Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 20, 2015
We felt price gouged on food.
Jul 20, 2015
Best koa I've ever stayed at.
Jul 20, 2015
Great campground. Despite being full, service was great and the campsites and campground were well kept. We had a great stay, and will return.
Jul 20, 2015
great place to stay for a family
Jul 20, 2015
Love this KOA. Beautiful park setting, lots of trees and grass for the badlands area! Great people working there and friendly! Would and will tell everyone about what a great KOA it is
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Campground was great- clean, utilities worked well. Wi-Fi was poor, but that is not why I go camping.
Jul 20, 2015
Great campground. Very isolated. Make sure to have everything you need. But it's a great place to stay.
Jul 20, 2015
Easy reservation, check in and check out. Quiet. Very clean. Good playground and pool. We only stayed one night but would recommend staying longer to enjoy facilities longer.
Jul 20, 2015
This was a wonderful campground just outside of the Badlands. The owners were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We stayed in a "primitive" tent site which was nice and shady. We are planning a trip out to Yellowstone and Jackson Hole next summer and plan to stop back at this KOA on our way.
Jul 19, 2015
Friendly staff, level site and close to Badlands NP
Jul 19, 2015
Great!
Jul 19, 2015
Met both the Browns. They are extremely professional and take great pride in their campground. All facilities are well maintained and very clean. Great visit...couldn't have been more pleased.
Jul 19, 2015
Nice playground and friendly staff. Site was a bit small. Very close to our neighbor's slide out.
Jul 19, 2015
I'm sorry to report I wouldn't recommend this campground to anyone because of my experience with the owners. Karen's directions would have taken me 75 mi thru desolate areas with no services - in the dark of night. I'm a lone woman pulling a camper. I got lost. When I spoke to her about it, she was indignant & wouldn't talk to me again. Only negative point in my 2-mon journey. Surprising treatmt
Jul 19, 2015
A nice place to stay near the Badlands. Our two boys had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2015
This is my third time at this KOA. Always a nice stop.
Jul 18, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly
Jul 18, 2015
Nice place, cabin was comfortable and everything worked correctly. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2015
Everything was clean ,neat and well cared for. The laundry was wonderful. The campsite was level, neat and very quite. Would stay there again and refer this campground to everyone coming to the badlands. Owners are very helpful also and very pleasant.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice location. Did not like bathrooms. Did not like weak internet service. Did not like cross campsite hook ups. Not enough employees to keep things running smooth.
Jul 18, 2015
Very clean and easy to pull through for the night. The staff is helpful and courteous.
Jul 18, 2015
It's was a clean campground and everyone seemed friendly. This was a smaller site than other Koa sites so everything was close.
Jul 17, 2015
Great place with great people.
Jul 17, 2015
People were very helpful when we checked in Also very helpful when I locked myself out of the camper
Jul 17, 2015
Great location and site.
Jul 17, 2015
Staff great-a bit disorganized-they cancelled our reservation accidentally before our arrival and then booked us in the wrong size cabin. However, they offered us a discount and were very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful!
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Nice clean campground with good spacing between the sites. Thank you for enjoyable time in the Badlands.
Jul 16, 2015
Loved the Kamp kitchen. Great stay. Would stay here over Rushmore, even with the drive. Mosquitos/biting flies were quite annoying this time of year. Maybe let us know when we are checking in so we can get the right stuff to combat those flying demons.
Jul 16, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, but on checking the man host was very threatening about driving only 5 mph it was not appreciated
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We stayed in tipi 130, we swam in the pool, ate dinner there, and had a great time. Friendly staff and clean grounds. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2015
This KOA was outstanding. We loved our site and everything was great, including the buffalo burgers and the camp store! They had just the right cover for the holding tank cover that broke when we where getting ready to leave. Karen Brown and her husband were amazing and GREAT camp hosts!
Jul 15, 2015
Really a great experience. The cabin was clean and we had no difficulties getting in or out.
Jul 15, 2015
Staff was super helpful. The grounds were well maintained and they were working on improvements. Well shaded park.
Jul 15, 2015
Great Location Great Service
Jul 15, 2015
Good
Jul 15, 2015
The place was fine except they said they had wifi but you could not connect & the cable was awful.
Jul 15, 2015
The campground is in the perfect location to explore the Badlands. Seeing mature trees after a long hot drive was an oasis. Camp sit was along the White River, which was dried up to the point of being a swamp. Got eaten alive by mosquitos. My only complaint, which is not the KOA's fault. Nice grounds, friendly people, good pool. Sketchy wi-fi. Never could connect.
Jul 14, 2015
Beautiful and well maintained campground. One of the best KOA's we've been to. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice and peaceful atmosphere and the sites were spacious! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!! Highly recommend!!
Jul 14, 2015
It was a little chaotic when we checked in but management was very friendly. Had a little kitchen in back of office that cooked buffalo burgers and dogs.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Decent place, sites are a bit close together.
Jul 13, 2015
WE have been coming to the Badlands KOA for over 20 years and will continue to do so. My scout troop really liked the comfy cabins
Jul 13, 2015
Great owners trying to run this campground and consider their guests first
Jul 13, 2015
2nd time we've been here. Great campground all around!
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stayed in one of the teepees on site, and it was a fun adventure. The campground is clean and well maintained, with a pool and playground equipment for kids. Great facilities, and even a cook shanty where you can order food. We loved our night at the KOA Badlands/White River, SD!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.