Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2013
Aug 27, 2013
Flies and Mosquitos were quite bad. Probably time of year. Management and staff excellent, Facilities neat and clean.
Aug 27, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Beautiful location and very friendly staff. My only negative is the wifi was poor. Since there was also no cell phone signal, it made communication very difficult.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Great place!
Aug 26, 2013
Great people. Nice cabin. Awesome food. The best views from a koa so far.Easy late night check in. Great proximity to badlands national park.
Aug 26, 2013
Nice quiet campground. Easy to find. Mosquitos were horrible. Pack lots of bug spray.Cabins were clean. Mattress are thin and uncomfortable. Not much to do for teenagers. Breakfast was good and filling. River was dry, no fishing this time of the year.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we have had an abnormally wet spring here, which has resulted in an unusual number of mosquitos. We are spraying the grounds when it is safe to do so and treating standing water on our property.
Aug 26, 2013
The employees were very friendly and helpful and the park had a lot of amenities. Only complaint was the flys! I would recommend this KOA. Had a great time!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies. An abnormally wet spring has made the flies a nuisance in this region. I hope you will visit us again when they are not an issue.
Aug 26, 2013
Campground was nice, an oasis in the Badlands. Only issue were the flies when we ate the on-site dinner and breakfast. A screened-in dining area would have been great!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so sorry about the flies! An abnormally wet spring has resulted in an unusual number of flies and mosquitos in this area. We hope that you will visit us again when that isn't an issue.
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Good clean campground very close to the Badlands. The amenities are excellent for a campground and the staff friendly. I stayed at this campground in 1995 on a family vacation, it was just like a remembered it, but even better.
Aug 25, 2013
Very nice. We came in late after check in time and was very easy to get keys and find our little cabin. The only problem we had was finding the camp ground with our smart phone and GPS. The location was not correct in the satellite
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 25, 2013
Good friendly service !!
Aug 25, 2013
Aug 24, 2013
Great staff. Very friendly. Appreciated the escort service in. Dinner (tacos) were great as were the pancakes. The absolute best dog run - it is huge. Thanks
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Great staff very nice grounds the shade was great restrooms and showers exceptional
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Neat and clean Love the ability to buy breakfast ; it was yummy! Disappointed with site wifi...didn't work
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Wifi conx was great, staff friendly, setting good, showers very poor, old, and small. Not enough dressing room, poor water pressure. Stall showers are old, newer private full bathrooms are much preferred. Needs a makeover like KOA's shower trailers I've seen elsewhere.
Aug 22, 2013
Nice campground, would stay here again. Can't beat the location right next to the Badlands (though no view from the campsite). The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Aug 22, 2013
very nice place, lots of mosquitoes, so come prepared with insect repellent. very friendly staff, clean pool and just a nice place.
Aug 22, 2013
I liked that we were close to the bathrooms.
Aug 22, 2013
noisy cicalees
Aug 22, 2013
Nice campground but mattresses in cabin too thin, wi-fi spotty, and mosquitoes terrible. But then we were camping by a river.
Aug 22, 2013
I liked it a lot but the mosquitoes was a big problem
Aug 22, 2013
Great eating and fun to try Indian Taco and pancakes in the morning.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
A nice quiet location with no road noise or trains, A great,friendly staff. Clean and well kept.
Aug 21, 2013
I would have rated this campground with 4 stars, because it is a beautiful well kept campground. The personal at the reception was only unfriendly and hasty and didn't give you a welcome feeling. they were also not helpful at qustions, so that's why I rate it 3 stars.
Aug 21, 2013
Put us in difficult site. Too small for big rigs. Wi-fo. Is too difficult to join.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your feedback. We find that Big Rigs have not previously had difficulty with the site that you occupied. It is a 68 foot long pull thru and frequently occupied by motorhomes as large as 45 feet.
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Steve and Marcy have continued in the great tradition of previous owners at the White River, Badlands KOA, excellent customer service and continued facilty improvement! The cabin I stayed in had a nice ceiling fan, which was very helpful circularting air rather than using the A/C. Terrific improvement and great stay. Thanks!!!
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Clean, level sites. Bathroom's/showers clean and in good condition. Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to South enterance of Badlands NP.
Aug 20, 2013
The staff we dealt with were courteous & helpful. The grounds were clean & well kept. The amenities met all of our particular needs well. Just what one expects when staying @ KOA.
Aug 20, 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious and quite camp sites. Good activities for the kids and they loved the fun bikes.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
This was a wonderful camp, very quiet and close to Badlands NP. In the cabin, we did notice the mattresses were not as inviting (too hard!) as a previous KOA cabin was. It would be nice if there were more outlets and hooks for hanging gear.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.