Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 22, 2015
Great facilities - clean and well lit. Loved the box with gravel for the camp site. That helped with the bugs. We'll be back!
Aug 22, 2015
Outstanding staff! Lovely campground, clean, lots of trees, right on the water, and no bears!! :).
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 21, 2015
Stayed one full week in a 24 foot motorhome. Lot was good, bath/showers were clean, service staff helpful. Was surprised to find on site food vendors which we used for breakfast and dinner and liked the food a lot. There is a free shuttle service at the front office which we used almost every day. Would definitely come here again.
Aug 21, 2015
Friendly staff, friendly neighbors, beautiful scenery. What more could one ask for?
Aug 21, 2015
love the cafe
Aug 21, 2015
Suzy was really helpful
Aug 21, 2015
2 nights in one bedroom cabin, very comfortable, clean, and convenient, perfect for family of four, ned bery comfortable, kitchen perfect Only negative- tub slippery when showering If
Aug 21, 2015
Beautiful location on the ocean, great and helpful staff, quick access to all aspects of Acadia & Bar Harbor.
Aug 21, 2015
A little pricey but lovely view. A little disappointed that several tents with large group (family) were camped on the beach and took over area. Did not feel I had any access to the water at all. Loved the food truck and lobster boil. Friendly staff.
Aug 21, 2015
No cable on my site
Aug 20, 2015
Tenting sites were very poor, very small and close to other sites and poorly laid out. We asked for a site big enough for two tents but were only able to setup one tent. The site we had was also not anywhere close to level despite being a prepared site with an platform. It made for an uncomfortable night with little rest. I would not recommend this campground for anyone who is tenting.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
For the money I paid, they put right near the road, and pump house, we had trouble logging into the Wi-Fi all week. And the outside for ring was only about 10ft from our neighbors propane tank(I wouldn't dare have a fire there). I should have researched it more,I thought I was getting a Oceanside cabin. :(
Aug 20, 2015
Love there location and cleniess and great people thank U
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean bathrooms\showers, great views. Thanks!
Aug 19, 2015
Site crowded, too close. Too busy cramming people in to tend to details and commitments. Less than pleasant experience.
Aug 19, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. Very clean and stocked well.
Aug 19, 2015
What a beautiful setting and friendly staff
Aug 19, 2015
Great, but pricey. I know Bar Harbor is expensive, btu this seemed high even for the area.
Aug 19, 2015
By far and away the best KOA experience possible. Super helpful staff, great bathrooms and the view and location can't be beat.
Aug 19, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
376 needs soil to eliminate the trip hazards and level the site. Flower gardens looked horrible, and general grounds work was lacking. Noticed a lot of spiffing up our 3rd week- big wigs were expected soon. 3 new showers haven't enough ventilation- so you have water dripping from the ceilings. Beautiful views. location.
Aug 18, 2015
Had a great time. The campground is well kept and well run. The ocean sites are fantastic.
Aug 18, 2015
We have stayed here for 2 years. It is a nice clean campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The recreation hall is great for the kids especially in bad weather. The ocean views are beautiful especially at sunset. The campground is not noisy - other campers are considerate and you dont have the rude partyers all night long. It is a great location to explore Mt. Desert Island. We will be back
Aug 18, 2015
Best KOA experience of all time. Pay the extra for a water front site if you are able. Only issue was that we couldn't stay longer!
Aug 18, 2015
They state that there is Wifi when in reality there isn't-page won't load. Dishonest. Lights out in shower room. TONS of water is wasted due to faucets being installed wrong in showers; H&C reversed, also impossible to turn water off in several showers; water ran ALL NIGHT in 2 showers 3 nights in a row! NO HOT water in 5 out of 8 showers. So what's the point in having all those showers? SAD "KOA"
Aug 18, 2015
Great location
Aug 18, 2015
Bar harbor KOA is the most BEAUTIFUL campground we have ever stayed in ! Our site was simply breathtaking ! Can't wait to visit again ;-)
Aug 18, 2015
We were placed in a site with no shade, near the playground, outside restaurant and Music stage (too Noisy). We had the impression to be in a parking lot (no privacy). But I've seen nice sites. So next time, I'll call instead of making reservation online, just to be sure I get what I want. Thank you!
Aug 18, 2015
We would have given it a 10 but we stayed in #252 and the mosquitos were everywhere, i think it was because we were beside the woods. Other than that the water views were amazing. Staff was awesome!
Aug 17, 2015
I gave it 3 stars for two reasons. The showers get worse every year! They are clean but the valves spray everywhere and you're lucky if you get warm water! Second my kids are 11&12 and there are no activities for them! For what we pay to stay at this campground every year, you could put some $$ back into it!! Location is the only reason we come back.
Aug 17, 2015
The people and the service was fantastic. They had some extra things all set to be taken care of when we arrived. Example two extra picnic tables already to be placed at our sites. Above and beyond.
Aug 17, 2015
Very nice campground. Only negative is that the full hook up sites are way to close together. Would not reserve same sight if we came back.
Aug 17, 2015
You need more showers and more full hook ups. the sites are clean and nice and everything was clean But it was a pain to have our tanks pumped out every other day. You also need another laundry mat To only have one with as many people as you have staying you need a big laundry mat We waited for a couple of days for washers and dryers to open. I finally washed them in my own camper.
Aug 17, 2015
Nice stay. The campground does need some more trees though. Not a lot of organized activities for the kids
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Thanks KOA! The Schippers family.
Aug 17, 2015
This campground is absolutely beautiful, and the staff, both in the office and throughout the grounds, are truly exceptional in helpfulness and good cheer!
Aug 16, 2015
We made our reservations in Jan 2015 for our stay in Aug 2015 with 2 other families. We were not put together as requested & the staff didn't want to be bothered to fix the situation. Also the stench of sewage all week was gross. The campground location is beautiful.
Aug 16, 2015
Not Great!! Booked 8 months in advance to be next to family only to have them 5 sites over and a row behind! They did not want to accommodate and blamed it on the 800#!! Issues with septic somewhere on the grounds as that was all we could smell ALL week! No activities for kids and if there were, they were never announced! Rec hall was tiny and in a high traffic area, not conducive for kids.
Aug 16, 2015
It was a typical KOA, clean bathrooms, fire ring and picnic table at every site, helpful staff in a little camp store. Beautiful site on water.
Aug 16, 2015
The campground is on a beautiful setting, but it has been ruined by overcrowding. Nine years ago when we first came there, there was much more space and many fewer sites. The kayaks of old are gone, and the RVs are packed in beyond belief. Worst of all, the showers are pathetic. They are in great need of upgrading and lack hot water. We were sad to see what greed has spawned.
Aug 16, 2015
staff was friendly and helpful
Aug 16, 2015
They told us our spot had cable & did not-otherwise, it was great.
Aug 15, 2015
Our site was just beautiful! The views and the stonework patio at site 805 was the best! When we had an issue with hot water or needed extra towels our needs were addressed within the hour. The staff was warm and friendly during every encounter. We will be back!
Aug 15, 2015
Cabin was clean and well equipped. We needed replacement of a few items and it was taken care of very quickly.
Aug 15, 2015
Campsites were beautiful can't beat the setting right on the edge of the water. My only complaints would be, 1. If there was any activities planed for kids we didn't know anything about them. There was no calendar of events given to us or posted. I thought the whole idea is that KOA was geared toward kids. 2.bathrooms and showers need to be cleaned more often.
Aug 15, 2015
The Harbor view is remarkable. The Lobstah dinner was great and the staff are very nice. Had a wonderful stay?

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.