shower. The water was consistently cold or lukewarm. Some of the staff operating the golf carts drove too fast making for unsafe conditions.
Jul 29, 2015
Great campground and location.
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Facilities clean and in good working order. Tent sites calm and beautiful. Qu8te close to national park and other attractions.
Jul 28, 2015
ce fut un beau séjour. MERCI
Jul 28, 2015
The only downside was that the campsites are too close together. We could hear our neighbors speaking softly on their tent.
Jul 28, 2015
Great campsite. Very friendly staff. Hard to find a bathroom shower that had warm water. Plumbing could be updated. Rec room could use ping pong table and more stuff for smaller kids.
Jul 27, 2015
The waterfront sites are wonderful however we found that upon arrival, parts of the site could have been mowed. The firepit could have been reaaranged and freshen up! More importantly, your bathrooms need a much needed uplift! The stalls are so dirty, including the walls. There was a lack of hot water, that was very disappointing to say the least. For little over $100.00 a night I expect way more.
Jul 27, 2015
Our second time staying with you all and it was as pleasant as the first. We don't get up to Bar Harbor often as we live in PA, but it is always put planned stop when we go.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Not as good as we expected after our great stay in green mountains.
Jul 27, 2015
The view we had was spectacular. Wish the k9 park had higher fencing. Staff was knowledgeable and quick with check in. Also, very pleasant. Will be back again!
Jul 27, 2015
Everyone was very friendly. The site was great.
Jul 27, 2015
People were great... Very friendly and helpful!! Sites were clean. Store had what you needed. (Heated pool would be nice for the price you pay)
Jul 27, 2015
The customer service was good but the campsite was awful and expensive. I will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
This was our first KOA stay anywhere and were very impressed! Staff were very nice and helpful when we needed to make a last minute site switch. Our "neighbors" were friendly and fun. Then there was the sunset over the ocean..... We will definitely be back!
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean and helpful staff
Jul 27, 2015
This is not what we expected when we booked this campground. The price was far far too high (more than 90 dollars for a RV per night) and the quality of the facilities whas too low. Cold showers, dirty toliets, bad lights at night and not the promised view on the bay.
Jul 27, 2015
great - wish I had cable
Jul 27, 2015
As a tenter, the campground was pleasant. The walk to the restroom/showers was long and the path needs to manicured. The tent area feels like a mini village with tents nearly on top of each other.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We appreciate your input and are taking your advice. We are widening the path to the facilities as well as looking at revising the tent village layout to make it more comfortable.
Jul 26, 2015
Great folks. Clean showers and restrooms. Excellent location!
Jul 26, 2015
We have been going to this friendly, quiet campground for over 20+years, clean bathrooms, new showers and great help. Have made friends with many people over the years, now their grand kids. Hope to see cable next year and a better Wi-Fi
Jul 26, 2015
We had a site oceanside. The view was great, but the site was very tight and not very level. Interior sites seemed very crowded. The pancake breakfast was reasonable and good.
Jul 26, 2015
Perfect location and the shuttle picked us up right in the campground and took us into town and the park.
Jul 26, 2015
Personnel courtois,bloc sanitaire propre,vue imprenable sur l'eau si on a un bon site sinon un peu à l'étroit.On peut acheter du homard sur le camping et le manger à notre site,navette gratuite vers Bar Harbour environ 45 minutes un must car ça évite de chercher un stationnement qui est limité de 2 à 3 hres.
Jul 26, 2015
Have stayed at Bar Harbor KOA Oceanside before though its been years. We returned for a couple nights and it was great. Clean and well run.
Jul 26, 2015
Very. Clean but sites too crowded with no privacy

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.