Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 28 - September 30

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Jul 23, 2017
Pretty campground w nice air conditioned cabin. The chicades singing was a new experience and kind of excotic. The only minus was the bathrooms were a little over used and not so clean.
Jul 23, 2017
Great location all necessary amenities, nice people.
Jul 22, 2017
Super staff and owners. Very personable. Great location to explore the area. Stayed two nights, but wished we could stay longer. Clean, friendly even though it was super busy and triple digit temps. Would certainly come back! Love it here.
Jul 21, 2017
Great pancakes, great indian tacos, nice people! I will be back!
Jul 20, 2017
we've stayed here many times over the years. this year we arrived after closing and left before they opened, so really can't judge on much.
Jul 20, 2017
It was very convenient to Badlands NP. Our cabin AC didn't work very well, but staff put a fan in cabin to help circulate and that helped. Bathrooms and pool were clean. Beds were comfortable for KOA cabins.
Jul 19, 2017
Perfect spot for a visit to Badlands - everyone was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Dinner was great and the price couldn't be beat.
Jul 19, 2017
The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. They even brought us a new ac unit when ours stopped working well. It was a great experience!
Jul 19, 2017
Facilities were great. I was happy with everything until check out when I was charged for overages. (I checked out an hour late) late fees were not stated anywhere in the policy. Sometimes life happens, and you need an extra hour to pack up.
Jul 17, 2017
Deluxe family cabin was fantastic. Food shack was simple, but really good food. The mini golf course was pretty worn down, but the kids had fun. Pool was very good. No e selection of food and stuff in the shop.
Jul 17, 2017
I like this KOA, have stayed there numerous times. On our most recent visit, we had a less than satisfactory stay because the air conditioner in our Kabin couldn't cool to below 90 degrees. The outside temperature was 103 but a breeze made sitting outside slightly better than being inside. It was a long night.
Jul 16, 2017
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was awesome. It is like a home away from home. You have your own shower and bathroom, small kitchen with microwave and fridge, and sleeping for four. Outside it has a nice pavers patio, table with umbrella, and Weber charcoal grill. It was a great experience.
Jul 14, 2017
I and three children ages 7 to 11 years old stayed in a deluxe cabin for two days. The kids had a lot of fun. They spent a lot of time in the pool during the upper 90 degree days. The cabin was clean and bedding and towels were furnished. There were quite a few ants in the cabin, something I did not get around to mentioning to the management. Otherwise everything was good.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
Clean washrooms, friendly people, and a comfortable cabin.
Jul 13, 2017
This was our first experience camping in the cabins, we enjoyed our stay, appreciated the camp store and enjoyed the bike rentals.
Jul 12, 2017
We LOVED staying in the cabin while we explored South Dakota. The hosts and staff were wonderful!
Jul 12, 2017
Very friendly staff, clean restrooms, wide variety of food options. Easy to find with minimal traffic on the main road. Easy access to the Badlands enterance.
Jul 12, 2017
Two nights in a tent and one in a cabin -- all clean. Good service when checking in. Will go back.
Jul 12, 2017
Cabin had a carpenter ant infestation and the solution was to buy traps in the office. A/c unit was too small to cool the cabin on a 90 degree day, asked for help but was told to wait and no one ever came.
Jul 11, 2017
We stayed one night and it was great! Cabin was clean and the employees were friendly and accommodating!
Jul 11, 2017
mostly my stay was park & sleep as was visiting family in area, but cabin was so nice wish we had, more time to enjoy! plus people were so accomidating
Jul 11, 2017
Extremely helpful staff. The deluxe cabin is worth the money! A delightful stay at a beautiful site.
Jul 10, 2017
The A/C units had not had their filters cleaned in ages and were inefficient. One unit did not work at all and the owners did not come to look at it even after complaints were made. The campground advertises that wifi is available, but is so poor that it was inaccessible. Absolutely not worth the money, we will not return and do not recommend.
Jul 09, 2017
We stay in this KOA every year, usually September when it is cooler and less crowded. Decided on July 4th so we can go to the Devil's Tower KOA in September. The owners continue to make improvements each year to include now having bedding in the Deluxe Cabins. We always enjoy this KOA because it is just the right size and easy access to the Badlands.
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
The hosts were friendly and helpful. The Indian tacos are great! I stayed in a cabin that was well maintained and clean. If you're coming in the summer, bring a fan or two.
Jul 07, 2017
We enjoyed it very much. The cabin was set up perfectly. Loved the food and the pool. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely come back.
Jul 07, 2017
This was our first ever stay at a KOA facility. It was fantastic. We were stopping for the night on our way to Mt Rushmore, and I almost wanted to stay for another night.
Jul 06, 2017
The breakfast was overpriced and our sandwiches were a little cold. The staff was very friendly though!
Jul 06, 2017
Wonderful Staff. We loved the food service and activities available. Showers are okay. The pool seemed to be a bit cloudy, but I believe this was because of the dust in the area so we still swam in it. Convenient location for BNP.
Jul 04, 2017
we stayed in a deluxe camping cabin. It was very clean and nice. We stayed at this KOA, in a smaller deluxe cabin, a few years ago and were happy to come back. We have noticed several improvements to an already great camp. Love to see owners grow and improve their business. Thanks for being great hosts.
Jul 01, 2017
Short stay bu nice
Jun 27, 2017
Jun 21, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
Perfect! Lovely, quiet, many amenities.
Jun 20, 2017
Jun 20, 2017
A bit overpriced. Very clean & quiet. Renovations to one of the bathrooms/shower houses - the signs needed to be not only in English but other languages for the many overseas travelers who were confused.
Jun 19, 2017
Staff at White River KOA is the BEST!! Thanks so much for a great visit to the area and clean, affordable kabins :)
Jun 18, 2017
I had to make two last minute switches to my stay. I knew that when I made one change I would not be able to get the site I wanted but that was ok. Then the day of check in I decided to rent a cabin instead and one was available! Ilwe did camp during non peak season which I'm sure helped. But the campground was nice!. I loved hearing the owls. The staff was great!!!!
Jun 17, 2017
I think the cabin is overpriced. It smelled strongly of wood varnish and it was kind of difficult to sleep well and enjoy the surrounding natural air and sounds because of that. Staff was very nice and the campground is generally pleasant. Very pretty area. I'm not ruling out staying at KOA again, but this cabin experience definitely did not make it enticing to come back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do refinish the floors of the cabins each year. This keeps them in good condition and easier to clean. Sorry you had stayed so soon after it was varnished.
Jun 16, 2017
Best KOA I've ever been to. Staff was great and facilities were top notch!
Jun 14, 2017
Quiet, beautiful and friendly location! Would love to go back soon.
Jun 12, 2017
This KOA is a bit crowded and the bath houses could use some improvement. One of the bathhouses was under construction as was the swimming pool. It is on the river but no access to it.
Jun 12, 2017
You could have some more food options and a longer periods of when food is available.
Jun 12, 2017
Jun 11, 2017
Great location to the park. Nice and clean facilities. Friendly staff. We didn't have a chance to use the pool, but it looked nice. My only complaint was that there really wasn't a view of the river at all.
Jun 10, 2017
I have stayed at this KOA several times over the last 20+ years, it is awesome to see all the great changes over the years. The one thing that is consistent is how wonderful the staff is and how clean the camp grounds are. We always recommend this stop to anyone traveling to the Badlands, and will continue to! Thank you for a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Jun 07, 2017
Lifesavers! We had planned to tent camp,but had been outrunning a storm all day! You're cabin kept us safe & dry!
Jun 06, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award