Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 06, 2017
Super nice people at this campground, but seemed like facilities were a little older than other KOA's I've been at. Overall, okay experience.
Aug 06, 2017
The camp ground was quiet and clean. I rented a cabin and it was clean. The bathrooms/showers were very clean as well.
Aug 05, 2017
Deluxe cabin very nice. Suggest more hooks in bathroom. Also, website needs to be clear regarding linens, dishes and outdoor chairs. I inquired about all of this but received conflicting information. Was told the unit only had swing, but it has patio table and chairs also. Was told it had basic dishes, it had none. Was told the linens were an extra charge but they were not. It was all okay.
Aug 05, 2017
Our first stay in a KOA:) We had a camping cabin and liked the convenience of it as we weren't there long enough to tent camp and fully enjoy the amenities. Loved Kookie's breakfast and recommend dinner at the Lodge in the Badlands.
Aug 04, 2017
The employees were friendly and our cabin was very comfortable and clean. It was full of flies when we arrived however. I think housekeeping may have left the doors open when cleaning. Also, it would have been nice if the air would have been turned in when we arrived. It should be noted somewhere on the website that alcohol is not sold at this KOA due to the fact that they are on the reservation.
Aug 03, 2017
Never been to this KOA before it was a great experience.
Aug 03, 2017
This was my first time staying at a KOA so I didn't really understand how they worked and the staff was friendly and understanding with me.
Aug 02, 2017
This is one of the best KOA's I've been to. I don't know if being in the Badlands makes it so good, but we stay here every time we travel out west. I love it.
Aug 02, 2017
Nice campgrounf
Jul 31, 2017
We had a wonderful time! Our cabin was beautiful and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the pool, mini golf and teather ball. Our teenage daughter said she wished we were staying longer! It was a delight and we appreciate all you do to make it a wonderful destination for our family.
Jul 31, 2017
very friendly and helpful host
Jul 31, 2017
Nice clean bathrooms, and the AC in our cabin worked great! We are supper from the food stand near the office - the Indian Taco was fantastic!
Jul 31, 2017
The dog park was awesome, the cabin was spotless, the employees wonderful, the food yummy. Such a nice, quiet place to relax and enjoy the evening after a very long day of travel. :-)
Jul 30, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very nice and accommodating.
Jul 29, 2017
Jul 25, 2017
Best campground ever! Beautiful cabins and pool.
Jul 25, 2017
was disappointed in "deluxe camping cabin" as compared to the one we stayed at near rapid city. No TV, less than intermittent wifi, cabin too, too small small, no kitchenette (only microwave and college size frig) all that seemed to have been done to a regular cabin was to add bathroom, microwave and very small frig; have pictures of the deluxe cabin near rapid city, it you want to see them.
Jul 25, 2017
bathrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have recently updated the bathrooms in the main building. This renovation included replacing all the fixtures and the stall walls. We have the other bathroom slated for renovation next year.
Jul 24, 2017
Staff were kind, took the time to answer all my questions, bathrooms were cleaned, they even had the air conditioner on when we arrived late into the night!!!!! Thank you!!!
Jul 23, 2017
Pretty campground w nice air conditioned cabin. The chicades singing was a new experience and kind of excotic. The only minus was the bathrooms were a little over used and not so clean.
Jul 23, 2017
Great location all necessary amenities, nice people.
Jul 22, 2017
Super staff and owners. Very personable. Great location to explore the area. Stayed two nights, but wished we could stay longer. Clean, friendly even though it was super busy and triple digit temps. Would certainly come back! Love it here.
Jul 21, 2017
Great pancakes, great indian tacos, nice people! I will be back!
Jul 20, 2017
we've stayed here many times over the years. this year we arrived after closing and left before they opened, so really can't judge on much.
Jul 20, 2017
It was very convenient to Badlands NP. Our cabin AC didn't work very well, but staff put a fan in cabin to help circulate and that helped. Bathrooms and pool were clean. Beds were comfortable for KOA cabins.
Jul 19, 2017
Perfect spot for a visit to Badlands - everyone was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Dinner was great and the price couldn't be beat.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even brought us a new ac unit when ours stopped working well. It was a great experience!
