Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2013
Beautiful campground. Friendly staff. Convenient shuttle service. Highly recommend it.
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 16, 2013
I AM UN HAPPY CLIENT OF THIS KOA BECAUSE:THE HOT WATER IN THE SHOWER DIDNT WORK AT THE RUSH HOUR AT THE EVEINING. THE WIFI DIDNT WORK FOR 2 DAYS, AND THERE WERE TONS OF MOSKITUS DO WE COULD NOT SET OUTSIDE THE RV AT ALL! WHEN I TRY TO TALK TO THE MANAGER OF THE SITE HE TOLD ME THAT HE DONT HAVE TIME TO HEAR ME, HE WAS TOO BISY WITH OTHER CLIENTS.. I NOT GOING TO RECOMMAND THIS KOA TO ANY ONE ALSE!
Aug 16, 2013
Bar Harbor KOA is very lovely. Beautiful views, friendly staff, and nice activities. The free shuttle to Bar Harbor was very much appreciated.
Aug 16, 2013
We thought this campground was over priced. We were excited about being oceanside, however you could not access the water from the site. For $70 a night, we felt we could have had a better option. We could also not use the water at the campground due to contamination. We felt that people with reservations should have been made aware of this to be able to plan ahead.
Aug 16, 2013
Your facility blew my mind! It was wonderful and I would go back and stay again in a heartbeat:) Your staff were lovely and friendly and helpful.
Aug 16, 2013
If you plan on using the southern shower facility then do not go here. Showers ar small and dirty, not scrubbed, just hosed out. Sewage backed up, but the luau still managed to get done. Water not fit for drinking. How they won the Presidents award is beyond me. Good location but not a well loved campground. Needs someone to do better quality control.
Aug 16, 2013
Nice place but the showers were gross! Bathrooms were older but well kept.
Aug 15, 2013
Little disappointed. Well Water System had mal- functioned. Unable to use the water to consume, cook with or hygiene. Some guests were given bottled water, but not all. Our site was on a slope that couldn't be corrected and had more roots, rocks and pot holes then all of Acadia National Park. Property looks more like a RV Sales lot than a campground. Lots of RV's in a very small area.
Aug 15, 2013
Emplacement initial cordés les uns sur les autres; déplacé sur un pull-thru c'était un peu mieux.
Aug 15, 2013
Not as good at it used to be. Campers are squeezed in. Dumpsters smelled and were overflowing, trash on ground in front of them. Too many yipping dogs. Septic odor at ladies room, I left message about it. Grounds were not groomed like they were previous years.
Aug 15, 2013
We enjoyed our short stay very much. Wished we stayed longer. Even though you can't help some summer bugs in the shower stalls (it's camping, what do you expect) , it was very clean. Thank you!
Aug 15, 2013
Beautiful views, stayed on waterfront. Location was central to all areas we wanted to visit, staff was friendly and very helpful.
Aug 15, 2013
The hosts are wonderful
Aug 14, 2013
Improved Internet would make it perfect!
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Perfect site, pet friendly, lots of activities. Better Internet so I can stay in touch with the business would make it perfect!
Aug 14, 2013
cabin was MUCH smaller than I expected. Camp ground was clean and service was impeccable. Would have been nice to more cabin reservation options. I would have gladly paid more for a larger cabin. Would definitely return.
Aug 14, 2013
love the lobster dinner available right in the KOA campground. Pick up your steamed lobster, corn and cole slaw and eat it outside of your camper....priceless experience. We will never forget it and are telling all our friends about it. Friendly staff. nice campground. we would vacation there again.
Aug 14, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of the cabins. Very nice cabin with all the amenities (bathroom, shower, even a tv). Very cozy for two adults and two kids. Nice campground location right near harbor. We had fun looking for small crabs on the beach area. Only negative was it took a while to check in, but possibly due to our later check-in or amount of guests checking in at same time. Very nice place.
Aug 14, 2013
Had a great stay will come again next year
Aug 13, 2013
wonderful view of the oceanside and in town Bar Harbor was lots of fun. very happy they have the free shuttles..
Aug 13, 2013
Section we were in was congested. Back to back and side to side - not too much room. Fire pit on the adjoining site was pretty close to our trailer. I had no room to park my truck and if I wanted a fire I couldn't because my truck was parked right next to the fire pit.
