Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 18, 2016
It is like oasis. Well maintained and about as good as it gets in the area. Everyone was nice enough, but a bit tense about watching you park and rig up your RV. It felt odd. A few items to note, there is no cell coverage and ZERO working internet. They said they had WiFi but it didn't work for anyone at the park.
Jun 17, 2016
Absolutely wonderful KOA.
Jun 17, 2016
Certainly a good campground when visiting the badlands
Jun 17, 2016
On arrival we had no sewer hookup because the RV next to us was using it. Our guide to the site did not get out of their cart to notice that. Garbage from other sites blew into ours. Wifi was bad. Only available one or two hours a day.
Jun 17, 2016
Pride of ownership evident. We had an issue with poor wifi but owner is aware of it and is having it upgraded or replaced. When that is done we would give this campground full marks.
Jun 16, 2016
Sewer connection was too high at our site.
Jun 16, 2016
Very quiet!
Jun 15, 2016
Clean cabin and bathrooms. Great service!
Jun 15, 2016
The sites are very close together and dusty, the people were very nice, the campgrounds could use some updating, the picnic tables were in terrible shape
Jun 14, 2016
The campground was very clean and well maintained. The personnel were all very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed being able to camp under trees in the Badlands.
Jun 14, 2016
The new owners are aggressively updating the park. Given its location in the middle of nowhere the internet was acceptable and the access to the Badlands is great.
Jun 14, 2016
We had a great time tent camping at the KOA!
Jun 14, 2016
Courteous friendly, helpful staff. Great breakfast in the little cookhouse behind the office. Didn't have a chance to try the evening meal.
Jun 14, 2016
The campground looked nice but they put us in a spot out in a field that looked like it was still under construction. It wasn't bad...just weird. There was room for one other camper out there. He looked like a permanent resident. Had a lot of junk out there. It was supposed to be a deluxe spot but had no cable. Nice pool. Nice K9 park. Awesome Indian taco at the food hut. Would stay again.
Jun 14, 2016
It's a beautiful campground. The layout is awesome. My only dislike was no easy parking at office, and the bathrooms.Need serious bathroom updates and toilets the flush properly and effectively- barely any water pressure.
Jun 14, 2016
Very very nice!!
Jun 14, 2016
I have had " camping in the Badlands" on my bucket list for over 30 years. It was everything I dreamed of. Peaceful and quiet with stars like diamonds.!
Jun 14, 2016
Had a fun time camping with our grandkids! We liked that it's close to home and the pool was great! It's close to the Badlands too.
Jun 14, 2016
Campground nice. Missed not having connectivity to the outside world
Jun 14, 2016
Great service!
Jun 14, 2016
Remote, but a good place to stay. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating.
Jun 13, 2016
Very clean. Love the cooked food. Great pool and shade to cool off when it's 100 degrees in the Badlands! Very nice staff. Really enjoyed our stay.
Jun 13, 2016
Nice clean campground very friendly staff I would recommend and return to stay there.
Jun 13, 2016
Park in a good location. Facilities were above average. No cell phone service but that is ok. Big problem is...we paid for wifi but signal is so weak away from office that we were denied access.
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Great location close to Badlands. Park is very well managed. That was evident from the moment we stepped into the office. Lots of shade trees made it comfortable even in some unusually high temps. Only downside was cell service is virtually non existent (but that ain't all bad).
Jun 13, 2016
Very accomodating.
Jun 13, 2016
We had a great time!
Jun 13, 2016
Wonderful campgrounds, facilities and view. We were in need of some bolts, owner had some. Made our day. 😊
Jun 13, 2016
We spent two weeks traveling across the country in our camper, and this was one of the top campgrounds we stayed in.
Jun 12, 2016
Clean, Friendly, Roomy, dinner and breakfast available. Restrooms clean. We only stayed a night, but we still Loved it! We have talked about making it a destination Kampground for a short vacation. Thank You! One last thing...if you are another KOA owner and reading this review, this is the standard by which you should operate.
Jun 12, 2016
Campsite was situated mere yards from a propane filling station. At 11:00 pm, after my family was tucked away got the night, our Co1/LP alarm was blaring. Fast forward an hour of stressful attempts to figure out the problem, we ultimately disabled the alarm and spent a very unnerved night sleep in 90 degree weather with windows open. Only in the am did we realize the problem was their LP tank leak
Jun 12, 2016
Friendly, quiet and shaded places. Helpfull!!!
Jun 12, 2016
Jun 12, 2016
Wonderful staff. Clean large spaces. Lovely grounds and pool. Lots for kids to do. Really impressed.
Jun 11, 2016
Love the grassy areas, and a fantastic dog park!
Jun 11, 2016
Nice, good hospitality, swimming pool, staff service minded
Jun 11, 2016
nice
Jun 11, 2016
I would not stay anywhere else. The people, all of them, are kind, helpful, fun and very hard working to keep the kamp a special place. The grounds and facilities are stellar, no kidding.
Jun 11, 2016
Wonderful hosts. Great shade trees make this spot an oasis in the desert. A little farther away from the National Park, but as such a little less crowded and well worth a few extra miles. We thoroughly enjoyed or our stay.
Jun 11, 2016
Great place. Folks were friendly. Cottonwoods were a little annoying.
Jun 11, 2016
Nice to use if passing thru. Pool was nice touch. Had ice cream social in the evening.
Jun 10, 2016
Great spot to land after a long day of driving & sightseeing in the Badlands. Level site, plenty of shade, quiet,and friendly staff! Be sure to try the Indian tacos.
Jun 10, 2016
We loved the campground. Very clean. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 10, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Clean area
Jun 10, 2016
a
Jun 10, 2016
Great location and great people.
Jun 10, 2016
Nice location, close to the the Badlands. We used a camping site with small kids. Make sure they don't try to put rocks in their mouth.
Jun 10, 2016
Great staff good sites and store. WiFi/ cell needs help. Understand new owner are trying to correct issues.
Jun 10, 2016
Since 4/7 we've stayed at 35 campgrounds, 25 were KOA. This rates as one of the best due to friendly staff, clean restrooms and showers, and overall great facilities.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award