Jul 19, 2017
Facilities were great. I was happy with everything until check out when I was charged for overages. (I checked out an hour late) late fees were not stated anywhere in the policy. Sometimes life happens, and you need an extra hour to pack up.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The checkout time of 11 AM is indicated on both sides of the campground map provided at check in. We have a guarantee for arriving guests that their site will be available by 1 PM, and after guests leave, we do need to clean up the campsite for the new occupant. We are sorry this was not clear to you. We try to make this policy straightforward.
Jul 17, 2017
Deluxe family cabin was fantastic. Food shack was simple, but really good food. The mini golf course was pretty worn down, but the kids had fun. Pool was very good. No e selection of food and stuff in the shop.
Jul 17, 2017
I like this KOA, have stayed there numerous times. On our most recent visit, we had a less than satisfactory stay because the air conditioner in our Kabin couldn't cool to below 90 degrees. The outside temperature was 103 but a breeze made sitting outside slightly better than being inside. It was a long night.
Jul 16, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was awesome. It is like a home away from home. You have your own shower and bathroom, small kitchen with microwave and fridge, and sleeping for four. Outside it has a nice pavers patio, table with umbrella, and Weber charcoal grill. It was a great experience.
Jul 14, 2017
I and three children ages 7 to 11 years old stayed in a deluxe cabin for two days. The kids had a lot of fun. They spent a lot of time in the pool during the upper 90 degree days. The cabin was clean and bedding and towels were furnished. There were quite a few ants in the cabin, something I did not get around to mentioning to the management. Otherwise everything was good.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Clean washrooms, friendly people, and a comfortable cabin.
Jul 13, 2017
This was our first experience camping in the cabins, we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the camp store and enjoyed the bike rentals.
Jul 12, 2017
We LOVED staying in the cabin while we explored South Dakota. The hosts and staff were wonderful!
Jul 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, wide variety of food options. Easy to find with minimal traffic on the main road. Easy access to the Badlands enterance.
Jul 12, 2017
Two nights in a tent and one in a cabin -- all clean. Good service when checking in. Will go back.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabin had a carpenter ant infestation and the solution was to buy traps in the office. A/c unit was too small to cool the cabin on a 90 degree day, asked for help but was told to wait and no one ever came.
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed one night and it was great! Cabin was clean and the employees were friendly and accommodating!
Jul 11, 2017
mostly my stay was park & sleep as was visiting family in area, but cabin was so nice wish we had, more time to enjoy! plus people were so accomidating
Jul 11, 2017
Extremely helpful staff. The deluxe cabin is worth the money! A delightful stay at a beautiful site.
Jul 10, 2017
The A/C units had not had their filters cleaned in ages and were inefficient. One unit did not work at all and the owners did not come to look at it even after complaints were made. The campground advertises that wifi is available, but is so poor that it was inaccessible. Absolutely not worth the money, we will not return and do not recommend.
Jul 09, 2017
We stay in this KOA every year, usually September when it is cooler and less crowded. Decided on July 4th so we can go to the Devil's Tower KOA in September. The owners continue to make improvements each year to include now having bedding in the Deluxe Cabins. We always enjoy this KOA because it is just the right size and easy access to the Badlands.
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
The hosts were friendly and helpful. The Indian tacos are great! I stayed in a cabin that was well maintained and clean. If you're coming in the summer, bring a fan or two.
Jul 07, 2017
We enjoyed it very much. The cabin was set up perfectly. Loved the food and the pool. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely come back.
Jul 07, 2017
This was our first ever stay at a KOA facility. It was fantastic. We were stopping for the night on our way to Mt Rushmore, and I almost wanted to stay for another night.
Jul 06, 2017
The breakfast was overpriced and our sandwiches were a little cold. The staff was very friendly though!
Jul 06, 2017
Wonderful Staff. We loved the food service and activities available. Showers are okay. The pool seemed to be a bit cloudy, but I believe this was because of the dust in the area so we still swam in it. Convenient location for BNP.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award