Bar Harbor / Oceanside KOA

136 County Road

Bar Harbor, ME 04609

Reserve: 888-562-5605

Info: 207-288-3520

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2013
We loved our site on the water, and watching the sunset. Next time we'll bring our kayaks!
Jul 15, 2013
been coming to this location for 20 years- new "changes" have now made it over crowded, noisy,too expensive for what you now get, KOA management has sold out this beautiful place for more profit you hope. Not going to be the case. We cancelled our second stay and will be going to new campground.Heard from other long time customers, we're not along.Not about rates, it's about crowding.
Jul 15, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay in the KOA vintage Airstream rental. We can see returning at some point in our motorhome. Everyone who worked at the park was extremely pleasant. Barb and Gary made our welcome extra nice. Park is extra clean.
Jul 15, 2013
We had a great time, our site had an awesome view and the staff was very friendly and very accomodating. Hope to visit again soon!
Jul 14, 2013
We had a great week, staff is friendly and very helpful. We booked again next year for our 4th visit.
Jul 14, 2013
This is the third summer we have stayed at Bar Harbor KOA Oceanside. We were able to back our fifth wheel into the site so our back window overlooked the ocean. We could launch our kayaks right from the site. The restrooms and laundry facilities were very clean. We have have spent the last three summer vacations exploring Acadia National Park and haven't seen it all yet.
Jul 14, 2013
Staff was friendly, and very responsive to any requests we had. The campgrounds are located on the island to make the best of a visit to Acadia NP and the Bar Harbor area. The nightly lobster (caught daily) boil was also a pleasant suprize. It was also fun watch the tides roll in and out. The bathrooms and showers could use some updating, but were clean and acceptable. Mike B.
Jul 14, 2013
Jeff and Gloria are great hosts and lucky to have help from Don and Pat! The campground is excellently maintained and very pleasant. Unfortunately, our site 267 needs a little engineering to remove a stump and level the slot so as to permit greater space between 267 and 266. We will come back!
Jul 14, 2013
Fantastic location with some of the nicest people we have met on our travels. Site was fantastic with the most amazing sunsets.
Jul 14, 2013
The camp was tidy and clean. The office was very helpful. The Olympic observation would be that the showers ran cold fast and the wi-fi was poor. Nice time
Jul 14, 2013
An amazing stay ! Staff was great , cleanliness amazing, pancake breakfast with artist highlight of our week ! Thank you !
Jul 14, 2013
L'accueil est excellente et les Airstream en location, tout équipé, c 'est génial! Pas besoin d'apporter de bagages supplémentaires...tout est là. Merveilleux pour ceux qui ne peuvent pas trainer une roulotte et qui voudrais faire du camping. Il y a ausssi des chalets que nous avons trouver très bien. Je recommande! !!!
Jul 14, 2013
Though we appreciate the pancake breakfast, the tent spot we were placed in was horrible. Tent ground was very unlevel (children sliding down all night) and the spot is so close to route 3 that the traffic noise creates very little opportunity to sleep. We tried to grin and bare it the second nigh not wanting to complain but we left a day earlier because of these conditions.
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
will be back again next year!!
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
The staff and facilities were first rate, as was the lobster man who was as nice as ever (and served a great lobster roll). I can only give four stars four our stay, however, as the pie people were no shows. For two anxious hours we awaited the sound of bells/site of the pie people, having driven out of our way for blueberry pie. But, there was nothing on July 9, nada. These were our faces: (:-(
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Very unhappy with no kayaks!! And not as many activities that I am used to at Koa's . Ordered an Oceanside site to be 2 rows back very small sites and thought it was much better 3 years ago when we were there!!
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 11, 2013
Once again. Everything was great. Wish we had more time at the campground. You need a KOA near Boston!!! Our campground is nothing like a KOA.
Jul 11, 2013
We had a terrific time. Campground was clean, and the staff was very kind. We showed up planning on only staying one night, July 4th, and ended up staying there 2 extra nights. This was my first time at a KOA, and I will definitely be looking into staying at others around the USA and plan on returning to Bar Harbor. Nice job KOA! Thank you! -Steve & Robin
Jul 11, 2013
We do not camp often but wanted to experience the airstream by the waterfront. It was a little tighter than expected but very nice.
Jul 11, 2013
This camp is located right on the water in the Acadia National Park region. It's close to Bar Harbor, so you can get away for a quaint day out.
Jul 10, 2013
our 12th summer vacation-Koa is the way to stay. Started w tenting, then couple yrs pop up and now last 3 yrs a cabin. Love KOA! Great pancakes and kid activities. BBQ and entertainment. Welcoming friendly staff. Clean, A great stay 12 yrs in a row! Thank you KOA!
Jul 10, 2013
