Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Had a great time. The campground is well kept and well run. The ocean sites are fantastic.
Aug 18, 2015
We have stayed here for 2 years. It is a nice clean campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The recreation hall is great for the kids especially in bad weather. The ocean views are beautiful especially at sunset. The campground is not noisy - other campers are considerate and you dont have the rude partyers all night long. It is a great location to explore Mt. Desert Island. We will be back
Aug 18, 2015
Best KOA experience of all time. Pay the extra for a water front site if you are able. Only issue was that we couldn't stay longer!
Aug 18, 2015
They state that there is Wifi when in reality there isn't-page won't load. Dishonest. Lights out in shower room. TONS of water is wasted due to faucets being installed wrong in showers; H&C reversed, also impossible to turn water off in several showers; water ran ALL NIGHT in 2 showers 3 nights in a row! NO HOT water in 5 out of 8 showers. So what's the point in having all those showers? SAD "KOA"
Aug 18, 2015
Great location
Aug 18, 2015
Bar harbor KOA is the most BEAUTIFUL campground we have ever stayed in ! Our site was simply breathtaking ! Can't wait to visit again ;-)
Aug 18, 2015
We were placed in a site with no shade, near the playground, outside restaurant and Music stage (too Noisy). We had the impression to be in a parking lot (no privacy). But I've seen nice sites. So next time, I'll call instead of making reservation online, just to be sure I get what I want. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2015
We would have given it a 10 but we stayed in #252 and the mosquitos were everywhere, i think it was because we were beside the woods. Other than that the water views were amazing. Staff was awesome!
Aug 17, 2015
I gave it 3 stars for two reasons. The showers get worse every year! They are clean but the valves spray everywhere and you're lucky if you get warm water! Second my kids are 11&12 and there are no activities for them! For what we pay to stay at this campground every year, you could put some $$ back into it!! Location is the only reason we come back.
Aug 17, 2015
The people and the service was fantastic. They had some extra things all set to be taken care of when we arrived. Example two extra picnic tables already to be placed at our sites. Above and beyond.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice campground. Only negative is that the full hook up sites are way to close together. Would not reserve same sight if we came back.
Aug 17, 2015
You need more showers and more full hook ups. the sites are clean and nice and everything was clean But it was a pain to have our tanks pumped out every other day. You also need another laundry mat To only have one with as many people as you have staying you need a big laundry mat We waited for a couple of days for washers and dryers to open. I finally washed them in my own camper.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice stay. The campground does need some more trees though. Not a lot of organized activities for the kids
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Thanks KOA! The Schippers family.
Aug 17, 2015
This campground is absolutely beautiful, and the staff, both in the office and throughout the grounds, are truly exceptional in helpfulness and good cheer!
Aug 16, 2015
We made our reservations in Jan 2015 for our stay in Aug 2015 with 2 other families. We were not put together as requested & the staff didn't want to be bothered to fix the situation. Also the stench of sewage all week was gross. The campground location is beautiful.
Aug 16, 2015
Not Great!! Booked 8 months in advance to be next to family only to have them 5 sites over and a row behind! They did not want to accommodate and blamed it on the 800#!! Issues with septic somewhere on the grounds as that was all we could smell ALL week! No activities for kids and if there were, they were never announced! Rec hall was tiny and in a high traffic area, not conducive for kids.
Aug 16, 2015
It was a typical KOA, clean bathrooms, fire ring and picnic table at every site, helpful staff in a little camp store. Beautiful site on water.
Aug 16, 2015
The campground is on a beautiful setting, but it has been ruined by overcrowding. Nine years ago when we first came there, there was much more space and many fewer sites. The kayaks of old are gone, and the RVs are packed in beyond belief. Worst of all, the showers are pathetic. They are in great need of upgrading and lack hot water. We were sad to see what greed has spawned.
Aug 16, 2015
staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 16, 2015
They told us our spot had cable & did not-otherwise, it was great.
Aug 15, 2015
Our site was just beautiful! The views and the stonework patio at site 805 was the best! When we had an issue with hot water or needed extra towels our needs were addressed within the hour. The staff was warm and friendly during every encounter. We will be back!
