Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
The campground was great!!! Friendly staff, clean restrooms, spacious camp sites and lots of wonderful shade!!! It was very peaceful and relaxing!! We very much enjoyed ourselves and plan to visit again in the future!! Thank you so much for having us!!
Aug 02, 2016
Aug 02, 2016
Staff was awesome. Friendly and helpful. Campground was shady and well maintained. Pleasant even in extreme heat. Kookshack rocked. Good fresh food at reasonable price.
Aug 02, 2016
Enjoyed it the last three years.
Aug 02, 2016
A beautiful Campground! Well kept with an extremely friendly and professional staff. We enjoyed our stay will certainly stay there again when you're in the area and will recommend it to anyone we talk to.
Aug 02, 2016
Fabulous
Aug 02, 2016
Great campground! Owners went out of their way to ensure the visit was a memorable event. I loved the dog park and onsite camp kitchen. Pool was a huge plus as well. Be back soon!
Aug 02, 2016
No hot water for showers. Old and dirty facility. Flies everywhere. Poor selection in store...bread was frozen before placed on shelf to sell. Freezer broken and the tap water was not drinkable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you mis-interpreted the sign about the water heater. It heated water great unless it was blown out. It was hot in less than 10 minutes after we lit it. We have the new one installed now. Our bread arrives frozen from our supplier, as in many rural areas. Water is potable. Tested monthly
Aug 01, 2016
Loved the pet facilities. Just a great spot near the badlands. Very friendly and accomodating hosts.
Aug 01, 2016
Our stay at the Badlands KOA last weekend was the best! Great Spot, Great location, Great people! We LOVE this KOA! Many improvements over last years great time. Can't wait till next years visit. Keep spot 6 available for us!
Aug 01, 2016
Love this campground! Bob and Karen and staff work hard to make things comfortable for everyone. the Badlands are beautiful, what a place of rest.
Aug 01, 2016
Laundry room was to small
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful time, here. Most of the camp staff were friendly and pleasant. We enjoyed several of the amenities and appreciated their spacious campsites.
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We stayed here 2 years ago and was great then. Now under new ownership they have done many improvements. Very close to the Badlands. Staff was great to. We'll be back
Jul 31, 2016
Very nice people and they try to make your stay a great one. Campground site is beautiful.
Jul 31, 2016
The mini golf course has a lot to be desired. Especially since there is a charge for it. Otherwise it was fine
Jul 31, 2016
beautiful site, a long drive from anywhere(but worth it!)
Jul 31, 2016
We liked the food and we like the people that work there very much. Our only small complaint is that the pool had debris in it. Other than that, we saw at the site we tent camping was perfect in every way.
Jul 30, 2016
We had never stayed in a KOA before and probably never will again. Hookups set up to where you had to run cord/hose under your trailer and trip on them by your picnic table. Flies and skeeters horrible. WiFi worthless. No hot water in main shower house all 3 days we were there. Bath house smelled horrible. Good thing we were there to enjoy the Badlands and not just the campground.
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, owners and workers accommodating, clean, nice pool, great dog park :) wifi service is not great, but we traded it for the great outdoors!
Jul 30, 2016
Great quiet campground
Jul 30, 2016
They have a really nice pool to swim in. The campground was really clean and the workers were very friendly.
Jul 30, 2016
good place
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice place. I was here yrs ago but has gotten ALOT BETTER witj nice amenities.FRIENDLY STAFF as well. I'll be back.
Jul 30, 2016
Good.
Jul 29, 2016
Jul 29, 2016
Good location. Shade, pool.
Jul 29, 2016
Nice park. Very children friendly
Jul 29, 2016
The campground was great! Clean, charming and lots of nice amenities. People were friendly and helpful. The mosquitos were a huge problem. No one sat outside around campfires and visited. Also, no wi fi or cell service made for difficulty letting family know that we were safely settled in for the nite.
Jul 28, 2016
We loved the roomy sites. The staff was wonderful. The bathrooms were so clean. But we were most grateful for the dog park. What a fun way for our dogs to have a chance to relax and play, off the leash. Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Jul 28, 2016
It was a nice camping Experience.
Jul 28, 2016
This particular camp site is a great place to stay and I would definitely stay again.The one downside to all these koa campsites is the wifiIve stayed at four in the last three weeks and they all suffer from the lack of wifi especially in the tented areas .For me personally I needed to stay in touch with family members and have access to online banking and so forth and this wasn't possible
Jul 27, 2016
Great experience. This was the first time my family has ever stayed at a KOA. Great experience. Will look into staying at other KOAs in the future. Clean campground, friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2016
The best KOA we've ever used.
Jul 27, 2016
Friendly reception staff, guided to our site, sites too close, could hear neighbors clear their throat, especially with windows open in trailer as unable to run A/C due to fluctuations in electrical voltage (this would damage our compressor) we where on 30amp site, extremely hot in high 90s,our Airstream International 27ft
Jul 26, 2016
Like the space with trees and dog run
Jul 26, 2016
I had a very unpleasant experience while staying here. I returned to my site from getting dinner only to find a large van parked right in front of my tent where I was supposed to park, with the lights on and a man passed out inside the van. There were several other people in the site next to me, and at 6am they were incredibly loud.
Jul 26, 2016
Nice shady site, laundry facility clean, all staff very friendly and helpful. The only downfall...difficulty with cell phone, cable and wifi reception.
Jul 26, 2016
This KOA is located in the perfect spot for enjoying the Badlands, and the Black Hills area. Very clean facilities, and friendly staff. I thought the sleeping mats were a little uncomfortable. I thought overall it was great.
Jul 26, 2016
Peaceful
Jul 26, 2016
Recent rain brought mosquitoes to the area, however the problem was so bad, one could not be outside the RV. Please consider spraying on a regular basis. Good - dog shower area was great.
Jul 25, 2016
We love the guy named Carol. He was super sweet and gave great advice. We loved the pull through lot with plenty of shade. It was close to the badlands but just far enough off the main road that it stayed quiet in the morning. The pool was nice and the free coffee if you bought the KOA cup was a huge perk!
Jul 25, 2016
Bugs were terrible, but WiFi was good.
Jul 25, 2016
The amenities were as described and comparable to other KOA's. Wi-Fi was inconsistent, but I certainly wasn't here to play on my IPad. My only complaint is seeing the KOA owners and staff whipping around on their golf carts kicking up dust, disturbing campsites and disregarding the 5 mph rule they strictly enforce upon their guests. If you are looking for more, stay at the MOUNT RUSHMORE KOA.
Jul 25, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fast to respond to a power outage. This location was vert convenient to Badlands. The store was well stocked and bathrooms were dated, but clean. Sites were narrow and tight, but the cooking grate was a nice surprise on the firiepit. Pool was a nice addition, the deck area was clean, but worn. Perhaps skimming a stronger filter for buts. A nice stay for a couple of nights
Jul 25, 2016
It's an oasis in the Badlands. Quiet, clean campground with a store well-stocked with supplies and a small restaurant. That's helpful because dining options are limited in the area. It's very convenient to Badlands National Park.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award