Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2015
This KOA was outstanding. We loved our site and everything was great, including the buffalo burgers and the camp store! They had just the right cover for the holding tank cover that broke when we where getting ready to leave. Karen Brown and her husband were amazing and GREAT camp hosts!
Jul 15, 2015
Really a great experience. The cabin was clean and we had no difficulties getting in or out.
Jul 15, 2015
Staff was super helpful. The grounds were well maintained and they were working on improvements. Well shaded park.
Jul 15, 2015
Great Location Great Service
Jul 15, 2015
Good
Jul 15, 2015
The place was fine except they said they had wifi but you could not connect & the cable was awful.
Jul 15, 2015
The campground is in the perfect location to explore the Badlands. Seeing mature trees after a long hot drive was an oasis. Camp sit was along the White River, which was dried up to the point of being a swamp. Got eaten alive by mosquitos. My only complaint, which is not the KOA's fault. Nice grounds, friendly people, good pool. Sketchy wi-fi. Never could connect.
Jul 14, 2015
Beautiful and well maintained campground. One of the best KOA's we've been to. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice and peaceful atmosphere and the sites were spacious! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!! Highly recommend!!
Jul 14, 2015
It was a little chaotic when we checked in but management was very friendly. Had a little kitchen in back of office that cooked buffalo burgers and dogs.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Decent place, sites are a bit close together.
Jul 13, 2015
WE have been coming to the Badlands KOA for over 20 years and will continue to do so. My scout troop really liked the comfy cabins
Jul 13, 2015
Great owners trying to run this campground and consider their guests first
Jul 13, 2015
2nd time we've been here. Great campground all around!
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stayed in one of the teepees on site, and it was a fun adventure. The campground is clean and well maintained, with a pool and playground equipment for kids. Great facilities, and even a cook shanty where you can order food. We loved our night at the KOA Badlands/White River, SD!
Jul 13, 2015
Awesome campground!! Clean, friendly ... Convenient to Badlands!
Jul 13, 2015
Great experience, once again. This was my second time staying here. Will definitely be back. Only complaint is that I wish there was a cut-off for how late someone can arrive. 5 vans pulled up right next to us at 1:00 a.m. with headlights shining. Other than that, great time.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground and facilities were clean. The proximity to the Badlands was perfect.
Jul 13, 2015
I recently camped here with my 10 yr. old grandson. We had a wonderful time. The campground is beautiful and clean. We played miniature golf, swam in the pool, and ate at the camp kitchen as well. My grandson became ill and I needed advice on the closest hospital emergency room. Host Karen was extremely helpful in giving me directions to the hospital in Phillip, showing real concern for my situa
Jul 13, 2015
This is my second stay at the Badlands/White River KOA. Both times have been fantastic! The camp is very clean and well kept. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the Badlands area. As a bonus, the camp has some of the best birding in the area! We added several new birds to our life lists during our stay. Five stars for sure!
Jul 13, 2015
Very quiet and nicely shaded, which we never expected being not he edge of the Badlands. GREAT pet area, best we ever saw - it's got a pet wash!
Jul 13, 2015
thank you for your help over the phone in making this reservation. You were very kind and helpful. during check-in. Your campground is lovely, in a great location near the NPS.
Jul 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA.
Jul 13, 2015
When I called to book a site the female who answered was very friendly and helpful. The campground and facilities were clean and just what was expected.
Jul 12, 2015
The staff was very friendly, the grounds were kept very clean, the store well stocked, but even though I reserved my six night stay more than four months in advanced with full full hook up I did not have a site with cable hook up, after inquiring, I was pretty much told sorry about you luck. While i was there the full six days i watched most of the ther sites that had cable vacate almost daily,
Jul 12, 2015
It was a wonderful KOA. The hosts were very kind and helpful. It was clean and well kept.
Jul 12, 2015
Nice, clean cabin; very nice grounds; very courteous hosts. Overall, a nice cole of nights!
Jul 12, 2015
Great place. Our hosts were wonderful and the breakfast and dinner offerings were very tasty!!
Jul 12, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
Stayed in a tent site - it was level. Hot showers. Nice owners.
Jul 12, 2015
I wish your WiFi was better given that Verizon phone service in the area is poor.
Jul 11, 2015
great staff! friendly, helpful, relaxing and very clean. a super KOA experience!
Jul 11, 2015
Jul 11, 2015
Great place nice people
Jul 11, 2015
Great place in the Badlands. Very friendly owner/operators.
Jul 11, 2015
It was good. Should have a sign in front or at the dest that breatfast and dinner tickets need to be bought in the office and drinks are stored in the office. Looked like some improvements were being made eg the cement. People were nice.
Jul 10, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA'S, but this one was special. Karen and Bob made an effort to know each person staying with them. We had a flat tire on our car and Karen went out of her way to give us a person who could fix it for us. My family enjoyed this KOA so much that we stayed an extra night. Lots of things for the kids to do also. Great place and thanks so much Karen and Bob. Dow's-WI
Jul 10, 2015
a gem in the wild! friendly helpful and clean! the cabin was super! a real KOA experience! Super Staff!
Jul 10, 2015
I had made reservations 3 months in advance and when i arrived i didnt get the cabins i had reserved. Staff apologized,gave us a discount and free breakfast.daughter was obnoxious to the owner but apologized. From then on the owners were rude especially the man. We were treated rudely at the breakfast and listened to him treat a little girl rudely after she asked him for more syrup.
Jul 10, 2015
Jul 10, 2015
Camping cabin # 94 was fantastic. The staff was great and the Indian taco was wonderful. We would highly recommend your campground. Thank you!
Jul 10, 2015
Great stay one of the best KOA of our trip. We recommend it highly. Thank you
Jul 10, 2015
Extremely clean and well run. The owners are very involved and personable. They really care that you have a good stay and it shows!!
Jul 09, 2015
Excellent facility. Great people. Highly recommended!!!!
Jul 09, 2015
We loved it!!
Jul 09, 2015
Campground host Bob and Karen very nice.
Jul 09, 2015
Used this campground 13 years ago when passing through area. Very friendly staff and well kept facility. Right next to to Badlands National Park.
Jul 09, 2015
Very nice people and very clean bathrooms!!
Jul 09, 2015
The campsites were great! Our only disappointment was the bathrooms and shower. They were clean but outdated with very poor lighting. The shower curtains were plastic and covered in mold. I would recommend replacing them with something washable or doors. Also add more lighting. Other than that we had a great time and the staff was wonderful! My toddler over the play area and all of the children!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.