Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Tent Reviews

Aug 29, 2013
It was a nice, basic KOA. I would suggest it to anyone planning to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
The flies in the campsite were absolutely unbearable. Also, some other campers left a disgusting mess in the camper kitchen located next to us. The people working there were great and extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Nice location. But.....this place was completely swarming, and I mean swarming with flies. We stayed in the tent village and did enjoy the quiet and break from the flies while in our tent....But during the time out of our tent it was almost unbearable. Also, the smell of the septic system was rather close to the tent area! I would avoid this KOA.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great place!
Aug 25, 2013
Good clean campground very close to the Badlands. The amenities are excellent for a campground and the staff friendly. I stayed at this campground in 1995 on a family vacation, it was just like a remembered it, but even better.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
I liked it a lot but the mosquitoes was a big problem
Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and quite camp sites. Good activities for the kids and they loved the fun bikes.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Beautiful area, pool was nice with the hot weather, having food available as an option to cooking was nice.
Aug 13, 2013
very friendly staff and owners. super clean bath house and laundry area. the entire grounds were very clean and well groomed. i recommend this campground 100%. thanks for a great experience
Aug 12, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
The tent pads were great. Wood framed and filled with small round rocks that made a smooth surface and didn't let water collect under tent.
Aug 11, 2013
Great place to stay! It was a treat to go thru the Badlands to reach to the KOA. The pool was refreshing plus they have dinner and breakfast served if you don't feel like cooking.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
nice place, good facility, clean pool and bathrooms. We wish the "pancake breakfast" would go until 10 am :(... we missed it because they stop stop accepting at 9am.
Aug 08, 2013
Aug 07, 2013
This KOA is very clean the folks there are super friendly and always ready to help.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Nice quaint site with beautiful views! Would love to stay longer next time.
Aug 03, 2013
Camped in tent on ground. Clean, well maintained, good availability of services. A suggestion for improvement is to add reflectors to edge of road to assist in navigating dark roads.
Aug 03, 2013
loved the pavilion!! nice setup. friendly.
Aug 02, 2013
Friendly staff, clean, convenient to the national park.
Aug 01, 2013
The campground is just a few miles outside of Badlands Nat'l Park and was easy to find. Our tent site was clean and flat. The staff lent us a grill to use over our fire pit, which was wonderful. The bathrooms were reasonably clean. The pool was clean, including the kiddie pool.
Jul 31, 2013
There was a nice pad made up to put the tent on which is much nicer than being on an incline or trying to ram tent stakes into solid ground. It rained all night but the lady at reception had warned us ahead of time and we had our rain gear ready!
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
This is one of the nicest KOA's I've stayed at, and the ONLY one with shade in the Badlands! The restrooms were always clean and the store was fairly well-stocked. Having access to a pool was also a great addition during the summer heat. If planning on staying at KOA's during a trip to the Black Hills - be warned, none in that region are as nice and quiet as this one.
Jul 29, 2013
The tent village was well maintained.
Jul 28, 2013
Nice campground
Jul 28, 2013
We camped all week, and this was our favorite location. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 27, 2013
WE WERE PUT TOO CLOSE TO THE SEWAGE TREATMENT FIELD AND THE STENCH WAS PRETTY BAD.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that you experienced that. We put a lot of time into maintaining our septic system to prevent unpleasant odors, but weather and other factors can cause odor occasionally. In response to your feedback, we have made some changes to improve the situation.
Jul 26, 2013
We tented at this site and loved our site and thought the whole campsite was friendly, ver clean and organized. We enjoyed the pancake breakfast that you could buy for a very reasonable amount and also used their very clean laundry facilities.
Jul 26, 2013
Tent site was very nice. Staff was very helpful and bathrooms were pretty clean. Pool not open during hours we were there. Playground was ok.
Jul 26, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the night so I cannot rate the other services. The only reason I am not giving the camp a great rating is because our site was close to the sewage pond and during the night it seemed to have gone septic or something and had a terrible odor. The airation water was green so maybe you should increase the treatment or add peroxied/O2

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry that you experienced an odor from the septic system. We do spend a lot of time maintaining it, but many factors can cause an occasional odor. Thank you for your feedback.
Jul 25, 2013
Another great year of camping @ Badlands! Your people were once again pleasant & helpful. See you next year!
Jul 22, 2013
Great location, clean and family friendly:-)
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 20, 2013
Nice clean Kampground. Thanks
Jul 16, 2013
We had a great time!
Jul 15, 2013
Wi-Fi was a bit spotty.
Jul 15, 2013
There were a lot of things to do for both the kids & adults. Camping sites were shaded and very nice. Neighbors were quiet.
Jul 14, 2013
Great campsite. Excellent staff. Good location. Only negative is the bathrooms need updating but they are very clean! We would go back.
Jul 09, 2013
Facilities were clean. Staff was friendly. Setting was convenient but not beautiful. Mosquitos were terrible. We were eaten alive!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Good News! We have been managing the mosquitos with natural products and the situation is much improved.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 07, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.