Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2015
Super scenic, kids loved it.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
A large park with nice spaces, shady with grass between. A great location for seeing the badlands.
Aug 17, 2015
Really loved the fact hat you're one of the few KOA's that still has a "Kamping Corral." When you're camping with a tent, they are a real blessing. We took advantage of the guy fixing burgers etc. Nice well-kept CG.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
We only stayed for 1 night but we had a nice shaded site and the pool was great. Would visit again.
Aug 16, 2015
We stayed 2 nights in a tent. Nice, shady, and quiet. The store was stocked with what we needed. Wi-fi needs upgrading. The bathrooms need updating but were clean.
Aug 16, 2015
Friendly owners! We stayed 6 nights and everything was nice. Our first KOA stay and now it won't be our last.
Aug 16, 2015
We enjoyed the quietness and being able to see the beautiful stars at nite!!! Very clean and well kept park!!
Aug 16, 2015
Great location! Fantastic owners who really set the tone. Best stars in the night sky!
Aug 16, 2015
Convenient to Badlands Park. Shady, Good buffalo burgers!
Aug 16, 2015
Very well maintained. Best place to stay in the badlands.
Aug 16, 2015
The staff was friendly and helpful, facilities were clean, campground was quiet, pool was wonderful. We loved our stay! My family never stayed at a KOA before, and now we never want to stay anywhere else!
Aug 15, 2015
They had a power outage and put us in a spot that didn't have sewer. Wifi didn't work and no phone service. It was a clean campground. They did try to accommodate us. We just expected something else.
Aug 15, 2015
Site was nice and shaded. Bathrooms were nice and clean. Our boys enjoyed the pool, mini golf, and the bikes for rent.
Aug 15, 2015
Bob and Karen went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Very well kept/maintained campground.
Aug 15, 2015
Not very friendly owner Karen at front desk. Explained couldn't call or get on Internet to make reservation since no coverage and we just stayed 6 days at other KOA's with no cell/internet coverage and she still charged us walkin rate!!! Penny pinching KOA. Even though her husband was marvelous and friendly, we stay away from PP KOA's for future travels when we can.
Aug 14, 2015
Staff was helpful and friendly. Campsite was clean, nice and functional. Restroom/shower facilities were clean. A great place to stay nearby to the park.
Aug 14, 2015
The amenities and owners of this KOA are fantastic! The very new cabin was beautiful and the kids were excited to see all the activities they choose from during our stay.
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
We loved staying here! The owners were great. The only downside are all the black insects in the shower in the morning.
Aug 14, 2015
beau et tranquille endroit pour camping
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
Very friendly and accommodating. Truly an oasis! Loved that they had food available
Aug 14, 2015
Not enough trees for hammocking, but overall a very pleasant experience with nice, clean facilities and exceptionally helpful and kind staff.
Aug 14, 2015
Stayed one night at a tent campsite. Everything was fine and very clean and well kept except the 10,000 crickets on the bathroom floor.
Aug 13, 2015
Loved our stay in the badlands. Bathroom was clean, campground was nice. Only thing is I wish our campsite was by more trees to hang our hammocks but that's on us. Their sites perfect for tents, cabins and RVs. And it's really close to the badlands!
Aug 13, 2015
Why is it we hever get any response to our ratings? The lack of connectivity to Verizon should be publicized - it certainly impacted us. And a lousy wifi to-boot. When I mentioned this at the office, they suggested that I complain to Verizon - that should be the campground's responsibility! The campground itself was very nice!
Aug 13, 2015
Beautiful spot, cabin was great, pool was perfect, lovely for taking a walk and relaxing, nice drive through the Badlands, cafe was perfect.
Aug 13, 2015
the Browns were great hosts. The Park was very pleasant and clean. this was my first experience at camping and it was great.
Aug 13, 2015
Kids loved all the activities, super clean pool and facilities. Friendly staff.
Aug 13, 2015
The owners were very nice and helpful. The campground was nice and large. The kids enjoyed the pool. Had the pancake breakfast (cost) in the morning. Located in a quiet area but very close to the Badlands.
Aug 12, 2015
One of the best campgrounds I have ever been to. We stayed in one of the newer cabins which was clean and comfortable. Beautiful star filled skies at night where we saw shooting stars and Satellites. Very close to the Badlands and we used this as a base and drove to Rushmore which is 2 hours away. I would stay here again and definately would recommend this campground .
Aug 12, 2015
Awesome people. Great stay. An oasis in the middle of desolation. So THAT'S why you call it the Badlands.
Aug 12, 2015
Kampground personnel were very friendly,nice location, sites where good size,could use more bathroom and shower stalls.
Aug 12, 2015
Only negative problem is signal for a Verizon phone is almost none existent as u sit down in a very low spot. I didn't try their WiFi though , campground is nice and a quiet get away .
Aug 12, 2015
Very nice campground. Nice shade trees, large lots and showers/bathrooms were clean and nice.
Aug 11, 2015
This was a wonderful peaceful campsite. It was extremely quiet and we woke up to the sounds of several owls in the morning. Absolutely wonderful.
Aug 11, 2015
We had a lovely stay at bob and Karens KOA. The hospitality was exceptional. Everything was well laid out and the little store was a great help . The laundry served it's purpose and the units worked very well. Can not express our thanks enough to bob and Karen . Cell phone service is the only down fall but that's the area thanks again
Aug 11, 2015
Nice place
Aug 11, 2015
Wonderful Kampground with great hosts.
Aug 11, 2015
Gracious and helpful owner/managers. Plenty of shade trees. Very we'll laid out. Peaceful and quiet. Great dog park. We had no problem with our 40' motorhome. If you stay ANYWHERE else in this area, you'll be sorry! The Badlands are barren and every other campsite we passed looked like it was in the middle of a rattlesnake field!! Coming "home" to this campground was refreshing!!
Aug 11, 2015
I can't wait to come back! Have not been camping for years, first place I have been and it was perfect. Kid loved the playground, lots for him to do, staff is perfect. They serve a great breakfast!! Never had that before. Did not want to leave. We will be back. Thanks for a great vacation! Shawn from mn.
Aug 11, 2015
It was really peaceful but the restrooms were a little overcrowded. Staff very polite. Would stay again.
Aug 11, 2015
People were friendly, bathrooms were clean, sites were nice and easy to access and the skies were spectacular!
Aug 10, 2015
Teepee was awesome. Nice facility. Very good prices. I hope the Reservation is getting a percentage of your profits/fees?
Aug 10, 2015
Great people
Aug 10, 2015
Very nice camp ground. Directions on how to get here were awful!!! If it wasn't for the police officer that we asked for directions we never would have found it.
Aug 10, 2015
The owners were quick to stop excess noise of other campers.
Aug 10, 2015
We only stayed a night in a deluxe cabin. The cabin was great. Clean and met the needs of our family of five. We loved having breakfast cooked for us, the pancakes were great!!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.