Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2014
Nice Campground and clean bath house!
Jul 06, 2014
Was glad to stay at KOA. Thanks for being there. Dan
Jul 06, 2014
Very nice campground in a convenient and peaceful location. Lots of room around sites and clean, well maintained facilities.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Not a user friendly campground. Very few signs, therefore hard to find things without a map. Tent camping area on the lower end of the site next to a stagnant water area. Mosquitoes were thick. Spent a lot of our time spraying repellent and yard guard around the tent. Poor arrangement of facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry that you experienced a problem in finding us. Generally, campers find our signs along the way adequate and our staff would have been happy to provide you with directions. I'm not sure what standing water you encountered unless it had just rained.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice campground. Very clean and kamping kabins were nice. Good view of the area. Friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 05, 2014
A very nice campground. We enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms could have been a bit closer.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice with lots of activities for the kids. We enjoyed it.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice location and surrounding, clean and big campground but beware of the mosquitos.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
I have never stayed at a KOA but this campsite was clean, had very clean bathrooms & showers. Our site had a great tent pad and nice campfire pit.the site was quiet and campers seemed to enjoy the amenities. I felt the food (breakfast) they offered was way over priced. My only "complaint". I would stay here again and I would recommend to others!
Jul 04, 2014
nice place, average
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
We had a nice private campsite in the back...very relaxing. The mosquitoes were bad-even though they had sprayed. It was a wet year for them, so this is propbably why. Nice pool and very friendly people!
Jul 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. we had just stayed at another KOA the night prior (KOA is relatively new to us) and they had free mini golf, etc so was surprised you all charged. Kids wished the pool was warmer. Beautiful location. Cute chickens!
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Facilities and staff were great. Restrooms very clean. Was not aware of nor informed of the national parks fee we would have to pay to get to the campground from the direction we were coming (from the interstate).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry that you were not aware that when only using the National Park road as a thruway, you are not charged a fee. However, as most of our campers are here to tour the Badlands, the National Park does charge an entrance fee for those enjoying the park.
Jul 03, 2014
We had the deluxe kabin and we were very pleased with our stay. It rained at night, so being in the kabin was worth it.
Jul 03, 2014
Great location and very nice campground
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
This KoA is very well laid out and extremely neat and clean. Would recommend highly
Jul 02, 2014
Quiet location!
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
Nice grounds, clean cabin.
Jul 01, 2014
Nice quiet campground, easy access, clean facilities.
Jul 01, 2014
Clean bathrooms and cabin, nice dog run, great location for Badlands National Park. Owners posted weather warnings and safe buildings including their own home. Good value.
Jul 01, 2014
too many mosquitoes!
Jul 01, 2014
The staff was wonderful and friendly. The only thing we did not like about this KOA was the distance from the Badlands, which I realize cannot be helped. Otherwise it was awesome!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
This campground was very clean and the staff members were excellent! The only issue was the abundance of mosquitoes which might just be something that cannot be controlled.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

So sorry that you experienced an issue with mosquitos. I'm happy to report that as a result of drier weather and our spraying we have seen a big improvement.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
I cannot say enough good things about the people that run this KOA. We will always make a point to return again and again. Great facility in a beautiful location!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Very nice campground,well maintained,lots of fun things for the kids to do. I will be back.
Jun 30, 2014
Everything very good but get rid of the speed bumps especially at the exit
Jun 30, 2014
The people who own it are really nice and helpful. We had a great stay and would have been a five star if the mosquito's hadn't been so bad! Could not stay outside very long without being bit.
Jun 30, 2014
The best KOA in South Dakota! One word comes to mind for this KOA.... AWESOME! Great location, clean grounds and facilities, friendly & helpful staff. You can tell that this KOA is run by caring & dedicated managers. Thanks Steve & Marcia for another great stay!!!!!!
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We talked about the one thing that keeps us coming back to this KOA. It is the dirt road across from the entrance, so inviting for an evening and morning walk. Sometimes we have petted the horses that came walking up to the fence. The views from the dirt road/hilltop are great too. Thanks, KWP
Jun 29, 2014
Very clean and well maintained. Beautyfull campground.
Jun 29, 2014
We have stayed at lots of KOA Kamping Kabins and this one is the only one that did not have air conditioning. Also, the office had very limited hours.
Jun 29, 2014
Great time. Accommodated us needing an extra night. Kids wanted to stay here more than go and see the sights.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
We spent 1 night at the white river KOA. Very clean grounds, friendly staff and plenty to do.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.