Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 01, 2014
Nice quiet campground, easy access, clean facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Clean bathrooms and cabin, nice dog run, great location for Badlands National Park. Owners posted weather warnings and safe buildings including their own home. Good value.
Jul 01, 2014
too many mosquitoes!
Jul 01, 2014
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The only thing we did not like about this KOA was the distance from the Badlands, which I realize cannot be helped. Otherwise it was awesome!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
This campground was very clean and the staff members were excellent! The only issue was the abundance of mosquitoes which might just be something that cannot be controlled.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry that you experienced an issue with mosquitos. I'm happy to report that as a result of drier weather and our spraying we have seen a big improvement.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
I cannot say enough good things about the people that run this KOA. We will always make a point to return again and again. Great facility in a beautiful location!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Very nice campground,well maintained,lots of fun things for the kids to do. I will be back.
Jun 30, 2014
Everything very good but get rid of the speed bumps especially at the exit
Jun 30, 2014
The people who own it are really nice and helpful. We had a great stay and would have been a five star if the mosquito's hadn't been so bad! Could not stay outside very long without being bit.
Jun 30, 2014
The best KOA in South Dakota! One word comes to mind for this KOA.... AWESOME! Great location, clean grounds and facilities, friendly & helpful staff. You can tell that this KOA is run by caring & dedicated managers. Thanks Steve & Marcia for another great stay!!!!!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We talked about the one thing that keeps us coming back to this KOA. It is the dirt road across from the entrance, so inviting for an evening and morning walk. Sometimes we have petted the horses that came walking up to the fence. The views from the dirt road/hilltop are great too. Thanks, KWP
Jun 29, 2014
Very clean and well maintained. Beautyfull campground.
Jun 29, 2014
Great time. Accommodated us needing an extra night. Kids wanted to stay here more than go and see the sights.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
We spent 1 night at the white river KOA. Very clean grounds, friendly staff and plenty to do.
Jun 29, 2014
Well-maintained, lovely park. Really appreciate the huge pet play area and raised pet wash bin. Thanks for the poop bags and dump bin. Nice size sites. Pool was kept clean and great water temperature. Appreciate the food provided for purchase for an alternative.
Jun 29, 2014
We have stayed at lots of KOA Kamping Kabins and this one is the only one that did not have air conditioning. Also, the office had very limited hours.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I believe you may be mistaking us for somewhere else. All of our cabins have air conditioning and our office is open 14hrs during peak season.
Jun 28, 2014
Great location. The campground was spotless, and our cabin was as clean as new. The only down fall was the don't have a whole lot of activities for kids and charge for there run down putt-putt. The staff is very nice and have a clean pool. The restrooms were very clean as the laundry areas.
Jun 28, 2014
The site was great, especially for the dry climate of the Badlands. Good shade. Water and electrical hookup were a little far from where the camper is parked. Showers need some venting, but other than that it is great! Nice pool and great activities for children
Jun 28, 2014
Great stay, very nice camp. Everything was amazing but you need to watch out for mosquitoes. Bring a sweater and pants and wear extra bug spray. We asked for it when we booked a tent site right next to the river. I would stay there again, no doubt.
Jun 28, 2014
Jun 28, 2014
We were provided a great campsite for our Boy Scout Troop on very short notice. The staff was excellent.
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Lots of mosquitoes but we survived :)! Clean facilities.
Jun 27, 2014
It was great!! Kids loved the pool and the staff was really friendly!!
Jun 26, 2014
Wonderful camp ground, clean and well kept. The staff was great, all around nice place. Mosquitos were very friendly also.
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
Jun 26, 2014
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed in. The camp is located on the edge of the Badlands National Park in a wooded forest along the river. The grounds were immaculate and the campsites had large grassy areas between them. There were a number of nice amenities like a pool that make this an ideal spot for families. The KOA hosts were very friendly and very helpful. This KOA is an oasis.
Jun 26, 2014
Friendly staff. Site, pool, all services are clean. Nice place to stay.
Jun 26, 2014
Loved our stay at Badlands KOA! Friendly staff, reasonable prices, clean bathrooms, and great location. Bring bug spray and be ready for a great stay.
Jun 25, 2014
Pretty, spacious tree-lined sites, clean , we'll maintained. Our favorite campground from our 2 week road trip!
Jun 25, 2014
Beautiful campground, great priced cabins and a friendly, helpful staff!! I always stay here when I come through South Dakota.
Jun 25, 2014
We stayed for two days and would recommend this location to anyone. The staff are not necessarily personable but are cordial and efficient. We were at a tent site right behind the pool-great location for us to keep an eye on the kids as the playground was to the left of the pool. Bathrooms were clean, water pressure and temperature better than some we've KOA's we've stayed at.
Jun 25, 2014
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Badlands/White river KOA. The campground was clean and inviting. Our dogs enjoyed the dog park. Our son-in-law liked the rental bike and the grandkids liked the pool and playground. We all liked the indian tacos. The campground is close to Badland National Park. The staff was friendly and out going.
Jun 25, 2014
Overall a very nice place to stay with very clean facilities and a very nice camp host. If possible to get better WiFi/Internet in the future that would be great. Will definitely stay again.
Jun 24, 2014
Great KOA with a friendly staff and beautiful surroundings. Perfect for an adventure in the Badlands! Wish we had planned to stay another night. We'll be back for sure!
Jun 24, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
Extremely friendly staff and a great clean campground.
Jun 24, 2014
This campground is a beautiful oasis in the Badlands--well laid out sites, extremely friendly staff. We have stayed at many KOAs in 40 years of camping--this is our favorite.
Jun 23, 2014
I generally do not write a review, but in this case, this KOA may be the best we've ever stayed in. Remote and the sites are a bit close together, but very clean, helpful staff, and a beautiful location made it for us, a great two day stay.
Jun 23, 2014
Very friendly staff. Great location at the edge of Badlands National Park. Quiet for sleeping as you are away away from I-90. Try the Indian Tacos!
Jun 23, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.