Aug 13, 2013
Though there were challenges with flooding and a well failing during our stay the staff was committed to assisting in every way. Communication could have been better but the staff was outstanding.
Aug 13, 2013
Sites to close together. No on site pool. During my stay, the entire campgroung lost water. For the money you charge per night, not worth the stay.
Aug 13, 2013
Very nice cabin. Very happy and hope to come and stay again next year! Very friendly and helpful staff too.
Aug 13, 2013
nothing bad or spectacular, further away from the attractions, but the shuttle made up for that. importantly bathrooms were clean.
Aug 13, 2013
The male bathrooms were gross. It was so noisy on the weekend in the tent area. Sunday was nice when everyone left but the tent sites were really close and exposed. I will not use the campground again.
Aug 13, 2013
What a great place to camp. Staff and facilities were outstanding. This is our 2nd year at the KOA Bar Harbor/Oceanside in ME and I'm sure we will there again next year.
Aug 13, 2013
Only problem was bed too close to wall. Hard to make bed and to get in and out. Trailer needed to be leveled out and repairman came almost immediately. Thank you. Lovely campground.
Aug 13, 2013
Tranquille même si tout près de Bar Harbor et de la principale route d'accès. Bon accueil.
Aug 13, 2013
Thank you so much to everyone at the KOA! My elderly parents and I decided that a trip up to Maine would be nice for the whole family, and we couldn't have received a better welcome. The cabin we stayed in was clean, neat, and the location of the campground was perfect for our trips to Acadia. The layout of the campground was perfect for people of all ages and mobility levels. Thanks again!
Aug 12, 2013
views are breath taking
Aug 12, 2013
My family of 3 had a very comfortable stay in the deluxe cabin/oceanside! Every view was enjoyable, the staff was very kind and always helpful. Thank you, The Perkins family.
Aug 12, 2013
Had a fantastic time! Recommend highly. We stayed in one of the Airstreams. It was fun. We wanted to stay longer but the site was booked.
Aug 12, 2013
Found it very pricey for the size of the site, and the website was not clear in the fact that the pool was not at our location. We had friends who rented a cabin and were led to believe by pictures that there was a cooktop but they did not get one and were bascically told tough luck...very disappointing. not to mention the entire campground lost water due to the well running dry.
Aug 12, 2013
The large bathroom areas hot water kept running out, so they ran very cold. The water main broke during our stay so we had no water and then we were told not to use the water for the rest of my stay. It was inconvenient to go and purchase additional water for cooking and brushing teeth and such. I love KOA and usually have no problems with the stay.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The campground was fine for trailers and had a few nice sites for tents, but it was not exactly on the water like the website claimed. Plus the water went out and we had no water for the entire stay. We did not get a refund or anything but a few bottles of water.
Aug 12, 2013
We enjoyed our stay. The campground was nice & quiet in the evenings. We kayaked right from the campground - very convenient. See you next year.
Aug 12, 2013
We enjoyed our stay as we were with a group of friends, but the price for a campsite with water and electric was excessive in my opinion. Cost about $250.00 including taxes for three nights and the water was not safe to use pretty much the whole time we were there.
Aug 12, 2013
The site we were given was right next to an area that had been inundated by rain. We were plagued by swarms of mosquitoes and only stayed one night. We ended up leaving and going to a hotel. After this experience it is doubtful I would ever go camping again.
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
To my way of thinking when we stay at a camp ground we expect a little more than a patch of grass in the middle of the field. Also The people responsible for informing all of the guests of a "don't drink the water"notice should have been done in a more timely manner, after the water pipe broke. All in all not a very good experience.
Aug 12, 2013
The first night we were there, the entire campsite was without water or cable for several hours. I arrived 8/9 not 8/10 and was offered nothing for the inconvenience. This is my second time visiting and feel we will try a different bar harbor campground next year. Don't feel we got our money's worth either visit.
Aug 11, 2013
Been staying there for years. Great location, good people, clean facilities. Now have cable at sites - (48 channels)but internet service is weak and cuts out often. They had problems with their new well, reconnected old well could not drink the water last few days. (Well problem out of their control, no reason for poor internet service with today's technologies)
Aug 11, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.