Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Cabin Reviews

Nov 18, 2013
Our first KOA experience. Enjoyed our stay and the location was perfect. We compared all of our other KOAs to this one and this one was the best.
Oct 09, 2013
Oct 03, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
Very clean, peaceful and relaxing. Great campground...
Sep 30, 2013
The hosts were great - very friendly and helpful. It wss my first time at a KOA campground. I didn't know about the latch lever and couldn't open the cabin door. The host Lady helped me with that. Room was warm and cozy.
Sep 29, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
The only negative we had was there were really no eating places near campsite and since we were staying in a "no cooking, 1room cabin" it created a bit of an inconvenience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

During our peak season, we serve our famous pancake breakfast and Indian taco dinners. We try to make campers aware that our amenities,as well as those in the National Park, begin to close for the season after Labor Day.
Sep 23, 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this KOA. From check in to check out, it was a very pleasant experience. Grounds, kabin, and restroom facilities were clean and well maintained. We were appreciative of the Wi-Fi as there is not much cell signal. We did not bring our dogs on this trip, but thought the dog park and bathing tub were thoughtful additions.
Sep 19, 2013
Sep 15, 2013
Great location, very friendly staff! I would highly recommend this campground!
Sep 14, 2013
Was expecting more than a sink for the Kamp Kitchen. However it is late in the season. Dog friendly which is always a plus. GREAT location for the Badlands.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
We arrived to a Warm greeting. It was a hot day and the air was already turned on. Yes! The bathrooms were immaculate. The grounds well kept. The pancake breakfast was good and the Indian Tacos Were Excellent. Thanks for a great stay. Ron
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
KOA in the badlands was a wonderful backdrop to our introductory night in South Dakota. It was quaint and clean, simple and quiet. Loved the pool AND the stars. Thank you so much!
Aug 30, 2013
Nice place. The staff were great. Al together a good place to stay.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great people. Nice cabin. Awesome food. The best views from a koa so far.Easy late night check in. Great proximity to badlands national park.
Aug 26, 2013
Nice quiet campground. Easy to find. Mosquitos were horrible. Pack lots of bug spray.Cabins were clean. Mattress are thin and uncomfortable. Not much to do for teenagers. Breakfast was good and filling. River was dry, no fishing this time of the year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we have had an abnormally wet spring here, which has resulted in an unusual number of mosquitos. We are spraying the grounds when it is safe to do so and treating standing water on our property.
Aug 26, 2013
The employees were very friendly and helpful and the park had a lot of amenities. Only complaint was the flys! I would recommend this KOA. Had a great time!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies. An abnormally wet spring has made the flies a nuisance in this region. I hope you will visit us again when they are not an issue.
Aug 26, 2013
Campground was nice, an oasis in the Badlands. Only issue were the flies when we ate the on-site dinner and breakfast. A screened-in dining area would have been great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies! An abnormally wet spring has resulted in an unusual number of flies and mosquitos in this area. We hope that you will visit us again when that isn't an issue.
Aug 25, 2013
Very nice. We came in late after check in time and was very easy to get keys and find our little cabin. The only problem we had was finding the camp ground with our smart phone and GPS. The location was not correct in the satellite
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 22, 2013
very nice place, lots of mosquitoes, so come prepared with insect repellent. very friendly staff, clean pool and just a nice place.
Aug 22, 2013
Nice campground but mattresses in cabin too thin, wi-fi spotty, and mosquitoes terrible. But then we were camping by a river.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Steve and Marcy have continued in the great tradition of previous owners at the White River, Badlands KOA, excellent customer service and continued facilty improvement! The cabin I stayed in had a nice ceiling fan, which was very helpful circularting air rather than using the A/C. Terrific improvement and great stay. Thanks!!!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This was a wonderful camp, very quiet and close to Badlands NP. In the cabin, we did notice the mattresses were not as inviting (too hard!) as a previous KOA cabin was. It would be nice if there were more outlets and hooks for hanging gear.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Fantastic experience! Great staff and wonderful facilities.
Aug 18, 2013
No fly swatter, no chair. Mattress was horrible on bottom double bunk.
Aug 17, 2013
The owners were friendly and there were not too many rules. There were also Mosquitos
Aug 17, 2013
Not specific to this KOA. But there should not be a surcharge for having 4 people in a four or 6 person kamping Kabin. I understand surcharges for tent sites & RV's. but it feels like gouging to pay extra for less than rated Kabin occupancy.
Aug 16, 2013
Great location. Staff at registration was a bit unfriendly. Otherwise great stay.
Aug 15, 2013
KOA campggrounds are really great. The facilities are clean. Maybe some more restrooms are welcome in highseason.
Aug 15, 2013
The campground was well maintained and clean. A very nice spot with lots of trees. Their Indian Bread tacos were delicious. We would definitely stay again.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 13, 2013
Wished we had stayed longer than one night. And think we will all crave your delicious Indian tacos until we can visit again. The cabin we rented was immaculate, wish all places were as great and as clean as this KOA. Would highly recommend this KOA, and have bragged about how good your tacos were. Think all KOAs should have those. Have to say KOAs seem to be the best places to camp
Aug 11, 2013
We had a great stay. Only thing that would have been great would have been paper towels in the bathroom.
Aug 10, 2013
Great place to stay
Aug 09, 2013
Quiet campground. Very good Indian tacos.
Aug 07, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.