Aug 15, 2015
Cabin was clean and well equipped. We needed replacement of a few items and it was taken care of very quickly.
Aug 15, 2015
Campsites were beautiful can't beat the setting right on the edge of the water. My only complaints would be, 1. If there was any activities planed for kids we didn't know anything about them. There was no calendar of events given to us or posted. I thought the whole idea is that KOA was geared toward kids. 2.bathrooms and showers need to be cleaned more often.
Aug 15, 2015
The Harbor view is remarkable. The Lobstah dinner was great and the staff are very nice. Had a wonderful stay?
Aug 15, 2015
Very well staffed by courteous and friendly people. Campground was well maintained with clean restrooms and showers. If you're looking for a campground on the water this is a good choice. I would recommend.
Aug 15, 2015
Very poor internet connection. Very smoky due to many camp fires at all times of day. Much too expensive. Very good TV cable.
Aug 14, 2015
This campground is in a great location. Right on the bay with great sunsets. Our site had a nice ocean view.
Aug 14, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and informative!! Bathrooms were clean!!!
Aug 13, 2015
My kids and husband think the pancake breakfast should be "all you can eat". 2 pancakes for $6 is a little steep. There seemed to be long lines for the showers this year, and a cold shower a few times. There needs to be better labeled public beach access to avoid people cutting through sites. Also expand the cafe options, and roofing to allow for seating in the rain
Aug 13, 2015
the place was lame.. they didnt have anything offer and no activities for the kids.. nothing really worth mentioning about this place
Aug 13, 2015
it's my favorite campground!
Aug 13, 2015
The site we had in the Oceanside camp ground was great. We would have preferred full hook up but the tank pumping service worked very well. Had a great time. THANKS
Aug 13, 2015
Everything was great. The views were fantastic. The staff were very friendly. My only improvement suggestion would be add more showers and Laundromat. There are not enough full hook up sites so you need to either increase these or add showers and another laundromat. . Otherwise everything was great. We will be back
Aug 13, 2015
Great campground. Staff very friendly & accomadating. Only drawback is a bit pricey & tons of Mosquitos. Great access to the water. Will definitely be back.
Aug 12, 2015
Wifi is still an issue but otherwise we love it!
Aug 12, 2015
our stay was great and all the KOA Camp workers were pleasant and helpful. My only complaint would be that the handicapped shower was not equipped with bars to hold on to and it was not big enough nor did it have a hand held showerhead.
Aug 12, 2015
I've traveled to this KOA campground 3 times over the past few years because of its location near Acadia and because of the service, sites and cleanliness of facilities. Only problem this time was the large number of rude campers who kept cutting through my site to go down to the water.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Stayed just one night after preparing a resident for a move to Pittsburg,Pa.Pricey..but expected it! Nice showers and bathrooms and quiet.I really have no complaints.
Aug 11, 2015
Very clean tent site area. Very clean bathrooms. Very friendly staff. Showers lacked water pressure and did not deliver hot water on two of the three mornings of my stay. One shower I was unable to turn off. KOA might consider stepping up efforts to have visitors recycle their trash: aluminum, glass, plastic, paper, etc.
Aug 11, 2015
Another fantastic trip to Bar Harbor's KOA! Spent one of our days out on the kayaks spotting seals, two dolphins, and a bald eagle. Incredible! We're already looking forward to next year.
Aug 11, 2015
Excellent location to see Acadia and Bar Harbor. Delicious Lobster Dinner on site.
Aug 11, 2015
Very clean, beautiful campground. I especially liked the campground café where you could get lobsters and breakfast.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Clean cabin, helpful staff, great location. We loved having he tide pools just steps from our cabin door and waking up with a view of the water. My toddler called it "our cabin home". And My husband and I totally agree with these sentiments. We will definitely be back!
Aug 11, 2015
We very much enjoyed our stay in our lovely cabin. Wish we could have spent more time there but with only two days we spent most of our time at Acadia and Bar Harbor. Hope to come back for a week next year! Only complaints are that the lighter in our Weber Grill was broken (but staff quickly replaced it) and we found a leak under our kitchen sink after doing dishes the morning we left.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Nice grassy sites. Friendly people. Shuttle service a real help.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.