Badlands / White River KOA

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 13, 2012
We had a great time driving thru the Badlands loop. This was our second stay at this KOA and like the quietness.
Sep 12, 2012
Steve and Marci are very good owners. Camp is clean, large and has good activities.
Sep 12, 2012
The owners told us the site we were given was not the best... it was large and a good site! The kids enjoyed the pool. The campsite is perfect on the White River and to the Badlands!
Sep 11, 2012
really hot when we visited
Sep 11, 2012
This was the cleanest, most well maintained campground we've stayed at in a long time. I wish all KOA's were like this. We'd stay at them more often
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 11, 2012
I just don't see us visiting the area again...but the KOA was just fine
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 11, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
Great people greeted us and showed us to our site. Very clean park. Only complaint--park was more than 2/3 empty yet we were parked right between two other units. Our picnic table literally sat on top of the neighbors sewer connection.
Sep 10, 2012
We stayed in Tent Village and it was perfect!
Sep 10, 2012
We only stayed one night and it was not very busy but we enjoyed it a lot. We hope to do it again next year.
Sep 10, 2012
love this place! there is no reason not to stay at a KOA. they are everywhere you want to go and the people running them are very nice!
Sep 08, 2012
We enjoyed our stay here - nice campground. Staff helpful. Nice breakfast available.
Sep 08, 2012
I love that they have a large dog run so pets are able to be off their leashes for awhile. The new owners were very nice, will stay again.
Sep 08, 2012
We really enjoyed our stay there.Everyone was so nice and friendly. The only downfall and that is not the campgrounds fault was cell reception. Other than that it was a very nice stay, keep up the good work Badlands/White River.
Sep 07, 2012
Good place; good people.
Sep 07, 2012
Sep 07, 2012
Keep an eye on those folks from Ohio
Sep 07, 2012
I have not had great experiences at KOA's but this one was laid out well with plenty of shade and the owners were exceptionally nice
Sep 07, 2012
Have stayed here many times. Usually quite and good facilities. Can't understand why they charge extra for walk ins especially this time of year. That's the only reason I didn't give them a higher rating.
Sep 06, 2012
3rd stay - Well cared for and clean. Electric site did not have 110 plugs. The biggest concern is getting to the campground from the west. 44 is the only road to interior and is in poor shape for a camper. Better to stay on the Highway but then we had to pay $15 to pass through the Badlands.....Never planned on visiting, just past through for a night at the KOA.
Sep 06, 2012
As usual, we had a good experience at a KOA. The grounds at this site are great, good facilities, and great location near the national park. We always look for KOAs first when we travel.
Sep 06, 2012
Sep 06, 2012
Excellent service and very well kept KOA.
Sep 05, 2012
We stayed in the Kamping Kabins for one night on our way to Deadwood via motorcycles. The people were very helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and the food.
Sep 05, 2012
This was our 2nd visit in a year & we will be back. Best dog park ever!!
Sep 05, 2012
The KOA and personnel were very nice, but some of listed amenities were closed for the season. They still charge full price. We thought that they should a discount the price relative to the unavailable amentities.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Perfect place to rest in the 104* heat! Love the fry bread.
Sep 04, 2012
Super quiet and peaceful. Well kept and camp hosts and other workers very friendly.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 04, 2012
Had a great stay here. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. We love the large dog run area. My only suggestion would be to leave the Wifi access codes for people checking in late. We will definitely recommend this KOA.
Sep 03, 2012
Beautiful, peaceful setting. The staff were very helpful.
Sep 03, 2012
Beautifully up kept!! Very clean Washrooms!!Really appreciated the AC!!By far the best KOA on our trip even if it was the smallest cabin of all! Really enjoyed our stay and hope to return someday!
Sep 03, 2012
We stayed in 3 KOA's on our cross country trip and this one was our favorite! Super friendly and helpful staff, a clean kabin, and a very positive feeling in the campground. Thank you!
Sep 03, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Very hot evening, but very nice place. Highly recommend over park campground!
Sep 02, 2012
My family was skeptical about staying right in the badlands but they are not skeptical anymore. The setting with the badlands all around this campground makes this place unique in a very special way.
Sep 01, 2012
We wanted to visit the Badlands on the way to Custer Park and found this KOA online. What a beautiful oasis. We received a warm greeting and an escort to our campsite. They have everything you need for a great camping experience. You can even have a break from cooking with their breakfast and dinner options. Everything was perfect except the river was dry, but rain is unpredictable. Great place!
Sep 01, 2012
Love the Badlands and the Tacos
Aug 31, 2012
A lovely campground. Great facilities (and food). The owners (including their kids!) were very nice and informative. We enjoyed our stay here. Great location very close to the Badlands. My only suggestion is maybe to put another sign up immediately after the exit from the Badlands noting you need to turn to get to the kampground.
Aug 31, 2012
Good location, but was more expensive than other KOAs I've stayed at. Good directions and reassurance signs on nearby highways, it was easy to find even in the dark. Internet did not work!
Aug 30, 2012
very clean friendly staff and owners, nice not to have to cook after being out all day. we will be back:}
Aug 29, 2012
What a wonderful oasis to stay in the Badlands of South Dakota. Best KOA for us out of 12 we have camped at in 4 years of travel. Spotless, huge dog park,all amenities available,generous showers, cleanest pool, quiet. We'll return.
Aug 29, 2012
This campground was fantastic! The pool area was clean and fun, the shower area was clean and well taken care of and the staff was very accommodating and fun. We will definitely stay again if we are in the area!
Aug 29, 2012
Clean ...friendly ...
Aug 29, 2012

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.