Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2014
first KOA where wifi actually worked
Sep 24, 2014
Closed bathroom closest to our site. Had to drive to bathroom in middle of the night.
Sep 24, 2014
We had a wonderful stay at the Badlands/White River KOA. The sites were clean and conveniently located and the staff was friendly and professional. I have already recommended this campground to several of my friends.
Sep 23, 2014
cleanest and best maintained koa we have stayed at. The KYLE family were great hosts.We hope to see you next summer>
Sep 22, 2014
Sep 22, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. You were very accomodating with us since we were towing a trailer and it worked out well. Everything was very clean and we hope we left it like we found it. Enjoy your winter.
Sep 21, 2014
We always enjoy our stay here.
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 21, 2014
Nice sites, lots of trees, they recycle (bravo), tidy everywhere and the owners were super. A very pleasant overall experience.
Sep 21, 2014
frustrated that my stay was just charged to my card without asking as I stood there with cash in my hand. When i mentioned wanting to pay cash, the clerk told me she just charged it, and gave the impression that crediting it and taking cash was far to much work. Site was nice, but staff was short and unfriendly.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

All sites require that a one night deposit be charged to your credit card at the time of the reservation. However, it is always possible to credit that charge in exchange for cash. We do that routinely and would have been happy to do that for you had you asked.
Sep 20, 2014
Sep 20, 2014
bugs everywhere! the stagnant river behind the park lent itself to multiple mosquitos. the cabins are very very far from the bathrooms. well, i guess there were bathrooms closer but they closed them down to winterize them in the summer!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While September is a great time to travel due to fewer people and lower rates, it also means that we must begin to winterize some of our water lines in advance of cold temperatures. In fact, lows the week of your visit were below freezing. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Sep 19, 2014
This was the most the most "comfortable" KOA we stayed at in our 6 weeks travels across the Northern US. We (our dogs actually) thought the K9 park was the best we have seen and the staff/owners were great.
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
Nice camp ground with trees and well maintained. The slot they put out 5th wheel in was a little short and we had to angle the truck. There is no cell phone service in the area, but they have a phone booth.
Sep 18, 2014
Beautiful trees and shade in the middle of the garlands. Worth the extra 4 minute drive from the other campgrounds..
Sep 17, 2014
Owners live on site and are constantly working to keep everything pristine. We were there after Labor Day so not all amenities were available. The campground is filled with huge cottonwood trees near the White River providing ample shade. With fire ring lit, the night skies with bright stars and coyotes singing made our stay special.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
we had a great time we like the little cafe too
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
This is definately a gem in the badlands,with it's location in a wooded setting next to the white river. The campground was VERY clean with updated and clean bathrooms/showers. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with local information. We stayed off season and just used the campgrounds as home base for sightseeing in the Badland's area. Looks like they have loads of activities during season.
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 14, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
campsites were very clean . KOA was close to Badlands. No cell phone service but did have Wifi. Fenced dog walk. Would return and recommend to others.
Sep 13, 2014
great place and location! Thumbs up!
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 13, 2014
very clean and friendly place!
Sep 13, 2014
Wonderful campground. Neat, clean and very scenic. And friendly helpful staff. A "must" stay for anyone heading from or to the black hills. The badlands are unique and beautiful.
Sep 13, 2014
Sep 12, 2014
Loved this campground and loved the Badlands.
Sep 12, 2014
Immaculate cabins, bathrooms, and showers. Also, the owners were so helpful when we looked for places to eat. Would definitely stay here again!
Sep 11, 2014
The only negative thing I have to say is about the camping "pads" that they have tent campers use. The pebbles make it hard to secure the stakes for the tent, and therefore the tent is not as secure in inclement weather. My tent came down twice in a thunderstorm because of this. It has withstood stronger storms and the only difference was the rock pads. Otherwise, everything was great!
Sep 11, 2014
Beautiful, spacious campgrounds in the Bad Lands. Nice big rig sites; friendly and helpful staff; facilities very well maintained.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 11, 2014
Nice place to stay
Sep 11, 2014
very nice, quiet relaxing KOA with great owner/operator who were great assisting us with some travel problems.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Wonderful campground. Although nearing the end of their season, the owners were exceptionallly responsive to guest requests. Very well maintained, great shade and large open areas, too. Best campground from which to visit the Badlands!!!
Sep 09, 2014
Pretty good experience at this campground- helpful, efficient staff, level grassy sites, but can get quite windy!
Sep 09, 2014
IT IS A NICE CAMPGROUND AND VERY NICE PEOPLE WORKING THERE. I WILL GO BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR!!!
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
We always stay at the Badlands KOA when we're in this area. We love the location near the White River and the shady site. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the facilities are clean and welcoming. We've recommended this place to several people as the best place to camp in the Badlands.
Sep 08, 2014
Excellent campground! The hosts and their staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and well maintained - the grounds, the rest rooms, the laundry - everything! One of the best run campgrounds I have ever visited.
Sep 08, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.