Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 12, 2014
Cleanest, nicest, best laid out camp we have ever visited. The large fenced dog area is a great benefit for those of us who can't stand to leave the kids at home. The staff was great and we loved the pancakes. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Jul 12, 2014
Good but when we got there for late checkin there was map to one cabin and key to different cabin. Very confusing.
Jul 12, 2014
Great Location, Great People
Jul 12, 2014
Great campground standing alone. However, after staying in the area for several days, this is EASILY the best place to stay compared to other locations.
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Nice campground, well maintained. Good activities for the kids and dog run. No cell service, slow WiFi, and expensive.
Jul 11, 2014
One of the best KOAs I have stayed at. Nice spots and clean bathrooms!
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed here several times in the past. Clean and well-maintained, with a nice friendly staff.
Jul 11, 2014
The only complaint we have is that the mosquitoes were hungry. Other than that the staff that work at the KOA were exceptional. I had a problem with my credit card being locked up. They helped me to call the credit card people and get it straightened out. We had to leave a day early because my daughter's father-in-law had to go through an emergency surgery. Had a great time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are working on the mosquitos and have seen improvement. Glad you had a good experience and hope all went well.
Jul 10, 2014
Loved the place - location is perfect for Badlands, facility is clean and staff is friendly. This was my first KOA stop and I'm a fan. Friendliest check-in I've experienced at a campground yet.
Jul 10, 2014
One of our favorite places to stop, always nice! Ron E.
Jul 10, 2014
I love it when people welcome motorcyclists. Me and my daughter stayed here in June of 2014. I like that they served food but what we didn't like was the price for a very small coffee and the food was overpriced as well. I love the spot though, right on the fringe of Badlands National Park!
Jul 10, 2014
Badlands KOA was great. If ever back this way again, will definitely stay there again.
Jul 10, 2014
The dogs loved the dog park! It was really big and they could run.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
Clean bathrooms (important), friendly staff, large sites
Jul 09, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. It was a clean well kept campground. Thank you for the great internet service.
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. we had just stayed at another KOA the night prior (KOA is relatively new to us) and they had free mini golf, free pancake breakfast etc so was surprised you all charged. Kids wished the pool was warmer. Beautiful location. But would come back again!Clean grounds and facilities, friendly & helpful staff. You can tell that this KOA is run by caring & dedicated managers.
Jul 08, 2014
Clean, friendly. We got very little pool time because it didn't open until 10:00 am, an hour before checkout time. Breakfast was good, but too many add-on prices. Bacon and a drink would have more than doubled the price of the breakfast.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your pancakes. At just over $3, for a large stack, we feel that is a great deal! We do understand that food costs are going up and do our best to provide a la carte items at a great price.
Jul 07, 2014
We loved this campground. We stayed two nights and have no complaints. We used the basketball court, horseshoe pits, and the pool. We also used the bath house by the office. We would defiantly stay here again. It was about 4 miles to the Badlands National Park.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Nice Campground and clean bath house!
Jul 06, 2014
Was glad to stay at KOA. Thanks for being there. Dan
Jul 06, 2014
Very nice campground in a convenient and peaceful location. Lots of room around sites and clean, well maintained facilities.
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Not a user friendly campground. Very few signs, therefore hard to find things without a map. Tent camping area on the lower end of the site next to a stagnant water area. Mosquitoes were thick. Spent a lot of our time spraying repellent and yard guard around the tent. Poor arrangement of facilities.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry that you experienced a problem in finding us. Generally, campers find our signs along the way adequate and our staff would have been happy to provide you with directions. I'm not sure what standing water you encountered unless it had just rained.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice campground. Very clean and kamping kabins were nice. Good view of the area. Friendly and helpful staff.
Jul 05, 2014
A very nice campground. We enjoyed our stay. Bathrooms could have been a bit closer.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice with lots of activities for the kids. We enjoyed it.
Jul 05, 2014
Very nice location and surrounding, clean and big campground but beware of the mosquitos.
Jul 05, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
I have never stayed at a KOA but this campsite was clean, had very clean bathrooms & showers. Our site had a great tent pad and nice campfire pit.the site was quiet and campers seemed to enjoy the amenities. I felt the food (breakfast) they offered was way over priced. My only "complaint". I would stay here again and I would recommend to others!
Jul 04, 2014
nice place, average
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
We had a nice private campsite in the back...very relaxing. The mosquitoes were bad-even though they had sprayed. It was a wet year for them, so this is propbably why. Nice pool and very friendly people!
Jul 04, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. we had just stayed at another KOA the night prior (KOA is relatively new to us) and they had free mini golf, etc so was surprised you all charged. Kids wished the pool was warmer. Beautiful location. Cute chickens!
Jul 04, 2014
Jul 04, 2014
Facilities and staff were great. Restrooms very clean. Was not aware of nor informed of the national parks fee we would have to pay to get to the campground from the direction we were coming (from the interstate).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry that you were not aware that when only using the National Park road as a thruway, you are not charged a fee. However, as most of our campers are here to tour the Badlands, the National Park does charge an entrance fee for those enjoying the park.
Jul 03, 2014
We had the deluxe kabin and we were very pleased with our stay. It rained at night, so being in the kabin was worth it.
Jul 03, 2014
Great location and very nice campground
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
This KoA is very well laid out and extremely neat and clean. Would recommend highly
Jul 02, 2014
Quiet location!
Jul 02, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.