We stayed for 4 nights. Sites could have been a little more organized. Ex. clean the firepits, fixup the picnic tables, interior roads needed more stone. It was an average KOA.
Jul 10, 2013
To many added site. Expensive for just ocean view. Many site need leveling. Otherwise great place, friendly employees. Will return.
Jul 10, 2013
the Site Was Great, Disappointed That There Was No Full Hookup. I Asked About Later In OuR Stay, They Said No, But Clearly, A Lot OF Spaces Were Empty During Our Stay. Can't Say Enough Good About The Staff Was Wonderful! I Thought It Was TOo Pricey. Our Favorite Campground Is Ft. Wilderness At Disney, It's Like Staying At A 5 Star Hotel And Costs Less Than This Campground.
Jul 09, 2013
Great site but too expensive. That is always my complaint. Doggy bags so thin your hand would go right through & the bag container almost always empty (I'm sure people did just like I did & took 2 or 3 to keep hands clean!) Grass at our site grew to 8 inches by the time we left. What about not squeezing any more cabins or airstreams in & working on upkeep? Feel free to display my comments in full.
Jul 09, 2013
Reservations made 11/2012 for ocean front site. Arrived in 7/2013. Put in a ocean front site not appropriate for our size motor home (37 feet). Site not level& couldn't level motor home w/ jacks. Expected a much better view given lead time of reservation. Told it was fault of reservation center. In future, told to call park directly. Asked to be moved but park would not accommodate. Disappointing!
Jul 09, 2013
My father, sister, and I love the Oceanside KOA! The people were so nice and helpful with everything. We ate lobster in our RV every night! It so spectacular! This is by far the best campground we have ever stayed at. We love the pancake breakfast. Keep up the great work!
Jul 09, 2013
Super clean and friendly! We love the cabins!
Jul 09, 2013
Very Very friendly staff and helpful. Beautiful view, clean bathrooms and nice grounds. The only disappointment was the condition of the K-9 area. It was Muddy,weeds, broken equipment, wood chunks laying on the ground. The wire around was not in great condition. When I see a place has a spot for my dog to run, I am expecting a nice clean area with safe equipment for him to play on.
Jul 09, 2013
Disappointed. From what I had read online - we were let down with the tent site. It was right next to rec hall's and other loud spaces and the entire grounds was just off the highway which was not mentioned. It was loud the entire time from car traffic. Bathroom and bfast were nice - if you care about quiet - not the place for you.
Jul 09, 2013
I was disappointed in my stay at KOA. I found the sites to be very narrow and difficult to maintain privacy and reduce noise. The free WiFi was very slow and at times didn't work. And we had a bundle and a half of firewood stolen from our firepit while we were out one day. I will not return.
Jul 09, 2013
This is a very well-run campground. I was happily surprised at the many family-centered events. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again.
Jul 08, 2013
Overall we had a good time. I know that if we were to return we would not stay in the airstream trailers again. The power went out 3 times during our stay. Very friendly staff!
Jul 08, 2013
Fabulous site, the staff was the best! Can't wait to return!
Jul 08, 2013
sites were a little small and there was no sewr on site as requested - other than that everything was as advertised and the staff was very friendly
Jul 08, 2013
Corporate booked us on a site with an "ocean view" that did NOT have one. The owners graciously moved us to what we felt was the 2nd best site in the whole place without upcharging us for it. If you're thinking of staying in the area, stay here and call the Kampground directly to make sure you get what you want.
Jul 08, 2013
A great campground with very friendly and helpful staff. I returned again this year, and will again in the future. Thank you!
Jul 08, 2013
Staff was great. Mosquito's are bad at night. Need to bring bug repellent. Very nice park. There is no pool at this KOA, but there is one at the woodlands KOA about a mile or so down the road.
Jul 08, 2013
Friendly service, and overall good facilities. Our cabin, however, was nothing but spectacular. Wonderful time!
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
We loved our site and would never choose one a middle site. Lost power-got switched to another sites power-not all K0a crew knew and acted like we were doing something wrong when another camper pulled in on sat. The power cable was even buried! Like we would do that. We felt bad. Other than that...loved our big site2 51
Jul 08, 2013
Beautiful campground. Everyone was helpful. The service was terrific. My only complaint would be that the campsites were small and there were not many trees for shade. Overall, it was a fun, pleasant trip!
Jul 08, 2013
We were only going to stay 1 night but we ended up staying 4. Water view sites are great.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
We have been coming to this KOA for many years. This year, it seems like the restrooms/showers were not kept clean as usual. The dog park still needs to be redone, so we don't use it. Way too wet and boggy. A few yards of base gravel and finish off would help greatly. But we love the area, we love Carolyn at the front desk, in fact all the staff is very friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.