Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 17 - October 4

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337


20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 19, 2015
Great stay - clean accommodations thank you
Aug 18, 2015
The amenities were all well-maintained, and easily accessible, and our Deluxe Cabin was very clean and in excellent condition. The location was excellent!
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
The amenities and owners of this KOA are fantastic! The very new cabin was beautiful and the kids were excited to see all the activities they choose from during our stay.
Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful spot, cabin was great, pool was perfect, lovely for taking a walk and relaxing, nice drive through the Badlands, cafe was perfect.
Aug 12, 2015
One of the best campgrounds I have ever been to. We stayed in one of the newer cabins which was clean and comfortable. Beautiful star filled skies at night where we saw shooting stars and Satellites. Very close to the Badlands and we used this as a base and drove to Rushmore which is 2 hours away. I would stay here again and definately would recommend this campground .
Aug 10, 2015
We only stayed a night in a deluxe cabin. The cabin was great. Clean and met the needs of our family of five. We loved having breakfast cooked for us, the pancakes were great!!
Aug 10, 2015
Nice place to stay - bathrooms could be updated.
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
We are tent campers, but stayed in one of the cabins for 2 nights. The temp. controlled AC was really appreciated, as was the food option, especially in such a remote location. The trees and shade were abundant, especially compared to most RV parks. The shower heads and faucet handles could use some attention though!
Aug 04, 2015
Wonderful campground...very clean and peaceful. Great views! Deluxe camp cabins were neat and clean. Staff was wonderful! Will definitely stay again if I get back to SD.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
A nice and clean campground with a very nice and helpful staff. I am looking forward to my next visit!
Aug 02, 2015
Love KOA's proximity to the Badlands National Park! Nice cabins and amenities. Overall a great campground! ☺️
Aug 02, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late in the day after a day of Badlands exploration. Cabin was nice and they have Buffalo burgers and offer breakfast also. They had a nasty storm the night we stayed. No problem, we just watched from our porch!
Aug 01, 2015
Late arrival but still greeted personally. Thanks so much.
Aug 01, 2015
Rented a Kabin and was pleasantly surprised. For the price my expectation was low, but nicer then some hotels I saw in the past year.
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was nice, the bathrooms were clean. The cabin we stayed in was in need of some repairs.
Jul 30, 2015
very helpful staff. Nice location inside the badlands area (park admittance required $15). Very nice tent sites out back in the trees.
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in a cabin with a kitchen and bath. It was a very nice unit at a very reasonable price. We had nothing to complain about at this campground. They were nice and hospitable. We LOVED the cabin.
Jul 29, 2015
Liked the AC. Cabin felt crowded. Noisy neighbors - sites too close together. Friendly owners/staff.
Jul 27, 2015
We were spoiled using the deluxe Kamping Kabin! We really loved the set up of the KOA grounds and we want to come back! Bob & Karen made us feel VERY welcome!!
Jul 27, 2015
The AC in our cabin kept flipping off, most of the campground could use some paint, the bathrooms weren't very clean, and just looked like the most tired KOA I have been to.
Jul 27, 2015
Our Kamping Kabin was clean and comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool. The bathrooms/showers were clean. The store had everything we needed.
Jul 27, 2015
Just what we needed! Made the reservation over the phone. Got there right after their office closed. They were still open and helped us out.
Jul 26, 2015
Absolutely the best KOA we,ve been at.
Jul 25, 2015
We stayed 1 night in a deluxe cabin and wished we had spent our whole vacation there rather than hotel jumping. Very clean park, great amenities, great owners and awesome Indian tacos & Pancakes! Can't wait to go back someday.
Jul 25, 2015
The cabin was clean. The setting was relaxing and beautiful. I loved the variety of things that the campgrounds offered for entertainment.
Jul 24, 2015
loved it. great pool. nice people that manage it. very pleased.
Jul 24, 2015
Fun and friendly campground close enough to explore the badlands, or stay as you are traveling through them.
Jul 23, 2015
Clean campground, decent pool, bathrooms were nice. Beds in cabin were hard, but still better than sleeping on the ground. The kids liked the playground. I tried checking in one hour early and was told I would have to pay a $5 fee but my cabin was not clean yet. Needless to say we just waited and drove around the park more. Overall a decent experience.
Jul 23, 2015
Awesome! Quiet! Very clean!!
Jul 23, 2015
Very clean!
Jul 21, 2015
We stayed for 2 days. The cabins were nice, but the wifi never worked and when you are away from family with no communication it is hard. I would work on a better system.
Jul 21, 2015
This is my favorite KOA. I would recommend it to anybody and everybody. Location is great. It even offers breakfast and dinners for a small price. And they are very good. Great place for families.
Jul 21, 2015
staff was helpful, cabin was exactly as I expected.
Jul 20, 2015
The campground itself is "technically" in the Badlands, but don't expect to see any of the beauty from your camp spot. It's about four miles outside, so you won't get a space with a view. And the pool.... kind of scary how dirty it was. I would recommend finding somewhere closer to the actual visitors center of the Badlands.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice place, cabin was comfortable and everything worked correctly. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 17, 2015
Staff great-a bit disorganized-they cancelled our reservation accidentally before our arrival and then booked us in the wrong size cabin. However, they offered us a discount and were very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 17, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
Really a great experience. The cabin was clean and we had no difficulties getting in or out.
Jul 13, 2015
WE have been coming to the Badlands KOA for over 20 years and will continue to do so. My scout troop really liked the comfy cabins
Jul 12, 2015
Nice, clean cabin; very nice grounds; very courteous hosts. Overall, a nice cole of nights!
Jul 11, 2015
great staff! friendly, helpful, relaxing and very clean. a super KOA experience!
Jul 10, 2015
a gem in the wild! friendly helpful and clean! the cabin was super! a real KOA experience! Super Staff!
Jul 10, 2015
I had made reservations 3 months in advance and when i arrived i didnt get the cabins i had reserved. Staff apologized,gave us a discount and free breakfast.daughter was obnoxious to the owner but apologized. From then on the owners were rude especially the man. We were treated rudely at the breakfast and listened to him treat a little girl rudely after she asked him for more syrup.
Jul 10, 2015
Camping cabin # 94 was fantastic. The staff was great and the Indian taco was wonderful. We would highly recommend your campground. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2015
We loved it!!
Jul 07, 2015
The owners of this place are super efficient, patient and welcoming! We had a late arrival (midnight), but they were more than willing to work with us. The entire campsite is clean, organized, and extremely peaceful. We highly, highly recommend this KOA site if you are planning a trip to the Badlands.
Jul 06, 2015
great place to stay - can't find anything wrong with it - the only negatives were out of your control such as the heat and the various mosquitoes and knats.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award