Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jul 12, 2015
Nice, clean cabin; very nice grounds; very courteous hosts. Overall, a nice cole of nights!
Jul 11, 2015
great staff! friendly, helpful, relaxing and very clean. a super KOA experience!
Jul 10, 2015
a gem in the wild! friendly helpful and clean! the cabin was super! a real KOA experience! Super Staff!
Jul 10, 2015
I had made reservations 3 months in advance and when i arrived i didnt get the cabins i had reserved. Staff apologized,gave us a discount and free breakfast.daughter was obnoxious to the owner but apologized. From then on the owners were rude especially the man. We were treated rudely at the breakfast and listened to him treat a little girl rudely after she asked him for more syrup.
Jul 10, 2015
Camping cabin # 94 was fantastic. The staff was great and the Indian taco was wonderful. We would highly recommend your campground. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2015
We loved it!!
Jul 07, 2015
The owners of this place are super efficient, patient and welcoming! We had a late arrival (midnight), but they were more than willing to work with us. The entire campsite is clean, organized, and extremely peaceful. We highly, highly recommend this KOA site if you are planning a trip to the Badlands.
Jul 06, 2015
great place to stay - can't find anything wrong with it - the only negatives were out of your control such as the heat and the various mosquitoes and knats.
Jul 06, 2015
Great stay!
Jul 06, 2015
for the location that the camp was, it was great. it was rather hard to find and was rather far from the interstate but a pleasant surprise when we got there. The location in the badlands was excellent. great experience. Thanks
Jul 05, 2015
Loved that the pool was warm for everyone! Great cabin, loved having a small fridge and it was clean. Great 2 night stay!
Jul 04, 2015
Great, great cabin! Loved that there was A/C and an option to buy breakfast and dinner. The mattresses were incredibly uncomfortable though...if we would have gotten a better night's sleep, it might have been a perfect stay...
Jul 03, 2015
Loved the pool...great rustic cabin. Very effecient....loved Karen and Bob... made our stay great!
Jul 03, 2015
camping cabin beautifully maintained. A/C much appreciated, amenities top notch. would stay again any time.
Jun 30, 2015
The deluxe cabin was wonderful!
Jun 29, 2015
I wish we could've stayed longer - we really liked the cabin that we stayed in and the owners were very friendly. They do a great job keeping up the campground. If we are back in SD we will definitely come back here.
Jun 29, 2015
Awesome place, great staff!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Great service. Wonderful wooded campground. Comfortable log cabin with AC, full bathroom, fridge and microwave. The pool could be bigger given the size of the campground- but the kids loved it anyway.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly owners and staff. Beautiful location near the Snake River. Dinner and breakfast items are nice. Bathrooms were very clean. We rented a cabin and loved the porch swing out front and wifi. Renting bedding made our stay very comfortable.
Jun 29, 2015
Our cabin had a strong odor of mothballs. This made it very hard to sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
Horrible stay. Left at 8 in morning after 1st night & Karen Brown made negative comments about our God upon checkout. I realize this doesn't reflect the normal Koa experience, but we will never stay at White River Koa again!
Jun 28, 2015
Thanks Bob and Karen for your great hospitality, it made our visit to the badlands even more special. Campground and cabin was very clean and neat and everyone very friendly, breakfast and dinner were awesome!
Jun 27, 2015
Room was excellent and clean Thrilled to find a microwave saved a lot of cooking time.
Jun 27, 2015
There are so many great things about this campsite! First, it is super clean! We stayed in a cabin for a week and everyday we would see them clean the other cabins until they shined. The grounds are wonderful also. It was super quiet at night. The dog park was a wonderful addition. Our dogs loved going everyday. It was a good experience.
Jun 27, 2015
Stopped in while visiting the Badlands. Wonderful shaded sites. Loved the dog run. Staff was great!
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
This was the first KOA we had stayed at in a long time. I was expecting something along a busy highway. Instead, this KOA was pleasantly tucked away a few miles outside of Badlands National Park. It was a great way to start our western roadtrip.
Jun 24, 2015
Owners were very accomadating! Great place to stay!
Jun 23, 2015
The power was out for the first night and day of our stay, including water and toilets. Storms first night and sheriff came around and told us to take cover. Owners were not on site. It was dangerous and no one knew what was going on. Owner was rude when asked about when power may come back on. I realize it wasn't up to her, but just found general rudeness about most things.
Jun 22, 2015
Helpful, kind employees. Camper cabin was clean and kept us dry in the rainstorm. Ceiling fan is a good addition.
Jun 22, 2015
Even though the power went out, the staff did their best to keep guests happy
Jun 22, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
The cabin was very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. We enjoyed oourselves very much. My only complaint was that we had to listen to a loud machine moving gravel around the whole afternoon and evening.
Jun 18, 2015
The Campground is clean and well maintained with a friendly staff. Always a pleasure to Stay here.
Jun 17, 2015
We loved this KOA! The cleanest campground with the nicest staff of any KOA we've stayed at. They made us feel at home and there was so much fun stuff to do there. Families should see the Sod House, feed the prairie dogs at the Ranch House, and look for wildlife everywhere. Highly recommended.
Jun 15, 2015
THIS IS AN AWESOME KOA!! FRIENDLY STAFF, CLEAN GROUNDS. AND GREAT CABIN!!
Jun 14, 2015
Nice campground, but there was construction on the playground and the pool wasn't working.
Jun 11, 2015
Thanks for an enjoyable stay in one of your cabins.
Jun 10, 2015
Great campground, very friendly people. Clean and well-organized, lots to do.
Jun 10, 2015
Lovely facility and staff. Would stay again.
Jun 07, 2015
Cozy cabins, clean restrooms, friendly staff, quiet at night, close to visitor center at park for hiking and programs,well kept grounds. Nice place!
Jun 03, 2015
Nice location, quiet, shady; well managed with good facilities and friendly management.
Jun 02, 2015
A great KOA, except (and not their fault at all) cellphones don't work well in the Badlands. Also, you will be ticketed $15.00 per car to drive through the Badlands to the campground. Just FYI -- Again, not their fault.
Jun 01, 2015
Campground staff were helpful and friendly. The setting of the campground is very pleasant. The deluxe cabin I stayed in was cute and clean. I loved the porch swing! I had breakfast at the camp kitchen every day and they made killer pancakes! Fun!
May 31, 2015
This was our first time staying at a KOA campground and we really enjoyed the campground experience. It was very budget friendly and the cabin was unique.
May 31, 2015
Cabins are very nice and well maintained.
May 28, 2015
Staff is amazing. Great prices on camp sites and cabin. The campground and its amenities is exceptionally clean, onsite store prices are very reasonable and the overall atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Don't miss the all you can eat pancake breakfast. It is delicious and served with a big smile. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in South Dakota over Memorial Day weekend!
May 27, 2015
The new owners were wonderful and are doing an amazing job at updating and cleaning. We loved our stay and will be back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.