Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Everything fine with the cabin but the bathrooms were really unclean...showers were rather awful.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
There was a nice pad made up to put the tent on which is much nicer than being on an incline or trying to ram tent stakes into solid ground. It rained all night but the lady at reception had warned us ahead of time and we had our rain gear ready!
Jul 31, 2013
Great stay while in the Badlands. It was nice to have some trees around the camp and the swimming pool to relax in. Very friendly owners.
Jul 31, 2013
Clean washrooms. Shade trees are huge plus. Good pool area and it was really hot those days. Short drive to the badlands. Good amenities and friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2013
very nice people. a clean site and nice amenities.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
Great location and facility.
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 30, 2013
Very nice campground. Beautiful setting.
Jul 30, 2013
This campground was great! Clean, nice management and a great location right in Interior, SD near the entrance to the Badlands.
Jul 30, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. Very friendly, clean shady sites. All was great.
Jul 30, 2013
This was a very nice place to stay. Our kids enjoyed the campsite and we appreciated that we weren't packed in like sardines and had some room to ourselves. The pool was great, kids loved the trikes and fun was had all around. Great staff as well!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
We had a great time! Everyone was friendly and the cabin was clean.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Very hospitable. When we had a problem with our camper staff went out of the way to help us!
Jul 29, 2013
My family and I stayed for three nights in one of KOA's cozy cabins. We were thrilled with the cleanliness, privacy and overall experience of staying at a KOA Kampground.
Jul 29, 2013
This is one of the nicest KOA's I've stayed at, and the ONLY one with shade in the Badlands! The restrooms were always clean and the store was fairly well-stocked. Having access to a pool was also a great addition during the summer heat. If planning on staying at KOA's during a trip to the Black Hills - be warned, none in that region are as nice and quiet as this one.
Jul 29, 2013
The tent village was well maintained.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Clean Campground, friendly and helpful staff. Nice and shaded campsites. Wish we could have stayed longer!
Jul 28, 2013
Nice campground
Jul 28, 2013
Loved the shade. We enjoyed our stay and were happy that we hadn't picked any of the places that we drove by on the way. This was our first KOA.
Jul 28, 2013
The nicest KOA I've ever seen. Great staff, clean Kabin. But that dog park.... THANK YOU! Our dogs loved it, helped them so much on a big vacation.
Jul 28, 2013
We were only here one night, but would have enjoyed a longer stay. Nice location, friendly staff, good WiFi.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We camped all week, and this was our favorite location. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Jul 28, 2013
Pool was nice in the hot weather. We didn't know that we had to pay the park fee to get to it though. And of course the cicadeas, but that obviously wasn't the KOAs fault.
Jul 27, 2013
This was one of our favorite KOAs, only suggestion, add a bouncy pillow for the kids! Great food service and convenient but quite location.
Jul 27, 2013
Very pleasant and quite. Loved the stay, this was my second time at this KOA
Jul 27, 2013
Jul 27, 2013
Nice, great breakfast and campsites. Quiet and nice location in the Badlands.
Jul 27, 2013
Nice and well maintained campground. Like the shade in the middle of the badland and the sink for washing dishes. Disappointed that the mini golf was so expensive AND that the ball was "ate" after the last hole. Really? I think that having to pay for every activity besides the pool is a little over the top. KOA's are more expensive than state campgrounds and there should be a reason for it.
Jul 27, 2013
WE WERE PUT TOO CLOSE TO THE SEWAGE TREATMENT FIELD AND THE STENCH WAS PRETTY BAD.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry that you experienced that. We put a lot of time into maintaining our septic system to prevent unpleasant odors, but weather and other factors can cause odor occasionally. In response to your feedback, we have made some changes to improve the situation.
Jul 26, 2013
The person who checked us in gave us the shadiest site in the campground. Staff very friendly & helpful.
Jul 26, 2013
Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Jul 26, 2013
The service was exemplary. The addition of the provided meals was delightful.
Jul 26, 2013
Campground was very clean.We stayed in a camping cabin. No internet while we stayed. No cell phone service at the campground, and the flies and gnats were unbearable. None of this bothered our grandkids.We would stay there again.
Jul 26, 2013
We tented at this site and loved our site and thought the whole campsite was friendly, ver clean and organized. We enjoyed the pancake breakfast that you could buy for a very reasonable amount and also used their very clean laundry facilities.
Jul 26, 2013
I really enjoyed staying there. I always try and stay at a KOA camp ground whenever I can.
Jul 26, 2013
Tent site was very nice. Staff was very helpful and bathrooms were pretty clean. Pool not open during hours we were there. Playground was ok.
Jul 26, 2013
Great setting, clean facilities, friendly staff, convenient extras.
Jul 26, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We only stayed the night so I cannot rate the other services. The only reason I am not giving the camp a great rating is because our site was close to the sewage pond and during the night it seemed to have gone septic or something and had a terrible odor. The airation water was green so maybe you should increase the treatment or add peroxied/O2

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry that you experienced an odor from the septic system. We do spend a lot of time maintaining it, but many factors can cause an occasional odor. Thank you for your feedback.
Jul 25, 2013
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was very nice. Loved having our own bathroom. I'm glad there was a laundry facility on site.
Jul 25, 2013
This is a great KOA...I would recommend this park to anyone. Kids loved the pool and I loved the wider spaces.
Jul 25, 2013
Another great year of camping @ Badlands! Your people were once again pleasant & helpful. See you next year!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.