Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Aug 17, 2017
Campsite was huge! Big enough to accommodate our group and 5 bikes plus tents. A friend met us there to suprise us and staff was sneaky enough to rent him the site next to ours!! Shower in women's rest room had ok shower pressure, but expected in the middle of nowhere. Staff in the general store was amazing the whole stay!!
Aug 17, 2017
Nice quiet location, good pool, fun kids activities like the peddle scooters. Improvements? Better wi-fi, there is little to no cell phone service, and in that case you need to have more powerful repeaters for your wi-fe. Also, the site cook playing music too loud, no reason for that. Fix those minor issues and this place is a 10/10.
Aug 17, 2017
A very hard-working staff wonderful kind people I meant and had lots of great conversations with people from all across the country and from abroad as well the camp host was very pleasant and the camp was kept very clean thank you for my wonderful 5-day campout
Aug 17, 2017
Nice setting, convenient location, clean, quiet, friendly staff and good coffee!
Aug 15, 2017
We absolutely loved our stay. I had never camped at a KOA but was familiar with KOA ~ I just haven't done a lot of family camping. The Badlands/White River KOA was a delight: clean, well run and very friendly staff. We really enjoyed the breakfast that was available each morning, as well as our campsite, and I was extremely impressed at how clean the grounds and facilities were. Thank you!
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Great three nights. Great amenities. Great staff. Good location. Would come again.
Aug 14, 2017
An oasis in the Badlands. Wonderful site and friendly staff.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
nice and clean good tent site off main road so not loud from the cars going by the people were cool.
Aug 11, 2017
Nice campground. The bathrooms are clean and work well. The pool was well kept. The campsites are really close together. Staff generally very friendly. The only issue we had was with and ordee for breakfast: they accidentally charged us for triple the amount if food we wanted and when we brought it to their attention, the employee just laughed about it and didn't offer a refund or even an apology.
Aug 11, 2017
Everything was great except the traffic noise all night from the interstate. Ear plugs are a must!
Aug 10, 2017
nice grounds, conveniently located near the south entrance of the national park, WIFI was stable and fast enough near access point, noise from traffic was minimal, Downside: the showers cabins had a jucky brown-yellowish hue to themselves
Aug 10, 2017
Campground was quiet and clean but everything was overpriced from the campsite to the firewood (that did not burn well at all).
Aug 08, 2017
Aug 07, 2017
This was our first time staying at a KOA and if they are this good it will not be our last time either. We stayed in one of the two Tipis that they have on the property. It was a great experience to be ending our SD trip with. The Tipi was fantastic.
Aug 07, 2017
Awesome place to stay. Things for kids to do and a nice setup for whatever you may need for camping. The showers were excellent and private!! Will be back again next year from Iowa!!
Aug 07, 2017
Pretty good campground overall. Just need a better firepit on tent site 10 and a larger playground for kids.
Aug 05, 2017
Aug 04, 2017
the only campground in the area with a lot of shade!
Aug 04, 2017
Wish it had better views, privacy, and shade, but overall a nice place to stay. First KOA experience and compared to the other campgrounds in the area this one appeared the nicest.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
Clean. Tent sites gave enough room between people.
Aug 01, 2017
Great pool and facilities... excellent location!
Jul 31, 2017
Very friendly staff, shady campsites, clean showers and restrooms, great proximity to Badlands National Park.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
It was short! We thought the bathrooms were clean, but other areas of the campground were weedy (kids play area, mini golf) & unkept.
Jul 31, 2017
Amazing people and I mean all the employees were amazing!!!
Jul 28, 2017
The bathrooms were clean. The campground had trees, making it feel more natural than many others. We had a good time. Thank you.
Jul 27, 2017
Great people.
Jul 25, 2017
Great place to stay. The deluxe tent sites "extras" (outlets and sink) made our stay even easier. Loved the pool and mini golf!
Jul 25, 2017
Badlands KOA is great, we were there during a cicada outbreak and our 7 year old loved it! (others might not)
Jul 25, 2017
Friendly folks, relaxed attitude, one of the most comfortable camps I've stayed at.
Jul 24, 2017
I was very pleased with this KOA. As a tent camper, KOA's are usually not our first choice--we prefer something a bit more primitive (secluded and quiet) but we had a great stay. Nice shady spot (essential in the summer heat!) and excellent hosts.
Jul 24, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at this KOA, it was short. We did not use any of the amenities such as the pool or mini golf, but there was a lot offered. We stayed in the wagon wheel with a tent. We really liked the space with some privacy from the fence, the electric, & the sink was great... we wished we had that at our future KOA stops. My only complaint was the toilets were slow to flush.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice shade in an area of the country where shade is hard to come by!!
Jul 24, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 23, 2017
Worst camping experience ever. Staff is more concerned with policing than accommodating. Bat feces on the kitchen counters in the tent pavilion area that no one ever cleans. Showers were the most disgusting I have ever seen in a campground. Staff should be more concerned cleaning and remodeling their bathrooms than posting nasty notes about what not to flush. I could not wait to leave.Never again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you were unhappy during your stay. Please contact onsite staff with cleaning concerns when you are here so we can address the problems to your benefit. We appreciate your feedback.
Jul 22, 2017
Ok campground with very little shade. The showers and bathrooms are dirty, shower curtains need replaced for sure....
Jul 22, 2017
Loved being able to purchase breakfast. Traveling as a family didn't have room to pack cooking just tents & cots. Thank you for this great service!
Jul 22, 2017
the trees, swimming pool and friendly staff make this campground ideal when you are visiting the Badlands.
Jul 22, 2017
I was suprised at how much shade this campground had. Which was excellent for the hot July when we visited.
Jul 21, 2017
We loved this KOA!
Jul 20, 2017
The location was good. Nice stay in the teepee. It was very neat to stay in one. The kids enjoyed the pool. The bathrooms felt as if they needed some attention.
Jul 20, 2017
We enjoyed our stay, but were taken aback by the aggressive nature in which the owner attacked our requests to charge our electric car. We offered to pay for a short top-up charge, so that we could comfortably make it to Grand Rapids. In the end we spent two hours in the heat of the day charging at the local non-KOA campground in Interior. Unnecessary ignorance!!
Jul 20, 2017
Awesome campground! The couple who run it are terrific!
Jul 18, 2017
we had a very good time and no problems
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award