Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 22, 2016
For some reason our site was one that everyone walked through to get to the pool or bathrooms. Otherwise, very nice.
Jul 22, 2016
Very nice campground. Lots of trees, level sites, good utilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location for touring the Badlands. One thing, don't count on using your cell phone or Internet - too far from towers. Also don't expect to get any reasonable reception from the cable TV. Otherwise a great place.
Jul 21, 2016
Usual high koa standards. Wifi could be a little faster.
Jul 21, 2016
The camp ground was great. However the flies and mosquitos were over whelming. Had to hide in our unit after 6 pm to avoid being eaten alive!
Jul 21, 2016
Best KOA experience of the 4 we enjoyed during our Roadtrip. Clean, friendly staff, shaded sites that weren't too crowded together, great amenities, strong wifi all day long. Already planning a return trip!
Jul 21, 2016
Air conditioning in the bathrooms would be great!
Jul 20, 2016
We have a Class C Motorhome towing a car. We reserved a pull through, but the hookups were so far back on the site, that we had to unhook the car and put it in front of our motorhome. Sites very close together. No cell or WiFi connection. Middle of the boondocks.
Jul 20, 2016
Wonderful,clean,organized,friendly campground. We have stayed here 3 times over the last 12 years, and every time has been great.
Jul 20, 2016
Separate laundry building is a plus. Beautiful setting. Large dog run, friendly staff!
Jul 20, 2016
Bathrooms nice and clean. Didn't like the wooden fences separating us in the wagon wheel area (I think that's what it was called)so would request a different spot next time.
Jul 20, 2016
This was our first experience at a KOA and it was amazing!! Great service, amazing location, and great staff truly made our trip! Thank you for your outstanding service!
Jul 20, 2016
Great experience.
Jul 19, 2016
Bathrooms were very clean. A shady site was a necessity. Do not request site #9. The sewer intake was at a diagonal. This made for a messy dump.
Jul 19, 2016
Very nice campground.
Jul 19, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay again. Very nice, helpful employees. Very large site. Wish WIFI was better.
Jul 19, 2016
stayed in tipi - had a very nice night; bathrooms a little far for an older couple with knee problems but worth the distance since the grandkids loved the tipi; nice location; appeared well-maintained; employees helpful & courteous
Jul 19, 2016
Great location on the north side of the park and very helpful!
Jul 19, 2016
Very clean facilities and friendly staff and the view is beautiful
Jul 19, 2016
Staff were friendly and amenities were well maintained. Be aware the local grocery in town is just a convenience store which is small and expensive. The next nearest town is Wall, SD, which is about 20-30 miles away, so make sure you stock up before you get there. Enter the park early (between 6 and 8 a.m.) and you will have the place to yourselves.
Jul 19, 2016
The campground was great- friendly people in the store and great pool.
Jul 19, 2016
Staff was friendly, sites good sized. Roadways somewhat narrow for larger rigs. We couldn't get full hook ups, but for 2 days electric and water was sufficient. Lots to do in Badlands National Park. They have off leash dog park and even a pet wash area.
Jul 19, 2016
We stayed for two days at this KOA and enjoyed it completely. The park is quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool. It was cool and refreshing. We will stay here again during our next trip through South Dakota.
Jul 19, 2016
Nice campground, friendly staff - but had to deal with flies @ mosquitos, which curtailed a lot of the outdoor activities we could do.
Jul 19, 2016
Clean and welcoming.
Jul 18, 2016
One of the nicer KOAS we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a number of them! Perfect location for visiting Badlands NP. Sites are spacious and level. Staff friendly and clearly works hard to maintain this nice park. Update laundry facilities and bathrooms and the park moves from a 9 to a 10!
Jul 18, 2016
Wonderful KOA, very clean bathrooms, nice showers, incredibly friendly and attentive staff! Kabins were clean, very well maintained and inexpensive too :) highly recommend!
Jul 18, 2016
Everything was great!!!
Jul 18, 2016
Easy after-hours check in. Basic tent camping campsites were clean and well maintained. They had a manicured area for the tent, no roots or rocks to contend with. Facilities were clean. Overall, great stay. Highly recommend KOA.
Jul 18, 2016
Wonderful and friendly staff. Extra clean!!
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful spot, extremely well managed, near National Park.
Jul 18, 2016
Great stay! We arrived late at night and check in was a breeze, amenities were clean, and the people were friendly. Would definitely recommend
Jul 17, 2016
love the amenities: pool, clean restrooms, camp sink. However, the sites are so close to one another. Firewood is only $6 and the $1 fire starters are excellent. They were very flexible with us and changed our original cabin reservation to a tent, and then when severe weather was moving in, they let us change our last night to a cabin. Nice location to the Badlands.
Jul 17, 2016
Great location for a visit to the Badlands. Staff was very friendly. Nice laundry facilities. Good pancakes. If back through again we would stay here again.
Jul 17, 2016
Very nice and clean
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 17, 2016
Great park, friendly staff and close to badlands national park
Jul 17, 2016
So friendly, super awesome checkin, nice campsite late in the day and we would come back in a heartbeat...we WILL be back in a heartbeat!
Jul 17, 2016
I stayed at a deluxe tent site and it was fantastic. It had a shaded area complete with electric and a sink that actually had hot water! Never had hot water at my tent site before. I arrived for a late check in and the staff was courteous enough to leave a camp site map with the directions drawn on the map to my site. it made things so much easier in the dark.
Jul 17, 2016
Nice place but the flys and mosquitoes were ABSOLITELY HORRIBLE! Should strongly consider spraying for them!!
Jul 17, 2016
What a blessing to pick this KOA. We didn't plan on the badlands had no idea how much to do with kids! The staff was very friendly. We stayed a extra night to finish all the things we wanted to do! Thank you and God bless
Jul 16, 2016
Great location. Clean facilities, excellent food. We really enjoyed our stay.
Jul 16, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Wi-Fi is not usable. There is no cell service in the campground. The bathrooms though closed for cleaning never really appeared as though they were cleaned. On the positive side our campsite was shaded and it was very convenient to Badlands national Park.
Jul 15, 2016
We stayed three nights in mid-July, and this KOA was everything we needed to spend time exploring the Badlands and other sites in the Black Hills. The bathrooms were okay, but not excellent. Everything else was perfect, especially the staff - very courteous and pleasant and friendly. We would definitely return.
Jul 15, 2016
After a big day of driving through the Black Hills, this KOA was a Badlands Oasis! Nice staff and comfy accommodations. Everything was close and easy to access! Would stay again.
Jul 15, 2016
Bob and Karen were great, the entirety of the staff was very helpful. It was my first time staying at a KOA, and it definitely won't be my last time. Thank you guys very much.
Jul 15, 2016
Nice place to stay. Friendly staff. Delicious Indian tacos. The flies were really annoying, but what can you do.
Jul 14, 2016
Facility and staff great. Just too many flies. I understand mosquitos (which there were) due to river but so many flies. Didn't experience flies in other parts of Badlands so not sure if I should make connection to campground.
Jul 14, 2016
It was beautiful with a great dog park and a friendly staff. The only improvement needed was the pool. It was extremely small which I know you can't do anything about but it was not clean. There was a lot of tree debris in it as well as hair from other campers. It also would have been great to have some lounge chairs.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award