Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 05, 2015
Easily the nicest campground by the Badlands. Lots of options (tent, tepee, cabins), and lots of amenities. I was expecting a view of the river, but there is a berm. Food was OK. I expected more lettuce and tomatoes on the Indian tacos.
Aug 05, 2015
The staff was polite and attentive. Considering that the Sturgis Rally was on at the time they coped very well. Even through the power outage.
Aug 05, 2015
The hot water for the showers and camp sink were hot and stayed hot. The laundry (reasonably priced), camp sink, bathrooms, showers all located together, a great time saver. My request to be close to the bathrooms were accommodated. The campground was quiet, clean, office staff had excellent customer service. GREAT KOA!! NO Hassle!! THANKS for the great experience!
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Wonderful campground...very clean and peaceful. Great views! Deluxe camp cabins were neat and clean. Staff was wonderful! Will definitely stay again if I get back to SD.
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome facility! Very clean and friendly. Kids loved the pool.
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
Nice staff, good food and pool. Playground okay, WiFi was lousy from the site we had. Never able to even check email. Site was mostly shady, hookups were far from septic, would not recommend site for a short camper like ours (18'). Couldn't dump until just before we left.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice Camping spots, nice playground, only Wi-Fi is weak. Would go there again.
Aug 04, 2015
Really great spot! Good sites, clean facilities, and lots of amenities. Nice little dog park too!
Aug 04, 2015
The staff was very helpful when a switch was broken on our camper. They rigged up a replacement so we could get home. Also, when the region lost power, the owner gave us some gas for our generator. Thanks so much had agreat time.
Aug 04, 2015
While this campground demonstrates the usual, expected level of KOA quality,(with a helpful and pleasant staff), the electric went out for two short periods of time and then for over an hour the same evening. It was a hot night and very unpleasant for those caught soaped up in the shower!
Aug 04, 2015
No river. Only plants in a bone dry riverbed.
Aug 04, 2015
I had a tent site and totally loved it. The campground was nearly full, but the atmosphere was calm and quiet. The sites are well layed out with plenty of room between sites. Very enjoyable stay.
Aug 04, 2015
Lots of power outages during our stay. since it was so hot outside, the air conditioning was being used a lot by everyone and apparently they couldn't handle the aggregate power drain!!
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground. Nice clean pool. Shady large sites. Very close to the Badlands. Will definitely be back again.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
A nice and clean campground with a very nice and helpful staff. I am looking forward to my next visit!
Aug 03, 2015
It was a good stay. But we were delayed because of construction on highway 240, that road is ok to travel. The national park woman said it was ok to travel.
Aug 03, 2015
We really enjoyed the campsite and couldn't have found a better campsite! We were impressed with all the amenities and the friendliness and willingness of the employees to help out. The only bummer was the advertised WiFi did not work in the afternoon through the night due to it being a peak season and so many people trying to connect.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
What a fun surprise! Given that we were in the Badlands and had serious doubts about shade, this camp was an oasis! Friendly and clean!
Aug 03, 2015
Relatively good site considering location in Badlands area. River not suitable for swimming. Can get really warm during the day. Shady site a must. Loved the pancakes!
Aug 02, 2015
Love all the improvements made since last year. Keep it up.
Aug 02, 2015
Aug 02, 2015
Great campground. Enjoy the stay
Aug 02, 2015
Love KOA's proximity to the Badlands National Park! Nice cabins and amenities. Overall a great campground! ☺️
Aug 02, 2015
The most peaceful and tranquil KOA we have ever been to. Clean washrooms and nice pool. Owners helpful and friendly. Thanks for the rest.
Aug 02, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late in the day after a day of Badlands exploration. Cabin was nice and they have Buffalo burgers and offer breakfast also. They had a nasty storm the night we stayed. No problem, we just watched from our porch!
Aug 02, 2015
4 out of 5 stars because sites were a little small. Friendly staff, clean facilities, close to badlands. Would stay here again. Stayed in a 33 ft. 5th wheel.
Aug 02, 2015
The facilities were very clean and the Browns (the owners) were very hospitable and helpful. Highly recommended for visitors to the badlands. About fifteen minutes from the park entrance.
Aug 01, 2015
Late arrival but still greeted personally. Thanks so much.
Aug 01, 2015
We stayed on the new lot 141 which was great!
Aug 01, 2015
Aug 01, 2015
The host was so friendly and accommodating with our last minute reservation when our original plans to camp elsewhere fell through! The vanload of twenty somethings that pulled in and set up camp at midnight with headlights blaring in my tent...not so great. But hey, that's camping.
Aug 01, 2015
Rented a Kabin and was pleasantly surprised. For the price my expectation was low, but nicer then some hotels I saw in the past year.
Aug 01, 2015
An absolutely perfect place
Aug 01, 2015
Great visit! The week before Sturgis and this KOA offered the perfect amount of peace and quiet we were looking for.
Jul 31, 2015
The campground was nice, the bathrooms were clean. The cabin we stayed in was in need of some repairs.
Jul 31, 2015
Hard working and friendly owners to help make your stay the best possible.
Jul 31, 2015
We stayed one night in a tent site after a day of hiking in the Badlands. The site was a nice size and well-shaded; the bathrooms and laundry room were convenient and clean. There were cows across the road mooing loudly but otherwise it was very quiet and also did not have glaring lights (a problem at some campgrounds). If we get back to the Badlands we'd stay there again.
Jul 31, 2015
nice and clean owners very on the ball
Jul 31, 2015
Clean, lots of shade, friendly staff
Jul 31, 2015
Surprisingly this KOA was located in an all shaded area which is a huge advantage in the beautiful, but hot badlands of South Dakota. The other campsites we drove by were all exposed without shade. Karen, who was working the front desk, was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this KOA to any of our family/friends who were in the area!
Jul 31, 2015
Overall, i dont like KOA's but i must say this is the best i have stayed at to date. Someone answered the phone after 6pm so we could book late and know there were available sites before arriving. Tipi was nice. Spacious sites, which was the best part.
Jul 30, 2015
very helpful staff. Nice location inside the badlands area (park admittance required $15). Very nice tent sites out back in the trees.
Jul 30, 2015
We stayed in a cabin with a kitchen and bath. It was a very nice unit at a very reasonable price. We had nothing to complain about at this campground. They were nice and hospitable. We LOVED the cabin.
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 30, 2015
We came in late and had to go they construction. Once we got to KOA all was good
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award