Badlands / White River KOA

Open April 22 - October 9

Reserve: 800-562-3897

Info: 605-433-5337

Email

20720 SD Highway 44

Interior, SD 57750

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 27, 2016
One of the most beautiful and peaceful KOAs we have stayed at. Well kept and great shade trees! Thanks Karen for your hospitality!
May 26, 2016
As Always a great stay with great staff. Did the deluxe cabin clean and great.
May 26, 2016
Beautiful campground and great support staff. They went out of their way to help us!! The National Park is next door and is stunning!
May 26, 2016
This was a very nice campground that is in the Badlands. We stayed there for only one night on May 21st. I was very impressed with how clean the grounds, bathrooms, showers, etc. They also had free wifi in the camp which was nice. Best of all the staff were overly helpful and kind people that made you feel like you were at home and they were your neighbors. I'd highly recommend staying there!
May 25, 2016
stay was good
May 25, 2016
This is by far the quietest KOA we have ever been to. No trains or planes and very little traffic. Our alarm clock was the sound of birds filling the morning air. The staff was very friendly and the area was very clean. We plan on another visit soon.
May 25, 2016
Owners and staff are great. Nice place to stay.
May 24, 2016
WE LOVE THIS PLACE. WE STAY EVERY YEAR BUT THIS YEAR THE CABIN WE STAYED IN WAS DUSTY,HAIR IN THE SHOWER, ANTS ON THE COUNTER, AND COCKROACHES ON THE FLOOR. THEY NEED TO CLEAN BETTER AND SPRAY FOR BUGS INSIDE. HOPEFULLY NEXT YEAR WILL BE BETTER!!!
May 24, 2016
They where starting up for the season. Everything got a bit of paint. Even the picknicktabels, and we where not warned that thye could be wet. It was paint on waterbase, but i hope it wil disapeare whit washing. Because in the morning the paint left the table and got stuck on my pants!
May 24, 2016
It was nice. Close to the Badlands which is what we wanted. Lots of trees.
May 24, 2016
Lovely, large koa. We enjoyed our stay.
May 24, 2016
Staff was friendly. Campground clean and well maintained. Store was well stocked. Easy access to sightseeing. Not many restaurants or grocery/Walmarts close by so come supplied.
May 23, 2016
Not handicapped friendly at all. The staff was not friendly at all. The drinking water was cloudy. Cabin smelled badly from being freshly varnished.
May 23, 2016
Nice campground and the staff is great. The owners and staff are very helpful. Needs better internet services.
May 23, 2016
The campground was undergoing renovation so was a bit torn up. The owner was very nice. The night we were there, there were very few other campers in the park so was very quiet. I did not visit the restroom so can't comment on that. I did do laundry and those facilities were adequate
May 23, 2016
This was my first time staying at a campground and I plan to do it again! The experience was great; the staff was friendly and helpful. An added bonus was it was very affordable. This was probably the best way to see the Badlands!
May 23, 2016
May 22, 2016
Very nice place to camp.
May 22, 2016
It was beautiful driving in the bad lands. We saw all kinds of animals
May 21, 2016
Beautiful kamp ground with lots of trees. Mini fridge and microwave in deluxe cabin was greatly appreciated.
May 21, 2016
Beautiful campground!
May 21, 2016
This is our 2nd time staying here. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful, and it is a relaxed place to stay and enjoy the beauty of the Badlands. We have given it a 5 star rating but it wouldn't let me click on the above stars. It is also, close to the Minute Man Missile Site which is a nice tour to do.
May 21, 2016
This was our first stay at a koa campground. It was very nice, lots of accommodations, and very clean.
May 19, 2016
Very clean, super nice staff. Second time staying, and will stay many more times!
May 19, 2016
Loved Karen & Bob! So warm and welcoming. Thanks!
May 18, 2016
Beautiful scenery in and around campground. Staff gave us great information re things to see and do. We would have missed a great wildlife scenic drive if they hadn't informed us about it. Stayed an extra day it was so nice!
May 16, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. Very quiet n kid friendly tho pool wasn't open during our stay. Also playground area has stickers so please make sure kids have socks n shoes on while playing. And be careful basketball court has stickers as well. Getting stuck on our ball. Otherwise very quiet & peaceful place. Enjoyed our family time there.
May 12, 2016
Nice and very quiet.
May 10, 2016
May 10, 2016
Magical experience with thousands of swallows coming in to rooste on the bridge just outside the campground in May. We had a great view from the dining-room of our RV. WiFi works great IF you follow the instructions. Campground hosts work long days and are VERY helpful.
May 09, 2016
Our cabin was very clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Both the heater and air conditioner worked well and the bathrooms/showers were also clean and well kept.
May 09, 2016
Friendly staff and great location, however, I don't think KOA should charge for extra people. Recommend reviewing that policy. Other than that it was a great stay.
May 08, 2016
Great location to explore the Badlands. Excellent customer service and facility's.
May 08, 2016
.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Please help us and mention what you needed. Sorry we missed the mark.
May 07, 2016
They have a great staff, very friendly and helpful!
May 05, 2016
The campground is nice, clean and fairly quiet. Just a little road noise. Staff very friendly and helpful, owner as well. The only reason for a little lower rating is that while I did understand there was an extra fee for having an extra vehicle, I did not realize there was a pet fee for the campsites. I may have missed that in the wording, but I encounter it so little that it took me by surprise.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Please call us. We want to refund the "pet fee", as it was not supposed to be charged. Only in cabins for more cleaning required. Sorry we made a mistake. Karen @ Badlands.
Apr 30, 2016
Apr 26, 2016
We stayed opening week-end, nice location, loved the cabin. Very accommodating camp hosts.
Apr 23, 2016
Fantastic facility, great owners, and a quite lovely setting. Large grassy site , great amenities . I highly recommend this KOA.
Apr 10, 2016
The owners were incredibly nice and went above and beyond to be helpful. It's a nice spot with a great playground, nice little shop and clean facilities.
Dec 17, 2015
The staff was very helpful and the campground was well maintained.
Nov 07, 2015
Bathrooms very clean. Camp hosts very personal and helpful. Went the extra mile for us in service.
Oct 30, 2015
Nice staff.
Oct 20, 2015
Lot's of things to do and a fine place to do them.
Oct 16, 2015
Beautiful location and convenient to the national park and Rapid City area.
Oct 09, 2015
We always love it at White River. Like an oasis in the Badlands. Peaceful & beautiful.
Oct 06, 2015
Very nice campground and management was very friendly.
Oct 06, 2015
A quiet, pet-friendly property with helpful staff. It was the perfect place for us to rest our weary bones!
Oct 06, 2015
We stayed just before the place was closing for the season and it was very nice. An issue developed with the water system the morning of check-out so it wasn't a big issue for us. This was slightly inconvenient as we were going to shower before we left but we consider what happened as part of a camping experience. We are planning on returning to this KOA next year.
Oct 05, 2015
campground is clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the fact that there is a large outer area to walk with your pet. I was able to do laundry there in the evening, and there was plenty of hot water for showers. Enjoyed our stay there and would definitely come again. Loved the closeness to the Badlands and the minuteman missile site and the Wall drugstore.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award