Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 16, 2013
Nice, big trees, Staff great, quiet, bathroom stalls small, some flies/mosquitoes but not bad...we'll be back when we have more time
Sep 15, 2013
I've stayed here at lest 3 times over the years. Very nice place with a great gift shop,
Sep 15, 2013
Sites accessible easily and level. Liked the dog park, very convenient location to visiting the Badlands area.
Sep 15, 2013
Great location, very friendly staff! I would highly recommend this campground!
Sep 15, 2013
Shady, the only shady campground in the area. It was also clean and quiet.
Sep 15, 2013
Honestly one of the very nicest camps we have experienced. Spacious shady sites, impeccable clean and equipped restrooms and showers and friendly staff that make you feel like family.
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 14, 2013
Was expecting more than a sink for the Kamp Kitchen. However it is late in the season. Dog friendly which is always a plus. GREAT location for the Badlands.
Sep 13, 2013
Sure was nice to have so much shade this close to the Badlands! Exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. Biggest complaint would be the number of flies that seem to live at this campground; it was really uncomfortable to be outside to eat or read. Also, the "no clothes line" policy is very odd, esp since you have a pool. Would appreciate another way to dry clothes without having to pay to use a drye
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Sep 13, 2013
Nice people, clean facilities. Clean is very important to us.
Sep 11, 2013
Nice people and nice park.
Sep 11, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Loved it here! Beautiful, quiet spot. Lots of trees. Bugs were the only downside. Great restaurant nearby and gorgeous scenery.
Sep 10, 2013
OK
Sep 09, 2013
Out in the middle of nowhere, but a very nice campground. Didn't like the sewage smell, otherwise it was great.
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 09, 2013
Sep 08, 2013
wonderful Indian tacos, great pool with fun neighbors. Nice to ride bikes.
Sep 08, 2013
Nice wide drives and sites. Near south entrance to Badlands. Views from road. Great pet run.
Sep 07, 2013
Was there just overnight but had a great time.
Sep 07, 2013
Sep 07, 2013
We loved the location and Pat was extremely knowledgeable about the area. Just wished your pool had still been open.
Sep 06, 2013
Very good facilities. Friendly hosts. Clean, well-maintained.
Sep 06, 2013
Staying with these folks and staff is like staying with family. They truly care about your comfort and your stay with them.The campground and facilities are always tidy and clean. I have stayed with them before and will stay again.
Sep 06, 2013
Sep 05, 2013
We had a wonderful stay, people joked about roughing it at KOA, but the Badlands KOA seemed to me more remote and secluded than the nearby campgrounds.
Sep 05, 2013
This is a beautiful mature park with lots of shade. The park hosts were extremely friendly and helpful!
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
Only bad issue was the flys and mosquitoes...they were unbearable. Hope it is better next tiem.
Sep 02, 2013
The KOA was just fine. We had a good shady spot. We could have done without all the flies but there probably isn't much that could have been done about that.
Sep 02, 2013
We arrived to a Warm greeting. It was a hot day and the air was already turned on. Yes! The bathrooms were immaculate. The grounds well kept. The pancake breakfast was good and the Indian Tacos Were Excellent. Thanks for a great stay. Ron
Sep 02, 2013
Staff was great. There was some road noise but not bad. Our only complaint was our tent camping neighbor who had four dogs that barked all evening. Between the dogs barking and the owners yelling at them it was kind of crappy.
Sep 02, 2013
Sep 01, 2013
It was close to 100 degrees so we really appreciated the shade and pool!
Sep 01, 2013
Well run and professional campground.
Sep 01, 2013
Aug 31, 2013
KOA in the badlands was a wonderful backdrop to our introductory night in South Dakota. It was quaint and clean, simple and quiet. Loved the pool AND the stars. Thank you so much!
Aug 31, 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at your campground. On arrival Pat was full of information and eager to share it with us. Because of her we were able to make the most of our short visit with you. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Your South Texas friends.
Aug 31, 2013
We were impressed at first during check in and set up... good service, nice clean campground, pool etc. But the black fly population ruined our stay. We were in site 53 near the 'treatment pond' and could not spend any time outside due to the HUNDREDS of flies buzzing around our site. Please do not put any other campers near that pond until you take care of this INFESTATION!!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Yes, the flies have been a problem this year. This is true for the entire region, not just our campground and not as the result of our water treatment pond. We hope you will return on a better year.
Aug 30, 2013
Very nice park. Lots of trees and shade which was good as we were there for some 100 degree plus days. Steve and Marci really care about you and make you feel welcome.
Aug 30, 2013
Nice place. The staff were great. Al together a good place to stay.
Aug 30, 2013
They bent over backwards for us, can't thank them enough !
Aug 29, 2013
It was a nice, basic KOA. I would suggest it to anyone planning to stay in the area.
Aug 29, 2013
The flies in the campsite were absolutely unbearable. Also, some other campers left a disgusting mess in the camper kitchen located next to us. The people working there were great and extremely friendly and helpful.
Aug 29, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.