Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jun 24, 2015
Owners were very accomadating! Great place to stay!
Jun 23, 2015
The power was out for the first night and day of our stay, including water and toilets. Storms first night and sheriff came around and told us to take cover. Owners were not on site. It was dangerous and no one knew what was going on. Owner was rude when asked about when power may come back on. I realize it wasn't up to her, but just found general rudeness about most things.
Jun 22, 2015
Helpful, kind employees. Camper cabin was clean and kept us dry in the rainstorm. Ceiling fan is a good addition.
Jun 22, 2015
Even though the power went out, the staff did their best to keep guests happy
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The cabin was very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. We enjoyed oourselves very much. My only complaint was that we had to listen to a loud machine moving gravel around the whole afternoon and evening.
Jun 18, 2015
The Campground is clean and well maintained with a friendly staff. Always a pleasure to Stay here.
Jun 17, 2015
We loved this KOA! The cleanest campground with the nicest staff of any KOA we've stayed at. They made us feel at home and there was so much fun stuff to do there. Families should see the Sod House, feed the prairie dogs at the Ranch House, and look for wildlife everywhere. Highly recommended.
Jun 15, 2015
THIS IS AN AWESOME KOA!! FRIENDLY STAFF, CLEAN GROUNDS. AND GREAT CABIN!!
Jun 14, 2015
Nice campground, but there was construction on the playground and the pool wasn't working.
Jun 11, 2015
Thanks for an enjoyable stay in one of your cabins.
Jun 10, 2015
Great campground, very friendly people. Clean and well-organized, lots to do.
Jun 10, 2015
Lovely facility and staff. Would stay again.
Jun 07, 2015
Cozy cabins, clean restrooms, friendly staff, quiet at night, close to visitor center at park for hiking and programs,well kept grounds. Nice place!
Jun 03, 2015
Nice location, quiet, shady; well managed with good facilities and friendly management.
Jun 02, 2015
A great KOA, except (and not their fault at all) cellphones don't work well in the Badlands. Also, you will be ticketed $15.00 per car to drive through the Badlands to the campground. Just FYI -- Again, not their fault.
Jun 01, 2015
Campground staff were helpful and friendly. The setting of the campground is very pleasant. The deluxe cabin I stayed in was cute and clean. I loved the porch swing! I had breakfast at the camp kitchen every day and they made killer pancakes! Fun!
May 31, 2015
This was our first time staying at a KOA campground and we really enjoyed the campground experience. It was very budget friendly and the cabin was unique.
May 31, 2015
Cabins are very nice and well maintained.
May 28, 2015
Staff is amazing. Great prices on camp sites and cabin. The campground and its amenities is exceptionally clean, onsite store prices are very reasonable and the overall atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Don't miss the all you can eat pancake breakfast. It is delicious and served with a big smile. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in South Dakota over Memorial Day weekend!
May 27, 2015
The new owners were wonderful and are doing an amazing job at updating and cleaning. We loved our stay and will be back.
May 26, 2015
Nice campground with everything a family could ever need
May 25, 2015
Clean. Wooded. Nice store. Good pancakes. Pleasant staff. Worth the drive off I-90.
May 23, 2015
Excellent place, very friendly staff, I would recommend.
May 23, 2015
Very enjoyable - loved the deluxe kabin - our grandchildren had a great time. Thought it was really cool. Very friendly. We have stayed here before and I can tell you are as committed as ever to make your guests comfortable and welcome!
May 20, 2015
It was really cold the night we booked a campsite, and we were able to upgrade to a delux cabin. It was great! So clean and cozy. We had a wonderful time. The dog park was also a huge bonus!
May 18, 2015
What a great staff!! Everyone went out of there way to accommodate us when the power went out. Gave us different lodge to make us comfortable. They also feed us a great dinner. Thank you All
May 12, 2015
My husband I and stayed for three nights in a deluxe cabin and it was a brand new, beautiful little cabin! We were very pleasantly surprised by this KOA, as after driving in such a desolate area, we weren't expecting much, but it was well-maintained! The grounds were nice and it was nice to see trees on the property; we weren't expecting that considering the surrounding landscape!
May 09, 2015
I had 4 wonderful days in a cabin at the Badlands campgrounds. Such a peaceful place to stay. I will definitely stay there again. I recommend it highly!
May 05, 2015
Mattress was uncomfortable but other than that we loved the cabin and the campground!! Glad to find a clean place to stay!
May 03, 2015
Wonderful people here. I will definitely be back to stays...
Apr 26, 2015
Oct 20, 2014
Like the location away from freeways
Oct 04, 2014
Nice grounds, clean and well kept buildings, comfortable Deluxe Kabin, friendly staff.
Oct 01, 2014
Beautiful!
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 29, 2014
This is a lovely place to stay and relax--clean, well managed, friendly, great sight-seeing. This was our second stay and would recommend this place highly.
Sep 26, 2014
Beautiful setting, very nice people - we return every year
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. You were very accomodating with us since we were towing a trailer and it worked out well. Everything was very clean and we hope we left it like we found it. Enjoy your winter.
Sep 21, 2014
frustrated that my stay was just charged to my card without asking as I stood there with cash in my hand. When i mentioned wanting to pay cash, the clerk told me she just charged it, and gave the impression that crediting it and taking cash was far to much work. Site was nice, but staff was short and unfriendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All sites require that a one night deposit be charged to your credit card at the time of the reservation. However, it is always possible to credit that charge in exchange for cash. We do that routinely and would have been happy to do that for you had you asked.
Sep 20, 2014
bugs everywhere! the stagnant river behind the park lent itself to multiple mosquitos. the cabins are very very far from the bathrooms. well, i guess there were bathrooms closer but they closed them down to winterize them in the summer!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While September is a great time to travel due to fewer people and lower rates, it also means that we must begin to winterize some of our water lines in advance of cold temperatures. In fact, lows the week of your visit were below freezing. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 12, 2014
Immaculate cabins, bathrooms, and showers. Also, the owners were so helpful when we looked for places to eat. Would definitely stay here again!
Sep 11, 2014
Nice place to stay
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We always stay at the Badlands KOA when we're in this area. We love the location near the White River and the shady site. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the facilities are clean and welcoming. We've recommended this place to several people as the best place to camp in the Badlands.
Sep 06, 2014
Kind of "out of the way" you have to go through Badlands National Park to get to the campground. Facilities are dated but functional. There is little in the way of restruant or fuel in the area so plan ahead. Very pleasant and helpful staff!
Sep 04, 2014
Staff extremely friendly and very clean!!
Sep 03, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.