Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful views. Saw seals feeding in the cove three times during our stay! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would like to see more children's activities.
Aug 17, 2014
very good staff, extremely clean shower/restrooms and we cannot wait to go back.
Aug 17, 2014
We stayed in an rv back in full hookup site. I wish the sites had some privacy, I felt bad for the people behind us had our sewer line right near their picnic table. Bar harbor as a whole, is a pricey area to stay, so 81 a nite for 2 adults maybe fit in to that, but, I do think our site wasnt worth the $ at all. We spent our full days out hiking ect, so we were only there to sleep in rv.
Aug 17, 2014
Wonderful camp ground. We had a great time.
Aug 16, 2014
Folks were very friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2014
This was our first stay at a KOA. We have been camping for 10 years. This KOA was clean, well manicured and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I only wish I booked sooner to get an oceanside site as my premium water view site was very tight and my view was of a big 5th wheel. We will be back but only when I can get an oceanside site. Thank you KOA!
Aug 16, 2014
Had an oceanside site but its really a bayside site. Very disappointed. Also, was disappoined to not have cable TV--seems like Time Warner stopped in the middle of the campground and hasn't been back to finish the job.
Aug 16, 2014
Awesome stay! Had 2 bald eagles in a tree at my campsite and home made blueberry pie delivered to my pop up, need I say more?
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Compared to other KOA's we have stayed in along our travels from coast to coast, this location leaves much to be desired. Overpriced with very poor facilities. Minimal playground for the kids, and the tightest sites we've ever been in (and these were the "premium sites") Staff were very nice, most campgrounds in the area, we checked out others after checking in, appeared to be comparable.
Aug 15, 2014
Aug 15, 2014
Désolé mais les terrains sont très petits; on est trop proche des autres campeurs; les stationnements sont aussi très serrés. Vous n'offrez pas une qualité que l'on retrouve habituellement dans les campings américains surtout que vous chargez 42$ par jour. C'est vraiment trop cher pour ce que vous offrez. Désolé! J'aimerais être remboursé svp! Maurice Carrier
Aug 15, 2014
I changed my travel plans so I was on a temporary site (#94) for one night. This site was ok but for the giant wasp nest hiding under a tree. My son was bitten and we had to go to the ER for an allergic reaction. Not a good start to our vacations. Then I was moved to #106 for the rest of the week. Site is nice, camping overall is nice, but oh boy beware of the sewage smell. Unbearable!!
Aug 15, 2014
love the train
Aug 15, 2014
Bathrooms not very clean, they put us next to a main highway and a railroad track that when a train went by sounded its horn every few seconds at 3:00am!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry for the noise... but there must be some confusion on campgrounds. There is no train on the island or anywhere near this KOA.
Aug 14, 2014
I stayed 16 nights, I tried showering at 8am, 7pm and 10pm and could never get hot water. Internet is very bad and they advertised cable in the ocean side for the last 2 years , what they don't tell you is only the full hookup and water front have it, other sites have 5 channels.Otherwisw very nice place.
Aug 14, 2014
Everything about our stay at Oceanside and our time spent in the area exceeded our expectations. Great trip
Aug 14, 2014
Only negative thing...WiFi did not work at campsite, only at rec hall.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
Made 8/11 reservation on 7/8. Asked for site 312.Told would be available.Deposit pd by cr.card.Arrived 8/11 midday. On way to site,saw we now had 311.Office didn't tell us, Someone else on 312.Arthritic wife unable reach bathroom from 311.Kind man who took us to site then showed us 180. Very disappointed.Didn't stay 2nd night. Will not go back.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
We were very dissapointed this time with the KOA Oceanside, they tried to put us into a site that was made for a tent or a tiny camper, we have a 36ft fifth wheel with three slides. I made reservations online which I will never do again. We were supposed to have and we paid for oceanside and they were going to put us by the bathrooms with no oceanview. The manager came out and she took us to a dif
Aug 14, 2014
too expensive for too small space!
Aug 14, 2014
A sea of RVs is the only way to put it. The office staff did work with us to find a better site. But $80! is still too much. Also the wi-fi and showers could not handle the crowd that was there.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 14, 2014
WAY OVER PRICED, NO CABLE TV, SHOWERS WERE VERY COLD, AND BATH NOT CLEAN
Aug 13, 2014
We love staying ocean side at the Bar Harbor KOA. Only issue is and has always been the wifi. Poor wifi impacts us as we need to be able to connect for work. Other wise no complaints.
Aug 13, 2014
Stayed in the Airstream and enjoyed it. We suggest that the windows get repaired so they can be opened though. Very clean and terrific staff throughout the site.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
Great place close to everything. Crammed parking in tent area. Not much space per site. Too many sites in one small place. But all together, a great place. Very friendly staff and grounds are clean.
Aug 13, 2014
Beautiful, water-side location. Nice campsites. Friendly staff and stocked store. Great recreation room for the kids, when the weather was bad. We will be back!
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 13, 2014
The staff were friendly and so helpful, they made our experince pleasant with information about the area.
Aug 13, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
We had an awesome time at KOA Oceanside ! We were able to book our tickets for Whale watching right at the campground ! The free bus service to and from Arcadia was a plus !! The cabin was clean and comfortable. Thank you for your hospitality during our stay in Maine..
Aug 12, 2014
Overall, I'd have a hard time coming up with alot to complain about. Our stay was only 4 nights, and If I could do it all over again, The first thing I would do is stay longer. The second is, insist that the gentleman that parked us, bring us into the site in the proper direction so I could enjoy the view of the ocean from my large back window. This was just a little frustrating!
Aug 12, 2014
Sites are extremely small. Difficulty putting camper and car on site. Pervasive sewer smell. Poor drainage. Overflowing trash.
Aug 12, 2014
Adorable clean cabin! Staff was helpful and friendly, Thank you!!
Aug 12, 2014
We enjoyed the campground, but had trouble with the refrigerator and were disappointed with the WiFi network.
Aug 12, 2014
we loved our stay here! the shuttle was especially helpful as we camped in an RV and did not want to have to drive around in it. the only complaint that i have is about firewood - the camp needs to stock more! they ran out both nights we stayed. however - there is a lot of camp wood sold right outside of the campground, so we made do.
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Stayed in a deluxe tent site with ocean view. Map misleading making you believe beach in front of site, actually marsh that you couldn't walk on. No real view with lots of trees in the way. Only water at site no electric! Deluxe at all sites I've stayed included electric, especially for the high price! Not told site has a tent box which tent did not fit in and no other area at site to place tent!
Aug 12, 2014
Making our reservation was a breeze. Pam was super helpful with all of my questions when I called (being 8 months pregnant I had a lot!) she found us a tent space to suit our needs just a stones throw away from the ocean! When we arrived, the staff was super friendly and they show you right where your campsite is, vs handing you a map and letting you figure it out!
Aug 12, 2014
bathrooms were clean
Aug 12, 2014
The campsite we were in was a little close to the one next to us, but we loved the location on the ocean and it's proximity to Acadia and bar harbor! The staff was wonderful! The bathrooms being closed from 8-10 am was an inconvient time we would suggest somewhere during mid afternoon!
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
love the natural setting - if you want paved roads go somewhere else cuz we like it the way it is! lumps, rocks, and smelly sea air

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.