Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2015
I'm sorry to report I wouldn't recommend this campground to anyone because of my experience with the owners. Karen's directions would have taken me 75 mi thru desolate areas with no services - in the dark of night. I'm a lone woman pulling a camper. I got lost. When I spoke to her about it, she was indignant & wouldn't talk to me again. Only negative point in my 2-mon journey. Surprising treatmt
Jul 19, 2015
A nice place to stay near the Badlands. Our two boys had a wonderful time!
Jul 18, 2015
This is my third time at this KOA. Always a nice stop.
Jul 18, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly
Jul 18, 2015
Nice place, cabin was comfortable and everything worked correctly. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 18, 2015
Everything was clean ,neat and well cared for. The laundry was wonderful. The campsite was level, neat and very quite. Would stay there again and refer this campground to everyone coming to the badlands. Owners are very helpful also and very pleasant.
Jul 18, 2015
Nice location. Did not like bathrooms. Did not like weak internet service. Did not like cross campsite hook ups. Not enough employees to keep things running smooth.
Jul 18, 2015
Very clean and easy to pull through for the night. The staff is helpful and courteous.
Jul 18, 2015
It's was a clean campground and everyone seemed friendly. This was a smaller site than other Koa sites so everything was close.
Jul 17, 2015
Great place with great people.
Jul 17, 2015
People were very helpful when we checked in Also very helpful when I locked myself out of the camper
Jul 17, 2015
Great location and site.
Jul 17, 2015
Staff great-a bit disorganized-they cancelled our reservation accidentally before our arrival and then booked us in the wrong size cabin. However, they offered us a discount and were very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 17, 2015
Wonderful!
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Nice clean campground with good spacing between the sites. Thank you for enjoyable time in the Badlands.
Jul 16, 2015
Loved the Kamp kitchen. Great stay. Would stay here over Rushmore, even with the drive. Mosquitos/biting flies were quite annoying this time of year. Maybe let us know when we are checking in so we can get the right stuff to combat those flying demons.
Jul 16, 2015
We enjoyed our stay, but on checking the man host was very threatening about driving only 5 mph it was not appreciated
Jul 15, 2015
Jul 15, 2015
We stayed in tipi 130, we swam in the pool, ate dinner there, and had a great time. Friendly staff and clean grounds. Thanks!
Jul 15, 2015
This KOA was outstanding. We loved our site and everything was great, including the buffalo burgers and the camp store! They had just the right cover for the holding tank cover that broke when we where getting ready to leave. Karen Brown and her husband were amazing and GREAT camp hosts!
Jul 15, 2015
Really a great experience. The cabin was clean and we had no difficulties getting in or out.
Jul 15, 2015
Staff was super helpful. The grounds were well maintained and they were working on improvements. Well shaded park.
Jul 15, 2015
Great Location Great Service
Jul 15, 2015
Good
Jul 15, 2015
The place was fine except they said they had wifi but you could not connect & the cable was awful.
Jul 15, 2015
The campground is in the perfect location to explore the Badlands. Seeing mature trees after a long hot drive was an oasis. Camp sit was along the White River, which was dried up to the point of being a swamp. Got eaten alive by mosquitos. My only complaint, which is not the KOA's fault. Nice grounds, friendly people, good pool. Sketchy wi-fi. Never could connect.
Jul 14, 2015
Beautiful and well maintained campground. One of the best KOA's we've been to. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Nice and peaceful atmosphere and the sites were spacious! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay wonderful!! Highly recommend!!
Jul 14, 2015
It was a little chaotic when we checked in but management was very friendly. Had a little kitchen in back of office that cooked buffalo burgers and dogs.
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Jul 14, 2015
Decent place, sites are a bit close together.
Jul 13, 2015
WE have been coming to the Badlands KOA for over 20 years and will continue to do so. My scout troop really liked the comfy cabins
Jul 13, 2015
Great owners trying to run this campground and consider their guests first
Jul 13, 2015
2nd time we've been here. Great campground all around!
Jul 13, 2015
Our family stayed in one of the teepees on site, and it was a fun adventure. The campground is clean and well maintained, with a pool and playground equipment for kids. Great facilities, and even a cook shanty where you can order food. We loved our night at the KOA Badlands/White River, SD!
Jul 13, 2015
Awesome campground!! Clean, friendly ... Convenient to Badlands!
Jul 13, 2015
Great experience, once again. This was my second time staying here. Will definitely be back. Only complaint is that I wish there was a cut-off for how late someone can arrive. 5 vans pulled up right next to us at 1:00 a.m. with headlights shining. Other than that, great time.
Jul 13, 2015
The campground and facilities were clean. The proximity to the Badlands was perfect.
Jul 13, 2015
I recently camped here with my 10 yr. old grandson. We had a wonderful time. The campground is beautiful and clean. We played miniature golf, swam in the pool, and ate at the camp kitchen as well. My grandson became ill and I needed advice on the closest hospital emergency room. Host Karen was extremely helpful in giving me directions to the hospital in Phillip, showing real concern for my situa
Jul 13, 2015
This is my second stay at the Badlands/White River KOA. Both times have been fantastic! The camp is very clean and well kept. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. I would highly recommend this KOA to anyone visiting the Badlands area. As a bonus, the camp has some of the best birding in the area! We added several new birds to our life lists during our stay. Five stars for sure!
Jul 13, 2015
Very quiet and nicely shaded, which we never expected being not he edge of the Badlands. GREAT pet area, best we ever saw - it's got a pet wash!
Jul 13, 2015
thank you for your help over the phone in making this reservation. You were very kind and helpful. during check-in. Your campground is lovely, in a great location near the NPS.
Jul 13, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA.
Jul 13, 2015
When I called to book a site the female who answered was very friendly and helpful. The campground and facilities were clean and just what was expected.
Jul 12, 2015
The staff was very friendly, the grounds were kept very clean, the store well stocked, but even though I reserved my six night stay more than four months in advanced with full full hook up I did not have a site with cable hook up, after inquiring, I was pretty much told sorry about you luck. While i was there the full six days i watched most of the ther sites that had cable vacate almost daily,
Jul 12, 2015
It was a wonderful KOA. The hosts were very kind and helpful. It was clean and well kept.
Jul 12, 2015
Nice, clean cabin; very nice grounds; very courteous hosts. Overall, a nice cole of nights!
Jul 12, 2015
Great place. Our hosts were wonderful and the breakfast and dinner offerings were very tasty!!
Jul 12, 2015

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.