Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 01, 2013
Well run and professional campground.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
KOA in the badlands was a wonderful backdrop to our introductory night in South Dakota. It was quaint and clean, simple and quiet. Loved the pool AND the stars. Thank you so much!
Aug 31, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at your campground. On arrival Pat was full of information and eager to share it with us. Because of her we were able to make the most of our short visit with you. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Your South Texas friends.
Aug 31, 2013
We were impressed at first during check in and set up... good service, nice clean campground, pool etc. But the black fly population ruined our stay. We were in site 53 near the 'treatment pond' and could not spend any time outside due to the HUNDREDS of flies buzzing around our site. Please do not put any other campers near that pond until you take care of this INFESTATION!!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Yes, the flies have been a problem this year. This is true for the entire region, not just our campground and not as the result of our water treatment pond. We hope you will return on a better year.
Aug 30, 2013
Very nice park. Lots of trees and shade which was good as we were there for some 100 degree plus days. Steve and Marci really care about you and make you feel welcome.
Aug 30, 2013
Nice place. The staff were great. Al together a good place to stay.
Aug 30, 2013
They bent over backwards for us, can't thank them enough !
Aug 29, 2013
It was a nice, basic KOA. I would suggest it to anyone planning to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
The flies in the campsite were absolutely unbearable. Also, some other campers left a disgusting mess in the camper kitchen located next to us. The people working there were great and extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 29, 2013
Nice location. But.....this place was completely swarming, and I mean swarming with flies. We stayed in the tent village and did enjoy the quiet and break from the flies while in our tent....But during the time out of our tent it was almost unbearable. Also, the smell of the septic system was rather close to the tent area! I would avoid this KOA.
Aug 28, 2013
Clean and kids liked the pool and minigolf.
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 28, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Flies and Mosquitos were quite bad. Probably time of year. Management and staff excellent, Facilities neat and clean.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Beautiful location and very friendly staff. My only negative is the wifi was poor. Since there was also no cell phone signal, it made communication very difficult.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great place!
Aug 26, 2013
Great people. Nice cabin. Awesome food. The best views from a koa so far.Easy late night check in. Great proximity to badlands national park.
Aug 26, 2013
Nice quiet campground. Easy to find. Mosquitos were horrible. Pack lots of bug spray.Cabins were clean. Mattress are thin and uncomfortable. Not much to do for teenagers. Breakfast was good and filling. River was dry, no fishing this time of the year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we have had an abnormally wet spring here, which has resulted in an unusual number of mosquitos. We are spraying the grounds when it is safe to do so and treating standing water on our property.
Aug 26, 2013
The employees were very friendly and helpful and the park had a lot of amenities. Only complaint was the flys! I would recommend this KOA. Had a great time!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies. An abnormally wet spring has made the flies a nuisance in this region. I hope you will visit us again when they are not an issue.
Aug 26, 2013
Campground was nice, an oasis in the Badlands. Only issue were the flies when we ate the on-site dinner and breakfast. A screened-in dining area would have been great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies! An abnormally wet spring has resulted in an unusual number of flies and mosquitos in this area. We hope that you will visit us again when that isn't an issue.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Good clean campground very close to the Badlands. The amenities are excellent for a campground and the staff friendly. I stayed at this campground in 1995 on a family vacation, it was just like a remembered it, but even better.
Aug 25, 2013
Very nice. We came in late after check in time and was very easy to get keys and find our little cabin. The only problem we had was finding the camp ground with our smart phone and GPS. The location was not correct in the satellite
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Good friendly service !!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Great staff. Very friendly. Appreciated the escort service in. Dinner (tacos) were great as were the pancakes. The absolute best dog run - it is huge. Thanks
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Great staff very nice grounds the shade was great restrooms and showers exceptional
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Neat and clean Love the ability to buy breakfast ; it was yummy! Disappointed with site wifi...didn't work
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Wifi conx was great, staff friendly, setting good, showers very poor, old, and small. Not enough dressing room, poor water pressure. Stall showers are old, newer private full bathrooms are much preferred. Needs a makeover like KOA's shower trailers I've seen elsewhere.
Aug 22, 2013
Nice campground, would stay here again. Can't beat the location right next to the Badlands (though no view from the campsite). The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Aug 22, 2013
very nice place, lots of mosquitoes, so come prepared with insect repellent. very friendly staff, clean pool and just a nice place.
Aug 22, 2013
I liked that we were close to the bathrooms.
Aug 22, 2013
noisy cicalees
Aug 22, 2013
Nice campground but mattresses in cabin too thin, wi-fi spotty, and mosquitoes terrible. But then we were camping by a river.
Aug 22, 2013
I liked it a lot but the mosquitoes was a big problem
Aug 22, 2013
Great eating and fun to try Indian Taco and pancakes in the morning.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.